check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Randy Fickett

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Perfect for Your Family - A Very Spacious And Truly One of a Kind Island Home!

47 Reviews
Sleeps25
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Stone Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

We offer you a spacious, conveinently located, and well-maintained property.

The Laughlin House has been passed down and enjoyed by our family for four generations. In fact, we still vacation there every year! In our family, the home is a magical place where we can go to relax, unwind and make wonderful memories. We love being able to share our home and our love of Stone Harbor with other families as they make their own vacation memories.

The Laughlin House offers both the modern comforts and amenities of a newer house and the classic grandeur and charm of an historic island home. Between the home’s unique features, the convenience of its location, the spaciousness of the property, and all of the amenities we offer, you are sure to give your family a truly one-of-a-kind vacation with memories that will last a lifetime!

19 GREAT REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD STAY AT THE LAUGHLIN HOUSE FOR YOUR NEXT VACATION!

••• IT’S ONE-OF-A KIND •••

• Our awesome game room is perfect for rainy days, featuring pinball machines, a Mega-Touch machine, basketball game and traditional board games like Monopoly, Clue and Life.

• Have you seen the backyard? The Laughlin House sits on a 9,900 square foot property and features one of the largest, private backyard areas on the island with a beautifully-lit gazebo; great for outdoor dining, sun bathing, games or just relaxing.

••• IT’S SPACIOUS •••

• The Laughlin House is designed for the entire extended family to be together, but with separate living and dining areas for individuals or small groups to have quiet time.

• The 5,000 square foot house features 8 large bedrooms and 3 large living areas – we promise you won’t feel crowded here!

• The downstairs features a large living room area that is perfect for meetings or gatherings.

• Five pull-out sofa beds, seven twin beds and four queen beds provide ample sleeping space for large groups or families.

••• IT’S CONVENIENTLY LOCATED •••

• Centrally-located at the Jersey Shore less than 3 miles from the Wildwood boardwalk, less than 10 miles from historic Cape May and less than 20 miles from Ocean City – tons to do and tons to see!

• Located only 1.5 blocks from the beach, listen closely – you can hear the ocean!

• Our house is within walking distance to 96th Street, Stone Harbor’s incredible downtown shopping area featuring tons of great stores and restaurants.

• The Laughlin House is located on a quiet street allowing for a peaceful vacation away from the hustle and bustle.

• Family-owned, rented and managed property, making rentals easy and hassle-free.

••• IT’S CHOCK-FULL OF AMENITIES •••

• Private parking is available on the property, as well as abundant free public parking in front of the home.

• Three kitchens (yes, three!), make cooking large meals for a crowd more convenient.

• Gas and charcoal grills making outdoor cooking easy.

• Free Internet access through wi-fi.

• Cable television in all 8 bedrooms and 3 living room areas.

• Central Air Conditioning provided throughout the house.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Randy Fickett (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Randy Fickett

The mansion was originally designed by my grandmother Helen V. Laughlin and built by my grandfather John S. Laughlin who moved to Stone Harbor in 1939 and ran a general store on 96th Street from 1939-1984. Helen taugh school on the island and John sat on the town's Board of education for many years.

At the time construction was completed in 1956, the home was the largest residence on the island. My family has over 50 years experience caring for the property and making sure that our guests enjoy the best experience possible during their stay in our home. To that extent, the house continues to this day to be fully occupied each year during the summer season and we enjoy that each year as much as 80% of our guests return guests each year.

Randy Fickett purchased this house in 1956

Why Randy Fickett chose South NJ Shore

The mansion was originally designed by my grandmother Helen V. Laughlin and built by my grandfather John S. Laughlin who moved to Stone Harbor in 1939 and ran a general store on 96th Street from 1939-1984. Helen taugh school on the island and John sat on the town's Board of education for many years.

At the time construction was completed in 1956, the home was the largest residence on the island. My family has over 50 years experience caring for the property and making sure that our guests enjoy the best experience possible during their stay in our home. To that extent, the house continues to this day to be fully occupied each year during the summer season and we enjoy that each year as much as 80% of our guests return guests each year.

What makes this house unique

Stone Harbor has been fortunate enough to have been listed as one of the top 10 beach destinations on the east coast as well as received multiple awards year after year for shopping, recreation and leisure, and fine dining experiences.

- 24 beautifully furnished rooms within a 5000 sq ft living area.

- 8 fully furnished bedrooms & 4.5 bathrooms.

- 4.5 baths plus a heated outside shower.

- 3 separate kitchens - 1 downstairs and 2 private kitchens upstairs.

- 2 separate Laundry rooms

- 1 Included Free Access to our Arcade Gameroom.

- A completely free arcade game room facility.

- Two upstairs sunrooms w/ french balconeys.

- Our large, central livingroom

- Two separate Large-Outdoor Fully furnished patios

- The Evening Patio

- The Sun Patio

- House-wide Intercom System

- Internet Access:

- Telephones:

- In home, 'No waiting' check-In w/ a tour of the home for any last-minute questions.

- Beach Tags included w/ guest agreemnt for replacement.

Guestbook comments from the owner

*************************************************

This comment was added to our Guest Comment Book in the house and is stated exactly as written by the guest.

*************************************************



I met my best friend, Daniele at the age of 8 in 1978. Since then we have had our children, seen each other through marriages, divorce, new beginnings + sad endings. Here we are together 29 years later sharing your special home with any of our own children + husbands. thank you for creating this special place where she + i created new memories that will last us through the next 29 years.



With Thanks,

T. A. Wood
Sep 2007
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 47 traveler reviews

Perfect for Your Family - A Very Spacious And Truly One of a Kind Island Home!
average rating of 4.93617 based on 52 reviews
5

An Amazing Week in an Amazing House

  • 5 of 5

I just came home today from a week-long stay at the Laughlin House, and it was the perfect vacation. I went with a group of 21 of my closest friends (and four chaperones) for our senior week. I couldn't have thought up a better house. My friends and I immediately felt at home with the warm decorating and amazing space. The rooms are just big enough without being overwhelming, and the number of bathrooms and kitchens is impressive to say the least (the dishwasher was also taken advantage of). The TVs with cable were a nice touch, and many movies were enjoyed by all of us. The space out back was superb, and we ate many of our meals out around the table in the nice summer air. Also, the location is great! The walk to the beach is super short (and was traveled often), and the walk to get downtown was much shorter than I had anticipated - no problem at all. Everything I think of in reference to our stay is positive, and a major cause of that is the beautiful house we were staying in. I can't thank you enough for the amazing rental - you made it possible for us to create wonderful memories that will be with us for a very long time.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Schaumburg, IL
5

5 Star Accommodations

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a great Stone Harbor vacation and the fact that we were able to stay in The Laughlin House, made it exceptional. The owner met us when we arrived, which I thought was a GREAT touch. The house easily accommodated our family of 23. (The game room was a hit with the kids (10 of them), and kept them occupied when weren't at the beach.) The house is located a short walk from the beach and downtown, which is why we did very little driving during our stay. We truly enjoyed the backyard with the gazebo, and ended each day with a few cocktails after the kids were put to bed. We've stayed at similar beach properties, but this was the only one that had an outside area large enough for us to congregate at night. I highly recommend this property for a great shore vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the fantastic review! We enjoyed having you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your week. We love hearing good things about the game room, we know it's a little different from most other shore houses, but kids of all ages definitely do love it. The backyard is one our most favorite places in the house, too! Definitely a great spot for a cocktail or BBQ. Again, we really appreciate your postive feedback and we hope to have you back at the Laughlin House very soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wedding Party Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The groom's extended family stayed for the entire weekend for a wedding. It was a perfect location for a wedding at the Reeds, it is in great condition, and had plenty of room for our large group to hang out. Everyone was comfortable with their accommodations, slept well, and had space to spare. One minor problem arose and was fixed immediately by the landlord without disrupting our weekend. We left the property in the identical condition as it was when we arrived and received a complete refund of the security deposit. I recommend this property; the landlord was extremely helpful and trustworthy. Thanks for a wonderful, relaxing, and stress-free weekend!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad that you and you enjoyed your stay. We've had a lot of wedding parties stay with us recently and many have mentioned receptions at the Reeds as well - being within walking distance to the Reeds has made us a good fit for wedding parties, families and guests. Thanks again for letting us know about your stay and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

Our family has been vacationing in Stone Harbor for 65 years. We have stayed in many, many rental properties over the years.

The Laughlin mansion has been by far, our best experience. I don't know of any other places that change out the bed comforters and spreads to launder them after each tenant leaves. The owners are very open to any suggestions on improving the users experience. Although I have to say they think of everything. So my requests are limited.

We have stayed in this house the past several years and have only great things to say about it! If you are looking for a very spacious house with lots to do, close to the downtown area with plenty of street parking. This is your answer.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clear Spring, Maryland
5

Priceless

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about this property and it's owners. we have been coming the last two years, and will continue as long as we can. The property has enough space for our family reunion at the beach each year, and the grandkids can all bring a friend which they could never do before. There is fun for both young and old in the game room, and time for relaxing in the gazebo outside. we are close to the beach and walking to town, you could not ask for a better property, clean and large. The owners are wonderful to work with and try very hard to accommodate your family situations. we once had a problem with one of the refrigerators, the owner came within a short period and had us up and running. To me that kind of service and compassion is hard to find!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver Spring Maryland
5

Fabulous Family Reunion in Stone Harbor

  • 5 of 5

We had a truly outstanding family reunion in the Laughlin House and couldn't have had a better experience. Randy and his family stocked the house with everything we needed -- from plenty of beds and bathrooms to beach tags for everyone. The location was outstanding -- 7 short blocks to town and 2 blocks to the beach.

After coming to Stone Harbor for many years, we searched long and hard to find a well-maintained rental property that could comfortably accommodate the entire family in one house. This is the ONLY property that met our expectations and we were not disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Stone Harbor
Shopping - Stone Harbor Shopping District on 96th Street
"The shopping district offers vacationers a wide variety of different boutique shops and stor..."
Community Recreation Area - Playground, Basketball and Tennis Courts
"Stone Harbor also offers many attractions for children of all ages at no cost including, sh..."
Chelsea Place - Community Playground, Boche Ball, Volleyball Court
"This neighborhood park has a playground for children as well as a running track and obstical..."
101st Street Beach Pavilion
Fred's Tavern
Harbor Pub
The Wetlands Institute
"This organization is known for their efforts in promoting the wellness of the wild life that..."
Sand Barrens Golf Club
Stone Harbor Bird Sanctuary
Villa Maria by The Sea
Stone Harbor Museum
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Philadelphia International
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Blackfish, Fred's Tavern, Harbor Bizarre
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Cape May Lewis Ferry
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Avalon Golf Club
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Atlantic City
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Garden State Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Blackfish, Jay's on Third, Nemo's, Green Cuisine
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
96th Street Town Shopping District
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
103rd Street Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping - Stone Harbor Shopping District on 96th Street
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - An Island Sponsored Recreation Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - Playground
Nearest Point of Interest
Boating And Fishing - Bay Fishing
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping - The Main Shopping District Ends Here
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - Playground and Athletic Track
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping - The Main Shopping District Ends Here
Nearest Point of Interest
Scenic Views - One of the Piers that Overlook the Ocean
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping - The Harbor Mall - Shoping and Cafes
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping - Restuarants, and The Local Conveinence Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - Playground
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - A Public Recreation Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - The Island Shuffle Board Court
Nearest Point of Interest
Boating & Fishing - The Stone Harbor Yacht Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Boating And Fishing - The Stone Harbor Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
NightLife - The Golden Inn Lounge
Nearest Point of Interest
Nightlife - Fred's Tavern
Nearest Point of Interest
Nightlife - Harbor Pub Restuarant and Bar
Nearest Point of Interest
Outdoors - The Wetlands Institute
Nearest Point of Interest
Outdoors - Stone Harbor Bird Santuary
Nearest Point of Interest
Scenic Views - One of the Piers that Overlook the Ocean
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - Stone Harbor Golf Course and Country Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - Avalon Golf Course And Country Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation - The Sand Barrens Golf Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Outdoors - Bird Watching Binoculars and Nature Path
Nearest Point of Interest
Scenic Views - The Rectory at "Nuns Beach"
Car: recommended

================================================================

The Laughlin House is Located at: 211 103 rd Street, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247

================================================================

The town of Stone Harbor is at the southern end of 7-mile island right off the southern coast of New Jersey. The town widely regarded as a vacation retreat for both affluent and middle-class family's from New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, Washington D.C. and Delaware. It is great town to enjoy all of the benefits of the shore without any of the problems of over-crowding, excessive noise or crime that can cause problems for vacationers on the other islands in the area.

The Laughlin House is located 1 1/2 blocks from the beach, 1 block from the bay, and 7 blocks south of the island's shopping district. All are in easy walking distance for guests. The Laughlin house is located between Second and Third Avenue, on a very quiet, residential street.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stone Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season Rates
Sep 7 2016 - Nov 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$700
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,300
 
 
Late Spring Rates
Apr 28 2017 - May 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$700
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,330
 
 
Memorial Day Rates
May 26 2017 - Jun 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$950
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,950
 
 
Early June Rates
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Early Summer Rates
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$6,750
 
 
Early July Weekly Rates
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$7,950
 
 
Prime Summer Rates
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$8,250
 
 
Late August Weekly Rates
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$7,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$650
From
$950
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $200
Reservation Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $1,100
Checkout Cleaning Fee $275

Please send us an inquiry for an accurate rate quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Stone Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 1) 1st Floor Shared Hallway Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , A large shared bathroom off of the main hallway.
    2) 1st Floor Private Master Bedroom Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , A private bath with dual vanity sinks in the master bed
    3) 1st Floor Private beach bedroom bath - toilet , Private, small half bath with a sink and toilet
    4) 2nd Floor East Shared Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , A shared bathroom with sink, toliet, tub and shower.
    5) 2nd Floor West Shared Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , A shared bathroom with sink, toliet, tub and shower.
    6) Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , An enclosed shower attached to the garage with hot water.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • 1) House Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Spacious bedroom with a large private bath and patio access
    2) Beach Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private Half Bath / Remote Controlled Ceiling Fan / Cable TV
    3) 1st Floor Guest (Wood Bedroom) - 2 twin/ single , Large room with Cable TV
    4) 2nd Floor East Guest (Pink/Black Bedroom) - 2 twin/ single , Cable TV / Ceiling Fan
    5) 2nd Floor East Master (Persian Room) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Extra Large Room with Cable TV / Ceiling Fan / Internet
    6) 2nd Floor East Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Private room with a french balconey, Cable TV, Ceiling Fan
    7) 2nd Floor West Master (Ocean Bedroom) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large bedroom with Cable TV / Remote Controlled Ceiling Fan
    8) 2nd Floor West Guest (Garden Bedroom) - 2 twin/ single , Ceiling Fan / Cable TV / Internet
    9) 2nd Floor West Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Private room with a french balconey, Cable TV, Ceiling Fan.
    10) The Loft (2nd Floor) - 1 twin/ single , Located at the top of the stairs. Cable TV / Ceiling Fan
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hard wired Internet connections are available for X-box 360, PS3 or a Laptop PC are available in every bedroom, each sun room, and in the living room and game room downstairs. We also have a complete arcade game room with an in-house arcade!! This years games include 2 arcade games, 3 pinball games, a basketball hoop shooting dual player game, and plenty of board and dice games.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties