Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront home, Baileys Harbor, 1/2 price Monday-Thursday Sept-May

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 14-18)

Vacationing by the lake is the consummate Door County experience. The waves will lull you to sleep and the ever-changing mood of the lake will become your favorite memory. Kite and sail surfers practice in our bay because of the calm conditions. All types of pleasure and fishing boats arrive and ore ships hug the shore as they pass.

The clean lines of the Empire style interior are accented by our collection of one-of-a-kind antiques from around the world. Each area has an access to the outside by way of a porch or balcony. Each room is cleverly designed to have a lake view.

The queen bedrooms are off the porch and deck on the main floor and upstairs in the whirlpool area. The standard bedrooms are off the garage and upstairs in the Carousel area. 3 bathrooms are attached to bedrooms; one in the upstairs Carousel area is not.

You are ten minutes away from thick and lively shopping traffic on the bay side. Our lake side is known as the quiet nature sanctuary of unique wild plants and animals. The beauty and calm has drawn the most talented actors and artists to this area since the early 1900's.

Children are delighted to play in the sand at the shallow water's edge, walk to the Yum Yum Tree for ice cream, rearrange the doll house, ride the wild carousel rabbit, play the unique folk toys, or other games. The kids collection of DVDs can be viewed as the prepare for bed. Ask for directions to The Farm where even older children like to purchase food for the hungry baby barnyard animals.

Keywords: Large house, pet friendly areas and dividable

More Details

Owner
Mary S Spangler
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

About Mary S Spangler

As retired teachers, parents and grand parents, we value family get to togethers at a reasonable price

Mary S Spangler purchased this house in 2001

Why Mary S Spangler chose Baileys Harbor

It is large enough for family reunions and on the water

What makes this house unique

The view of the water from the porch

Amenities

Baileys Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • A space must be left in for the garbage cans and recycling to be taken from the north of the garage under the cedars to the Going Garbage truck.
  • The refrigerator must be emptied .
  • The dishwasher must be emptied.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Convertible bed(s) - 2 queen , There are 2 pullouts in the upstairs sitting rooms
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , There is also a recliner couch in this bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), 2 floor beds located in the carousel area, 2 child beds ( one is a Thomas the train chair floor bed)and a pack n play 2 recliner couches; 1 on the porch and 1 in the porch suite as well as 2 queen pullouts with extra mattresses in upstairs living rooms
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 5 bicycles
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are 3 gathering areas for family and friend reunions, and various wooden kinetic toys, a rocking Carousel rabbit, 1 child's bike and 5 adult bikes. The house or Inn is zoned as a duplex so it can be divided. It is located in town within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. There is croquet and running through the sprinkler on the wide grassy lawn overlooking the harbor and Bird's Nest Island. There is a safe basement storm area. In addition, packaged goods are available next door as well as kayak and paddle boat rentals. The public beach which is 1/8 mi South can be reached from our shoreline or a short walk down the sidewalk to the South. The Marina is 3 blocks away within walking distance.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
12% Complete
9% Complete
Waterfront home, Baileys Harbor, 1/2 price Monday-Thursday Sept-May
average rating of 4.0625 based on 32 reviews
5

Lots of room, very comfortable, right on the lake, a fully equipped kitchen

  • 5 of 5

The whole group had a wonderful time. It’s a great location. You can walk to so many restaurants and to the nature center. We can’t wait to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! You were great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house

  • 4 of 5

The house is lovely and the view of the lake was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and there was plenty of room for the 13 of us. However, one bedroom off the garage had no heat and it was cold. It also had a musty smell which made is unusable. The house was well furnished, but we could have used extra blankets and the coffee maker had a pot that wasn't made for that maker so we had to hold the button up above the pot in order for the coffee to drip down. Loved the house and the location. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend - two nights was simply not enough!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would never go again to the property

  • 1 of 5

Worst property I have been to. Very old, dusty and moldy. My daughter got badly injured on her knee with a screw that had popped out of an outlet on the carpeted floor. It quite ruined our vacation. The furniture is quite old and in some instance saw few nails popping out of dining chairs. My recommendation is to stay away

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The family left the property fairly clean and followed the house rules so we gave them a 3. However their kids were playing, knocked over a table, broke it and then broke my grandmother's crystal punch bowl off the dining room buffet. Before their arrival, my I spent 4 hours cleaning. I was sorry for the injury to the little girl, but it was not due to an outlet in the floor. When they returned home, they asked for "compensation" . We showed them pictures of the broken crystal punch bowl and responded " compensation?". I could not show a picture of the broken end table, because my husband had already fixed it when we arrived to clean for our next guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sturgeon Bay, WI
5

Delightful again!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we've rented the whole property for a week. What a charming place and great location! The view during the day over the waters of Baileys Harbor is therapeutic, and at night with clear skies we were able to see the Andromeda galaxy and the Double Cluster in Perseus with unaided vision, awesome in 10x56 binoculars. We enjoyed the lawn with ladder ball, grilling, and the fire pit in the evenings. Furniture is interesting and comfortable. The kitchen was well utilized and the new refrigerator appreciated; the upstairs kitchen we used as a bedroom. We consisted of 11 adults, 2 children and 3 dogs. Those with dogs stayed in the dog-friendly part of the building. We had plenty of room. The enclosed sunporch is cheerful and affords a nice view. There are interesting items throughout the home from the owners' collections.The convenience store/gas station next door provided almost anything we needed which we hadn't brought with us including firewood for the fire pit. Fine dining is within a few steps and the small park is a very easy walk. Yes, there are some repairs not yet completed and opportunities for fresh paint in places but none of this detracted from our enjoyment and shows that the owners take maintenance and improvement of the property seriously. The large garage contains a collection of vintage bicycles and scooters but there's plenty of room for convenient unloading on arrival and would be a godsend if arriving in a downpour. During our stay I often heard, "The next time we come..."

John from Sturgeon Bay

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ray and I are so glad you enjoyed your second stay at our home and appreciate your so positive approach to the balcony construction we have had difficulty completing due to the early summer rains. We hope you do come back 3 dogs included!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Do not rent this property

  • 1 of 5

This property is adjacent to a gas station. During our rental, the upper balcony was being renovated. The balusters were almost completely gone, crudely, often only partly ripped away, often leaving shredded stubs of wood and bent old nails exposed. This was a safety hazard for all who stayed in the house, in particular the children; I'm sure this was in violation of all relevant safety codes. It was also incredibly unpleasant to look at. (It is on the lakeside of the house.) The rear of the house looked like it hadn't been painted or washed for years and is filthy. The interior is crowed and very dated. This is the worst house I have rented through HomeAway/VRBO, and I've rented a couple of dozen over the years.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The gas station to the South provides breakfast and lunch as well as groceries since there is no other store in Baileys Harbor. It is very convenient and there is a large band of Cedar trees between our house and the station. The rain delayed the construction before the high season started which when finished will have aluminum spindles and will be state of the art. The one upper balcony under construction has a locked door to the outside so there is no danger to kids. That upper deck was power washed leaving some dirt on the lower wall. How this review is relevant for future renters, who will not experience this situation doesn't seem pertinent. We will have a new picture on our website as soon as the construction is finished.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

letdown

  • 2 of 5

Quaint old home. Too cluttered with worn out furnitures and appliances. Beds were beyond their usefulness and very old. Laundry was not done and the beds were not made. Garbage not picked up and sat at the curb for most of our stay.

Spacious yard overlooking the water was beautiful and the downtown location was convenient.k

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We constantly update our home. Since July, we have replaced the refrigerator with a top of the line LG stainless, an L G stainless stove and microwave. Furniture has been replaced and with large groups for a week, people need chairs and tables. The previous renters were late leaving and so the home was not ready. We have changed times for entry and exit. The garbage is no longer picked up at the curb but from the North side of the garage. We have been in business for 22 years and have had very few complaints and we have acted on each one.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Green Bay
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Gills Rock
Car: necessary

Lighthouse tours, kite boarding, Ridges Nature Center hikes, classes at the Clearing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Linens, towels, cleaning $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

There is a 2 night minimum and Monday--Thursday is 1/2 price from November 1- June 14. A weekly stay is required from the middle of June until the end of August.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties