check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Joanne Hadley

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Oceanfront-Last Minute Special: Aug 30-Sep 19: 25% Off 2+2, Air Con, No Stairs

22 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Keauhou Condo Rental Photos and Description

Ground Floor Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Call Joanne

310-489-9725

For LAST MINUTE SPECIAL please call.

BOOK 6 NIGHTS ANYTIME & GET 7th NIGHT FREE (Except Ironman)

'Calypso' is right ON THE OCEAN. Ground floor (NO STAIRS) set among Palm Trees, with only grass and lava between you and the Pacific Ocean. 2 Bedroom (King Sized Beds), 2 Bath Condo is in Desirable Building 1, at the gated Keauhou-Kona Surf & Racquet Club.

CLOSE TO SNORKELING. Walk or drive (2/10 mile) to Kahalu'u Beach Park, Hawaii's Best Snorkeling Beach according to West Hawaii Today

A/C (see notes, Add AC Charge $20/day)

** FEATURES 'CALYPSO' IS COMPLIMENTED ON **

-------------------------------------------

DOUBLE WIDE OCEANFRONT LANAI with 4 Chaise Lounges

HOW CLOSE WE ARE TO THE OCEAN !

BINOCULARS FOR YOU TO USE

2 QUALITY KING SIZE BEDS

WASHER DRYER INSIDE

WALKING DISTANCE TO THE MARKET

BOOGIE BOARDS

VOLLEYBALL GRASS COURT

WI FI

OUR LIBRARY

DVDS FOR CHILDREN

NO STAIRS

*** What Else 'Calypso' Offers You ***

---------------------------------------------

2 Bedrooms & 2 Baths

Quality Linens

2 Child Sized Futons

High Speed Internet (Roadrunner Hardwired)

2 TVs, DVD players

Fully Equipped Kitchen

Heated Pool with Shallow Area to Practice Snorkeling

Beach Equipment including Boogie Boards & Ice Chest

Tennis Rackets

Library Stocked with: Island Guidebooks, Reef Guides for Divers & Snorkelers, Children's Books, Hawaiian Lore etc.

Phone (Local calls free)

** Some Fun Things to Do Near 'Calypso' **

------------------------------------------

Walk to nearby Kahalu'u Beach Park (Hawaii's Best Snorkeling Beach), follow map to Ancient Petroglyphs, or walk to Surfboard Rental Shop.

Walk to Shopping Center (grocery store, cinema, drug store, post office...)

Mornings: Spot Dolphins, Whales, Outriggers from your Oceanfront Lanai.

Hawaiian Evenings: Enjoy the Kona Sunset from your Lanai.

Explore Tide Pools, Stroll to Keauhou Bay, Walk to Hawaii's Tiniest Church, Catch the Beach/Shopping Trolley.

*** Our Policies ***

--------------------

HOUSEKEEPING: Initial cleaning is done prior to your arrival, cleaning fee $155 is charged upfront. The master bedroom is furnished with a king-size bed, and the second bedroom also has a king-size bed. Please enjoy 'Calypso' as you would your own place. There is NO SMOKING ALLOWED in or around this unit or any building in the resort.

Standard Check in is 4 PM; check out is 11 AM.

RESERVATIONS: We require an advance deposit of $300 within 7 days and notification of the exact dates of your arrival and departure, how many people in your party, and need your address and mobile phone number. This will confirm your reservation. Once confirmation is made, your balance is due 60 days prior to your scheduled arrival. The $300 deposit also serves as a damage deposit and will be returned within 14 days of departure.

Add AC Charge $20/day

High Season: Dec thru March $255/nt

Ironman Terms: 7 night minimum, Specials do not apply for Ironman

CANCELLATION: Your deposit is refundable if cancellation notice is given 60 days prior to scheduled arrival. No refunds of deposit or prepaid rent will be given if cancellation is less than 30 days of scheduled arrival date.

Pool is scheduled for renovation August 1-Sept 30, 2016

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Joanne Hadley (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 22 traveler reviews

Oceanfront-Last Minute Special: Aug 30-Sep 19: 25% Off 2+2, Air Con, No Stairs
average rating of 4.818182 based on 22 reviews
5

"Calypso"

  • 5 of 5

Very nice...clean...great sunsets...right on the Ocean.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2006
  • Stayed: May 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 4
3

Pretty views, adequate accomodations

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at three different places during our trip to the islands and unfortunately this was at the bottom of the list-when compared with the others. A few cleanliness items-sheets on one bed were stained and appeared unwashed, some dishes in the cupboards were dirty. The air conditioning, which we were upcharged for, struggled to cool the main rooms, however the back bedroom was quite cool. The property was adequate and I can see how it may be a struggle to maintain with all of the humidity thus peeling paint, rusty basket in the dishwasher, some marks on walls and a small hole in one place. So, adequate. The owner was helpful in passing along recommendations of things to do and places to go.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Dennis and Sharon. Based on your inputs, we had our contractor order a more powerful air conditioner to ensure the main room is cool. We originally thought that the air conditioners were adequately doing the job, so we're truly sorry this one didn't quite operate correctly during your stay. Regarding the sheet, and dishes, we have asked our cleaners to double check for these type of things during their work. You are correct, being right on the ocean does cause anything metal to rust and paint to peel, etc. It's a constant battle with the elements. To All Future Guests: Please notify us right away if there is any problem or concern. That way we can have it fixed while you are still vacationing :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great centrally located property. Close enough to points of interest but yet a quiet neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Calypso for 4 nights earlier this month. It's located in a quiet neighborhood but yet it's centrally located allowing us to do many activities throughout the day. The chairs and tables on the lanai are convenient for an early breakfast before starting out on the day's adventures. We loved the walk along the ocean with the lava rocks framing the view. I would highly recommend this condo to others visiting the Big Island. Some of the activities I'd recommend are snorkeling with the manta rays at night with Jacks Dive Locker, staying in the Volcano National Park until dusk to see the lava glow, and ziplining over Akaka Falls on the Hilo side of the island. The Greenwell coffee farm was also an interesting way to learn how coffee is grown and harvested (it's also free and just about 15 minutes from the condo)!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location...Lots of fun

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I, along with her two young boys, stayed a week at this condo. We had a great time. The condo is very well stocked. We enjoyed the fact that being on the ground floor we didn't have to lug suitcases up the stairs or watch for the children going up and down them. The condo was spacious enough for the kid to play inside and could watch them play on the patio and in area just off the patio. The kids loved the pool; it has a large area that is shallow so they could play there without worrying about them drowning. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever on the Big Island. Thanks for a wonderful week.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Sunsets, Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My family recently stayed here for a week and we were extremely happy. There were 5 of us total and the condo was spacious and well equipped for our stay. We enjoyed eating dinner every night on the lanai and got to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The lanai is very spacious and had the table and lounge chairs to sit and enjoy. Condo was very clean and comfortable. The location is also great, close enough to town and shopping for convience yet far enough away from it to enjoy the tranquility of the Big Island. We got to see spinner dolphins one morning swimming by in the distance, that was awesome. Plenty of green sea turtles and a monk seal that came up for some sun bathing on the beach at the complex. Its nice to have use of a nice bbq area right out your front door, as well as the tennis courts and pool to enjoy. Owners were easy to work with and quickly responded to questions. Kona is one of my favorite places to visit in Hawaii and I would definitely recommend this condo for your vacation. On the way to the condo stock up on food, best deals are between Costco and Walmart and you are good to go. The condo has a cooler, which worked out great to pack lunch and snacks for our day trips. Umbrellas for the beach and the rain, beach chairs a boogie board and plenty of snorkel gear. The gear was plentiful but a little worn from lots of use. If you plan to snorkel alot you may want to rent some gear which is realitvely cheap. Boss Frogs was $20 for the week which was a good deal. The A/C was nice to cool down the unit after being out all day, Some days we needed it others we did not if there was a good breeze coming in off the ocean. Kitchen well equpped with pots, dishes, cups and appliances. May want to pick up some foil or plastic wrap to cover things such as leftovers in the fridge. Overall this condo was excellent, on my next trip back to the big island I would definetly check to see if available.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from a 15 day stay at "Calypso" at the Keauhou Surf and Raquet just south of Kona. It was absolutely gorgeous and we enjoyed everything about it. This was our 8th trip to The Big Island and certainly the best accommodations that we have had to date.

This first floor unit provided a beautiful lania and view of the ocean. The kitchen was very clean and well equipped. We didn't need anything other than what we chose to eat and drink. The furnishings were very nice and the bed(s) were comfortable. We chose the "ocean" bedroom and it is really nice falling asleep and waking up to the sound of surf and shore.

Someone had mentioned the possibility of mosquitoes, but in the 15 days, we never even saw one and we spent a lot of time outside the unit.

Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Keauhou Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Dec-Mar
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
Dec-Mar
Dec 1 2017 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Add Cleaning Fee $155

Add AC Charge $20/day
High Season: Dec thru March $255/nt
Iron Man Terms: 7 night minimum, Specials do not apply for Ironman
Damage Deposit is 25% of total rent amount during Iron Man period.
Pool is scheduled for renovation thru Sept 30, 2016

CURRENT SPECIAL:

BOOK 6 NIGHTS ANYTIME & GET 7th NIGHT FREE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Keauhou Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa sleeper
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties