Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 - 6)



NOTE: Because we are located in an area designated as a “quiet zone” by the US government, there is no cell phone or GPS service in the area. There is a landline phone is in the cabin (phone card required for long distance calls).

Come and enjoy our cabin situated on 5+ acres and relax in the private hot tub on the lower deck. Located on Rt. 92 in Pocahontas County, we offer serenity with convenience and easy access in any season. Bring only your clothes, toiletries and food - the cabin has everything you need, including a full kitchen, linens, and towels. We have also provided a paved parking area just for motorcycles.

We are 12 miles from Snowshoe Mountain Ski Resort, the East Coast's premier year-round resort - great skiing in winter and mountain biking in the summer. Try a round of golf at the Raven Golf Course. We are centrally located for motorcycle touring, go onto, click on "Activities", scroll down and click on "Motorcycle Touring" and scroll down on more time and click on "Click here for a Downloadable Touring Map". Pocahontas County is also well known for fishing with 8 rivers and streams flowing through, most of which are stocked. The Greenbrier River, well known for fly fishing is also popular for canoeing, kayaking and tubing. We are 5 miles from The Greenbrier River Trail, popular as one of the fifty Millennium Legacy Trails. The trail is free and open only to hiking, horseback riding or non-motorized bikes.

We are 1 mile from the National Radio Astronomy Observatory at Green Bank, 5 miles from the Cass Scenic Railroad. There are approximately 8 state and national parks within easy driving distance, including Nelson Rocks which features a Via Feratta climbing system, one of a very few in the United States.

There is something for everyone in Pocahontas County - train enthusiasts, motorcyclists, bikers, hunters, fisherman and skiers and we would like to warmly invite you to come and enjoy Wild Wonderful and Beautiful West Virginia!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Deane Hackney
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2017


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Lewisburg, WV
Nearest Barpub
13 Miles
Snowshoe Ski Resort
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Cass Scenic Railroad - visit
Nearest Restaurant
13 Miles
Nearest Ski
13 Miles
Snowshoe Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
Shaver Lake at Snowshoe
Car: necessary

If you like the outdoors, this area is for you. Great activities like Snowshoe Mountain Ski Resort (ski in winter and mountain bike in warm weather) or in summer take a swim in Shaver Lake, Great area for motorcycle touring, Greenbrier River Trail (rails to trails park, 77 miles of hiking/biking/horseback riding trail), National Radio Astronomy Observatory at Green Bank, Cass Scenic Railroad State Park, Monongahela National Forest, Senaca State Forest; fish in the Greenbrier River, Knapps Creek, Deer Creek, or Buffalo Lake; take a stroll through the Cranberry glades - absolutely beautiful.


Dunmore Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 piece bath - large shower, sink, toilet. No bathtub
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , On main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Enclosed loft area
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In living room
    Pack and Play - Stored in closet of downstairs bedroom
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa converts to a full size bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Paved parking for motorcycles; Fire Pit; Picnic Table


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
17% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.7534246 based on 73 reviews


  • 2 of 5

We stayed in Bears Den during a weekend in October of 2017. After a long 8 hour drive we arrived Friday evening after 10:30 pm. First impressions were great. Nice wooded area, nice facilities, every thing we were looking for.

Then my mother and wife noticed there were wet dirty towels still hanging in the bathroom and the actual bathroom itself was as if a ball team of young boys had visited (if you get my meaning). An 8 hour drive and we had to clean the bathroom and do the laundry from the previous renters.

We started to call, but it was late. We woke up Saturday morning and decided we would call on Sunday when we left as we had already cleaned the facility ourselves and didn't want to interrupt our vacation.

Sunday we woke up, prepared to leave and called the maintenance people to let them know of the situation. At that time they had disclosed to us they had never come in to clean the facilities. This is when we found out that not only did we have to clean the rather nasty bathroom and do laundry, but we had also been sleeping on dirty sheets. I'm not one to overreact, but to me, after seeing the condition of the bathroom, we're were quite put out to think of our sleeping conditions.

We contacted the owners and they apologized, and offered us a $50 cleaning fee refund. They stated that it was actually our fault for not contacting them sooner. While that was an option - what were they going to do - come in and clean what we had already cleaned? Is it our fault management didn't double check to see if the facilities were ready? Never before have I been blamed for someone else's negligence.

If I were you, while the location was nice, I'd definitely find another place to stay where you aren't blamed for someone else's ineptness and know you're going to be staying in a clean facility

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this happened on your visit to our cabin. We have used the same people to clean and maintain the cabin for us and our guests for the past 10 years and this is the first time they have made a mistake on their dates. They do a very good for job for us and felt really bad they had made this mistake. We are not blaming you for this situation, we just don’t understand why you waited until the day you were leaving to call the cleaning crew or us. We live 225 miles from the cabin and depend on Mr. Lambert to help with any issues or problems that arise. But if we don’t know there is a problem, it’s difficult for us to help. There should have been extra clean towels and bed linens in the linen closet. We have refunded your cleaning fee, damage deposit, plus an additional $100.00 compensation. Have a Blessed Day
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect country getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable, fully furnished cabin with a secluded feel. Close to so many WV treasures (Cass Scenic Railroad, Green Bank Observatory, Snowshoe, The Greenbrier Resort, etc.). Perfect place to relax after a WV daytrip.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Deer creek cabin

  • 3 of 5

The bed was uncomfortable. But everything else was great.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you found the bed not to your comfort level. We choose bedding that is on a medium level between soft and firm in order to accommodate everyone as close as possible. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin otherwise and hope to hear from you in the future. Doug & Deane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dunmore Dream

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 3 nights at the Bear's Den while visiting relatives and seeing the local sights- Cass Scenic Railroad and the Green Bank Observatory. The cabin is fully equipped and quite comfortable. We enjoyed our visit and will return.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the cabin. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Doug & Deane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time!

  • 4 of 5

Really enjoyed this cabin and it was a hit with all that visited us there. Had family that was staying in Cass for about the same price and they were upset by how much nicer our cabin was. I don't recommend using the pull-out sofa, it leaves much to be desired. Other than that, we loved it. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Bears Den cabin provided a quiet and relaxing vacation from the fast pace living of urban life. The cabin was clean and in good condition. Enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. Would recommend this place to family and friends. The residents in this rural area of WV are very nice and friendly. Thank you Deane and Doug for your use of the cabin.

Bob and Cindy S.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 12.0%

NO e-checks on reservations of 30 days or less.
Full payment is due within 24 hours on reservations of less than 30 days
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Check-Out is 11:00 am and Check-In is 4:00 pm
Weekly Rentals are Friday to Friday OR Sunday to Sunday ONLY
Cancellations - 100% if canceled 30 or more days out; 50% if canceled 29 to 14 days out; No refunds if canceled less than 14 days out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties