Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Blue Adventure Florida Keys Waterfront! Virtual Tour

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Waterfront home on 60 foot wide canal in the lower Florida Keys. Just 20 minutes from Key West, which has fantastic restaurants, night life, history, and shopping. Near by Key Deer habitat, Bahia Honda state park with the best beaches in the Florida Keys, fantastic fishing, diving, snorkelling and other watersports. Located in a 5-star gated community with full amenities and activities. Newer 2005 stilt home. 2 kayaks available for use for renters at no charge. Located midway between Key West and Marathon. Beautiful large deck overlooking the water with all patio furniture.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Jan & Kevin Breckman
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2017

About Jan & Kevin Breckman

We are avid scuba divers and nature lovers!

Jan & Kevin Breckman purchased this house in 2007

Why Jan & Kevin Breckman chose Lower Florida Keys

We used to live in the Tampa Bay area of Florida, and always travelled to the Florida Keys to vacation and dive. We decided that if we could ever pull it off, we would buy our own piece of paradise on the water in the Keys, so for us this is a deam come true!

What makes this house unique

Benefits are location! The Lower Keys are more laid back than the Upper Keys, but if you want the party atmosphere with great restaurants and night life, museums and tourist attractions, Key West is only 20 minutes away!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home in Venture Out! We loved that you are close to Key West for a night on the town, but far enough away in a safe gated community to be quiet at night when we want quiet! The pool and hot tub are both wonderful, and so close to the unit. Our favorite thing to do is to sit up on the deck for happy hour in the evening or for coffee in the morning, and look at the wonderful openwater view off the deck overlooking the ocean. We also loved the kayaks you provide for your guest to use at no charge. Thanks so much for letting us rent your home! We will be back next year!
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Key West International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Boon Docks, Looe Key Tiki bar
Nearest Golf
19 Miles
Key West
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
US1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Square Grouper
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Bahia Honda State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Key West
Nearest Point of Interest
Bahia Honda State Park
Car: recommended

Its all about the water! Fishing, diving, snorkelling, beaches, boating, marinas, kayaking, and the list goes on!

Amenities

Cudjoe Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 full bathrooms with showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Queen bed with single bunk over top
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sleeper in living room
  • Queen size bed in master bedroom, queen bed in second bedroom with a single bunk bed over top, queen sleeper in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 kayaks available for use free of charge to renters. Just drop them in the canal in front of the property and paddle away!

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

30% Complete
42% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Blue Adventure Florida Keys Waterfront! Virtual Tour
average rating of 3.8846154 based on 27 reviews
3

Clean home, really needs updating and some repair work.

  • 3 of 5

I thought the home was clean and the location in the Keys was great. I brought my family down and we used as a home base while we travelled up and down the Keys exploring. They had adequate cookware and dishes to use, new AC worked great.

Beds were less than OK for my wife and I in our peronal opinion. But some people may like the feel of every metal spring in the mattress but me - not so much. There was a thin pad but it didn't work too well. Only one way to really fix the problem is to upgrade the mattress. But I perservered just fine anyway. The front door does not work so well the door knob doesn't turn properly and wiggles like a loose tooth. I'm not sure if it was the knob needing replacement or it was not fitting properly in the door or both. The front door frame/jam needs to be completely replaced, the wood has rotted away in spots you could see all around it so you know the damage probably extends much farther. Saw a lot of carpenter ants maybe trying to move into the rotten spots. Found a queen carpenter ant wandering around inside the house. In FL, carpenter ants generally move into wood thats already damaged/rotten.

Furniture was clean but old. Comfortable.

Bathrooms were clean. The hallway bathroom shower door needs fixing or replacement. You have to be very gentle opening or closing it or it falls right off of its track. My 13 yr old daughter discovered this the hard way when she bumped into it while taking a shower and it fell on her. After checking it out, whatever mechanism there should be to keep the door mounted in the track is not there. It swings loose on the bottom, not in a track.

The thing I had the biggest problem with was that I didn't realize this was a manufactured home (one of those you see half of driving down the street on a semi trailer and then they put together at the destination) placed on stilts and it was in a trailer park that was jammed full of trailers and RV's squeezed in between other manufactured homes on stilts. It didn't fit my vision for spending time in the Keys. If I were there with my brothers and our boat and we were out fishing etc this property would be perfect and I would consider it in the future for just that.

It was still fun down there and we were generally happy with our stay. I dont want to give the impression it was horrible because it wasn't. Just not what I expected and it was a few small things together. The guards at the gate were wonderful and very helpful. The price was good

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Thank you for your review!! Very strange that you found one of the beds uncomfortable. One is brand new - less than one year old, and the other is about 2 years old. Sealy pillow top for one of them - I forget the brand of the other. The only bed that is uncomfortable is the pull-out queen sleeper, as because as far as I know, all sleepers are pretty uncomfortable due to their nature - they need to be able to fold up so the mattresses have to be thin. The furniture is actually not old - it is about 2 years old. The style we chose is a classic looking style, and leads some people to think that it is old, but its not. We chose the style because we think it is a somewhat classic Keys design, and as well it s VERY comfortable, which is what we want and our guests appreciate. (We had more modern-looking furniture in there a couple of years ago, but it was very uncomfortable, so we bought this furniture about 2 years ago and love it.) For the shower door - good to know - thanks - was not aware. I will get maintenance to repair this. We will also have the front door jam replaced as we were not aware there are issues with this either. Venture Out is a mobile home park - every home in Venture out is a manufactured home. That being said there are many very lovely manufactured homes! As in all resorts of this style, homes are closer together than in a regular neighbourhood with single family homes. We love Venture Out because it has such great amenities - huge well-kept pool and hot tub, tennis, marina, clubhouse, basketball, activities, friendly people, and much more, that you just don't get if you have a single family home. Thanks again for taking the time to review! Cheers Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Johns, FL
4

Very nice and clean house in a neat community.

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our quick stay at Venture Out. The only complaint I have is that the website does not mention the $53.75 amenity fee you have to pay to get in the gate the first time. It should have been included in the price break down or at least stated somewhere in the description.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Thank-you for your review! Unfortunately we cannot include the $50 in the price breakdown, as this fee is not paid to us but must be paid at the gate upon arrival. It is mentioned in the website, but perhaps it is not obvious enough, so I will go through and see if I can somehow highlight this. We very much appreciate that you took the time to do a review! Regards, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mixed reviews

  • 3 of 5

Had a great vacation. Venture Out was nice. Great pool. Friendly staff.

The house was pretty good. Nice location on the canal and pleasant to sit on the deck. The house is in need of maintenance in several areas. For example, the sliding glass door frame is coming out of the wall.

I am not a big fan of the management company. Based on a previous review, I asked them about one of the kayaks which previous reviewer said had a hole in it. Management company said the kayak was fine but it had a decent sized tear in it. Also, most VRBO's I have rented at least give you some starter supplies. This place did not even have a trash bag in the trash can. When you are flying in, you can't bring everything with you. So it is nice to have some starter supplies.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Thank you for your review! Normally there IS starter supplies for each guest. This includes a couple of garbage bags, small hotel-style soaps in the bathrooms, and a small amount of dish soap and dishwasher soap. This is intended to get you through the first couple of days until you get to the grocery store. I don't know why a garbage bag was not in place but I will see what happened. Normally the cleaners go through and are required to leave all these in place, then the management company comes in behind the cleaners and checks everything. I asked about the sliding glass door and the management company went to check on it as they were not aware there was anything wrong with the door, so this will be repaired. As far as the kayak goes, I asked them to check this. There is no water that comes into the hull at all. There is a small crack as you say, but water does not enter the hull through the crack. There is also a round hole that is intended to be there as a drain hole. (It is s sit on top type kayak). Some folks don't realize that this is intended to be there, but I have asked for a plug to be installed anyways to make people feel better who are not familiar with this type of kayak. We definitely appreciate you bringing these items to our attention, and are very glad you enjoyed the deck and the view off the deck, as well as the other amenities at Venture Out.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Comfortable, clean & great location!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the house. There was plenty of room for all of us to be comfortable. The deck was convenient w/a beautiful view. We were within a short walk to the pool/game/beach area. Just a couple of minor things; the rental said it included 2 bikes that weren't at the house. Also came w/2 kayaks that we decided not to use because one had holes and they were very worn. Overall a great stay, location and home. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jessica! Thanks so much for your review! I am not sure where you read about bikes being provided, as we have never had bikes at all, and its not in our website. However I know that when you look at many websites they can all run together sometimes! I am glad you had a good time, and I appreciate that you took the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The house is well appointed and comfortable. The neighborhood is a bit crowded. It suited our family

  • 4 of 5

We used this as a base to tour other keys and did not spend a lot of time on the property except to sleep. The

Location is good and the house, while not new, is well maintained and has what you need. It is very comfortable. The neighborhood is packed with houses, trailers and RVs. If you are here during the day there are rec resources like a pool etc.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location on the water....

  • 4 of 5

Property location offers outstanding amenities in addition to a great location.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $115 + Tax
Processing & insurance $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Venture Out collects $50 plus tax for each unit rented, at the gate upon arrival. (This is not paid to us).

50% upon booking, balance due 60 days prior to arrival. Can pay by credit card or check.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties