check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand


Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish, czech

4 BR 3 ba apt in National Park near Panama Canal (not FL)

24 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Panama Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 4 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-10)

VRBO, HomeAway, and Vacation Rentals are not trustworthy companies to do business with. You should try TrpAdvisor or Flipkey dot com. Location, location location!!!!! That is true with real estate, and even more true with vacation rental properties!!!! Our location is the most convenient and beautiful in Panama and we have several routes to get you here!!

The best way to book is with Visa, MasterCard or Discover on our own website, which is mypvq dot com This way you do not have to pay any service fee recently imposed here on this site.

Exclusive property for vacation rentals in a safe residential gated community. Ideally located whether you are on business or vacation. Stay in Panama's natural beauty only 10 minutes from the banking district, but worlds away in the serenity of our exclusive neighborhood, designated Cerro Ancon National Park by Panama in 1997. Sightseeing and hiking right from the front door up to the top of Ancon Hill. Close to shopping, the Canal, waterfront restaurants, and much more. No better location to enjoy your special vacation in Panama. Why stay in the 'concrete jungle' of downtown Panama City with all the chaos and noise from lots of smokey diesel trucks & buses? You can see that in any downtown city!

We offer 8 units, four large 4 bedroom 2 1/2 bath apartments and three studio apartments, and one regular hotel style room with a bath. All fully furnished and custom decorated in tropical theme. Each 4 bedroom apartment (sleeps up to 10) has 14 large windows with beautiful tropical views out of every one. The kitchen is fully stocked and equipped with fridge/freezer, ice maker, gas stove with full size oven, microwave, toaster/oven, coffee-maker, and everything you need to prepare you own fresh meal (Panama has the best and freshest seafood, vegetables, fruits and meats in the world). Or, hire a maid/cook to prepare your meal and clean up for you...all for @$35+ a day!

The four studio apartments sleep 4 guests easily in this 650 sq. ft. ground floor unit with kitchenette, fridge/freezer, 2 burner cook-top, toaster oven, coffee maker, apartment phone plus a cell phone for your use in Panama, and more. Studio has 2 large windows with same beautiful views.

Take a nap in one of the hammocks in the gazebo out back, grill some fresh seafood or steak fillet (tenderloin) on the large stainless steel barbeque grill, and take a swim in our custom private pool with waterfall/fountain.

We can get you discounts on Panama tours, fishing and at some of the best restaurants in Panama.

Reservation Policy:

To reserve a particular week for your trip, we require a payment of 50% of the rental amount be paid. The remaining 50% is due no later than 60 days before your trip. We do not guarantee an apartment until a payment is made. All payments are non-refundable, except as described below. Check in time is 4:30 pm and check out time is 10:30 am.

A Visa or MasterCard credit card is required upon check-in to cover incidentals, lost or damaged items found upon your departure. We do not run a charge on your card without trying to contact you via email or telephone first. The apartments and contents, as well as all other PVQ and owner’s property are for your enjoyment, but are your responsibility during the rental period. PVQ also reserves the right to charge incidentals, tours, and other services or damages you are responsible for, but do not pay. Cleaning is usually covered by the rental rate (unless stipulated otherwise), unless the unit is very dirty or the booking is for less than 7 days, then a cleaning fee will apply. Per recent Panama law, we require the names of all guests staying in the unit, as well as a proper ID of the group or family representative.

Cancellation Policy:

Our cancellation Policy is like that of many other residential vacation facilities with special features to be sure you will be able to take your vacation, even if having to reschedule. If for any reason you are not able to travel on your scheduled trip, PVQ will work with you to try and reschedule your trip within 12 months for a week with availability within the same (or lesser) seasonal rate. If cancellation is requested and sufficient notice is provided to PVQ (60 days in most cases), and we are able to rebook the apartment with another guest, PVQ may refund between 80% to 90% of payments received, or give 100% credit for rebooking within 12 months as described above, at our discretion. Otherwise, no refund will be due. This policy applies regardless of payment method, be it; cash, check, PayPal, wire transfer, credit card, or bank transfer, Etc.

Rate Policy: We are testing a new, discounted rate to fill vacancies within a few weeks of booking. These rates are shown as the next months from your search, and are much lower than our normal rates. These discounted rate do NOT include daily maid service, or the same linen & towel exchange service, or paper towel resupply service, etc, as our normal rates. If you prefer the full service with daily maid service, please select normal or standard rates. Contact the owner with any questions.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bob (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish, czech

Why Bob chose Panama

We bought this property primarily because of it's very special location, in a gated small exclusive neighborhood with 24 hr security at the front gate. Another special feature is the ability to accommodate large groups by having eight apartments in the building.


based on 24 traveler reviews

4 BR 3 ba apt in National Park near Panama Canal (not FL)
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews

Perfect Location in Panama for a family

  • 5 of 5

We were visiting Panama to see Family. We wanted something close to them, but the high rises near them seemed less flexible with 3 kids. This was PERFECT. It is located right in the middle of downtown but it is at the base of Ancon Hill which is basically a tropical rainforest. The kids had a backyard, a pool, plenty of space and were able to hike up the mountain every morning to see toucans, monkeys, etc. It allowed us to take day trips and come back at night to cook or BBQ. The staff is very helpful and the other guests were friendly. The accomodations are nothing fancy, but the kitchen is fully stocked and the place is very clean. There are a lot of stairs if that is an issue. There is no laundry in the 4 bedroom unit, but the staff did a lovely job for $5/load.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, arizona

A Great Base for Panama City

  • 5 of 5

PVQ is located on Ancon Hill, so is perfectly positioned for both nature hikes and exploring Panama City. Easy access to Panama's major roads as well as the routes to the interior is five minutes away. The pool was very nice and the two covered patios with grills and tables were much appreciated. The staff were very helpful and cheerful and the facility was very easy to use with an american-style kitchen. The 6-burner gas stove in particular was awesome!. Also, the 2 1/2 baths made getting ready to go a breeze for a big group!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2 great months at PVQ

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the PVQ for almost 2 months while sorting out our move to Mexico. We are a family of 2 adults, 2 boys 6 & 9 years old, and a middle sized dog. We loved the apartment and the location is great! We walked around the neighbourhood every day with our dog, and saw a lot of wildlife. We enjoyed the pool, gazebo and BBQ area. The apartment is well equipped and nicely furnished with a lot of space for all of our belongings. Karolina and the staff were very friendly and helpful, they made our stay very memorable. We really enjoyed our time at the PVQ and would highly recommend it. Thanks to everyone and hope to see you again!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

10 Wonderful Days at PVQ

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a fantastic 10 days at PVQ! Seven of us (all middle-age adults) stayed in the 4 bedroom apartment and everyday someone mentioned what a great location it was - and individuals in our group are not shy about voicing displeasure if they don’t like something. My initial concern in booking the space was that it would be too cramped for 7 people. But there was plenty of space for us to hang out together in the main living area, or to spread out by going to the covered patio area and pool in the back.

The bedrooms were very nice, and the kitchen was large enough for several of us to work in as we prepared communal meals. The kitchen was well supplied with equipment - the only thing we didn't have was a whisk to mix pancake batter, and when we mentioned that in passing, a whisk was dropped off the next day. It was great hanging up the hammocks on the patio and relaxing with the breeze blowing and the birds calling, watching the sun set behind the trees. I regret we didn't take more advantage of the patio by using the barbecue grill!

The level of service and attention given us by housekeeping staff and, in particular, by Karolina, the property manager, was phenomenal. Karolina answered so many of our questions - before we arrived and during the course of our stay - and helped us get our bearings and feel comfortable in our travel our the city. We used Francisco and Jorge as our drivers on different occasions and both were great. Bob, the owner, was also there while we were and was extremely help, service-oriented and just a pleasure to talk to. I think I speak for our group when I say, beyond loving the accommodations and the location, we felt like we were staying in the home of friends.

Individuals in our group are already talking about coming back to Panama, and PVQ specifically. Thanks Bob and Karolina and staff!

The New Jersey Friends

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a REAL pleasure meeting you all, and spending time with you. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave this review. Look for some of your awesome pictures to be posted on our website and possibly here on VRBO!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Austin, Texas

Disappointed and Duped

  • 1 of 5

We think most of the positive reviews are WRONG with the exception that Karolina (K) was nice and the location was good (Not great because you have to drive anywhere you want to go - touristy places, restaurants, etc). Our 4 bedroom apartment was AWFUL - it smelled like mold (the solution we were told was to buy a candle); the sheets had hairs all over them as though they hadn't been washed (we complained and Karolina did have a complete change out of linens done the next day). The dining room chairs had gross stains, living room couch and chairs were uncomfortable with such thin padding it felt like sitting on rocks. The bedroom pillows and other linens were very poor quality. Hard to believe it had been "totally renovated" unless they used vintage 60's in the redo. The photographer was impressive - made pool and backyard look much bigger than they are. Salt and pepper were the only "spices" provided - many pans were scorched or scratched and disgusting. The Internet worked only sporadically and the videos provided were too scratched to function properly. The limit on lowering the AC was annoying after a hot day of sight seeing. Also, there are a lot of stairs, so older people with arthritis issues in their knees should be wary of renting here. We have traveled all over the world, often booking places through the internet and we thought we were pretty good at reading between the lines of reviews (i.e. be wary if a place describes itself as eclectic), but if we visit Panama again, we will NEVER stay here!!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since we usually get 5 star reviews, we consider anything less a chance to evaluate our operation, so thank you for leaving a review. Karolina was the most shocked by this, because other than when you brought the baggie to the office with 2 hairs in it, she had no idea you were upset. You said "these were found in one bed," but Karolina replaced the linens in all 4 bedrooms. We don't know how the hairs got on the bed, and are sorry you had this experience. It has been 5 years since we remodeled, so we have removed text stating "recently remodeled" so the listing is more accurate. Regarding the smell you describe, our apartments have wooden furniture which is handmade in Panama. There is no kiln for drying wood in Panama, so wood products have more moisture, and some guests (not many) say they smell a musty smell. This is from the wood and I have smelled it myself in Mexico, Beliz, Costa Rica, and Panama. We apologize for not removing the word "spices" in the listing when we removed the spices about a year ago. Most of them would become solid blocks due to humidity in Panama, and the VR industry has had a debate about food products used (or left) by prior guests. Most of our guests did not want them in the units, so we removed all but the salt & pepper. We have spices in the office left by others, and gladly share them with guests when they request. The AC setting policy is described in multiple locations, and unlike many hotels in Panama that truly limit the AC use, we have chosen to include in the base rate a setting considered comfortable by 95% of our guests; 76 degrees (which is 2 lower than government suggestions btw). We welcome our guests to set it as low as they want, but there is a small fee to cover the increased cost. You could have set it lower, but chose not to I guess. There are 12 steps to get from one floor to the next, and the listing describes the unit as having stairs, so again, I don't know why you'd complain about that in a review. The cooking pots and pans were fine according to Karolina, and we gladly swap out cookware and/or utensils upon request, if you had mentioned it to her. As for your other complaints about the property, it seems you were not going to like anything about it (including what others LOVE) once you were upset, and we're sorry your visit turned out this way. It is certainly not the norm, but we thank you for providing us the opportunity to improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2
Denver, Colorado

Great Panama Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 9 (8 adults & one 5 yr old) had a wonderful stay at PVQ. Bob, Karolina & the entire staff were very helpful from booking thru return home. A wedding ring was left in a room and the house cleaner gave it to Karolina who made arrangements to send it back to the US. Our son loved the pool and wildlife in the backyard. We all enjoyed the hot showers, gazebo & walks up Ancon Hill. The location is safe, quiet and convenient. We used Francisco for our transportation needs so we didn't have to rent a car or worry about driving/parking. Especially since roads had changed significantly since I was stationed there 20 years ago. Thanks to everyone at PVQ for a great stay. We look forward to returning to Panama & PVQ again soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


Tocumen International Airport (PTY)
"Panama's International Airport."
National Theater
Marcos A. Gelabert International Airport
"Panama's National Airport to other locations in Panama (Bocas, San Blas, David, etc.) Only ..."
Casco Viejo
Av Balboa
"Although we are located within a National Park on Cerro Ancon, we are only about 10 minutes ..."
Centro de Convenciones Atlapa
"Most Conventions and shows are held at Atlapa."
Centro de Visitantes de Miraflores
"Visitors center at Miraflores Locks is only 7 minutes from our property."
Seafood Market
"Fresh fish, lobster, shrimp, skid, octopus, is all available within a 6 minute ride from our..."
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Albrook Airport is 1 mile away, Tocumen Inter. is
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Various in Casco Viejo and Panama City
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Panama Canal Railroad
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
InterAmerican Highway
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Kobbe Beach
Car: not necessary

Because we are located within a national park INSIDE Panama City, it's like having a house in Central Park in New York! We are inside a park with it's natural beauty, but inside a metropolitan city with all it has to offer, very close by!


Rates & Availability

Panama City Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Holiday 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $45

Reservation Policy:
To reserve a particular week for your trip, we require a payment of 50% of the rental amount be paid. The remaining 50% is due no later than 60 days before your trip date. We do not guarantee an apartment until a payment is made. All payments are non-refundable, except as described below. Check in time is 4:30 pm and check out time is 10:30 am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Panama Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (3) Three bedrooms each have a queen size posturepedic bed., Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) One bedroom has 1 double + 1 twin bed., Baby Cribs (1) Crib available upon request., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Our studio apartments feature a day bed with a trundle, both twins and both posturepedic.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeper
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Apartment phone plus a cell phone, brand new central air conditioning, DVD players, Library of 250+ DVD's in office for your use, Washer & dryer on-site, Private pool with waterfall/fountain, Backyard gazebo with hammocks, No Smoking Facility.

Partner Offers