Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beautiful, Large Victorian Adobe House with Casita

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Property has 4 Bedrooms + 3.5 Baths (Beds for 10 + a pull out couch)

This historic landmark property consist of a main house and a casita.

The main house is 4200 sq feet. Downstairs there is a fully equipped kitchen with Viking range, butler's pantry, dining room that seats 10+, large living room and full laundry room. There are two bedrooms downstairs, one has two twin beds and the other has a king bed. There is also one full and one half bath. The house has a beautiful front porch for dining and relaxing.

Upstairs is a 1200 sq ft family suite with a king bed, two twin beds and large bathroom.

The Casita has one bedroom with sitting room and full bath. The casita has a refrigerator/microwave and screened in patio.

Both properties are surrounded by a privacy wall yet are located downtown next to the Paisano hotel, the center of activity.

The property may be rented for vacation rental or to host your next event. Weddings are often held here.

Keywords: House, vacation rental, weddings, events, hotel, marfa

More Details

Property Manager
Laura Marcinkowski
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 6, 2014

Why Laura Marcinkowski chose Marfa

Interesting community that combines the ranching and art worlds. It is peacefuland relaxing yet something or someone interesting is always there.

What makes this house unique

Meeting people and hanging out with family and friends, visiting art galleries and music venues, going horseback riding, touring west Texas.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Visit this wonderful 100 year old home referred to by the locals as the castle in

the desert. A great place for family and friends to stay or for hosting an event.

Enjoy the unique architecture and furnishings in this one of a kind property.
Jan 2008
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Paisano Hotel
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Jetts Grill
Car: necessary

Marfa Gliders


Marfa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Downstairs Full Bath - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Full Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Casita Full Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    1/2 Bathroom downstairs - toilet
  • 3.25 2.5 in house, one in casita
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Main House #2 bedroom downstairs - 2 twin/ single
    Main House #1 bedroom downstairs - 1 king
    Main House Upstairs #3 Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
    Casita Bedroom - 1 queen
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Pull out Couch (1)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Beautiful, Large Victorian Adobe House with Casita
average rating of 4.2 based on 11 reviews
San Francisco, CA


  • 5 of 5

This was my second trip to Marfa and I had only ever stayed in a hotel. From the moment that I booked the home until we left on our final day it was a lovely experience. The house was spotless and the beds super comfortable. We really enjoyed the look and feel of the home -from the decor to the oversized porch it was all perfect!

Thank you so much for providing us with a home we could enjoy every time we come to Marfa!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home Away from Home, Without Any of the Stress!

  • 5 of 5

Rented the Main House for a group of 8 friends to enjoy Marfa before the holidays. What a rejuvenating retreat! The rooms are far enough apart to have some privacy at night but the lovely wrap around patio makes it a great place for hanging out in the sun light or in the moonlight. Best of both worlds.

It's positioned in the middle of town so we could get around to all the points of interest without needing to load up in a car. And the BEST coffee in Marfa is just two blocks away! And the night life at Padre's is just a couple more blocks away. But the house offers so much, there's really no need to leave. We cooked every meal right there at the house and got to enjoy the time together at the large dining room table. Having the washer and dryer was divine so that we didn't have a pile of dirty laundry when we got home.

While I was there, I got a tour of the Casita! It seems like the perfect place for a romantic get away. I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

completely not happy with this listing this time. We arrived to dusty floors and everything had dust. We had no oven to bake our meals on even though the owner knew this. As he sent repair people over on Friday after we had arrived. Not enough towels for each 10 women to have one. until we found the wet ones in the dryer and had to rewash and dry. We did not get a very good answer to our oven problem, they had us drive 5 blocks away to another house and bake everything. Try that on a morning you wake up to breakfast casseroles that need cooked. We will not recommend this place with out some improvements done on it. The care taker David did try to fix the heating problem but that did not happen either, Marfa is very cold in November in the evenings and early mornings.

10 women paid big bucks to have this nice place and it was a NIGHTMARE

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you were not happy on this visit. The pilot in the oven stopped working which we did not know until you arrived and unfortunately the piece to fix it had to be ordered and would not arrive while you were there. We did try to provide a way for you to use another oven - granted not ideal but the best that could be done in the circumstances. The cleaners forgot to take the last of the towels out of the dryer that is not typically and issue. We did order new ones so that won't happen again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Houston, Texas

Simply the Best.

  • 5 of 5

We have a group of 6-7 adults and 5-6 kids that have stayed at El Sueno several times over the last 4-5 years. It is a great place for enjoying Marfa. We have logged many hours relaxing on the expansive patio, discussing our adventures at Padre's (which is just a short walk away). It cannot be easy to maintain a house so large in Marfa, but every year we notice improvements (new patio floor, new TV in the upstairs bedroom, etc). There is not enough space provided in these review "write-ups" to list all the things we love about El Sueno, but here are some of them: the lush yard; the casita; the numerous fire places; the giant dinning room with ample seating around the table; the modern stove and all the other necessary kitchen items (notably, a blender); the full laundry room; the arrangement upstairs for having kids on one side and the comfortable king size bed for the parents on the other; the two large bedrooms downstairs; the architecture of the house; the history of the house; the nice lady who lives next door who came by to pay us a visit; the location; the huge sitting room next to the dinning room; and the great hospitality of the owners. El Sueno is a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoy El Sueno & Marfa as much as we do. It is pleasure to share our home with guests like you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas, TX USA

Great place to Hang out and relax in Marfa

  • 5 of 5

I was pleased by the pictures but even more excited when we got to the house, it was huge and built like a tank. It had a great setting for my friends and I to just hang out on the porch and meet people walking by. Loved the location we could walk anywhere in town or make food at the house. And the beds were very comfortable, most important in my opinion. Perfect for a group, large family or two. Will definitely come back and recommend to anyone going to Marfa!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Midland, TX

Not Quite as Advertised and Overpriced

  • 2 of 5

This is a large house with plenty of room for people to stay without stepping on each other's toes. The beds are comfy and linens are very nice. Gourmet kitchen? No way. Unfortunately for the owners, people who can afford what we paid to rent both the large home and the casita, probably have gourmet kitchens. This "gourmet kitchen" was a major disappointment. Lighting was equivalent to a cave until property manager came and at least upped the wattage on the 1 light bulb in kitchen. There is a very low wattage florescent strip over sink but it was minimal. Viking range? Quite old, and lord knows when it was last serviced. Oven had multiple hotspots and there was no way to get an accurate temperature reading. Refrigerator was a brand none of us had ever heard of. Anything kept in the back of the refrigerator froze. Not what you want to have happen when you are there to share Thanksgiving with family and friends! Dining for 20? Table and chairs for 8 were what we got. As there were 11 of us that didn't quite work. Televisions? 2 televisions from last century - boxy things one of which did not work at all. There was one flat screen....all 13 inches of it! We had one of our family members bring his 42" HDTV from home so we could watch Thanksgiving football! Upon arrival we had to clean dog poop that was in the area between the main house and casita. Why this was so, we didn't know as the front yard was lovely. All of this would have been almost OK if we were paying much less than we did. For what we paid, it didn't come close to making us as happy as we had hoped to be.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: November 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that the kitchen did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best experience for our guests. Based on your feedback we are addressing the temperature of the refrigerator and stove to ensure no hot and cold spots and are increasing the lighting in the kitchen. We do not have a dog on the property and the grounds are carefully looked after so we must have had one wander in. We will make sure the gates are securely closed in the future. In regard to your comment on the price though, the property is actually a much better value than a hotel as it sleeps 10 people comfortably so the cost per person is at a lower rate with different amenities than a hotel can provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Standard Rates
Main House $575 per night with a two night minimum - Sleeps 8 Adults
Casita: $150 per night with a two night minimum - Sleeps up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years of age
Entire property: $700 per night with a two night minimum

Please confirm rates when you call, in some cases holiday /event rates may apply.

Weekly Rates (7 night rental)
Main House $3,450 (one night free)
Casita $900 (one night free)
Entire Property $4,350 (one night free)

Pay upon booking. We take Visa MasterCard American Express and checks.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties