check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Paul & Kitty Long

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Grand View Chalet: Great Views, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Ping Pong Table, Fire pit

28 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maggie Valley House Rental Photos and Description

Secluded and peaceful, yet convenient to shopping and restaurants.

We offer 10% discount to senior citizens and active duty military service personal.

Grand View Chalet: minutes away from Maggie Valley Club clubhouse and first tee, nice walks, hikes, waterfalls, Lake Junaluska, great restaurants, White Water Rafting, Fantasy Golf, and Cataloochee Ski Resort, just 9 miles away, among many other attractions. Also, close to grocery stores, places of worship and the hospital. Waynesville, a quaint town 5 miles away, has great cultural events, restaurants, shopping, and is a great place to visit. Take a short day trip to Asheville to see the famous Biltmore House or try your luck at Cherokee Casino.

Grand View Chalet is at an elevation of 3100 feet; the view is magnificent. Relax on a tree-shaded deck with a day of lazy reading; unwind in the hot tub on the screened porch; enjoy an evening under the stars on the deck or by the fire-pit.

Golf: Maggie Valley Club golf course is less than a mile from Grand View Chalet. As you drive to the chalet you will pass several of its fairways and greens. Daily rates available.

Waynesville, NC: While Maggie Valley offers many good restaurants and great shopping, Waynesville is just a few (about 5) miles away and adds even more fine restaurants and excellent shopping.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Paul & Kitty Long (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Paul & Kitty Long

Grand View Chalet is owned by Kitty and Paul. It’s the only rental/vacation home they own and manage. They purchased in 2006 after retiring to North Carolina. They became familiar with Maggie Valley when some of their children attended college in the area. At one time they planned to retire to Waynesville, which is very near Maggie Valley, but circumstances drew them to another part of North Carolina. They choose Grand View Chalet for its private setting and wonderful view and the fact it is close to shopping, good restaurants, skiing, hiking trails, and many areas of interest such as Asheville and the Smoky Mountains. After purchasing the house they remodeled and refurnished most of the house inside and out. This included new flooring and rugs, painting inside and out, adding central HAC, repaving the parking area and installing a new hot tub. They love to spend time there when they can and managing it keeps them busy when added to the many other activities of retirement.

Paul & Kitty Long purchased this house in 2006

Reviews

5
based on 28 traveler reviews

Grand View Chalet: Great Views, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Ping Pong Table, Fire pit
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
4

Our overall experience was very good!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time in the area and in this house. It was well stocked and the layout was adequate however the loft lends itself to a lot of noise from down below. All beds were comfortable with the exception of the twin beds. (need memory foam or new mattresses). The deck was wonderful but the grand view was disappointing - you only see a sliver. the view may be better in the winter months when the leaves are off the trees. The little extras were nice - the body lotions and robes on back of doors. Well stocked with towels for both bathrooms. The sectional couch was a great conversation pit and we loved the big farm table! The lock box needs to be replaced as the little black slide is jammed and it's hard to roll the number pad. Ample parking with this house. The Fire pit and Hot tub were nice extras but we did not use either one being that it is summer and its already mighty hot! We would definitely like to be refunded for the hot tub cleaning expense since it was never used. Please let us know when we can expect this. Kim & John Nelson

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kim and John, Thank you for your review. We appreciated your positive comments. Kitty and I are meticulous in making the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible hence, we will consider the issues you have raised. Our hot tub maintenance crew is required to drain and clean the hot tub before new renters arrive; therefore, this fee is specified in the contract and agreed to once it is accepted. We have had guests that do not use the hot tub, but understand this is part of renting the Chalet since we have no way to determine if the tub was used. This is to protect you and future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A beautiful place to stay and feel right at home!

  • 5 of 5

We had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and most relaxing. We lacked nothing in amenities.

The location was perfect for just sitting out on the deck and taking in the beauty of the mountains. At night, relaxing in the hot tub was very welcome after a day out on the trails.

Would highly recommend Grand View Chalet to anyone who wants a peaceful and restful stay.

Thank you for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice! Perfect for our family.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay one week in July. Spent a lot of time outside on the large deck, and very much enjoyed the hot tub on the screen porch. The large loft was perfect for our teenagers, and they could also hang out in the garage downstairs with the ping pong table. Can recommend Cattalochee ranch for horse back riding, we also enjoyed a couple of day hikes on trails along the Blue Ridge Highway. Wonderful summer getaway. The house is in a great location and had everything we needed!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Grand View Chalet. The house was a great fit for a family of seven and located in a beautiful mountain setting. Ping-pong for the kids, comfortable beds, fire-pit equipped with wood, hot tub and everything was very clean and in excellent condition. We'd highly recommend this vacation home to friends and relatives.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Mountain Chalet

  • 5 of 5

The Grand View Chalet was the perfect place for our group's ski weekend. It's in a great location with beautiful views of the mountains! Very comfortable place to stay for the weekend; it felt like home. I would highly recommend this to anyone needing a place in the Maggie Valley area. We will definitely stay here when we're back in the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Goodyear, AZ
5

Great get away and very close to the slopes

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this property and the owners were very helpful with directions and other specifics for the use of this property. The hot tub was an excellent way to end our days of skiing. On this trip, we had four adults and five young children, and did not feel cramped; the youngest child with us (age 4) slept in a sleeping bag in his parent's room, and there was still plenty of space. Recommend bringing a newspaper with you, as we did not bring any extra fire starter material, and ended up buying one at a local gas station after we burnt up our cardboard we had with us on the first night, but not a big deal, as the gas station is less than 5 minutes from the house. It took just over 15 minutes to get to Cataloochee Ski Resort, even with some snow the first day. If you ski there, beware of after about 1130 on the weekends for the masses from Atlanta that have no clue how to ski. Our daughter got taken out twice on accident (wasn't a huge deal, but still concerning) by skiers behind her that couldn't stop. Get there early! We ended up starting promptly at 0845 (lifts were already running, it looked like around 0830), and on Saturday decided to depart about 1200. If you rent skis there, either rent in town or get to the slopes early...the lines we saw for people waiting for equipment were very, very long. Paul was also very attune to the weather (storm was supposed to hit the night prior to us checking out), and he even called to let us know he would be able to assist if we had any checkout problems with road conditions, etc.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Cataloochee Ski Area
Joey's Pancake House
"Breakfast only, but the best at reasonable prices. Not open year around so check before going."
Frankie's Italian Trattoria
"Very close and the food is great; one of our favorites."
The Swag Country Inn
Cataloochee Ski & Snowboard Parade
Laurel Ridge Country Club
Tube World
J. Arthur's Restaurant
Wheels Through Time Museum
The Cataloochee Ranch Restaurant
Hemphill Stables
Maggie Valley Club & Resort
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Frankies Italian Trattoria
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area
Car: necessary

Grand View Chalet is located on the mountainside above the Maggie Valley Club Golf Course.

Other Activities: Biltmore Estate

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maggie Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Summer 2016
Sep 10 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Fall Colors 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 5 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Xmas-New Year 2016
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$160
 
 
Winter-Spring 2017
Jan 5 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$150
From
$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

clean house $110 + Tax
drain and clean hot tub $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 11.0%

Nightly rates based on minimum stay and Saturday arrival or departure. Periods other than minimum or weekly are priced proportionally. Email us for exact quote based on arrival and departure dates. Other discounts may apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maggie Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , second floor
  • Charming dressing room with sink separate from toilet and shower room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , (twins = trundle)
  • Bedroom 3 is a loft with queen, trundle, desk and TV including cable and wireless internet.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
Notes:
Full flight of steps must be taken to reach the main floor and another to reach the sleeping loft. One small, well behaved dog consider. Flea and tick treatment required before arrival. Non-refundable pet fee required.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties