check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

A relaxing South Lake Tahoe Mountain Home on the Meadow

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 6 nights


Highland Woods Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 full bathrooms and Queen Sofa sleeper, sleeps 8

This comfortable and relaxing Chalet style Mountain Home in South Lake Tahoe was recently remodeled and is the perfect setting to come relax and enjoy the Mountains and Lake. This wonderful home backs to a beautiful meadow which leads down to the Lake. It is centrally located being just 10 minutes from the Casinos, skiing at Heavenly Valley, scenic views from Emerald Bay, Grocery stores, Golf courses, restaurants and shopping all with in a 10 minute drive. A 32x24 foot redwood deck with BQ, patio furniture and views of the lake and mountains and Meadow. We just installed a new 4 person Sauna with built in Stereo.

Views: There are great views from the house and from the Deck. Take a short walk through the meadow to reach the Lake and beach area. Two small streams need be crossed to reach the lake. Watch the Sunset from the comfort of the sofa or in comfortable chairs from the deck as the sun sets over the cast mountain range. In the Winter watch the snow fall on the meadow, through the trees..wild life every where. Views of the lake are limited but we see boats out there daily.

Walking distance: Walking distance to many restaurants, clubs, shopping for food, post office or a short 5 minute ride by car. Bring your bikes for added fun either rode bike or mountain biking as there are lots of trails for both. Walk through the meadow searching for birds who nest there and on to the lake. There are shuttles available to get to the Casinos if you decide to not use a car.

The Chalet Style House: This is a two story home with the Master Bedroom taking the upper floor. The entire inside of the house was recently remodeled. It is very cozy and comfortable to create a very relaxing stay. We supplied this home for our own use so all of everything to stay there is provided for you and for us. This is a fine quality home you will truly enjoy and we look forward to having you there. If you stay longer than 5 nights a 10% discount is available" Except New Years and Christmas. Christmas/New Years 6 night minimums"

Click on: "View All Rental Rates" to see Holiday and seasonal rates..and all costs involved Under Rates

More Details
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Gary Stein
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2016
Call Owner

Why Gary Stein chose South Lake Tahoe

Located in a very peaceful neighborhood, people walking their dogs down the middle of the street so not many cars. Wonderful views out the back, oversized redwood deck with views of the Sierra Mountain Range, and slight views of the Lake.

What makes this chalet unique

Beautiful sunsets, great views of the Meadow that backs to the house, new heating furnace installed 11/2012. Nice fireplace, very comfortable beds in all rooms, all linen is supplied, All Premium channels and Netflix, Bose surround sound, New 70' Sharp HDTV LED, Hi speed WIFI, Sauna

Tankless & limitless hot water


based on 13 traveler reviews

A relaxing South Lake Tahoe Mountain Home on the Meadow
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful house on the shores of Lake Tahoe. Everything was as advertised...very welcoming and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words in this review. We attempt to make this house in South Lake Tahoe a very comfortable stay for our guest. It is kept very clean and makes for a very nice get-a-way. Thank you..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Absolutley wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

First off, I would like to say that Gary is wonderful to work with. He was very prompt in his communication with us and was very gracious. The house is as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. We stayed for a week, and enjoyed every moment! We sat on the deck every night, taking in the beauty and cool weather. On our second night we were greeted by some local wildlife! We plan on staying here again someday when we return and would HIGHLY recommend to anyone with children, a couple looking for a quite romantic getaway, or a family, to stay here!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very happy my guest feel like they had a wonderful stay at our home in South Lake Tahoe. I value good communication and it gets answers to their questions so they can get on with having a relaxing time at thew house and makes Lake Tahoe all that more enjoyable..Thank you for the kind words...
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Clara

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We spent a wonderful week at the cabin. The owner was very responsive to our needs. The cabin is clean, welcoming and easy to access. My family came for the Thanksgiving week. We comfortably had 5 adults and a teenager in the cabin. Each room has all the creature comforts you could need.

Thank you for everything Gary! We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

Everything was Great!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful experience. Most important, the house is well updated, very clean with spectacular views! The owner was very accessible and extremely helpful. I would give it more stars if I could. The location is perfect, close to Heavenly and south lake but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. We had a range from 22 yr old to 71 yr old and everyone was charmed by the property.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Perth, Western Australia


  • 5 of 5

From the moment I emailed Gary about availability and his quick and attentive response, we knew this was the place for us. Gary was so helpful and even offered various driving directions for the remainder of our trip!

The home is gorgeous, the view is beautiful, the beds are superb and the location is central to everything in Tahoe.

Over and above this, Gary returned our security deposit within a day of departing. I am still waiting for a refund from another property we rented over a week ago!

On behalf of my family, thank you Gary for accommodating us in your lovely home.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words and always happy to be of help. Security deposits are a lot of money these days so I do understand how important it is to have those funds back into your account for available use. Thanks and take care.. Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pleasanton, CA

Great Rental! Never Been There!

  • 5 of 5

I'll keep this short. You must rent this place! We had to cancel our stay with less than 2 weeks notice and without hesitation Gary, the owner, offered to complete refund our money! We hope to one day have the opportunity to stay here. Oh, also, Gary's e-mails with descriptions and instructions regarding the place were extremely informative and detailed. You can tell he cares and knows how to deliver a fantastic rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, these are very kind words and my guest did not even stay at our home. I hope to see you on your next visit and not a problem returning your funds. It just would not have been right to keep them. We all know stuff happens and plans change..Thanks again, Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Reno (RNO)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
So many to choose from
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
several with in 10-15 minutes away
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Reno or Sacramento
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 50
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tahoe Grill, but so many with in 5 minutes to 10
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Heavenly Valley 10 minutes
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
South end of Lake, several beaches

In the Highland Woods area of South Lake Tahoe backing to a large Meadow and forest area. Paths lead down to the Lake. You are 10 minute drive to Heavenly Valley and 10 minutes from the Casinos at State line in Nevada. Sightseeing, landscape photography, hiking, camping, boating just 4 miles away at Camp Richards. Great Restaurants and dining, night life, dancing scenic rides around the lake and so much more..

Other Activities: Gym,world class dining, Casinos, dancing clubs, scenic viewing, photographing

Golf: Golf courses are 15 minutes away ..

Ski: Heavenly Valley is 10 minute drive, Kirkwood is about 40 minute away and many other ski resorts with in a hour drive like North Star, Alpine Meadows, Incline, Mt. Rose,Squaw Valley, Homewood and more

For Holiday rates and seasonal rates be sure to click on "View All Rental rates" under Rates


Rates & Availability

Highland Woods Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 10 - Dec 19
2 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years Holidays
Dec 20 - Jan 6
6 night minimum stay
Jan 8 - May 31
2 night minimum stay
Jun 1 - Sep 9
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $135
Tax Rate 10.0%

Check-in 4:00 PM
Check-out 11:00 AM

50% holds reservation with remaining balance and refundable security deposit due two weeks prior to check-in

Payment by Check or by PayPal Paypal = 3% charge which I will split with you

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Highland Woods Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Master bedroom shower only, nicely done, spacious with bench seat.. Tankless and limitless hot water system
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Down comforter
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Down Comforter
    Family room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sleep sofa
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , down comforter for winter
  • All beds are of very high quality, firm with pillow top, down comforters supplied, flannel sheets for Winter time. Master Bedroom has 48" Sony HD TV on angled ceiling with Bose surround and BlurayDVD Player, Netflix's. Bedrooms 2&3 have 32' HDTV's with Netflixs & Bluray. Extra bedding available for Sofa Bed, Aero Beds.... if needed ,please ask at booking.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Smoking outside only. No pets allowed, air cleaner/humidifier in all bedrooms and family room. Ceiling fans in all bedrooms and family room. Washer/Dryer and laundry soap, softener, bleach, paper towels. If additional linen change for beds and towels are needed there is additional charge. A large redwood deck with built in seating, 32x24 ft...BQ, propane provided, deck furniture and great views. Family room has large 70' Sharp HDTV LED with an HD-DVD & Blu-ray and Bose surround system. 200 DVD's to choose from. Mud room for ski's and gear. Parking for 4 cars off-street, parking on street ok. Winter time has snow removal included for driveway and street. Free 7/24 unlimited phone calling in USA, talk as long as you want, no charge. WIFI -High Speed,

Partner Offers