Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rare Creekside Setting

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Especially in the late winter and early spring, the sound of rushing water is the first thing to greet you when you step out of your car in front of the cabin.

The warmth of a huge fireplace, the view from floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the forest scene, and the sound of the creek -- it doesn't get much better.

Note: We are located in Fern Valley, Idyllwild's upscale neighborhood just one mile from cabin door to center of town. Pine Cove is not within walkable distance to Idyllwild, so if you want to take advantage of all this quaint town has to offer, yet still experience a quiet setting, Idyllwild is the place to be. We have a fabulous location with great flat access; Town center is an easy walk with shops, restaurants, and museum along the way -- and right on the creek -- a rare find in vacation cabins.

There's lots of great cabins in Idyllwild -- but very few offer our unique creekside setting. Combine that with the luxury of being well set back from the road (another Idyllwild rarity) and privacy from neighbors, and you've really got something special.

White Horse offers a peaceful mountain retreat, one hour from North San Diego County. Huge, inviting fireplace, woodsy setting on the water, and a great deck to take it all in. The view from the small dining table overlooks our deck and beyond to the creek's rocks and small waterfalls. On a quiet day, it's not uncommon to see deer strolling down the creekbed. The cabin's wood interior and huge fireplace provide the expected mountain ambiance, yet this home provides all the modern conveniences. Whether used as a romantic honeymoon venue, a fun-filled family retreat, or just a cozy cabin getaway, this place is special.

This classic mountain cabin occupies over a half acre of fenced horse facilities, making this a very unique property. And yes, there really is a white horse at White Horse Cabin (30-year-old Stanlee, but he belongs to the owners and only visits when they are in residence!) However, guests with and without horses will enjoy the home's unique privacy, yet close proximity to all that Idyllwild has to offer.

This home is much loved and used by its owners, thus providing our guests an instant feeling of 'home' instead of 'rental.' Idyllwild is a very special place, with an atmosphere that is getting very hard to find in Southern California. Guest comments routinely remark on our home's ambiance, privacy, huge deck and creekside setting.

This is a very family-friendly town, where kids can paint and fire ceramics at a local shop, attend fun/educational events at the County's Nature Center just outside of town, visit the skate park, or explore the creek right outside your back door at White Horse. Mom and dad can enjoy fine or casual dining, see a first-run movie,listen to live music any night of the week, or check out the Idyllwild museum showcasing the area's rich cattle country/mining heritage.

Keywords: Cabin, woods, creek, classic, affordable, family

More Details

Kathy Styles
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2017

About Kathy Styles

We wanted a close-by retreat from our North San Diego County Home--someplace we could enjoy ourselves, plus share with others.

Kathy Styles purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Kathy Styles chose Idyllwild

We searched for mountain horse property for a long time--it's rare in Idyllwild. The size of the lot, plus the fabulous creek setting was irresistable!

What makes this cabin unique

White Horse Cabin has that location, location, location wow factor. The woods, the water, the classic A-frame cabin. After a few quiet moments on that deck overlooking the water, picturing our horses content in the big shaded paddock out front--we were hooked.


Fern Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) One queen in master, one queen sofabed, Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
Great horse facilities for six, small barn, separate pipe stalls, large paddock.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Rare Creekside Setting
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews

Beautiful location and cabin is really cute. Pull out bed was a little rough but livable.

  • 4 of 5

Would definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the cabin--and yes, I know that sofabeds are not a great choice for adults; since your reservation was for 4 adults, I assumed 2 in the master, 2 in the twin beds in the loft; if you had mentioned needing separate beds for adults, I would have definitely warned that we usually recommend the sofabed only be used for kids! (they never seem to mind where they sleep!). Regardless, glad you enjoyed your stay overall.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Will not stay there again. Left after 1 day.

  • 1 of 5

Driveway was snowed in. Could not park close to house furnace took hours to work. Cable didn't work stove was very old. Got. Too hot. Could not monitor temp house is old outdated. Not kept up.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry your vacation was a bit of a train wreck--with the weather being the major factor here. As for the things we can control: * Because we always get such positive reviews, there was obviously some disconnect between your expectations and the cabin. We strive to accurately portray our home, both in the photos and description, so your perception of the cabin being "outdated" should have been formed by observation of those photos before the reservation was made. * Your characterization of the furnace "taking hours" is quite the exaggeration. We stay here frequently and it has never "taken hours" to warm the cabin; There are 2 fast-acting wall heaters in the main living area (with instructions), in addition to the forced-air furnace. * Not sure what the issue is with the stove, but will check into it immediately--unfortunate that a potential repair issue was not brought to our attention until writing a review. And as for those things we cannot control: * Weather: Snow in the mountains in January is always a possibility; our reservation form specifically warns every guest to BE PREPARED (in capital letters.) * I know you experienced a power outage, which would have been the case regardless of where you stayed in Idyllwild that date; * We do not have cable, we have satellite, which will not work if weather is affecting it. * You informed us you were leaving after one day because you were "afraid" of another storm coming in. Again, I'm so sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

My husband and I had a wonderful time here. It's quiet, peaceful, clean and well organized.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful time here. It was quiet, peaceful, clean and well organized. The bed was comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always happy to hear guests have enjoyed this great little hideaway. Hope to accommodate you in the future. Thanks, Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very peaceful

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was perfect for what we were looking for. It sits far enough back from the road that you don't hear the traffic. It's very quiet. You can hear the creek from the back deck which is very tranquil. It has all the amenities that you need. Kathy responded very quickly to every e-mail I sent. Idyllwild is one of my favorite places to go. The little town is quaint and everyone is very friendly. There are plenty of places to eat and shop and lots of hiking trails, which we love. We will be visiting again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to accommodate you in the future. Thanks, Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing girls getaway

  • 5 of 5

The property was just perfect. Very relaxing. We love the little mountain town. We are getting older and did not go up the steep stairs and shared the down stairs bed. Loved the bear rug. We had to giggle over the 8-track tape player. We knew what it was!!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Warm Horse Cabin

  • 4 of 5

White Horse Cabin was perfect for a couple (and a dog) who want a relaxing, private weekend. The wrap around deck was perfect for coffee in the morning, and star gazing at night.

We loved the fireplace, the open plan of the cabin, and the large yard far off the street.

Love to come back in the snow, and when the creek has water again.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Idyllwild Arts Academy hosts numerous musical, theatrical, and art events throughout the entire year, most famous for annual Jazz Festival in the fall. Tons of art galleries and unique shops, plus great selection of restaurants in downtown Idyllwild. This beautiful and historic mountain town also has a movie theater and dog park.


Rates & Availability

Fern Valley Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
New Year's
Dec 27 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Cleaning fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please note that ALL RATES ARE DOUBLE OCCUPANCY (2 people). Additional people are charged @ $15/night each. Holiday rates are $185/night double occupancy (2 people); each extra person charged at $15/night. Minimum stays on holidays may be 3-4 nights. 10% hotel tax and cleaning fee of $60 will be charged.

PETS are charged $25 EACH. Maximum of 2 dogs allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties