Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning View ~Direct Oceanfront Condo ~Lrg Private Lanai ~A/C ~WiFi

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Direct Oceanfront, 1 Bedroom +2nd bdrm avail, 2 Baths, Full Kitchen, (Sleeps 4)

Kona Bali Kai direct Oceanfront condo Unit 308 on the Big Island of Hawaii only 30 feet from the water. Master bedroom has 8' floor to ceiling windows with ocean view. Fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, and when a big wave come in and you are sitting on the lanai, you can feel the ocean spray.

If I don't have your dates in this condo, check out my listing for unit 204. It is identical to this unit but on the 2nd floor with the same 180 degree view, large lanai etc.

A second bedroom with a queen bed is available in this unit for an additional charge. Ask for more details.

Kona Bali Kai Resort is on famous Alii Drive, just 2½ miles south of the quaint town of Kailua-Kona where you will find great restaurants and shopping. From the condo's private lanai you can watch local surfers, and may see see whales, dolphins and turtles..not to mention the breathtaking 180 degree view. Imagine yourself eating dinner on your own private lanai and watching the sunset over the Pacific Ocean.

Kitchen with full size appliances and washer and dryer in the unit. Cable TV, DVD player, free long distance to US, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, India, China, Norway and the European Union. There is wireless internet in the unit. Free covered well lit parking close to elevator and stairs.

Keywords: Kona Bali Kai Hawaiian Vacation Condominium Resort Rentals, Holiday Home Rental, Beachfront, Oceanfront, Castle Kona Bali Kai condo, oceanfront, Kailua Kona vacation rental, Hawaiian vacation, Hawaii retreat, Condominium complex, Vacation Resort, House Rentals, Holiday

More Details

Owner
Liane Christianson
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 14, 2018

About Liane Christianson

As owner since 2002. I enjoy coming to Kona 3-4 times a year to maintain my units. Always gives me an great 'excuse' to enjoy this incredibly beautiful island.

Liane Christianson purchased this condo in 2002

Why Liane Christianson chose Kailua-Kona

My first trip to The Big Island was when I was 21 years old and I fell in love. Never then did I think I would be fortunate to own oceanfront condos here.

What makes this condo unique

I go snorkeling with Sea Paradise EVERY time I come an sometimes two times. I love the early morning going over Saddle Road and the Botanical Gardens in Hilo are not to be missed. It is relaxing on the lanai watching the surfers. And I get all the books and magazine read that I don't have time for at home.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Cocktails on the lanai, while watching surfers, sea turtles, and beautiful sunsets. Ah............paradise!
May 2015
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Master Bath has safety bars on two sides of tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Guest bath
  • Two full bathrooms with bath and shower in each
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master has full ocean view with 8' floor to ceiling windows
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Available for additional charge when more than 2 guests.
  • King size bed (1) with 8 foot floor to ceiling windows and spectacular 180 degree view of the ocean from this master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Located in the 2nd bedroom (additional $10/night plus tax per person for use of 2nd bedroom), Baby Cribs May be rented.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 bedroom units rented as either 1 or 2 bedroom (additional $10/night per person for use of 2nd bedroom) Master Suite with Full Ocean View, Private Bath, King-size bed, Second Bedroom with Queen bed and bath available, Living Room with Sleeper Sofa (ask), Two full baths with Shower & Bathtub in each, Fully Equipped Kitchen, Oceanfront - 30 feet from the water, Large Lanai with Glass Table & Comfy Chairs, Cable TV & DVD player, Washer & Dryer in each unit, Ceiling Fans in both bedrooms, Dining room and lanai, DaPoke Shack deli (voted #1 by Yelp in US) in the complex, Rental store on site for quality Surf gear, snorkeling & Boogie Boards, etc, On-site, Elevator & Stairs, Close to Town for Restaurants, Beaches, Activities & Tours, Free Covered Parking, Concierge on site for planning activities

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
13% Complete
5% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning View ~Direct Oceanfront Condo ~Lrg Private Lanai ~A/C ~WiFi
average rating of 4.5135136 based on 44 reviews
5

It's all about the VIEW!!

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from our trip to the Big Island. We spent our last 4 nights here at this condo. The condo is truly oceanfront and offers a large, private lanai with an unobstructed view of the ocean. And what a VIEW it is!! Everyday we saw surfers (the BEST surfing area on the island is right here!); green sea turtles; yellow tang reef fish; parasailers; paddle boarders; many passing boats; even a brightly lit cruise ship! We loved spending a lot of our time out here on the lanai!

The main bedroom has A/C. The king size bed is very comfy and you have that awesome VIEW as soon as you open your eyes! This condo is quite comfortable and well supplied. There are even beach chairs, a cooler, pool floats and beach umbrellas provided!

The covered parking on the ground floor of the complex is large and secure. The newly renovated pool and spa in the central courtyard is beautiful, clean and well maintained.

Liane was very prompt in replying to all inquiries and was extremely accommodating. We absolutely loved our stay here, especially that VIEW! We sincerely thank Liane for sharing her "home away from home" with us!

The Rapiejkos Durango, CO

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathy and John, It was a delight having you as guests. I am so happy you enjoyed my home away from home as much as I do when I am there. You are welcome back any time and would love to have you. Liane Christianson Owner/Manager Since 2002 Sunny Kona Condos LLC
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB Canada
2

Great Views, BUT.. needs a lot of maintenance and updating

  • 2 of 5

The Good stuff:

o 5 stars for location and views, right on the ocean. Nonstop entertainment with surfers, turtles, longboats, parasailers, kayaks. BBQs on the narrow grassy strip between condo and ocean. 3 miles south of Kona town, 2 miles north of Kona CC golf and shopping. Owner Liane accommodated our late departure, was responsive to emails. Loved the Big Island and Kona in general. Da Poke Shack for fresh Poke right in the building on main floor, a huge asset!

Bad Stuff (loses at least 3 stars for this lot):

o The complex is run by Castle Resorts (nothing to do with this units owner): The pool and hot tub were a no-go zone (not clean). There's no swimming beach, but that was ok for us.

o The Condo: This particular unit needs both maintenance and updating.

Bathrooms disgusting - dirty tile, tubs stained and rusted. Closets so full of beach toys, coolers, chairs, etc, that no room for belongings, and only 12 hangars so we had to buy. Boogie boards under beds, so no storage space there either. Not suitable for 4 adults, as no storage at all. No air conditioning (an old one that was too loud to use, so had to use floor fan). Kitchen poorly outfitted - one saucepan, frypan, cutting board, etc. No BBQ Tools!!??Toaster didn't work, had to replace that too. Kitchen cabinets old, drawer falls out. I'd be embarrassed to own and rent out this unit in this condition. Many others have been renovated in this complex that rent for similar rates, so it suffers in comparison. Enjoyed the Island, the location, but will rent elsewhere next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I have guests returning year after year because of all the good stuff you mentioned. And thank you too for writing the items you noticed needed attention on the maintenance clipboard I provide inside the kitchen cupboard. My maintenance crew, as arranged, had already notified me about those items. I am a bit surprised to hear you had issues with the pool and hot tub area because it was closed for a number of months last year for a complete remodel. Everything was replaced including the decking. I will be sure to take a closer look at that area to make sure it is getting well maintained. The condo is mostly rented to persons like yourself with only 2 guests, so yes, there are items stored in the second bedroom which is seldom occupied. Guests do buy toys they don’t take home that end up there: beach umbrellas, beach chairs, beach mats, boogies boards, pool noodles etc. and a cooler I provide for guest use. Many guests are happy to have these items to use while there. I do put boogie boards under the beds, as it’s very narrow storage for guests. Twice a year I clean out extra items and donate them to a local non-profit that cares for the feral cats by feeding and neutering them. I advertise my unit as a 1 bedroom and book mostly for 2 guests like you did. I tell guests booking for more than 2 guests that the 2nd bedroom has less storage, is on the street side not the water side, and can sometimes be noisy. I only charge $10/night for each guest over 2 which are very often children. I don’t lock off the 2nd bedroom so that it can be used to store guests items like suitcases, OR if 2 friends are traveling together they can also use the guest bed. This complex is an older building and units were not built with central air. I do have a window unit in the master bedroom which because of 3 large sliding doors that open connecting all the rooms, (except the 2nd bedroom) the window A/C does an adequate job when needed. The window A/C does make some noise but my experience is that the noise is drowned out by the surf being so close and so LOUD. Thank you for your input AND for writing the items you noticed needed attention on the maintenance clipboard I provide. It was much appreciated. Mahalo! ~Liane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Selah, WA. USA
5

Beautiful Condo right on the water!

  • 5 of 5

Right on the water, right on the price. This all you'll need for a fantastic Kona getaway. The condo is complete with stunning views of the water below and incredible sunsets. Turtles play in the water and even sit on the rocks just a few steps from the building. Amazing! You have a full kitchen, BBQs by the water, Air Conditioner and a fully appointed room to make you feel right at home. Nice pool, hot tub and even Da Poke Shack! This will be your favorite Hawaiian destination just like it is for us.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Kona Bali Kai 308 is heaven on earth. The amenities inside match the beauty and serenity outside. Inside you have everything you have at home; well stocked kitchen with all necessary appliances and basic condiments: salt, pepper, sugar, seasoning salt, things you need to immediately cook dinner if you so wish. There is also the washer/dryer so you don't have to go home with a suitcase full of dirty laundry. Inside you have the luxury of staying on the lanai and taking in a breathtaking view of the water, sun, and sky. Each morning we got to observe green sea turtles in the water and on the shore. The graceful palms were filled with chattering birds. I learned all about them from the extensive library of books about the island that are available on the coffee table inside. I so enjoyed reading about the history of old Kona. One of the best services right outside your door is the Kona Trolley. We didn't rent a car as we had toured on previous visits. The trolley provided cheap easy transportation from one end of Kona to the other. I can't say enough about the good time we had on this vacation spent in #308, Kona Bali Kai!

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Trisha It was great having you and loved hearing you had a great time in my home away from home. I never get bored with it myself and I get to go lots. Would love to have you back again anytime. Liane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We would definitely come back

  • 4 of 5

Well appointed, terrific private lanai, host very responsive. Mattress is a bit firm - good for my partner, not so much for me. The air conditioner is very loud and is set on a timer so we woke up every couple hours to turn it back on. Neither of these would keep us from staying here again. We felt very much at home.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bend Oregon
3

Loved the view from lanai, partial updates, nice linens, but a bit tired.

  • 3 of 5

The view from the lanai was fantastic! We spent all of our time, while at the condo, on the lanai. Surfers, birds, fish, turtles, beautiful palm trees, and sunsets all from our loungers. Because you are on the 3rd floor, you on't see anything or anybody in front of your view. All linens appear to be new. Furniture in living area is nice. The master bath sink is updated. But the tubs, guest bath, and kitchen counters need work. Having the icemaker was great. We didn't use the A/C as the breeze was adequate, and the A/C was quite loud. The covered parking was appreciated for shade.

All in all, we would return for the value and the view!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Huggo's On The Rocks - Oceanfront Dining/Bar
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Kona Country Club Oceanfront - Senior Discount
Nearest Motorway
Alii Drive
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Condo beach or for swimming Kahalu'u Beach Park
Car: recommended

My Hawaii Vacation Rental is at the Kona Bali Kai Condo complex, 2 1/2 miles south of the quaint town of Kailua-Kona which has numerous shops and restaurants that line the beach. This is unit 308 but I also have an identical oceanfront unit which is VRBO listing #392388 in the same complex. Check that listing number to see if your dates are available, if this unit is booked.

Within walking distance only 1/2 mile north of the condo is Alii Gardens Outdoor Marketplace where you will find local arts and crafts and local farmers produce. Great place for shaved ice!

Right next door to the condo is a well known Banyans surfing beach where local surf, boogie board, long board surf and even do kayak surfing. From sun up to sun down it is fun to watch the surfers from the condo lanai. Two miles south of the condo is Kahaluu Beach Park which is one of the best snorkeling spots on the Big Island. Fed by a fresh water spring, up to 10 million gallons per day. These shallow waters are almost always calm, with colorful corals, rock formations, and 100+ species of fish. Swim with schools of colorful fish & green sea turtles in protected waters; don't forget your underwater camera.

Other Activities: Boogie Boarding, surfing, body surfing, ocean swimming, kayaking or kayak surfing, long board surfing, lava tube exploring, hiking to lava and volcano, helicopter rides over flowing lava, horseback riding, luau with local food and dancers, golfing, sunset sailing or dinner cruises, submarine adventure, deep sea fishing, ocean rafting, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving or snorkeling with manta rays...just to name a few.

Golf: Kona Country Club provides the perfect environment for golf. Situated in scenic Keauhou just 4 miles away from Kona Bali Kai my condo location in Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Kona Country Club features spectacular ocean and mountain views, excellent facilities and friendly service. Beautiful Hualalai Mountain protects us from the strong winds. One can always expect pleasant sunny skies and gentle ocean breezes. We are open to the public and have senior discounts.

Kona Country Club is conveniently located near hotels and condos. We feature a fully stocked pro shop, driving range, locker rooms, putting and chipping greens. Experience dazzling sunsets while dining at the Vista Restaurant serving Hawaiian and American cuisine for breakfast and lunch. The Vista Restaurant is also available for banquets.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee $175
Tax Rate 13.25%

Lounge chairs provided for your use on the beach
No smoking in unit or on lanai by state law
Daily Maid service can be arranged for additional fee
No Pets allowed
You won't want to miss this view and it is spectacular!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties