Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

All-Wood Sierra Cabin in the Woods Near Arnold/Bear Valley

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms + 3rd bedroom loft with 5 bed, 2 full bathrooms, laundry, kitchen

Mountain House is located at 5,200 feet only minutes from the Stanislaus River, Lake Alpine and the Bear Valley Ski Area. Nestled on a 1/2 acre lot with large cedars and fir trees you in the forest over looking the woods yet only minutes from recreation that includes down hill skiing in the winter, kayaking and canoeing in the summer, swimming and always great hiking.

The peaceful and beautiful surrounds of the Mountain House cabin make it a great retreat from the San Francisco Bay Area only 3 hours away off Hwy 4.

There is also the historic gold mining towns of Murphy and Angels Camp only just 20 minutes down the hill and of course the Big Trees State Park with it's towering 1000 year old redwoods.

Come and enjoy a weekend away in the summer or winter for a great retreat back to nature.

Snow parks and Bear Valley ski area: We have easy access to Winter recreation areas. The Bear Valley ski area which includes down hill skiing, cross country and events through the winter is only 16 miles or 20 minutes from our cabin. In addition, there are to Snow Parks monitored by the State of California near by. The Stanuslaus Snow Park, only 15 minutes up Hwy 4, and The Lake Alpine Snow Park. You need to purchase a daily pass and can park your vehicle in plowed parking lot. Cross country, snow shoeing, sledding are available at these two locations.

Summer fun with rivers, lakes and hiking: Our cabin is perfectly located for local recreation at by rivers and lakes. The Stanislaus River is only 15 minutes away, Lake Alpine is 16 miles east past Bear Valley and the wonderful Utica and Spicer Reservoirs that are perfect for kayaking are about an hour away. And for our 6 year old, we go to White Pines Lake near Arnold a great, simple place to be in the afternoon with family just down the road. For hiking the options are endless as you get up into the national forest.

More Details

Owner
Steven Donaldson
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About Steven Donaldson

We've co-owned Mountain House our large rustic cabin for 14 years now with two other families that are good friends of ours. We love the Sierras and found our cabin, which is located on a half acre amongst tall cedars and pines, a perfect place for relaxing and as a base camp for swimming with our kids, hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, and in the Winter, cross country skiing. And of course, it's a perfect place for our dogs, we now have two. We love it up here, hope you can too.

Steven Donaldson purchased this cabin in 1999

Why Steven Donaldson chose Gold Country / High Sierra

We love the Sierras. And we particularly like the Hwy 4 area near Dorrington and Bear Valley. It's never too crowed as the Lake Tahoe often is. And, it's only a 3 hour drive from the Bay Area. It's easy to get around and spectacular views here. It's also unique, and wonderful up in the mountains where you get all four seasons of weather in a great wooded environment.

What makes this cabin unique

We have a large deck facing out into the woods with massive pines. It's totally quiet location, very peaceful. Our cabin's interior has high ceilings that are all wood. The interior is a lot of hand done wood work, wood stove and cosy comfortable feeling. This isn't a fancy place. It's a cabin...lots of wood and great location!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had such a good time. Show falling the whole time. Nice warm fire in the wood stove. The great room with the big windows looking into the woods makes such an impact! Would highly recommend this to friends.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Arnold Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , laundry in bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Sky light and high ceiling
  • Bathroom down stairs also has washer and dryer. Upstairs bathroom has a sky light and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , has dresser and side table
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , has dresser and side table
    Bedroom Loft 3 - 1 queen , 2 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , loft has separate sleeping area for sleep sofa
  • The bedrooms are down stairs and private. Upstairs their is a very large loft bedroom area that has a queen, two full size beds and a twin bed. There is a separate sleeping area in the loft with a fold out hide-a-bed. The loft has it's own full bathroom, a separate entry to the outside on a small deck and very high all-wood ceilings.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
If you have any questions about accommodations or what to bring please ask. We love families, individuals and couples who love to go up to the mountains and appreciate the natural world of the Sierra's. The biggest amenity we offer is the location, the quite and access to the great outdoors.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

All-Wood Sierra Cabin in the Woods Near Arnold/Bear Valley
average rating of 4.36 based on 31 reviews
3

Had a great time, we enjoyed our stay there over all

  • 3 of 5

Our weekend there we were rained in one day and had the most magical day the last day there. Feeling and watching the snow come down was the best, as the ground filled with snow, we were able to build snowmans and we sled down the small snow covered slopes next to the mountain house. The house itself was great, it may need some updating but the way it was is what gave the it the cabin feel and charm. We had an issue with the heater not working but Steve was very responsive and he tried his best to accommodate us.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were awesome guests. I was so sorry the furnace was not working that weekend however you made the best of it with that problem.The wood stove worked great. We sure want you to come back. Thanks again for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely cabin, perfect location for skiing, sledding, or just hanging out

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to this cabin and we had a wonderful weekend. We were warm and comfortable (both the central heating and the wood stove worked well) and found everything we needed for our visit.

The cabin has a large loft that's divided into a sleeping area and a small living room/play space that overlooks the main living room, with a bathroom in between. The sleeping area has a sliding glass door to a stairway leading outside, as well as a skylight. It's spacious and light, and there was plenty of bedding for everyone in our party. The two downstairs bedrooms were also clean and cozy, but those of us sleeping upstairs especially loved our space!

WiFi was reliable, dishwasher worked well, and water for showers was hot. We never used the DVD player so can't comment on that. There was plenty of wood, though we didn't need much. Kitchen had everything we needed as far as cooking utensils/pots/pans -- even a cast iron pan. Only thing I would recommend is that you bring your own measuring spoons.

The owner was responsive and flexible, and gave us helpful advice in advance of our trip, which came immediately following a heavy snowstorm.

The location worked well for us, less than 30 minutes to Bear Valley and 10 minutes from the town of Arnold. When we weren't skiing, the kids spent a lot of time sledding on the slope just outside the cabin, and both kids and adults spent time making snow sculptures on the deck.

I highly recommend this place--we will definitely return next time we plan a ski vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Berkeley, California
5

Great rustic retreat in the woods, we loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic place, great setting and we'll be back. The great room, wood stove and snow made it for us.

Kids loved sledding right outside the door. The upstairs loft is great.

thanks!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not recommended - Look for other alternatives

  • 2 of 5

The cabin does have a lucrative rate, however this is what we got for this price -

* Upon arriving Found that all the sheets and towels , including the blankets were all dirty and haven't been washed. We had to start wash all of them. The owner's response? "really sorry" . It is adequate to offer a compensation, as cleaning fee was included in the price of the cabin

* Some mattresses are Old metal spring mattresses in a really bad shape. It was so bad our kids refused to sleep on that claiming it hurts their back. And kids do not have too high standards when it gets to mattresses

* You have to drive 15 miles to the closest trash dumping station. This should be clearly mentioned. A party of 8 generates a good amount of trash in 3 days.

* There is no smoke detector (there's one broken in the drawer). This is a wood cabin to remind you

* There is a pretty thick layer of dust everywhere - the owner does say "there is a lot of dust in this area" but I don't think anyone is opening windows in December when it 25 degrees outside. This looks more like really not cleaning the cabin at all

* Last one - took the owner 3 weeks to return the damage deposit (we got a message from him he was satisfied with how we returned the cabin , so it was clear it was not due to him assessing damage), including us needing to call Homeaway to try and get him to process the deposit back. This is not how you treat your clients

On a positive note, the cabin is quite roomy and we loved the flat screen tv and Netflix. Great location if you targeting a ski vacation in the nearby bear valley ski resort (about 25 mins drive)

Bottom line - would not recommend staying here. Look for other alternatives

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry to hear this visitor, was unhappy with our wonderful cabin. Unfortunately our guests arrive early and did not give our cleaning crew time to clean. As a result there was dirty towels that should not have been there. I did return the deposit less than three weeks after the rental. As for everything else we just replaced two mattresses We clearly mention that visitors must remove their own trash. This is a rustic, older, cabin that we love and we invite you to come and ask any questions about our place. Please check our other reviews as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place is amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This is truly a mountain getaway. I've been here in all seasons and there was never a shortage of activities. It's about a 20 minute drive to White Pines Lake, which is in a cute town with lovely restaurants,shops, and a grocery store. It's only 10 minutes from one of the most beautiful parks in the world, Big Trees Park. And the cabin itself is gorgeous. I could sit out on the deck all day in the tree tops. Or all night looking at the stars!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cabin in a lovely enviroment

  • 5 of 5

Steven was an awesome host, there was plenty of communication, and just seemed like an all around awesome guy.

The cabin itself was great as well. very spacious and clean and perfect for our guys fishing trip. The deck was perfect for knocking back some cold ones after a hard day of fishing (tough life huh).

In any case we loved the place and would love to stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
156 Miles
Oakland
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Lub Room
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Hwy 4
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Dorrington Inn
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Bear Valley
Nearest Beach
5.4 Miles
White Pines Lake
Car: necessary

Stanislaus National Forest, Big Trees State Park, Lake Alpine, Utica and Union Reservoirs, Bear Valley Ski Area, Snow Parks, The Dardanelles, Ebbetts Pass, Pacific Crest Trail, Bear Valley Music Festival, Murphy's Musical Theater, Wine Tasting, Angels Camp, Sonora, Jamestown, Moaning Cavern Caves, Winery's, Mountain Biking, Kayaking, Cross Country Skiing, Swimming Stanislaus River, Fly Fishing, Trout fishing, kayaking, canoeing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arnold Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90
Pet Fee $20
Refundable damage deposit $200

$150 - $180 per night
Winter rates vary from $160 to $180 per night. However, rates over the Christmas and New Years periods may vary. Please contact us for a quote.
Summer and Fall rates vary from $150 to $160 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties