Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Maison Berthelet, New World Loft-Style Convenience In Old Montreal

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,010 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

La Maison Berthelet, a superb large one bedroom loft, truly located on the very steps where the first settlers landed in Montreal, is situated on the first floor of a circa 1805 stone heritage home classified as one of the oldest in the Montreal historical district.

Celebrate the 375th Anniversary of the founding of Montreal just steps from its birthplace. Marked by a giant granit obelisk and the first original well and aquaduct in North America, seen from the bedroom windows, there is alot happening in Montreal this year! Visit pacmusee.qc.ca for more info!!!

Just facing the acclaimed Pointe a Calliere archeological museum on Place d'Youville, experience true old-world charm with hand-hewn beams, wood flooring and exposed stone masonry along with the modern conveniences of today.

Twelve french windows offer you bright and airy views onto the square ad cobblestone streets just outside the front door. Listen out for the occassional horse drawn carriages that pass below.

The living area is well appointed with ultra comfortable sofas and leather fauteuil club chairs. Deco not your normal, cold, non-descript apartment. A new

vignette awaits you in every corner...a feast for the eyes and senses.

A cosy wood burning fireplace adds a warm ambiance on cool afternoons and evenings. An antique teak dining table accommodates six people in full view of a second wood burning stove.There is a well very equipped kitchen with a breakfast bar and stools. The laundry area is hidden behind closet doors in the kichen area.

Cable television with both French and English speaking channels is provided. VHS and DVD players with numerous tapes and DVD's for your entertainment, a stereo system and many CD's are provided. The large down sofa has a comfortable queen-size mattress for additional guests or children occupying the apartment.

The bedroom has a comfortable sofa for lounging and a pillowtop queen-size bed. We provide fluffy towels and crisp fresh linens.

Well located in the Old Port, La Maison Berthelet is a short walking distance to Montreal's major attractions such as the Montreal Grand Prix, Montreal Jazz Festival, Montreal Just For Laughs Festival, year round international fireworks displays, free concerts and the Underground City.

Metro (subway) service or bus service is within a five minute walk. Easy access to Casino de Montreal, Biodome, Planetarium Science Museum, IMAX Cinema and Mont Royal Park is available. Winter sports and resorts are within a one hour drive.

Keywords: Old Port, Vieux Montreal, Histiric Center

More Details

Property Manager
Dawne Leturcq-Whatley
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 10, 2017

Why Dawne Leturcq-Whatley chose Montreal

After viewing several properties in Old Montreal with an agent, I saw the sign on the window For Sale! The agent did not even have it listed. I visited the property in the perfect location for me, and on a lovely greenbelt park, steps from the Point a Calliere museum and the Old Port, I just knew it was MY home immediately!

After researching the 1805 heritage of the building, originally owned by Pierre Berthelet, one of the largest landowners in Montreal at the time, found out to my great surprise that he had the same birthday as me, April 15! Talk about karma. It was mine.

What makes this apartment unique

Large open plan, with separate bedroom, stone walls, original old wood beams , only 3 apartments in the building, one per floor, mine on the first floor not street level, 12 grand windows with lots of light!

Great bones and made lots of improvements.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hey Dawn...We loved your apartment in Old Montreal. It was so beautifully furnished...everything was so tasteful. Delta, youre housekeeper, was very accomodating...
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Old Montreal & Quays of the Old Port Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1010 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Portable Travel Crib
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Historic Maison Berthelet, New World Loft-Style Convenience In Old Montreal
average rating of 4.796296 based on 55 reviews
Round Lake
5

Rustic elegance that wraps it's arms around you!

  • 5 of 5

I have been very negligent about writing my review and i have come to the conclusion of why that is,this place is simply just so special to me after experiencing it that I wanted to keep it all to myself. But that is not being fair to our wonderfully accommodating hostess Dawne

From the moment I found this magical flat to when we finally forced ourselves to leave I was thoroughly impressed. I have traveled extensively and have utilized cyberrentals many times. I have always had good experiences but nothing better than this one!

I fell upon this beauty very late one night trying to plan a semi last minute romantic trip for us for Valentine's weekend and shot out an email. Never and I mean never have I received such a lightning fast and personal response from an owner. The very next morning I am getting a call from France and the lovely Dawne is on the other line. We had a wonderful conversation. Transaction was a breeze. We talked a few more times about directions things to do and were off.

Dawne's directions were great, we found parking and we couldn't have been more pleased when we opened the door. It is better than the pictures. You feel like you are stepping back in time with the thick stone walls,recessed windows and the ceiling beams. I felt my jaw drop and just knew we were gonna have a fabulously romantic time even if we never left the flat. We were greated by a welcome message from Dawne on the machine again evidence of her attention to detail not just in her exquisite taste in decorating but also to her committent to her guests needs.

It was freezing outside and to have such a wonderful mix of history with all the modern anemities anyone could ask for to come home to was heart warming. We loved the fireplace and the chess game was well utilized. The kitchen was so open and well appointed. there was even a woodstove in the kitchen if you needed to be extra cozy. It was wonderful and envigorating waking up to the sunlight that filtered in through all the wondows that literally surround three sides of the flat.

We had originally booked for thurs fri and sat night but I woke up in the cozy gorgeous bedroom sunday morning and just didn't want to leave. I emailed Dawne on a wish and a prayer and she got back to me in like 1/2 hr and said yes. Then Scott woke up Monday and he didn't want to leave again Dawne was prompt to respond and we stayed.

Wish we never had to go, Can't wait to return! <3 Nancy and Scott

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

beautiful apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is lovely, well-decorated and well-appointed. You can walk or take the metro anywhere you want to go.

This is a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria VA USA
5

Un endroit incroyable où séjourner dans le Vieux-Montréal!!

  • 5 of 5

We greatly enjoyed staying in this historic home, which was built in 1805, and updated to provide every comfort. The pictures on the Homeway site, while accurate, do not do the property justice. Maison Berthelet, located in the heart of Old Montreal, combines the best of modern conveniences, tasteful decoration with fine art, vibrant city living and the warmth of a country home. This property (being situated close, to rue St. Paul, the center of Old Montreal) is within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants and bars, museums, art galleries, and historical sites. Montreal's excellent Metro subway system is a few blocks away, so the rest of Montreal is easy to access, as well. This makes having a car optional (Note: street parking can be difficult to find, and is costly; though there are several pay parking lots within a few blocks of the maison). The owner was extremely easy to work with, and promptly responded to any inquiries. We look forward to staying again on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oklahoma City
5

great character and great kitchen

  • 5 of 5

Great location and great charm. The kitchen is fabulous with every thing needed to cook and serve. Good bathroom also. Air conditioning never cooled the unit particularly the bedroom and with construction in front very difficult to unload with a vehicle and park. Other than that Great place!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, well furnished, historic apartment in the middle of everything.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a week with our 2 children and found it very well furnished and comfortable. We had everything we needed. There were so many things just a short walk from the apartment. Despite being in the middle of a busy area it was very quiet. It was very helpful to have all the guidebooks and maps available to plan our day. We appreciated the call from Dawne to check on us to make sure we had everything we needed. We had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

A bit disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Construction all along the street made taxi access difficult. A warning would have been helpful especially since this has been going on for more than two years. Although the apartment is very well appointed and ideally located, we were not able to find directions for the AC, lights or front door lock and could not get any to work. With only unsecured wifi and an owner in France we were not able to get any of these issues resolved during our six day visit. Moldy coffee grounds in the coffee maker, no trash bags or dishwasher detergent indicate poor local oversight.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, only 2 stars? Certainly not the norm for Maison Berthelet. Housekeeping issues could be due to my new houskeeper and I take full responsibility for it, even though you emailed me that the coffee maker grinds was not a problem as you liked the French Press to make coffee. I have addressed it with her. I have no control over the work on the street as access and work changes daily and excavation of a very important archeological discovery in North America is significant. If you took the time to visit the museum just across the street it should have been made clear to you but I apologize for the inconvenience. Other issues you had have never been a problem for other guests, they had no problems with the door lock, the 2 circuited lights, or finding the ac thermostat. Hope you overlooked these things when visiting our beautiful Montreal and staying in such a great apartment. Hope you come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Pierre Trudeau Airport
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Downtown Montreal
Car: not necessary

Located in the heart of Old Montreal,our loft-style apartment is located on a greenbelt park in a 1806 listed historic building just a few steps from the acclaimed Pointe-A-Calliere Museum of Archeology and History.

We are a 5 minute walk from either Place Victoria or Place des Arts metro stations. All of the amazing Underground City of Montreal can be accessed from either of these. Great in the winter months to escape the chilly weather or during the warmer months to get out of the heat.

One of Montreals popular BIXI bike rental locations is just a short block from the door. All amenities including either IGA or Metro supermarkets, drug stores(Jean Coutou or PharmaPrix), banks, coffee shops, and numerous great restaurants are within a few minutes of the door.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $8.11 per person per night
Pet Fee $40.55

Check-in after 3pm.
Check-out 9am unless late check-out agreed upon with owner.

No refunds for cancellations but dates can be changed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties