2 bedrooms + 3rd bedroom loft with 5 bed, 2 full bathrooms, laundry, kitchen
- english, french, german
About Steven Donaldson
We've co-owned Mountain House our large rustic cabin for 14 years now with two other families that are good friends of ours. We love the Sierras and found our cabin, which is located on a half acre amongst tall cedars and pines, a perfect place for relaxing and as a base camp for swimming with our kids, hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, and in the Winter, cross country skiing. And of course, it's a perfect place for our dogs, we now have two. We love it up here, hope you can too.
Steven Donaldson purchased this Cabin in 1999
Why Steven Donaldson chose Arnold
We love the Sierras. And we particularly like the Hwy 4 area near Dorrington and Bear Valley. It's never too crowed as the Lake Tahoe often is. And, it's only a 3 hour drive from the Bay Area. It's easy to get around and spectacular views here. It's also unique, and wonderful up in the mountains where you get all four seasons of weather in a great wooded environment.
What makes this Cabin unique
We have a large deck facing out into the woods with massive pines. It's totally quiet location, very peaceful. Our cabin's interior has high ceilings that are all wood. The interior is a lot of hand done wood work, wood stove and cosy comfortable feeling. This isn't a fancy place. It's a cabin...lots of wood and great location!
Check-in: 2:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
No smoking within the house at any time
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
Old homey cabin
Over all we are happy with the cabin. It was very quiet, peaceful, conveniently located and priced well with pleanty of beds for us to sleep comfortably. Having to cleanup (wash & put away dishes, wash & put away towels, haul out trash and vacuum) was fine with us but I am wondering why I am still being charged a cleaning fee if there are no house cleaners. We left the house cleaner then when we got there. Besides the coffee pot not working (we are coffee addicts, that was a big bummer), there not being any dry firewood or kindling to make a fire, and the downstairs toilet leaking, we enjoyed our stay in this old homey cabin. Thank you.
Thanks for getting back to me on your stay. As for your comments. I'm sorry if the coffee maker was not working. I was up there just a week ago and it worked fine. Also, I was unaware of the downstairs toilet leaking. I'll get up there and check that out immediately. We always have our cleaning person come to make the place perfect. I'm sorry if you did not find it that way.
Warm family cabin
It was a great peaceful place. The only bummer was the wifi stopped working on our last night there because the bill wasn't paid according to the notification. This was a big deal since we didn't have any cell reception and the wifi was the only way to communicate with anyone. Either way my family and I really enjoyed our stay and would come back for a fun family vacation again and again! Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Thank you for telling me this. I paid the bill. They NEVER notified me the bill was late. I'm very sorry about this....
very nice and peaceful
The area was very nice and peaceful.The stores were close by, cabin was very cozy and plenty of room.Would recommend for families looking for a nice adventure, no snow but we only had to travel 5-10 miles up the road for fresh snow.
CHEAP RATE FOR A FILTHY CABIN......BEWARE
Received the “welcome” packet with the key a few weeks prior to our weekend getaway. I noticed it stated renters to clean prior to vacating.....dusting, vacuuming sweeping, moping, bathroom sinks, toilets, washing all towels....even though there's a cleaning fee. Most cabins call for the standard straightening up, removing trash, and leaving dirty towels in the laundry room. I also read that we would have to take our trash to a nearby trash facility which is about 20 min away so I contacted the owner and his response was that this was on his posting clearly noted and actually it’s not otherwise I would have never rented this place. He apologized for the misunderstanding but what could I do, it was already too late to cancel.....then he tells me that the dishwasher is broken and that a door seal is on order but won’t be in until March so we would also have to wash dishes!!
On our way, the owner texts me and ask me could I dispose two bags of trash that was left by the previous renter, that his cleaning lady doesn’t dispose trash of and that he apologizes for the inconvenience.....I said sure.
Now the check in.....we get there around 8:30pm and walk in to yes, it’s an old cabin but that wasn’t the problem. I love old and rustic but what I don’t like is a filthy cabin. Nothing had been cleaned. Dust everywhere, dirty kitchen & bathrooms down to urine and pubs on the seats, pennies and debris all over the carpet, dirty tissue on the floor, old food in the fridge and no sheets on the beds even though the listing shows "linens provided". I called the owner and was sorry and said the listing was inaccurate about the sheets. I told him we would clean but I wanted the cleaning fee refunded and fire his cleaning lady....he agreed to the refund. So after hours of cleaning and finding a few flat sheets to wash, we covered the stained urine and old blood mattresses and crashed. Beds, by the way, are horrid.
We left the next day after a few hours of snow play even though we were paid up for the weekend. We cleaned our messes, even vacuumed and removed all trash from the cabin but we left the trash at the curb with the previous renter's trash. The cabin looked better than we found it. The security deposit was refunded quickly but not the cleaning fee.....surprise surprise.
***Oh read all the reviews, the owner left himself a glowing review....HILARIOUS! I bet the other "glowing" reviews are family/friend related as well.***
As I mentioned to the renter our cleaning person did not come as arranged (we found out later do to a family emergency). We apologized for the condition, it should not have been like that and it is not our policy to have every renter clean the cabin. Our materials request simply "leave the cabin as you found it" with some basic cleaning and picking up. Yes, it's an old place and we love it. We are very sorry they had a bad experience. I was in touch with them continually on this and hope they can understand this unusual situation.
No thrills and no problems PERFECT!!!
The cabin is nice and had everything. I didn't have to look for or go buy anything, pretty much set up nicely. Roomy and quiet, had a little family reunion with no problems. Steven rates a 5 star in working with us and our cleaning deposit was returned within 7 days. (nice) Oh one thing was my 80yr old mother had a little trouble with the stairs but we over-came and made-do. My bad for not checking it out beforehand. I made the reservations only 2 weeks before our stay so no complaints. I would recommend to my friends. Thank You!!!
Good cabin, maybe needs some updates
I personally loved this cabin, however there where a few quirks, quite a few of the chairs had been repaired several times, and at best feel a little precarious. One was broken when we arrived at the cabin. The twin bed upstairs was in a sad state and should probably be replaced. Along with that the downstairs bedroom I was in the blinds still let the light in during the morning, I am a light sleeper so this was a bit of a nuisance.
Still despite all this I would heartily stay here again. It's a comfortable cabin that has a lot of rustic charm. The upstairs would be great if you have a lot of kids and need to get rid of them. Also I can confirm this cabin does in fact have smoke detectors.
Thanks for your review. We're replacing the batteries of the two smoke detectors this weekend. The twin bed is very old and part of our family history. We'll do some updating there. Everything else will also review to make sure this place is in good shape for the next family.
Stanislaus National Forest, Big Trees State Park, Lake Alpine, Utica and Union Reservoirs, Bear Valley Ski Area, Snow Parks, The Dardanelles, Ebbetts Pass, Pacific Crest Trail, Bear Valley Music Festival, Murphy's Musical Theater, Wine Tasting, Angels Camp, Sonora, Jamestown, Moaning Cavern Caves, Winery's, Mountain Biking, Kayaking, Cross Country Skiing, Swimming Stanislaus River, Fly Fishing, Trout fishing, kayaking, canoeing