check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Jean or Marty Martin

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, some Spanish

Gilmanton vacation cottage rental with 200 ft. water frontage on Crystal Lake,

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Gilmanton Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 5, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom/shower, screen porch, common rm w/full kitchen

Private family friendly cottage on 440 acre Crystal Lake. Fantastic family vacation spot suitable for all types of water sports including Bass and Trout fishing, sailing, canoeing, and kayaking. Beautiful view of the lake and lower Belnap Mt. range. Sandy bottom swim area perfect for young children and deep water raft for diving. 200 ft lake frontage with two docks and boat mooring. Use of a canoe, one bike, two kayaks or a sunfish sailboat. Easy access to miles of public trails for hiking and biking with beautiful view of the Lakes Region. Minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee and wonderful restaurants, Loudon Speedway, Weirs beach, Gunstock Mt., water parks, live theater and outlet shopping.

Directions From Boston: Take I-93 North to Concord, New Hampshire.

Take exit 20 and Rt 140 Lakes Region, Laconia and Tilton.

At traffic light go right onto 140, past McDonalds, Burger King, etc.

Continue East on Rt 140 through Belmont and Gilmanton.

Continue East on 140 one and one half miles past Gilmanton Elementary School.

Take left onto Crystal Lake Rd. Stay left at the fork in the road and continue one and one half miles: past the Dam, the Park, Glen Echo Rd., Pine Circle 1 and Pine Circle 2. When you reach the Lake the House and Cottage will be on the left. The second house after the tennis court. A white cape with black/green shutters and a porch on the front. No. 363 on the lamp post and mail box. The drive way is to the right of the house and parking is in the back.

(optional direction available by request)

Check in is after 3 PM and check out is before 11 AM.

Close to New Hampshire Speedway: Fifteen miles to New Hampshire Speedway!

Close to Meadowbrook, Gilford, N H

Close to Weirs Beach: Thirty minuets to Weirs Beach. Ten minutes to Alton Bay. Nice central location for day trips to Maine coast, Vermont, and New Hampshire Mountains and Lakes.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jean or Marty Martin (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, some Spanish

About Jean or Marty Martin

This property has been our home away from home and a perfect retreat for the whole family. My parents call it the farm and our family enjoys sharing our love of the lake with our guests and renters. We are a retired couple who participate in all of the outdoor activities that are associated with life on the lake. We have one very special senior dog who loves to go for walks on the trails and quiet roads.

Jean or Marty Martin purchased this cottage in 1943

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)
Gilmanton vacation cottage rental with 200 ft. water frontage on Crystal Lake,
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

Wow . . .

  • 5 of 5

My family and I were very fortunate to have found this "home away from home". The cottage is very comfy, clean and steps away from the lake. We had 6 people and one dog staying in this cottage and we were very comfortable. We had some rain but the cottage welcomed us with the front screened porch where we played cards or games or just spent time laughing and spending time as a family. Waking up to the creek running along side the cottage was so peaceful and relaxing. The lake is so warm & clean, we spent most of our days swimming in it or just standing at the dock in the water. We found fish at the lake, turtles at the damn & frogs at the creek and also the dragon flies were just beautiful. The owners are very kind and very, very welcoming. I recommend this rental to anyone who is looking to just take a deep breath, leave the worries behind and spend time with your family. This is truly a home away from home and words cannot even express what a great time we had. It is best phrased "Home is Where the Heart Is" & this past week, the cottage was my family's home. Don't pass up the opportunity!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 10 month old son and I stayed for a week at this quaint cottage. The three of us stayed in the bedroom that included the 3 twin beds. Jean & Marty provided us with a pack n' play for our son, which we set up in the back room with us. Jean even sent me pictures of the pack n' play all set up before our trip, to make sure it was what we were looking for. My parents stayed with us for a few nights, and they slept well in the room with the double bed. The kitchen/living area was big enough, with room for all of us to move around. The bathroom has a lot of storage for towels, belongings, etc. and the shower was much bigger than I expected. The screened in porch was a nice addition. We played games there at night, and also used it to store items.

The road was only busy on the weekend, as the boy scout camp down the road had drop-off for the week. The residents of the road post their own signs and "encourage" drivers to drive slow!

The beach area was nice, with a sandbox our son played in. There was also a picnic table and 2 Adirondack chairs that was exclusively for our use. The dock was solid, and was used a lot during the week to sunbathe. As others have mentioned, the lake is clear, and you can see to the bottom! We were allowed use of their kayaks and canoe, and used them often throughout the week with no issue. They simply ask you return the items when you are done- something you would do at your own home anyways!

We LOVED that Jean & Marty recycle! Sounds crazy, but when you do it so much at home, it is hard not to continue when renting a home. We have rented houses in the past, and are very disappointed when the landlords do not recycle.

Jean & Marty are very welcoming. We never felt in the way or bothersome as others have commented. They are always willing to help and answer questions. They checked in with us every few days to make sure everything was fine and we were doing well!

We recommend this cottage if you are looking to get away from it all (the cable tv and wifi are a nice though :) )! Very relaxing week for us!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that the cabin met your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A GEM!

  • 5 of 5

Our family just spent a week at this gem of a spot on Crystal Lake. The cottage was perfect and had everything we needed for our family of 4 and 2 dogs. The screened porch off of the front of the cottage was our favorite spot to have dinner, play games, and spend time as a family - how could you not with such beautiful views. The lake was steps from the cottage and the dock provided the perfect spot to spend the day by the lake - we brought tubes, paddle boards and fishing gear. The country road between the cottage and the lake was perfect for biking and walks. We were comfortable allowing our 2 children - 12 & 14 to venture on their own. The owners, Marty and Jean live in the main house. They were attentive to all our needs, super friendly, and respected our privacy. Thank you Marty and Jean for your hospitality - we are all looking forward to coming back next summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is nothing that pleases us more than knowing how much you enjoyed your family vacation. We can think of no better accolade than knowing that you are interested in returning next summer. Your week has been reserved for you. Thank you for your fine review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT

  • 5 of 5

When your 7 year old says at the end of your vacation "This was the best vacation ever!" A single mothers heart melts. (And we went to Disney last year) We spent our days, swimming in the crystal clear water every day! We fished, we boated, and took some short trips into town. It was just what we needed. The location was perfect to head into Alton Bay or Weirs beach if you wanted some excitement, then come come home and relax in peace and quiet!!!

The "camp" itself was perfect for us! We had 2 adults and a 7 year old boy at camp most of the week, and there was more then enough room. It wasn't a huge place, but you spend most of your day outside of camp, come home spread out on the porch with the water view, enjoy a beverage and play some games! The beds were comfortable for everyone and the cottage had everything you seemed to need in it! If you didn't, the owners were close by to ask! So the owners, Marty and Jean.... Yes there are in the main house right next door. I have certainly rented house on cape that the neighbors have been closer!! And certainly not as nice as these two!! They weren't intrusive at all!! They were there to answer questions as needed, but respected our space. But by the end of the week, I think my family gained two new friends.

Thank you Marty and Jean for sharing your awesome space with us!! Highly recommend to people!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Best vacation ever" Wow! Thanks for the kind words, Joanna and son. We enjoyed getting to meet you and your family as well as knowing how much you enjoyed your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice property, too bad about the owners

  • 3 of 5

This property is a cabin on the grounds of a larger house. The owners occupy the larger house. In our case I had made a deposit on the cabin but had forgotten our checkbook. Our son was coming up the day after our arrival and I explained that I would call him and ask him to bring the checkbook. We were "reminded" several times during the day, and when my son said he would be coming in late, we were told that the owners weren't running a charity. Eventually this became so unpleasant that I went into town and used 3 accounts to pull the balance ($900+) in cash.

Unfortunately that wasn't the only issue. The wifi was hooked up incorrectly so there was no signal and even though I'm in the business, we were told it was correctly hooked up, somewhat testily. I fixed it and left it working.

Needless to say, walking past the owner's house to go to the beach (across the road) was unpleasant. We felt like barely tolerated annoyances. Will not be going back. That said, if you're their "type" the location is great, and the cabin OK.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Last summer these guests arrived for their week’s stay without having the ability to pay the balance of their rent which, as stated in their rental agreement, is a check due at the time of arrival. Richard said he expected to use Pay Pal which we do not have and he had not brought his checkbook. He also stated that his son would be arriving the next afternoon and would bring the checkbook. Afternoon became evening and after twenty-four hours, we still had not received payment. It was only then and because Richard had made no attempt to give an explanation for the delay that we expressed our concern. Early in our history of renting, we had experienced a similar scenario; renters promising to pay before their departure only to have them leave in the middle of the night. We learned from our naiveté.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great week!

  • 5 of 5

Our week at the cottage was just perfect. Jean and Marty were the perfect hosts; there if you needed them, but not intrusive. The cottage was adorable - small but just right for a lakeside getaway. The lake was beautiful and the perfect temperature for swimming. Although there is a road between the cottage and the lake, we did not find it to be a problem at all. Our family of four (my husband, myself and our 9 yr old & 8 yr old) spent 1/2 our time fishing & swimming on the lake and the other 1/2 visiting the nearby sites like Mt. Washington and Wells Beach. It was the most peaceful and relaxing vacation we ever had. If a laid back vacation is what you're looking for, I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our little cottage on Crystal Lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Garwoods Restaurant & Pub
Dockside
Patrick's Pub & Eatery
Ellacoya Barn & Grille
Lyons' Den Restaurant and Tavern
Sandy Point Restaurant
"breakfast"
Nearest Airport
47 Miles
Manchester
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Alton
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Laconia
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Dover
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 140
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Alton
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Town Park
Car: recommended

Crystal Lake is a quiet, fresh water all recreation lake 15 min. from Alton Bay at the south end of lake Winnipesaukee or Loudon Speedway. Located in the foot hills of the Belnap Mt range it offers 100's of miles of dirt roads and trails perfect for biking, hiking, and dog walking. Crystal Lake offers great Bass fishing and an upper lake offers fantastic Trout fishing.

The large flat lawn area is fun for ball sports including croquet and badminton.

The cottage is set back and across the road from the lake. It is backed by woods and the parking is close to the cottage and off the road.

This cottage is owner owned and managed and is the only rental on the 2 acre property. It is quiet and private. Our guests have found that the road traffic is not a problem. It is busy on the weekends, but the 25 mph speed limit is enforced.

Other Activities: Crystal Lake is perfect for Bass and Trout fishing. It is stocked, by the State of NH, annually with rainbow trout. The town park is a half mile away and an easy walk or bike ride. The beach has a life guard and there is a play ground and ball field. Hundreds of miles of trails and logging roads are accessible from our property and several easy hikes with wonderful views of lake winnipesaukee and the surrounding Bellnap range are located within 5 miles.

You can enjoy an easy day trip to the White Mountains or the coastal white sandy beaches on the Atlantic ocean. We are a half hour drive from the parks and water slides at Weirs Beach, or the longest zip line in North America at Gunstock, or the oldest resort community in Wolfeboro, or discount designer shopping at the Tilton Mall in tax free NH. We are located 15 miles from the New Hampshire Motor Speedway with NASCAR and motorcycle racing events.

Golf: Golf courses are available to the public in Wolfeboro, Laconia, and Belmont.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gilmanton Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 18 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,050
 
 
Standard pricing
7 night minimum stay
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

ONE PET POLICY
Your well-behaved pet is welcome here with the following provisions:
Pets must be under their owners' supervision or kenneled at all times. Excessive barking is not permitted. We have a medium or large portable kennel available for use with advanced notice. Please bring your own dog bedding material and towels to dry off wet pets.
Pets are not allowed on the furniture.

No rental is final until a $250.00 deposit is payed and a rental agreement is signed. Final payment is due at the time of arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gilmanton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , army bunk beds, port crib available
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Raft
  • Sailboat
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We know of several easy hiking trails with wonderful views that are with in a 10 minute drive of the cottage. Crystal Lake road is a nice place to walk or bike. The area is covered with well groomed mountain bike trail. Linen rental is available. Basic cleaning products are provided.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties