check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Maureen Martinez

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, Some Italian & French

CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA

33 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ensenada Municipality Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 King, 1 Twin Trundel & Sofabed. Sleeps 2-4 Adults + queen & full beds on deck

FROM MEXICALI, TO SAN FELIPE & TO THE SOUTH--GOOD ROADS, SAFE PLACES TO TRAVEL AND A GREAT PLACE TO SPEND YOUR NEXT GETAWAY! SAVE $$$ BUY YOUR GAS IN SAN FELIPE WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN TOWN AND WHEN YOU LEAVE.

Enjoy incredible sunrises from your bed on the sleeping deck, at the foot of the beautiful Sea of Cortez South of San Felipe, Baja California Norte, Mexico away from crowds, noise and hectic living, in a SOLAR COMMUNITY.

A perfect desert and oceanfront hideaway just 2-1/2 hours South of the U.S. Border. Your 2 bedroom , private bath, apartment is fully furnished and includes your own patio, palapa, and sleeping, viewing & entertaining deck with incredible tides, spectacular ocean views full of seabirds, dolphins, local fisherman and full moon rises. Beachcomb, swim, fish from shore and explore our desert & mountain trails or take the short drive into San Felipe, where you can savor the Mexican culture and enjoy great restaurants and night life.

San Felipe: SAN FELIPE WAS A SMALL SHRIMP FISHING VILLAGE --. We still have lots of fresh shrimp and other great seafood, incredible tides, sunrises and sunsets, but it's growing. Only, a very safe, 2 hr. drive from the U.S. Border, at Calexico, CA. A town full of warmth, retaining and sharing its culture from the pleasant 'Buenos Dias' hospitality to the numerous restaurants, food stands and fiestas. Once visited, it will find a special place in your heart, with dreams of returning as soon as possible.

OUR PLACE. The ocean sparkles up to our sandy beach, right up to your casita front door. Peaceful and beautiful, you can rest, relax, beach comb, read, fish, jump in for a swim or just take a nap under the palapa. After sunset, you will be able to view the most incredible sky, so full, it's indescribable. Shooting stars and intermittent meteor showers will keep you fascinated for hours as will our impressive tides.

Baja 250, 500 & 1000 Races: Baja Racing. For over 18 years SCORE has brought racing to Baja. The terrain is incredible for dune buggies, 4x4s, quads and motorcycles. You can have the opportunity at least 3 times a year to become a spectator. Bring your chairs, lunch and drinks along to a shady spot on the route, and spend the day watching the adventure and sometimes drama, as helicopters fly over their vehicles and chase cars come in to change a tire or make a quick repair.

If you don't race, you can still rent a quad in town and take off for the sand dunes, or have a picnic in the desert.There are also guided dune buggy tours, or take a trip down to Gonzaga Bay, another beautiful fishing and vacation spot about 65 miles south of your vacation hideaway. Miles and miles of clear, clean sandy beaches for your enjoyment!

Side Trips: Take an overnight trip to the Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico's northern wine country. You will enjoy a day of tasting fine wines, and other delicacies. As you go North from Ensenada on the Tecate Rd., you become enveloped in the vineyards. Tasting rooms and wineries in every direction, all coming into their own. Growers like L.A. Cetto were immigrants from Italy, Bibyoff from Russia and many others. You might try and make the wine festival in August and be pleasantly surprised.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Maureen Martinez (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, Some Italian & French

About Maureen Martinez

We started building our house and the Casita in 1988,on weekends, from Palm Springs, CA. By 2000, we were ready to move to Baja full time, selling our homes in CA and moving South. It's been a wonderful 25 years -- 13 retirement years. Best retirement ever!!!! Although we came out of retirement twice; once to teach English at Colegio de San Felipe de Jesus followed by a 3 yr. stint in Human Resources and Management Training at El Dorado Ranch, North of San Felipe. Now, we are both fully retired and enjoying every moment of it!

Maureen Martinez purchased this apartment in 1988

Why Maureen Martinez chose Mexico

When I first set foot on this property - no other homes around, I fell in love with it at first sight. The incredible tides of the Sea of Cortez at our feet, the Sonoran Desert to the West and the highest peak, San Martir overlooking the magnificent red rock canyons and wonderful places to explore in between -- I knew this is where we'd retire and spend the rest of our lives, and so we did, and we are.

What makes this apartment unique

We've been truly blessed to live in an incredible place and become a part of the culture -- our Baja friends, Mexican families, co-workers at the Ranch, students at the Colegio all have contributed greatly to our lives and retirement in Baja. Would recommend it to anyone.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Loved the quiet, clean beach. Formerly lived in North End of San Felipe. This was so much better. Five of our former neighbors North of town came to visit us and agreed. House was completely furnished and the three of us were quite comfortable. South Campos great place to be.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 33 traveler reviews

CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
average rating of 4.878788 based on 36 reviews
5

Best Vacation Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

First, thank you to our hosts Frank and Maureen for an absolutely incredible vacation. Your warmth and genuineness easily made us feel welcome. We greatly appreciated your hospitality.

Wow, where to begin? I don't understand why some people book expensive hotel rooms near the ocean, or with a 'glimpse' of the ocean, when right here one can enjoy a full unobstructed 180 degree view of the sea right from their doorstep. The setting of this property is absolutely remarkable as most days ours were the only footprints on the sand. Quiet, secluded, and absolutely wonderful!!

Each day we had smiles on our faces and great new memories. Whether is was from falling asleep on the rooftop deck to a million stars and the sound of the water and waking to incredible pastel sunrises, or taking our daily early morning kayak excursions while viewing sea turtles, jumping fish, and even pods of dolphins. There is plenty to do to stay active including fishing, long walks and seashell collecting along the beach, exploring newly uncovered areas during low tides, and of course the ever-popular siesta.

Fishing was easy whether from the kayaks we brought or right from the shore. We caught rockfish and corvina, and probably would have done even better had we brought the right sized hooks. A quick trip into the fish markets of San Felipe brought us a kilo of fresh, large shrimp for $15, and a dozen steamer clams for just $1.50. This is not Cancun...this is the unspoiled Mexico where it's still easy to find lunch or dinner for two for under ten bucks. Lot of good restaurants in San Felipe, as well as right in the little village of Delicias which is just a couple miles away.

This location has it all....wonderfully charming hosts, the incredible natural beauty of the beaches of the Sea of Cortez, great food, and the warmth of the Mexican people. You've no doubt read about crime in Mexico, but not here. For our entire 10 night stay we left our kayaks and fishing gear on the beach, and left the doors to our casita wide open whether we were there or not....all without any problems whatsoever. We've been fortunate to have traveled extensively and I can say without reservation that this was our best vacation yet.

Thank you Frank and Maureen for a great experience. We hope to see you again soon! All the best,

Joe and Kathy

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, all I can say is that it's one of the best reviews we've ever read. Thank you so much. It's great to have guests who really appreciate and love this part of Baja like we do. You reminded us of our early days here, in the late 80s when we just couldn't get enough and spent 12 years of weekends driving back and forth, before we could retire permanently. After 11 more years, we are still finding new things to do and each day brings us something special. You were great guests and we enjoyed meeting and talking to you, as well as Marty and Dominic, who got alot in, in the two days they spent with you. Best of all, you managed to enjoy yourselves almost every minute of every day -- just what vacations are for! Your comments about the solitude and safety are especially helpful to those who question coming to Mexico for a vacation, at any time. We are in a unique place, without problems and we too leave our doors unlocked and sleep on our deck, comfortably without a care, something that we can't do in our gated community in Palm Desert. San Felipe is indeed a special, safe place, only 2 hours South of the U.S. crossing at Calexico, on good roads. We are truly pleased that you decided to come and stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Frank & Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
San Diego
5

Charming and Views for days!

  • 5 of 5

Booked this place for thanksgiving week of 2015. It was awesome! It is a bit off the track from the main part of town, but that makes it so much better. The sandy beach was at our doorstep and we practically had it all to ourselves. My daughter (6yrs) loved searching for shells when the tide went out. We even found snails, octopus, and starfish. She had such an amazing time. The last night we were there, there was a full moon rising over the ocean, what a sight! The owners were super accommodating and very informative. I will be returning with my family soon!!!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Casita Martinez, Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay with Maureen and Frank. Two of the loveliest people you could ever meet. We love Baja and this is the best place to stay for a relaxing vacation. The Casita is so charming and comfy with a full kitchen, bath and two bedrooms. You can stay in and watch movies, there's internet access for those who must have it although with miles of beach, and lots to do in town why do you want to play on your computer? They have kayaks for exploring, you can fish, walk on the beach for treasures or go into town for shopping. We take our dune buggy which makes the experience of Baja even better, you can drive for miles down the beach.

The Casita has a fantastic patio with palapas to shade you from the sun, there is a gas BBQ so no need to haul in anything extra for outdoor cooking. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils. Bedding and towels are provided so all you need is your swimsuit, shorts, and flip flops!

For an amazing and relaxing Baja experience away from the hustle of town and people this is the place to stay. I highly recommend Casita Martinez! We'll be back again and again. I'd move in if they'd let me.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed having both of you and look forward to your next visit. You and I should put together a great Italian meal...so glad you and Dan took advantage of beach rides at sundown in your bright green buggy every afternoon along with Pancho and enjoyed the great food at our local Poblado restaurants. Take care and best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Part 1 -of 2 Unfortunately, Isolated and not so Comfy Casita

  • 2 of 5

Owners are very nice people, reachable when not on site, informative & always willing to make our stay pleasant; especially when they found out we weren’t enjoying ourselves. Hence, I feel bad writing this review. To start, in Jan/Feb Baja N is cold, more than expected & the water is too cold to swim. Pics r accurate, what you don’t see: Casita is 50 to 60km south of San Felipe, Campo is at KM 41 but the KMs don’t start in SF. Attractions are a day’s drive away, some are closer but once those out of the way there isn’t much to do. We ran, walked, read, kayaked & biked (wouldn't recommend unless you have a fat bike & we’re cyclists), I did arts & crafts; there are just so many things you can do to fill a day. We’re active people not sedentary. In the end biking & kayaking were out, it was too cold. The main reason for this rating is the lack of comfort inside the home. More things you can’t see: master bed could use a new mattress, it’s inadequate, we felt the coils & it gave us back aches. Being Jan we used the propane heater, it has no chimney & it releases the burnt fuel inside. It was nauseating/unhealthy; & gave me headaches. It took 4ever to get hot water running & pressure was very poor especially in the shower. The water had high concentration of salt & high volume of chlorine. My hubby had sores on his scalp; which cleared up a wk after we left. Originally, we rented for 3 mths, Jan 1-Mar 31, in Nov we asked to shorten our stay to 2 mths, we wanted to travel the last mth. We were able to cut it by 2 wks, Maureen had been able to rent the last two wks of Mar, no $$ loss for her, wkly rent is more than mthly. Because of these issues and others which I won’t elaborate on (space is limited) we left after 1 mth. Weather played a role in our decision but the other issues weighed in a lot more especially lack of sleep and sore backs! Had we been comfortable inside, distance to town & the weather wldn’t have affected us as much & might have stayed for 2.5 mths. I waited to post the review, to see if other little towns had issues with water. We rented a few places in isolated towns for much less $ per wk, also did some camping & never ran into any of those issues. Approx 2 wks in, we knew this wasn’t for us so without sharing our issues, we asked if we could find some kind of $ arrangement/partial refund for us to leave early and basically was told no, which was their right.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first negative review we've ever had, in 8 years. None of the items mentioned were ever discussed with us and we are on site, however, I will go through them one by one. guests were from Canada, as almost all our Jan. & Feb. guests are. None have complained about cold weather. However, it wasn't that cold and we are desert people. Unfortunately we can't guarantee temperatures. The ventless heater is quite safe, commonly used in camp cabins throughout the states. NO BURNT FUEL IS RELEASED INSIDE. (similar to propane refrigerator in kitchen). We have the same one in our adjacent house which we've used without incident for years. This was never mentioned to us. True, we are at KM 41, approx 24 miles from the turnoff in town. If you were in the center circle of San Felipe, an additional 3 miles a total of 27. I let you know about all the activities in town. There was a Shrimp Festival, Paella Festival, parades in town, 1/2 hr drive. Our community center, just 3 miles up the road also had daily activities & dinners. Hot Springs, 15 min. South of us. The wine country was the furthest. You never complained once about the mattress, nor have any of our other guests. We work very hard to accommodate guests and any issues are taken care of promptly if we are made aware of them. Water issue is also a surprise as it comes from snow melt. About 15,000 American and Canadians use this same water daily without issues described here. The rental fee was lowered by $1000 per month for the 3 month rental, which originally started at 3-1/2 months. We were only able to rent for 1 full week after YOU LEFT. We lost 2 full months of renters, who would have paid far more than you were charged for same time frame. WHEN WE WERE ADVISED YOU WERE LEAVING, YOU DID NOT REQUEST A REFUND AND NONE WAS OFFERED, AS IT WAS TOO LATE FOR US TO FIND RENTERS TO FILL IN THE REST OF YOUR TIME. After the first week you told us you did not bring cash with you only credit cards, which do not work well, if at all, in rural Mexico. I offered to cash checks or use PayPal for you, but you declined. We worked hard to make certain your stay was enjoyable, it's disappointing to have to read a negative review here, rather than to talk to us directly at the time you were unhappy. San Felipe and the South Campos are great places to vacation and relax. Mazatlan, Puerto Vallarta, Cabo seem more suited to the type of activities you were looking for.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Wonderful Baja Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Casita for 5 nights for a beach getaway from Arizona, and it we both really loved it. It's very peaceful and quiet, we enjoyed being outside reading, eating, napping, and relaxing. It is right on the beach and pretty much had the whole beach to ourselves, we just occasionally saw one of the neighboring home owners. The water was a perfect temperature and was very safe. We went into town on one day and had fun, but the rest of the time we were very content to just stay in at the casita.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Alamos, Ca.
5

Beautiful Baja

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful, peaceful and restful week in this beautiful home right on the beach of the Sea of Cortez. Enjoyed the sunrise over the water every morning, walks on the beach, shell collecting, and trips around the area. Frank and Maureen are wonderful hosts and did everything to make our stay memorable.

The house is fully equipped with everything we needed. And there is a great patio where you can just sit under the palapa and watch the birds, fishing boats, and beachcombers go by. There is no need to be worried about safety here--unfortunately many people are overly concerned and stay away from Baja.

We look forward to returning and bringing family members with us.

Thank you, Frank and Maureen, for being so welcoming and hospitable!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again. It's such a pleasure to have guests who enjoy our little bit of paradise as much as we do. Will let you know when we get to your area in July or Aug. best wishes, Maureen and Frank
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
220 Miles
San Diego, CA
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
CHELO'S RESTAURANT & BAR
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
El Dorado
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Chelo's Cafe
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Front door
Car: necessary

Safe, Beautiful, clean, sandy Beaches on the Sea of Cortez with the highest peak in Baja, San Martir as a desert backdrop. Las Amigas Fashion Show, El Dorado Ranch Pavillion; , Galera Unica Open House, KM183; , 'Monday Gospel Brunch'; Parade of Homes; , Taste of San Felipe , restaurant tours; Feb. 12. South Campos Valentine Dance, South Campos Swap Meet; Paella Festival, Tequila Festival; Clam Festival; Chili Cook Off; Las Amigas Poker Run, Score Baja 250 Off Road Races; Baja 500 off- road , Hobie Cat Mid-Winter west Regatta; Annual International Blues and Arts Festival; , Semana Santa- Easter Week. Full moon vacations are incredibly beautiful 2-3 days before and after full moon-

Other Activities: Hot Mineral Springs, ATVs & Dune Buggies

Golf: Play a round of golf at El Dorado Ranch and follow it up with some fine dining at the Pavilion Restaurant, next to the Pro Shop. Known as Las Caras de Mexico, it's an 18 hole designer course. Or, join the Celebrity Golf Tournament each October which benefits local schools, hospital, or other deserving groups.

18 holes Mon - Thurs. - $70; Fri.-Sun & Holidays $85. 9 holes Mon - Thurs. - $50; Fri-Sun & Holidays $55

7AM TO 5PM DAILY - NOV. - MAR 7AM TO 7PM DAILY APR.-SEPT.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ensenada Municipality Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$90
$600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One time cleaning fee $50

$50 one time cleaning fee.
Monthly rate: $2,000.00
2 months: $3,000.00
3 or more months negotiable

50% deposit required to confirm reservation, made on a first come, first served basis, payable through PayPal account - bajaladykm40@yahoo.com. balance due in cash upon arrival. NOTE: CHILDREN UNDER 12 ARE FREE, OVER 12 - $10.00 PER NIGHT PER PERSON.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ensenada Municipality Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
  • Good sized full bathroom with tiled shower. Large marble-like sink counter and cabinet with drawers. Clothes hamper. There are both indoor and outdoor showers for convenience.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed in living room; deck futon (outside)
  • Comfortable king size bed, bright linens, dresser, lamp, closet, chair and bench. Small child or teen bedroom - trundle bed. The regular size sofa-bed in the living room can also be used. There's a queen sized bed and futon on the deck for great star-gazing and sleeping, in the spring and summer months.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The fully equipped kitchen has a new large stove and Dometic Propane refrigerator. The Casita is spacious and comfortable, however, most people live & eat outdoors during the day. Full patio table and chairs for outside meals, or set up an umbrella on the beach for lunch, snacks, beer or 5:00 o'clock cocktails. There's a regular charcoal grill and a smoker grill to cook all that great fish you can catch off the shore, or to steam the clams and oysters you can pick up on the beach. Paper products and bottled water supplied for short term rentals only.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties