Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quite Simply THE BEST Kona Reef Oceanfront.

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 9 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 9 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

You have just found your own personal, tropical hideaway …literally just steps away from the crystal blue Pacific Ocean!

This spectacular, ocean-front designer 1BR unit in the Kona Reef Resort was completely remodeled in 2007, and extensively refreshed in 2011 with new paint, new carpet, new appliances and furniture.

A look at the video tour will tell it all. The link to the video tour is located below the map and above the photos where 'Link to our other rentals' and 'Link to 360 video tour' appears. A picture is worth a thousand words, and a video is worth a thousand pictures!

This is lavish tropical living at its best, with a king-size bed (and premium mattress), slate floors, granite countertops, gourmet kitchen with new stainless steel appliances, central air conditioning, Travertine bath with a raised vessel sink, and tropical touches throughout.

The convenient, ground floor location means you have paradise at your feet: Merely stroll 20 yards out from the lanai (patio) and you’re standing in the ocean, with a picturesque white sand beach cove just a few more feet down to your left. Or go 30 feet out the front door to the pool. No winding staircases or out-of-the-way elevators.

As you would expect in a condo this luxurious, it is fully equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay: A fully equipped kitchen, with a full array of utensils, including BBQ accessories. A washer and dryer right in the unit makes sure you feel right at home. We expect you to return often, as most of our guests do. The Kona Reef is the most convenient location in Kona, and this is the ultimate unit at the Kona Reef.

So sit back and enjoy spectacular sunsets as daredevil surfers and playful dolphins dodge sea turtles right in front of you,... as all of you keep a keen lookout for humpback whales when they are in town.

And then ask yourself: after traveling thousands of miles to get here, was it worth a few extra dollars per night to spend your time in a place just as beautiful as the paradise that surrounds it? Of course it was, but we are actually priced lower than many other units, which shows that sometimes the best actually costs less.

Since we have multiple units, we are most likely able to fill your needs and the dates that you need. If the dates you want are not available, then click the 'View Our Other Rentals Listings' below the map, or visit our website for the availability of other units. We are likely to have the dates available that you need. Our availability calendar is always up to date, and you can use the 'Book It Now' option to confirm your dates without delay.

Call us at 888-269-3229, or Email us with any of your questions and we will be happy to give you a prompt response. We look forward to having you stay with us, and your return. Hawaii registration #W-01269720-01

Keywords: Condominium, Kona, Kona Reef

More Details

Property Manager
Ken or Dia Peters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2017

About Ken or Dia Peters

Hawaii Reg (B) GE/TAT Licensed Hawaii Broker that owns and manages units at the Kona Reef. (R)

Ken or Dia Peters purchased this condo in 1998

Why Ken or Dia Peters chose Kona Coast

It’s by far the most convenient oceanfront condo in all of Kona. Makes it easy to monkey around.

What makes this condo unique

Steps to the ocean and town. Yet also sequestered and quiet. It is an oceanfront hideaway.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Aloha Jon,

We enjoyed our stay immensely. Your unit is beautiful! Loved watching the surfers.

Hope to be back again!

May 2008
  • 1 of 1


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 630 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) a premium, pillow-top mattress awaits to comfort you, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa bed in the living room
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Ocean Front pool & spa


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

Quite Simply THE BEST Kona Reef Oceanfront.
average rating of 4.837209 based on 44 reviews

Location, amenities and a view that is unforgettable

  • 5 of 5

This unit was the perfect size and location for a single or a couple. It was clean and well equipt. Being able to cook a decent meal, using the stove or grills near the pool was great. This is also in walking distance to ocean side dining. I would recommend this location to anyone visiting the big island.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to your return in the near future. We make every effort to provide our guests with a highly upgraded unit that is fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Over 100,000 was invested in making this the nicest unit at the Kona Reef. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not quite simply the Best Kona Reef Ocean Condo

  • 2 of 5

I booked this condo with the headline that stated it being the very best Kona Reef Ocean Property. My husband and I were expecting much more from the pictures. The condo was dark and did not give us a welcome tropical feeling at all. The furniture seemed worn and dirty. We were told to use the guest services button on the phone when we needed the front desk. There was not a guest services button on the phone. Upon arrival, our air conditioner made terrible noises, like a train coming through and finally broke down. Upon looking at previous reviews even back in July, I noted the air conditioner was stated to be loud. The owner should have remedied this problem. The cookware was dented and our eggs kept rolling around and sticking to the pan. I agree with other reviewers that definitely coffee filters were needed and should be supplied; as we kept getting grounds in our coffee . The resort itself is fair. I would have appreciated a small store or coffee grab and go location at the resort during my stay. The pool bottom was very slippery also and felt unsafe . i definitely would not stay at the Kona Reef in the future. i had looked so forward to this vacation, as it was our first time visiting Kona, and being a retired teacher it was a treat to travel in January. We were extremely disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My Goodness, All other reviews are fantastic, and realistic. You really can not expect to sit on the lanai with the doors open and windows open and setting the AC to 65 degrees and be cold inside. Even the service tech that was dispatched to check the "problem" noted that it was working perfectly, but having the lanai door open would not allow proper cooling. To any reading the review, read all the others, and it will be apparent that this poor review is retaliatory and not realistic or factual. So sad to have a person denigrate the best unit at the Kona Reef with very inaccurate information about their three day stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Unit is absolutely beautiful and just as described.

  • 4 of 5

You couldn't ask for a more perfect location as the unit is as close to the water as you can get. The property itself is within walking distance of all the restaurants and stores. We had a wonderful time, even though it rained all day, for 3 of the 4 days we were there, and would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint was we checked in after hours and there was a bit of confusion with the number that we were told to call.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Upscale decor and very comfortable, right on the water

  • 5 of 5

Our 6-night stay was over the NYE holiday, and we were in bed by 10pm and didn't hear a thing! This unit is located a short walk from town, yet it feels private and tucked away from the noise. The sound and feel of the ocean is incredible from the lanai, and you can enjoy seeing it get busier as the morning progresses and more boats, swimmers and kayaks get out there. The bed was very comfortable with extra bedding available if you need or want to use the sofa pull out bed. Great shower water pressure and lots of towels. Kitchen is supplied with all necessary pots, pans, etc, but you will need to purchase your own cooking oil and coffee filters in town. We went to the Safeway a few times while we were there, which was just a short drive away. We took advantage of the cheap snorkel rental gear at the office, but the masks seemed to leak. Snorkel Bob's is just a short walk away. Overall, this spot was perfect for our time on the Kona side of the Big Island. The building itself is dated, but this unit has been beautifully remodeled with thoughtful touches. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It is always refreshing when a guest enjoys their stay, and the time and effort devoted to making this the absolute nicest unit at the Kona Reef. We always strive to make each of our guests feel at home in an upscale condo just a few feet from the ocean. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying here! Booking was extremely easy and everything was as advertised. Checked in Christmas Eve after hours and everything went smoothly. The unit is a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the unit but figured that is what we get for an ocean front room! The condo is super cute! It is small but they fit a ton into this small space. My family consisted of 2 teenagers and 2 adults who all over packed and we still had plenty of space! The ocean view is amazing, we even woke up the day after Christmas with a turtle right in front of our unit on the rocks! The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and even has a few spices. One thing I would recommend stocking which would even be more useful than the spices is a can of non stick spray and coffee filters. The master bed was comfortable however my kids said the pull out couch was less than uncomfortable and the mattress cover had holes in it that looked like bugs had chewed on it. My daughter felt for the price we paid and advertising it for 4 people the mattress should be replaced.

The air conditioner was able to keep up however it was extremely loud, in the middle of the night when it would come on it would frighten me (I am a light sleeper though). The unit is on the patio so if your running the ac you don't want to sit out on your patio because it's so loud. We just opted to open the doors to cool off the unit instead of running the air! Liked that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink/mirror area. A few extra towels would have been nice, they only stocked 4 bath towels and a few extra pillows would have also been nice.

This review sounds rather negative and really we would stay here again, I just want other people to know what to really expect. The only other thing I would say is our son is visually impaired and walking from the parking garage to the unit is extremely dark, almost even creepy at night. Not putting in bright lights might be to detour bugs... just a guess?

Christmas evening we walked into town (maybe 10 minute walk) for dinner with plenty of options of restaurants. I would recommend this unit to a friend! Thank you for an enjoyable Christmas!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are always striving to keep A5 the best unit in the Kona Reef and are quickly moving to address all the issues you have mentioned, although we have to confess we are not optimistic that we will be able to do anything about the lights in the garage. However, please note that the coffee maker has built-in filtering as part of the machine, and if you need things like extra towels you need to only call the office and they will bring them to you. The condo may be modest in size as you mention, but it is serviced with a forced-air central air conditioning system with a 1.5 ton compressor and an array of 18 air ducts distributed throughout the condo to deliver an even blanket of refreshing cool air into every nook and cranny that many guests enjoy and favorably comment upon. Nevertheless, since this is our first complaint about this issue, we will check to see if there is something amiss with the system that may be causing a louder operating volume. And finally, we will renew our efforts to find the most comfortable sleeper sofa on earth. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Paridise on the ocean in Kona!!!

  • 5 of 5

If you ever wanted to vacation right on the ocean in an Awesome Tommy Bahama themed condo this is the one. Only walking distance from the heart of Kona this place was Amazing.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Over 100,000 was invested in upgrades to make this without a doubt the nicest unit at the Kona Reef. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Honl's Beach Park
Car: not necessary

Home of the World Champion Ironman Triathlon


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
2016/17 Peak Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
2017 Summer Special
Jun 15 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Ironman Competition
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 18 2017
9 night minimum stay
Peak Winter Season
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates subject to change until confirmed with a deposit. A 200 deposit is required to hold dates, full payment is due 30 days prior to check in. Since dates are held and others are turned away, amounts paid are refundable only if unit is re-rented, and only the amount recovered would be refunded.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties