check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish

Akumal Condo - Oceanfront!

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Quintana Roo Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condominium - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps up to 6)

The rates for this condo are super low. Off season rate is $125/night for a lovely condo in top condition on the sand. Daily maid service is provided. Two couples can easily share this condo and split the $125/night rate. The condo at these rates is a huge bargain. High season rate of $175/night also is well below the competition. We now have 2 pools since we are just completing a new pool (11/11). Large, quiet condominium on the sand. Fabulous views of the Caribbean.Great snorkeling and diving right in front. Condominium is in top condition and has a fully equipped kitchen and daily maid service. We do have wifi on the property.

Smoke-Free condominium has a large private patio with hammock. Each bedroom has a king size bed and private terraces. Property is walled for privacy and has a pool and is beautifully landscaped. We have an ideal location at the end of Half Moon Bay in Akumal where the road ends. We are set back 50 yards making our location both very private and quiet. We have an excellent management team that is very responsive to our renters and are right on the grounds to help solve any problems.

We have many restaurants in Akumal and are within a short drive to Tulum and Playa Del Carmen. Shopping is also available in Akumal.

We are within driving distance to Chichen Itza, Uxmal and Coba. Many wonderful excursions are available. Car rental is available and reasonably priced right at the Cancun Airport which is one hour from the condominium.

This is not a densely populated area. No large hotels. We are located 300 yards from wonderful Yal Ku Lagoon. Owner has a guide to the area and is available to help renters with travel plans.

We have just added a vonage phone and offer our renters free usage of this phone for calls to the U.S. The vonage phone is in our manager's office. We ask that calls be limited to 5 minutes.

Keywords: Condominium,ocean front,pool,snorkeling,child friendly,romantic,private,sandy beach,quiet,on the sand,bargain rates,2 pools,new pillow top mattresses,private patio,free vonage phone,very safe location,fully equipped kitchen.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish

About The Owner

the owners are Carol & Marty Klein. We are a retired couple that purchased the condo in construction in 1991. It is our goal to make this the best condo and La Iguana the best complex in Akumal. Our other owners are agreement to do all we can to make La Iguana Condos the best in Akumal. I (Marty) love to talk to prospective renters to tell them about the condo and the Akumal area. I have a lot of suggestions for excursions and for restaurants in the area. Because I have owned now for 20 years, I have a lot of knowledge about what the area offers the visitor. Serving our renters is on the top of our list so that they will have a memorable vacation in Akumal and will return and recommend us to family and friends.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1991

Why The Owner chose Quintana Roo

We were visiting the area in 1991 and thought this was paradise. We purchased the property while it was in construction when we saw the bay, the location and the view we would have. The snorkeling in Half Moon Bay was wonderful and the fact that the water was so clear and that waves did not break on the shore but broke on the other side of the protective reef. We have a large covered private patio behind locked doors. This patio has a hammock, sofa, table and chairs and a storage area. There are also Caribbean views from this patio. The condo does not have a/c because we have not needed. Our unique location at the northern end of Half Moon Bay and on the north side of the building gives the condo exposure to breezes off the Caribbean, from the north and from the west. These exposure provide almost constant breezes that keep the condo comfortable. We also have high speed fans throughout the condo and have 2 tower portable air coolers that can be placed where ever needed. Even during the hot months of July & August we are almost always comfortable in the condo. Because we do not have a/c, we can rent the condo for rates that are below our competition that does have a/c. The condo is always in top condition and our on site manager is there to handle any problems instantly.

What makes this condo unique

A top notch condo on the sand for incredibly low rates. $175/night in high season and $125/night in low season. Two kid friendly pools on the grounds.Quiet privacy, amazing views from almost everywhere in the condo, wonderful breezes that blow off the water. The amazing amount of activities that are available, the wonderful native people that service the area. The brightness and comfort of the condo. The wonderful management team that is on the grounds and assists with any problem we or our renters may have. Our great maid Ana who always has a smile on her face and does a great job of cleaning the condo everyday. All the wonderful artwork throughout the condo. The fully equipped kitchen that has all the appliances you would need. Yal Ku Lagoon is a wonder and is only a few hundred yards from the condo. We keep our rates very low because we do not have a/c. We have high speed fans throughout the condo and supplement that with portable tower air coolers. Because the condo is at the far northern end of Half Moon Bay, we benefit from our location and the fact that we have exposure to breezes from the east (off the bay), from the north (northern winds are very common in Akumal) and from the east. These exposures and our screened windows that open to let the breezes in, keep us cool and allow us to keep our costs down and therefore our rates very low. Air conditioning is very expensive to maintain in Akumal and why pay for something that you won't need. I have many renters who will attest to the comfort of the condo in the summer. During the months of September through April it almost never gets to the point that one would use a/c but condos that have it charge higher rates all year.

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 traveler reviews

Akumal Condo - Oceanfront!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
5

Beautiful views of the ocean in a private setting

  • 5 of 5

Martin's condo is everything he says it is. We stayed with another couple for 7 nights. It was my second time there and their first. The views are absolutely stunning and the property is very well kept. Marty and the manager will make sure they can do anything to accommodate your stay and the other employees of La Iguana become your friends. We made most of our meals in the condo so the kitchen is well stocked with cooking utensils. The fresh water was in constant supply which was also nice for our weary friends.

Our favorite things to do in Akumal was snorkeling in Yal Kul lagoon (a 5 min walk from the condo), dinner at Del Pescador near Turtle Bay and happy hour at La Buena Vida where you can have drinks and eat while laying in a hammock right on the beach. Just south of Akumal you will find beautiful beaches and wonderful cenotes everywhere you go.

Some may question being on the north end of half moon bay but please don't. At La Iguana you aren't far from Akumal but get much more peace and quiet than the resorts and places closer to town will offer. If you are adventurous skip renting a car and just rent bikes for 5 dollars a day and take collectivos to go to tulum. It's faster to ride a bike to town than take a car in my opinion, lol. VEA ATV tours was a major highlight of this vacation so look into it if you like atving through the jungle! Thanks again Marty for a fabulous time!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
BC Canada
5

Great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful three weeks at this condo! It really felt like home!! We enjoyed the pools and the view was really amazing! The location was great! We walked to the lagoon and snorkelled right outside our door!! The owner is friendly and full of knowledge of the area and things to do!

The staff were friendly and even shared a coconut with my boys! The kitchen had all the necessary items and the art and furniture of the condo really is reflective of the culture and country.

We rented a car for the three weeks we were there! It is recommended for sure!

So happy we chose this property!!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spectacular View

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent 2-weeks at this condo. The pictures do not do it justice. Looking out from the living room, you feel as if you are on a boat. You can't see land below, all you can see is the beautiful Half-Moon Bay and beyond. The sunsets at half-moon bay were some of the best I have ever seen. The bed was super comfortable. The daily housekeeper was a real treat. We did a lot of exploring. We went to 3-different ruin sites, Coba, Chitzen Itza and Tuluum. All of them were different from the other. We went snorkeling in Akumal Bay and saw many Sea Turtles. My husband went diving in the Cenotes. .Dos Ojos and Chiken Ha. He said it was quite an experience. We went over to Cozumel for the day. Great diving and lots of restaurants and shopping. Laguna Yal-Ku is also walking distance from the condo. Great place to snorkel. There are many restaurants within walking distance of the condo. My favorite was La Lunita for dinner. Will definitely stay at this condo again.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Middlesex, VT
5

Relaxing winter get away

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I and two old friends spent almost three very relaxing weeks at this condo. This property met all our needs-we all commented on the really comfortable beds. The location in the northern end of Akumal was very quiet, yet very close to everything we wanted to do. Every day we marveled at the great view from the living room and kitchen and enjoyed the lovely beach. We enjoyed snorkeling (the reef is right off the beach), walking the beach and eating at one of the great local restaurants. We made a number of short trips to visit nearby towns, Mayan ruins and other beaches-they l were great places to visit. Having daily maid service and friendly folks at the front desk was a real plus. We all agreed that we will return to enjoy this condo again.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Not for me

  • 3 of 5

This is an ammeded review submitted after detailed discussion with the owner. After only one night in the condo I was unable to remain and had to move to an air conditioned condo in Akumal. The condo itself is large and spacious and does have a lovely view as pictured. After arriving on a red eye and having had no sleep in over 30 hours my only desire was to check in and sleep. The temperature in the condo unit itself exceeded 90 degree's, which for me was not bearable. There was no cool breeze during my stay. I could not sleep or rest comfortably that day or night. The next day I emailed the owner and informed him that I needed to leave and requested a refund for my stay. I did discuss my concerns in detail and a refund was issued upon my return. In my opinion a few minor improvements by the owner would greatly improve the condo. This unit does have many positive comments noted. Evaluate the pro's/cons. Unfortunately the lack of a comfortable cool interior living environment was a deal breaker for me.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was so sorry for the unseasonable heat in my condo when this guest arrived. I have owned my condo now for 24 years and each year I visit just after Thanksgiving for at least 2 weeks. This year we had a family event so I was not able to visit. I told the guest that November/December is not a hot time in Akumal and I can never remember having an uncomfortable day. If they were renting in July or August, I could understand it could be hot but not in November/December. Maybe it's global warming or the fact that these days, the weather is not normal. It was hot and I refunded this guests total payment even though she did occupy the condo for 1 night. This renter took a night flight into Cancun and was exhausted when she got to the condo. She needed to sleep and the heat made that very uncomfortable. I do have high speed fans throughout the condo and the evenings do cool off. Most renters are out enjoying the beach or one of the many activities available in the Akumal area but this renter was exhausted from the red eye flight so they were not going out to the beach. We are located on the sand at the northern end of Half Moon Bay where we do get frequent breezes that blow through the condo and keep it cool. We have an exposure to the north, east and west to take advantage of breezes from any of those directions. Our many windows all open to let the breezes in. Over the years, I have considered a/c and if my renters had reported heat that ruined their stay, I would have installed it. That was not the case. I have not had renters complain. Actually the fact that I do not have a/c allows me to rent the condo for significantly less than a condo with a/c. The cost of electricity to run an a/c unit is considerable and I would have to raise my rates by $25-$50/day. My renters have unanimously communicated that they would like me to keep the rates low. Going forward, I will continue to monitor the situation and if I have many complaints about the heat, I will be installing a/c. I have had a number of reviews for my condo over the years and every one gives it a 5 star rating. This is the first one that came in at less than a 5 star review. The satisfaction of my guests is my number one concern and that will continue to be the case. Martin Klein, owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Montreal
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5

This place is loved by its owner and you can feel it the minute you get in the condo. The local art makes you feel in Mexico, yet you fell like home. The kids enjoyed the pools while we marvelled at the sunsets. What a view! Being located at the end of Half Moon Bay, there are no seaweeds in front of the condo and that's remarkable for Riviera Maya nowadays. The place is at walking distance from Laguna Yal-Ku, which we enjoyed very much. Hector and Ana took great care of us.

A nice surprise was Akumal itself : it's small, enjoyable, colourful and feels like a community. We even preferred it to Playa or Tulum. The snorkelling right in front of Akumal Beach (5 min ride from the condo) is very enjoyable: we've seen a dozen sea turtles, very big fishes and a couple of stingrays. Kids loved it so much we had to return 3 times during our one-week stay!

Thanks Martin for all your support and great advice. We will remember you and Akumal for a long time!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Cancun Airport

Birdwatching, caving & cave diving, Mayan ruins, jungle excursions. I do have some weights that I would be glad to loan to any interested renter to work out with. We have a cook that can prepare a meal for renters. Ask me about it if you are interested.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Akumal Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
low season
Apr 16 2016 - Dec 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

I have owned my condo now for 24 years and do all renting myself. I do not have agents. I personally will assist renters plan their vacation. My goal is to make sure my renters have a wonderful vacation at a very reasonable rate. I am happy to assist with planning and to answer all questions. I have a number of information articles about different activities available in the area that I would be happy to send to renters. There is so much to do in the area and a bit of planning can really add to your vacation. We have also just added beach chairs, a beach umbrella and a cooler to our condo for the use of our guests.

We require a 30% deposit to confirm your reservation. Balance is due 60 days before arrival at the condo.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Quintana Roo Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) New pillow top king mattresses in each bedroom. , Twin or Single Beds (1) our custom built sofa in the living room can be used as a bed for singles. It was purposely built extra wide and serves as a sofa with thick backrest cushions., Child Beds (1) crib is available. Also we have a highchair on request., Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Condo is decorated with art and artisanaria that was made by Yucatan artists. All work is original and unique and hang on the walls of the condo.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...