expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Obidos - House Lane

Pinhal, Óbidos, Portugal
  • Villa1076 sq. ft.
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • Bathrooms0
  • Half Baths0
  • Mininum Stay4 nights

House r / c and 1st floor. Living room, 2 bedrooms, houses 7

Small house, very welcoming, within the Obidos castle walls. In a quiet location but within walking distance of the bustling Straight Street, where there are abundant cafes, restaurants, typical goods stores and the bars, where serves the famous Ginjinha d'Obidos. The house has two floors and is equipped with all amenities, including Wi-Fi network. In the R / C are the kitchen and the living room with sofa bed for two and cable TV. On the 1st floor there are two bedrooms, one with double bed and one with twin beds and one full bathroom. Bed linen and towels included. Visit us throughout the year, enjoying the various events of the town of Obidos: Holy Week (29/3 to 5/4), International Chocolate Festival (16/4 to 3/5), Medieval Fair (July) and Obidos Christmas Village (December). In House Lane can experience the spirit of this medieval town, UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the most visited sites and charming Portugal.

Owner

Gabriela Martins

  • Member Since 2014
  • Response rate: 90%
  • Response time: within a few hours
  • Speaks: english, french, portuguese

Amenities

    • Pets Welcome
    • Kids Welcome

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
      • 1 double
      • 2 twin/ single
      • On the 1st floor there are two bedrooms, one with double bed and one with twin beds. Bed linen and towels are at your disposal.

      Bathrooms

      • 0 Bathrooms
      • combination tub/shower
      • Full bathroom with tub

      Location Type

        • Near The Ocean
        • Village

          Suitability

            • smoking allowed
            • wheelchair inaccessible

              Attractions

                • playground
                • autumn foliage
                • caves
                • churches
                • cinemas
                • library
                • museums
                • botanical garden
                • pond
                • recreation center
                • restaurants
                • ruins
                • water parks
                • winery tours

                  Leisure Activities

                    • beachcombing
                    • bird watching
                    • horseback riding
                    • paddle boating
                    • scenic drives
                    • sight seeing
                    • walking

                      Local Services & Businesses

                        • ATM/bank
                        • groceries
                        • hospital
                        • laundromat
                        • massage therapist
                        • medical services

                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                            • hunting
                            • deepsea fishing
                            • fishing
                            • fly fishing
                            • freshwater fishing
                            • golf
                            • golf privileges optional
                            • hiking
                            • equestrian events
                            • sailing
                            • sound/bay fishing
                            • spelunking
                            • surfing
                            • swimming
                            • water tubing
                            • whitewater rafting
                            • wind-surfing

                              Notes

                                • In the living room there is a double sofa bed and one single sofa bed

                                  House Rules

                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                  Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                  Cancellation Policy

                                  100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                  20 Reviews

                                  Wonderful4.8/5

                                  Latest reviews

                                  Lack of communication

                                  Although the accommodation was beautiful and the location is very charming, the lack of communication from the homeowner made for a bad experience. From the beginning I asked if there was parking infront of the house because I had a relative with a disability coming in and I am aware that Obidos is filled with steep hills. I was told yes, however the parking was outside the town. We had to carry my 67 year old aunt inside the house. From my 5 years experience of renting through home away, as soon as I book the accommodation, the owner always sends me an email of what's expected to happen and house rules. They also tell me where they hide the keys so I can come in as late as I please. I did not get this with the homeowner I felt like I had to nag her for responses. Even then, she would tell me "let's take care of it later". While I was in Portugal, there was no communication until the day of. I had no internet so I did not receive any of the homeowner's messages. I texted her around 8:50pm letting her know I was going to have dinner and that I was 30 minutes away...to which her response was "you have until 10pm to retrieve your keys." I understand that her accommodation isn't a hotel, however I did purchase a night and didn't feel it was appropriate for me to have a curfew. This relationship was a business one, not a personal one where I am told when I should come in, especially 1 hour before. What would have happened if I hadn't texted her? In turn, I was not able to have dinner until 11pm, at a fast food burger joint. She also did not communicate with me that she needed to do a check in process...a legal requirement in Portugal that I never heard of before. Although the homeowner is very friendly and the house is beautiful, I would never book to stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends.
                                  Submitted:
                                  Jul 13, 2017
                                  Stayed:
                                  Jul 2017
                                  Owner's Response:Dear Madam, I'm very sorry to hear that you feel unpleased with my communication with you. I really did my best, answering to all your questions in the many messages you had been sending me through Homeaway and even to my personnal e-mail adress and WhatsApp. Everything about your arrival and staying at my place was arranged between you and me, during the uncountable contacts we had along the months since your booking till your arrival time. As I always do with all my guests, we had arranged that you should inform me the day before, or at least until lunch time on your arrival day, about your arrival time so that I could help you driving till the parking place that is les than 20 meters far from the house. I also informed you that I would be waiting for you at Casa da Travessa to welcome and give you the keys. Although check in and check out times are announced in my listing, I always ask my guests to inform me about their arrival plans, as I'm quite flexible about that, and they may want to check in earlier or later than the annouced period. On your arrival day I had no news from you during the all day. I was so worried about that that at 7 pm I sent you messages through WhatsApp and Homeaway (all the available means) trying to find out if there was any problem with. Only after 8.15 pm you decided to phone me back. As you probably don't know, I must inform you that all accomodations have check in and check out times. In holiday houses, where there are no reception desks, guests are even more concerned about informing the owners of their plans and their expected arrival time. But for you, you didn't care about informing me your arrival time, specially because you would probably need my help for accomodating your aunt. You didn't care about leaving me waiting for you during the whole day and night, giving me no news. When you finally decided to answer to my messages, late in that evening, you just informed me that you were still looking for a restaurant in Nazaré and that only after having dinner you would driving till Óbidos! Good Lord!! Good communication with my guests is one of my strong attributes, that all my guests praise and they make a point of emphasizing it in the comments they leave me. I invite you to confirm this please. After all this, if I caused you any discomfort in that evening, please believe me that I'm very sorry. But also, be aware that I did my best with you, as I always do will all my dearest guests.

