Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ski on and Off Slopes Ski Windham

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-20)

Ski on and ski off the slopes of Ski Windham. This house is built for a large family and friends and is only 2.5 hours from Manhattan and 3 hours from the Jersey Shore. Two of the bedrooms are bunked for sleeping bags so ten children can sleep together easily and have a blast.

Keywords: House

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2018

About Don

Home built for our family for skiing

Don purchased this house in 1974

Why Don chose Windham

We built it for skiing for our families

What makes this house unique

We love to nordic ski and go to Mountain Trails in Tannersville, as well as skiing in and out all day at Windham


Windham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (9) Multilayered bunks in two of the bedrooms sleep many people or children in sleeping bags
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
two of bedrooms are bunked for many children to be together, which is a blast


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
Ski on and Off Slopes Ski Windham
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 18 reviews

A retro house perfect for slopeside skiing with a group of friends

  • 4 of 5

What a neat house! Perfect set up for skiing, with a great place to put all of your gear on the first level. A short walk to the slopes. Lots of bedroom space, clean and spacious bathrooms, and finally a great big dining area for everyone together. I enjoyed looking out at a beautiful stream while I did dishes. The kitchen was stocked with what we needed. And might I add, a perfect place for a double family hide and seek game!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house for families with kids!

  • 5 of 5

This house has everything you need. The only thing missing is a grill. But the kitchen is large and open with plenty of accessories, so we had no trouble serving our party of 8 adults and 8 kids.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Essex County, NJ

Great location, plenty of space, in dire need of a refresh

  • 2 of 5

Finding a place that holds four families (16 people) in Windham is hard. We were thrilled to find this house which is perfectly located on the mountain. The pros: location, location, location; well-heated, spacious; 80% clean (a few walls had stuff splattered and smeared on them, cobwebs) funky kids sleeping arrangements. The cons: the furniture and carpets are falling apart; the bedding is tearing from wear; the decor hasn't been touched since the 60s and the kitchen is far from fully stocked (three wine glasses, 6 plates and six bowls?? We had to wash plates and eat in shifts because there weren't enough pieces for all of us to eat at once! The listing says it sleeps 20 so one would think they'd have enough to feed at least 16!!). With HomeGoods and Target everywhere, a couple hundred bucks on new blankets and some plates and glasses could really go a long way. Also, the house should get a serious deep clean once or twice a year. This is a house for frat boys or young partiers looking for a ski house but families and professional adults: be forewarned!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I alway tell guests that we built the house in the 1970's and it is definitely retro, so that was not a surprise to the guests. However the house is larger and the kitchen has many cabinets well stocked with more then enough bowls, utensils and plates for over 20 people. I do not know why they were unable to see them. I asked my cleaning crew if they disappeared but they were still there. The next group that rented just wrote to me the following: We really appreciate your quick responses to all of our questions and concerns. We were able to get the internet working after your e-mail suggested to make sure the plugs were securely in the modem. There was definitely an abundance of plates and utensils. I'm not sure what the VRBO reviewer was talking about when he or she said there was only 6 plates. We left the place as clean as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Red Bank, NJ

Wonderful time !!! We will be back :)

  • 5 of 5

Convenvient, clean, fun and easy walk to the slope made our ski weekend at Windham a great experience in this wonderful house. The kids loved the layout and the big kitchen & dining area were perfect, we could have invited 20 more and still had plenty of room for everyone. We totally enjoyed our experience and this place will be our first choice whenever we have another free weekend to hit the slopes.


  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
United States

Really tried :(

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house for Warrior Dash weekend. We arrived on Fri an were hit by the most awful smell. I understand this house is not normally rented in the summer, but if you have paying renters, it would have been nice to have it aired out a bit. In addition there were cobwebs and spiders everywhere, bugs in the bathtub, bathrooms were filthy, full garbage can in the kitchen, a load of wet laundry in the washer and a small rusty grill that wouldn't even sit level (we had told all our friends to bring food to grill :( ). Talk about disappointing for the amount of money and the fact that we invited our friends up to this mess for the weekend.

I called and the owner stated that he'd have someone come on Sat morning to clean while we were at our race. No one came. We were forced to purchase a brand new grill, our own cleaning supplies and some Febreeze so that we could make the best of this horrible situation.

I contacted him after we had left and asked him to at least reimburse us for the grill and cleaning supplies and a partial refund due to the state of the house and what we had to do to make it livable for the weekend. He agreed. Unfortunately we were only given our deposit back and no partial refund. I know the owner doesn't live there full time, but it was his responsibility to have the house ready for renters and his responsibility to make this bad situation right. He lost potential return renters :(

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes unfortunately our new cleaning person failed to finish the job she was hired and paid for. I tried to get another after being notified, but on short notice it was not possible. On the other hand, I paid for the new grill and other supplies they purchased and I offered to refund some of the cost, but alas, she was not patient for my response, which came a couple days after her email request. On the other hand, it could not have been all that bad in the house because a couple families arrived on Sunday and loved the house and plan to rent it for most of the ski season. Could this be a case of arachnophobia?
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great Place, Great Memories, Great Location, Great Family Room, Great Kitchen, Great TIme!

  • 5 of 5

Whelp, I was there skiing for a weekend and I have to say I had a great time. This house is perfect for large groups of friends, single family or a few families even. It is huge, and would really be great for kids. There are rooms with entire matressed levels of bunks! The livingroom has tons of space for lounging, games, sitting by the fire, looking out the glass porch doors to the great scenery it is awesome. The kitchen was super great, we had more cooks than we knew what to do with and there could be several of us, I'm talking 6 or 8 all hovering around, chopping, mixing, frying, washing and generally preparing a great meal. The kitchen table is so great; for big meals it was perfect, or quiet reading times or playing games with just a few people it was a great place to be. The house was great all the way around tons of room, beds were great, bathrooms were wonderful.

On to the house's location. I've never been to a "ski off/on" place and honestly, before I went to this house I didn't get the appeal. After one day of taking a mid day break to come back to the house to relax/warm up/get something to drink and eat and then go right back to the mountain across the street!! It was cool and convenient, I'm feeling kinda spoiled now.

Anyway, awesome place, tons of space, would be perfect for large group of friends/couples and/or families with kids would definitely love this place. Can't wait to go back

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: March 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Excellent cross country skiing at Mountain Meadows in Tannersville. Rosemary has very good rentals too.




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $600

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties