Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming country lake front home

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 180 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 1 half bath sleeps 10-11

All the comforts of a year round home with the qualities of lake living. Located in a sheltered cove and protected from boat traffic. Fantastic views from wall of windows on enclosed back porch. Two docks, one connected to the boat house for enjoying evening beverages. Detached large game room with ping pong, foosball, video games , darts and board games. Nicely landscaped, parking for five cars.

Lake House on Panther Pond: Lovely large, vintage home, well landscaped on 1/2 acre lot with 150' of waterfront. Located on the outer banks of a sheltered cove and protected from boat traffic. House features a formal dining room and large living room with a fireplace. A separate game room offers, video games, ping pong table , fooz ball and darts. Water Access: - direct. Distance to Wft: 100'. - Access to great shared sandy beach only a short distance by boat.

Lot Description: Separate game room with extensive lawn around house and to waterfront. A boathouse at the waters edge with attached dock. Cottage faces: east. View: across lake. Dock - y 2; Overnight Docking - y; Mooring - n; Float - n; Boats included - y rowboat; Boat Launching facilities - Mill St or Crescent Lake.

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017


Raymond House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Sleeper Sofa - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
New outdoor Fire pit


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Charming country lake front home
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews

Perfect week on the lake!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for my extended family visiting Maine for the week. It has such great space for family to come together. The big living room was great for us - we played rounds of trivial pursuit or played music together. And the yard is huge - we had a nice lobster boil and celebrated my son's second birthday. It was perfect for our family!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coopersburg, pa

Great family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful old lake home with lots of character and a nice big yard.My family of 7 adults and 3 teenagers had a great week together.We fished,played games and even had a ping pong tournament.

Our teenage girl slept on the futon,and 2 teenage boys slept on air mattresses in game room ,which worked out perfect!

When we needed owner he was very responsive.

Note to travelers : bring paper products toilet paper,paper towel and extra bed linens/blankets if you are using futon. Beds are all very comfortable

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location to enjoy Panther Pond

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this charming house. There was plenty of room for all. The house was clean and cozy. The owners were friendly and easy to conduct business with. The sunrise over the pond was just stunning!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great vacation house!

  • 5 of 5

This was a great vacation house! Looked for a camp to rent but spent a week in a lake house with lots and lots of room inside and out! The bedrooms were good sized and well enough away from the downstairs that early risers didn't wake up the late sleepers. The kitchen was large with lots of counter space and a good entrance space. So enjoyed the vast living room that opened onto the porch! The view was awesome from the moment you awoke! Early mornings were spent in the kayak enjoying the solitude of the pond! Three days in a row we saw an eagle fly over our kayaks! The game room along with fishing excursions kept our teenage son entertained! The lot is almost .5 acres, enjoys about 150' of frontage and is very private. It is located on a busy street but the plus is that there is a picket fence separating the driveway from the rest of the property. We had some great family time playing bocce on the great lawn space! As the property is located within a cove that is very shallow and grassy there wasn't swimming except at the beach that you have to boat to. It was amazing how quiet the pond was but speed boats couldn't race through the cove. Nor did you hear much racing around while out in the kayaks. Kept expecting it to get loud but we were pleasantly surprised! We were there the last week of July during a 90 degree humid week. The central air was WONDERFUL! The first day I put it on incorrectly (just the fan) but thought it through and got it set properly. It got so cold in there that we ended up setting the cooling to 70 degrees and were very comfortable upstairs and at times slightly too cool downstairs. During the first part of the week we had a cool rainy day and were able to get a nice fire going in the fireplace! The house had everything that we needed. It would have been great on those normal temp days to have a door and windows on the porch that opened to screens. A big concern upon arriving was the smell/air quality. I opened windows and sprayed lysol to combat the smell and after just a bit was feeling better. Imagine that having been closed up and it being an early 1900's home with a partial dirt basement with field stone foundation that it needed to breathe a bit. This house can hold a crowd and is set up perfectly! What a great vacation house!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Dated, Dirty and House is in disrepair

  • 1 of 5

I have rented summer homes in Maine from Home away's website for years and have always been satisfied. I am not someone who would complain but I feel if this helps one family from going through what my family and guests had to then it is worth taking the time to list the problems. First you should know that the house is for sale and I was told by Rex that it wouldn't be a problem. Arriving on Sunday my son was greeted by a realtor who wanted to show the house but he told them we were renting for the week. On Thursday when returning from a day outing there were 2 cars in the driveway and people outside. A realtor had let them in and shown the property without my consent. I was never asked/agreed to showings on a property I paid to be at. When we arrived on Sunday the house was filthy with dirt, dust and pet hair. Also the pictures are deceiving, the property is very run down. The air conditioning (the main reason I chose this place) was not working upstairs but there were fans in every room obviously they knew about the problem. Broken window shades throughout.The sink backed up and no amount of Drano fixed it. They did send someone that day after I called them. The TV remote doesn't work and the disks for the game player would not load because they were so scratched. Cushions on chairs, benches and sofa were stained and dirty. The beds had been changed and they were the only thing that was clean. The gas grill was broken which they knew because they had a regular charcoal grill next to it. The kitchen faucet leaked. when trying to plug in the coffee maker there were sparks from the outlet. The row boat couldn't be used by he kids because the oarlocks would not hold the oars and one of the oars was warped. We had to rig the oar locks with twist ties to use it. The upstairs bath was bad as well. The shower which was molded plastic had cracks in it. On Saturday when everyone was going to shower since we had to be out by 10am on Sunday the shower curtain rod which was glued to the wall fell down and we all left on Sunday morning with no showers. Trash barrels were in bad shape some with no lids and we had to find plywood in the basement to make covers for them. My family and I save and look forward to this one week every year and it was a total disaster. The one positive is the fishing. If you like to bass fish then this is the lake to fish in just rent somewhere else on Panther Pond! Home away has many other listings on this pond.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My wife and I and our family have rented our home for 10 years, we do not actively solicit reviews and this is the first review that has been negative. Like all issues there are always two sides to the story, some of the complaints were fair. The prior renters cracked the shower, but until the end of the season there is no way to replace the unit. We were told the shower unit was fine for showering. We apologize if you found the house dirty it had been cleaned prior to your arrival. We provide two grills to renters both work including the gas grill, it could have been it was out of gas, which we do not replace on a weekly basis. Until recently we did not offer the gas grill because the issues with who will fill the tank, seemed like a no win position for us. I responded to the maintenance call immediately and a plumber arrived within 3 hours to fix the clogged drain. In 10 years we have never had that drain clog so are at a loss as to why this happened. We had the air conditioning unit checked and we were told it is working fine. We provide fans in all the bedrooms, because in Maine it rarely gets warm enough to utilize the air-conditioning. We will continue to make every effort for our guests to have an enjoyable vacation and be welcomed in our home. The house is for sale, two messages were left on your phone informing you of a showing. Going forward the house will not be shown if their are renters in it.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Lots of family memories!!!

  • 5 of 5

It was just as it was described. Beautiful, relaxing, and near everything. Our kids loved the game room, and the fishing. We caught tons of fish and some real big ones. Used the fire pit for making smores. We boated and tubed on long lake which was only 8 miles down the road. Lot's of room and my favorite part of the house was the huge livingroom. Everything was clean, up to date, and plenty of beds and places to sleep. Definitely worth it and we will be back next year. - Thanks, The Brown Family

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Portland International JetPort
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Portland Cat Ferry
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Portland Train Station
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $200

Off Peak - 900.00 -1300.00week
$1900.00 per week,
check in saturday 2;00pm
Check out Saturday 10:00am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties