Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Salty Dog Key West Style House / Solar heated salt water pool Delray

Bedrooms 2
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

This is the ultimate rental in historic Delray Beach! You can easily walk to Atlantic Avenue in a simple 2 and the half block walk where endless restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping await you! You can also walk about 15 min to the fantastic sandy beach.

There is a large King bed in the master bedroom with a huge 46" flat screen LCD LED HD Smart TV, a large deck overlooking the private yard and pool area. The second bedroom has two Pottery Barn twin size beds that can be made into a King bed with a 32" flat screen LCD LED Smart TV. There's a full kitchen with breakfast bar and full cabana bathroom just off the pool.

The home has a sunroom with a 46' flat screen LCD LED HD Smart TV, dining room will accommodate up to 8 hungry people, kitchen with breakfast bar - granite slab counters- endless charm, beauty and privacy. The home is the utmost in old world charm in a tropical setting and style in the heart of historic Delray Beach.

This tropical oasis is surrounded by numerous palm trees and lush exotic foliage completed by an outdoor stainless steel natural gas grill and a sparkling clean solar heated salt water pool! After a refreshing swim, enjoy the steam room just off the pool. The sunroom is a fabulous place to curl up and enjoy the beauty of the property indoors, or open the French doors to the pool for a gentle breeze.

Fully updated 1939 home located within walking distance of Atlantic Avenue and beaches. Home includes hurricane impact windows, hardwood floors (oak on first floor and Miami Dade pine on second floor), updated kitchen featuring side-by-side Stainless Steel appliances with a natural gas cooktop, granite counters, also updated bathrooms with a steam room poolside, large circular paved brick driveway and pool area. Professional landscaping with lush foliage provides complete privacy.

All linens, dishes, and kitchenware are included. The top of the line laundry room with LG front load washer & dryer is located downstairs providing you with convenience and easy access.

This is a non-smoking rental. Sorry no pets because house is not equipped to handle animals (allergies).

Keywords: Key West Style House

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Gary

Owned the house for six years.

Gary purchased this house in 2011

Why Gary chose Delray Beach

Great downtown location for an easy walk to the beach or day and nightlife!

What makes this house unique

Great location, walking distance to Atlantic Avenue for dinner, drinks and shopping and to the beach.

Solar heated saline water pool that adds up to 15 degrees of warmth on cool but sunny day, privacy and old Florida charm.


Delray Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Jaccuzi tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Steam room with Shower
  • First Floor Bath has a Steam Shower Second Floor Bath has a Jacuzzi tub
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Or can be converted to a King Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upgraded Queen mattress sofa bed in Living room
  • King size bed (1) Wood frame King bed found in Master bedroom(2) two wood Twin beds in second bedroom can be made into a King bed, (1) Living room sofa bed - queen size premium upgraded mattress
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Salty Dog Key West Style House / Solar heated salt water pool Delray
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews

Patti F

  • 5 of 5

For the last 3 years we have been renting in Naples and decided to try Delray this year

We just loved Delray and Gary's house

We were able to walk to everything (shops, restaurant, beach) and used the car for shopping only. The house is beautifully furnished and has character.

The private backyard was the feature we loved the most and enjoyed many wonderful dinners al fresco

We look forward to our stay in 2018

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful experience at the Salty Dog

  • 5 of 5

The photos you see are exactly what you get at this well appointed vacation home, except for the 2nd bedroom that actually had the beds separated into twins. The owner, Gary, added so many nice decorating touches to the place. The kitchen is very well equipped, and there is plenty of bedding and towels for your needs. The pool, patio and gas grill can't be beat, especially in the very private setting. The property is two easy blocks from Atlantic ave., with all the great restaurants, and shops. (I recommend J and J's Sea Food Restaurant). Luckily, Gary was available during and our stay, and he made us feel very welcomed. This vacation was very memorable, in part because of this very special vacation home. Loved it!

Thanks Gary, and we will try to come again when we are in Delray.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Special Place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, two girls and I stayed at the Salty Dog over spring break. The house is beautiful and no detail was overlooked. Gary was an exceptional host. The location is great - very close walk to Atlantic Ave shops, the beach, etc. It made for a very fun and special family vacation. We'll be back for sure!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Accounting/Admin Nightmare at this House

  • 1 of 5

Our family (2 adults & 3 older children) rented this property at the end of March because of great reviews. We have rented homes throughout the world, and VRBO has been a great resource. The house was okay (see below for additional things that are not OK) but unfortunately, Gary is lacking in administrative and accounting skills. Are other renters getting a double dip for cleaning fees on their deposit check refund? I received a check for our security deposit, without any explanation of why the full security deposit wasn’t returned and why the amount was the same amount as the cleaning fee that was already paid! So I sent an email. I received a response saying he was “embarrassed” and then he STILL didn’t provide an accounting or receipts. However, he made 3 comments: the hammock was broken, the skimmer needed replacing, and the cleaning people had to pick up and clean the patio. I had to reply back. When a hammock has sun rot (as my Florida sister calls it), that is upkeep, and renters should not be responsible for it. Regarding the skimmer, I was told that they hired pool maintenance people to care for the pool on Tuesdays, but somehow we are responsible for a possibly broken skimmer that wasn’t touched by us? And why should a clean patio be extra? If it was a frat party, yes! But we are a family of 5. Everyone hangs outside. And he did say it needing picking up too, which, as I am the one who picked up, I’m at a loss. After two weeks, he still had not responded to my email requesting documentation and explanation. So I sent my email again. And he still, to this day, has not provided any supporting documentation or an accounting. So if you want to rent a house and kiss your deposit money goodbye, rent this house. There are lots of homes for rent in Delray, and since this is our only bad experience, we’ll be looking elsewhere next year.

My son fell through the rotten hammock. So if you do rent, you may want to test anything that could possibly hurt you. The manager was staying right on this small property but wasn’t keeping an eye on things. And the smoothie maker in the kitchen leaked all over. Some of the toys were broken. Watch out for brown spiders in the playhouse where the toys are stored. Finally, I’m disappointed that I helped out by doing two loads of laundry which was supposed to be done by his cleaning staff since it was his sheets and linens. They should have charged him less.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We clearly have a different approach to renting homes. The property has been rented for years and any or part of any security deposits has rarely been held back. -$225 of $ 500 security deposit was held back to replace the hammock and the skimmer net. The amount coincidently is the same amount as the cleaning fee and there is no “double dip” as you put it for cleaning fees. The cleaning fee is a onetime charge to clean the entire house in the short five hours between the 10AM check out to the 3PM check in. I covered this when responding to you asking to check in early and later that week to check out later. There was no extra charge for picking up and returning the beach toys back in the storage shed. The cleaning service did mention Dorito wrappers and candy wrappers hidden in the second bedroom drawers, behind and under the beds including beach sand in the closet. -You ask if it was OK for your local sister to bring her lap dog over to the house. I responded explained that the house is pet free to address allergies. The dog was bought over several times that week. -I used the word embarrassed to try to explain to you that I had thought I had written the explanation in the earlier e-mail confirming your mailing address. This has not been a chronic problem. -The skimmer net was torn from the frame because the older children were playing their version of catch using the skimmer as a Lacrosse stick catching a thrown ball with the skimmer net. The pool service uses their own skimmer. Of the 24 support cords at one end 12 were snapped from most likely jumping on the hammock in horse play. -On the last night of your stay you brought to my attention in text messages that the smoothie blender was broken. The blender costing $95 was replaced and the expense was not deducted from your deposit. The hammock was never mentioned. The renter the following week, a returning renter from last year called on the first day noting the TV in the sunroom didn’t work. The TV costing $ 550 was replaced and the expense was not deducted from your deposit. Normal wear and tear is always considered when something is found broken or worn and the cost not simply deducted from the recent renters security deposit. I hope that this note has cleared up any confusion and I do wish your stay in Delray Beach ended differently.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Lovely Home with Great Pool

  • 5 of 5

We have been coming to this home for 3 years now. We love the location and all the charm of this Key West house. It is appointed with all the necessary things a renter would want and more. We feel like this home is our home. It is homey and bright with so much charm. The back yard is so private and the big pool makes for a fun day and night around the patio. Atlantic ave is within walking distance and you can bike everywhere. You really could rent here without a car. There is a Publix around the block and tons of restaurants and bars. We especially like to go downtown to the happy hours. They also have free rides to and from the beach and downtown. Really couldn't ask for anything more. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Book early as this is one of the nicest homes to enjoy the weather and nearby beach and great eats. Delray Beach is spectacular . You will regret not coming to this place.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey

Wonderful Comfortable Home

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to this home. It is a truly a wonderful place. The home is clean and well appointed. It has a very beachy vacation home feel which is exactly what I look for when I try and get the family out of the cold of the northeast and into the sun. The location is also very appealing. The home is literally a 5 minute wall from all the action of Atlantic Avenue as well as the beach. My family feels very at home here and are sad to leave!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
West Palm Beach (PBI)
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Delray Beach Golf
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Delray Beach Train Station (Trirail and Amtrack)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
Delray Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Veteran's Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Delray Beach Train Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Delray Beach Public Library
Car: recommended

Totally private pool in back yard completely surrounded by 10' tall Ficus hedge and Areca palms. You cannot be seen by anyone, fantastic privacy!

Separate studio apartment on property used by owner as office sporadically. Please inquire for more information.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning (one time) $225 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Rates: Saturday to Saturday
$ 2,300 / week * $ 8,000 / month - May - October
$ 2,800 / week * $ 9,000 / month - November, December, January & April
$ 3,200 / week * $ 11,750 / month - February & March
$ 3,200 / week * Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Years weeks
$500 Weekly / $750 bi-weekly / $1,000 Monthly - Refundable Security Deposit returned within 15 Days
Subject to change without notice

Cancelation Policy
•50% received 60 days prior to your stay
•25% received 30 days prior to your stay
•0% refund due if cancelled 30 days or sooner prior to your stay

e-mail address -

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.