                                  Fantastic place to stay in Obidos! Great location, amazing host

                                  A great place to stay, nice house, excellent location, easy access to all main attractions in Obidos. The host, Gabriela, warm, attentive, helpful, welcoming, kind. She made us feel as though we were home with long time friends. I will absolutely recommend staying at Casa da Travessa!
                                  Submitted:
                                  Sep 26, 2016
                                  Stayed:
                                  Sep 2016
                                  Owner's Response:My dear Cristina, thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so happy that you had enjoyed your staying at my place! I sincerely wish you'll come back again, with your lovely mom!

                                  Muito acolhedora!

                                  A Casa da Travessa é confortável e muito bem localizada. Gabriela, extremamente simpática e incrivelmente atenciosa!
                                  Submitted:
                                  Jan 10, 2017
                                  Stayed:
                                  Dec 2016
                                  Owner's Response:Muito grata pelas suas simpáticas palavras. Adorei acolhe-los na minha casa! Espero que regressem!

                                  on est à l'aise

                                  Une maison agréable en plein centre de Obidos. Si, en journée, on peut craindre la foule des touristes, on a la ville pour soi en matinée et fin de journée. Une occasion de retrouver la ville comme elle était. La maison est propre et la proprio super sympa! Il y a de la place pour 3 personnes. Accès en voiture possible, mais délicat vu l’étroitesse des ruelles.
                                  Submitted:
                                  Jul 29, 2016
                                  Stayed:
                                  Jul 2016

                                  Ein wunderbarer Aufenthalt

                                  Wir hatten einen ganz tollen Aufenthalt in Gabriela's Haus, welches ganz entzückend aussieht, deswegen machen auch täglich viele Touristen Fotos davon. Das Haus ist absolut zentral gelegen, ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man braucht. Besonders hervorheben möchten wir aber Gabriela's Gastfreundschaft! Sie war so lieb, uns bei unserer Ankunft an einem Treffpunkt abzuholen und uns zum Haus zu geleiten. Und bei jedem Anliegen war sie überaus hilfsbereit und zuvorkommend. Wir können die Casa da Travessa daher wärmstens empfehlen, um die auch bezaubernde mittelalterliche Stadt Obidos und dessen Umgebung zu erkunden. Gabriela wünschen alles Gute. Viele Grüße Frieder & Mandy aus Deutschland
                                  Submitted:
                                  May 16, 2016
                                  Stayed:
                                  Apr 2016

                                  Ein wunderbater Aufenthalt

                                  Wir hatten einen ganz tollen Aufenthalt in Gabriela's Haus, welches ganz entzückend aussieht (deswegen machen auch täglich viele Touristen Fotos davon). Das Haus ist absolut zentral gelegen, ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man braucht. Besonders hervorheben möchten wir aber Gabriela's Gastfreundschaft! Sie war so lieb, uns bei unserer Ankunft an einem Treffpunkt abzuholen und uns zum Haus zu geleiten. Und bei jedem Anliegen war sie überaus hilfsbereit und zuvorkommend. Wir können die Casa da Travessa daher wärmstens empfehlen, um die auch bezaubernde mittelalterliche Stadt Obidos und dessen Umgebung zu erkunden. Gabriela wünschen alles Gute. Viele Grüße Frieder & Mandy aus Deutschland
                                  Submitted:
                                  May 16, 2016
                                  Stayed:
                                  Apr 2016

                                  Location

                                  Pinhal, Óbidos, Portugal

                                  In House Lane can feel the true spirit of this medieval town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is the ideal place to stay and stroll through the narrow village sidewalks, to visit the castle and go their walls, and see some of its most beautiful monuments. But here you can also hear the silence, punctuated by the sound of the swallows and the trotting of horses that take tourists on rides charret by Obidos and its surroundings. But still go to the many typical bars, where should drink the famous liquor 'Ginjinha Obidos' (Sour cherries liquor), watch live music in restaurants and terraces, visiting unique museums and enjoy the exceptional views. Necessary information to visit the village can be requested from the Obidos Tourism Office. The Tourist Office is located on the outside of the walls, next to the roundabout to access the village. You can also request information by e-mail post. Tourism @ cm-Obidos. pt. The Tourist Office has available a tour guide service without appointment, twice a day during the summer period (June 15 to September 30) on weekdays. Outputs: Obidos Tourist Office.

                                  $48avg/night
                                  20 Reviews

                                  Wonderful 4.8/5

                                  For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                  Property # 1592695

                                  x