check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gladys Sydenham-Smith

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish

SUPER LOWER RATES FROM AUGUST TO DECEMBER

19 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Freeport Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3BR/2.5BA sleeps 8

Diamonds by the Sea is situated on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches in Freeport. The crystal clear waters are several shades of aqua and turquoise. Days can be spent just relaxing and enjoying the peaceful serenity at Diamonds; And after a day on the beach, where on many occasions you can watch Dolphins swimming not far from the shoreline, a great BBQ on your deck, and a Hammock is just what is needed to wrap up a lovely day in Paradise. A short walk on the beach from us, are several beach bars and restaurants and also available are water sports activities, kayaking, sailing etc. We take pride in being one of the rare vacation cottages with privacy and yet less than 5 miles is Port Lucaya with its activities, Casino, restaurants, bars and shopping. We are also proud of the fact that Diamonds is where Keira Knightley chose to live and enjoy for several months while filming Pirates of the Caribbean II in Grand Bahama.

Guest Book Comments: All of our guests at Diamonds By The Sea have been more than happy and satisfied with their stay with us. Our hospitality has made everyone feel totally relaxed and at home. We have received so many emails thanking us and complimenting us on the cottages, the interiors, with their happy and colorful casual elegance, yet so very comfortable for families to enjoy; and the exteriors, with a beautiful garden leading to a pristine white sandy beach, and turquoise ocean.

All comments have been positive and encouraging and we would like all of our guests to know that we are greatly appreciative of their support. Thanks to everyone who has vacationed with us.

Payment and cancellation policies: Requirement for booking is 50% ot total in form of wire transfer, cashier's check, or money order and sent by fedex or ups.. On receipt of deposit booking is held. The balance is due 40 days prior to arrival date if it is a money order or cashier's check. Balance is due 10 days prior to arrival date if is is a wire transfer.

Full refund on deposit - (minus US$$100) if cancellation is 61 days or more prior to arrival date.

50% refund on deposit (+US$200) if cancellation is 31 to 60 days prior to arrival date

Deposit is forfeited if cancellation is 31 days or less prior to arrival date.

And please do contact us with any questions as we do try and make a fair arrangement for both parties if there are cancellations.

And please do contact us with any questions as we do try and make a fair arrangement for both parties if there are cancellations.

Pilates and Yoga: Massage, fitness and yoga.

Also available upon request are a variety of different kinds of yoga practices, as well as pilates and massages.

Just imagine practicing yoga and mediation on the beach with the sound of the waves in the background. Total union of the mind, body and soul.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Gladys Sydenham-Smith (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

SUPER LOWER RATES FROM AUGUST TO DECEMBER
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here for two weeks. We were six people (two toddlers). The porch is really nice and we spent a lot of time here during the day and eating out in the evening. It's a very short walk down to the beach, and it feels very quiet and private. We recommand going to the Sand bar just a short walk on the beach.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Vacations in Diamondsbythesea

  • 5 of 5

Hemos estado dos semanas en Keylime y la verdad que nos ha gustado absolutamente todo, su distribución, su limpieza, las comodidades, la cercanía a la playa espectacular, la tranquilidad ya que era como si la playa fuera privada. Realmente nos gustaría repetir y no dudaría en volver a este precioso lugar.

Muchas gracias han sido unas vacaciones inolvidables

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias . Espero ver ustedes otra vez a Diamonds by the Sea.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 nights in paradise....

  • 5 of 5

We had 5 amazingly fabulous nights at keylime cottage, it surpassed expectations and we were in paradise...only a few seconds walk from the beach and a few mins from beach side bars it was so quiet and peaceful, exactly what I had hoped for.. It was so easy to book and Gladys and shirley were so helpful in getting us in a few supplies as we arrived late evening. We shall definitely return it was a fantastic way to celebrate turning 40! Banana bay close by was wonderful for lunch and swimming with the dolphins was magical. Wonderful memories until next time... Leeanne

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boonville, IN. U.S.A.
5

What a great place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Keylime cottage while in Grand Bahama and it was great. Very private and cozy feeling. The cottage was very clean with

everything you would need. The beach was beautiful and the surrounding property around the cottage was very pretty. Gladys was

very friendly and there to help if needed. We had a wonderful time.

Very nice and private place to stay. Loved Margaritaville down the beach. Lots of things to do close by.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Leeds, NY
4

Key Lime Rental

  • 4 of 5

The house was well-kept, clean, comfortable and in a fabulous location right on the beach. There were two local bar/pubs within walking distance that were fun for a cocktail. Although we had read that there was a place within walking distance we weren't provided with any information on their location and mistakenly went to the hotel bar to the left and proceeded to get kicked out. However, we figured it out. Note to renters: take a right when on the beach to get to pub! We had two elderly individuals in our group of 6 who had to take the downstairs master suite. It was initially intended for my husband and I, but they could not walk up the stairs. The description could be updated a bit to clarify location of rooms. Also, the description stated that outdoors there was a kayak and 2 bicycles available which there wasn't and would have been great. In addition, there is no plunge pool tied to this rental. The weather was surprisingly cold (40's at night) and we needed to use the 2 heaters available (one for upstairs and one for downstairs) to stay warm. On the second night we were told we had to relinquish one of our heaters to the cottage next door because they did not have any and we froze that night! New heaters were purchased for us the next day however. There was not enough dishware (glasses and cups) for all 6 of us to eat together and although it says toilet paper and soap provided; only one roll in each bathroom (not enough for a larger group of renters). We would have thought there would be a spare under the sink but not. We found out the hard way, so plan on buying extra or bringing some. The deck was a great place to hang out and lots of chairs were available. The outside gardens were nice. Although we hadn't planned on renting a car for the whole time, we did and it worked out great. It gave us freedom to go out and get things as needed and see the sites. We enjoyed the nature center, and the caves and dined frequently at port Lucaya. We went to Luciano's for Christmas dinner which was fantastic. The International Bizarre was quite sad and a real disappointment. Definitely not worth the trip there. Overall, a really nice rental unit in a quiet and relaxed setting; great for family and friends. I would certainly recommend it to others. The owner was very professional in handling all aspects of the rental before arrival but unfortunately was not available to provide us with information while there because she was away.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

A great time

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week (a couple with two kids ages 9 and 6). The cottage was spotless and the sandy beach is beautiful. It's a great place to vacation with kids, very quiet and secluded. Gladys was extremely helpful in answering all of our questions about the island. It was windy for a few days and the water was not clear enough for snorkeling. But once the wind died down, there was good snorkeling right in front of our place (but not many fishes). We loved the boat tour to the coral reef and the Unexso dolphin experience.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Freeport International
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
on the beach
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
2 to 4 courses
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
on the beach
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Diamonds bythe Sea Beach Front Property
Car: recommended

Directions to Diamonds bythe Sea from airport or port: take Grand Bahama Highway East to Churchill drive, make a right, continue to the end of Churchill drive, make a right on Diamond Row, go about 800 feet, make a left at gate.

On Churchill Beach in Freeport, Grand Bahama walking distance to beach bars/ restaurants and water sports activities such as Kayaking, Sailing, windsurfing, etc. A private outdoor shower and a Dip In Tub for children or for just cooling is off the deck. BBQ grill, Hammock, Lounge chairs and Umbrella as well as Outdoor Dining are on the deck for your total comfort and convenience. Private yet only 4 miles to Port Lucaya and the Casino and to Unexso where you can swim or dive with the Dolphins..

Other Activities: bone fishing, all water sports activities

Photos

Rates & Availability

Freeport Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER SPECIAL
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,600
$3,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
PEAK SEASON
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$325
$2,250
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,850
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning at departure $150
Refundable damage deposit $200

BOOKINGS: WE REQUIRE 50% TO BOOK, BALANCE DUE IN FULL 61 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL.

CANCELLATION POLICY:
FULL REFUND-$100 91 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL
50% OF DEPOSIT-$200 61- 90 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL
NO REFUND 60 DAYS OR LESS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL

FULL PAYMENT DUE FOR BOOKINGS MADE DURING PEAK SEASON.(SEE PAYMENT TERMS ABOVE)
NO REFUND IN PEAK SEASON (EXCEPT: IF UNIT IS BOOKED ON CANCELLED DATES 50%OF DEPOSIT APPLIES)
DEPOSIT CAN APPLY TO FUTURE BOOKING

DISCOUNTED LONG TERM RATES AVAILABLE ON REQUEST

US$100 EXTRA PER WEEK FOR ELECTRIC FOR BOOKINGS OVER 1 WEEK CHECK IN 3 PM CHECK OUT 10 AM. $75 FEE FOR ANY CHECKOUT AFTER 10AM TO 1PM FULL NIGHTLY RATE ANY CHECKOUT AFTER 2PM

PLEASE CONTACT US WITH ANY QUESTIONS AS WE DO WORK WITH OUR GUESTS ON CANCELLATIONS AND WANT TO BE FAIR TO BOTH PARTIES

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Freeport Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bathroom - toilet , sink
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
  • Outdoor Shower and Faucet is off the outside deck
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • 1 Master/deck with King bed on Ground Floor 1 Bedroom /deck with Queen on second floor 1 bedroom with 1 Queen and 1 Twin bed on second floor 1 Sofabed/daybed in den off of living area Crib is available on request for a fee High Chair is available on request for a fee
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Self Catering: Toilet Paper, Paper Towel, Dish Soap are provided for your convenience at arrival. Bring your own provisions or buy here at the Local Store. Hammock and Umbrella An Outdoor Shower is off the deck with a Dip in Tub for Cooling off Chef and catering optional and available Yoga, Pilates, and Massage available upon request

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties