Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning View ~Direct Oceanfront Condo ~Lrg Private Lanai ~A/C ~WiFi

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 900 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Direct Oceanfront, 1 Bedroom +2nd bdrm avail, 2 Baths, Full Kitchen, (Sleeps 4)

Kona Bali Kai direct Oceanfront condo Unit 308 on the Big Island of Hawaii only 30 feet from the water. Master bedroom has 8' floor to ceiling windows with ocean view. Fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, and when a big wave come in and you are sitting on the lanai, you can feel the ocean spray.

If I don't have your dates in this condo, check out my listing for unit 204. It is identical to this unit but on the 2nd floor with the same 180 degree view, large lanai etc.

A second bedroom with a queen bed is available in this unit for an additional charge. Ask for more details.

Kona Bali Kai Resort is on famous Alii Drive, just 2½ miles south of the quaint town of Kailua-Kona where you will find great restaurants and shopping. From the condo's private lanai you can watch local surfers, and may see see whales, dolphins and turtles..not to mention the breathtaking 180 degree view. Imagine yourself eating dinner on your own private lanai and watching the sunset over the Pacific Ocean.

Kitchen with full size appliances and washer and dryer in the unit. Cable TV, DVD player, free long distance to US, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, India, China, Norway and the European Union. There is wireless internet in the unit. Free covered well lit parking close to elevator and stairs.

Keywords: Kona Bali Kai Hawaiian Vacation Condominium Resort Rentals, Holiday Home Rental, Beachfront, Oceanfront, Castle Kona Bali Kai condo, oceanfront, Kailua Kona vacation rental, Hawaiian vacation, Hawaii retreat, Condominium complex, Vacation Resort, House Rentals, Holiday

More Details

Owner
Liane Christianson
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 9, 2018

About Liane Christianson

As owner since 2002. I enjoy coming to Kona 3-4 times a year to maintain my units. Always gives me an great 'excuse' to enjoy this incredibly beautiful island.

Liane Christianson purchased this condo in 2002

Why Liane Christianson chose Kailua-Kona

My first trip to The Big Island was when I was 21 years old and I fell in love. Never then did I think I would be fortunate to own oceanfront condos here.

What makes this condo unique

I go snorkeling with Sea Paradise EVERY time I come an sometimes two times. I love the early morning going over Saddle Road and the Botanical Gardens in Hilo are not to be missed. It is relaxing on the lanai watching the surfers. And I get all the books and magazine read that I don't have time for at home.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Cocktails on the lanai, while watching surfers, sea turtles, and beautiful sunsets. Ah............paradise!
May 2015
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Master Bath has safety bars on two sides of tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Guest bath
  • Two full bathrooms with bath and shower in each
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master has full ocean view with 8' floor to ceiling windows
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Available for additional charge when more than 2 guests.
  • King size bed (1) with 8 foot floor to ceiling windows and spectacular 180 degree view of the ocean from this master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Located in the 2nd bedroom (additional $10/night plus tax per person for use of 2nd bedroom), Baby Cribs May be rented.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 bedroom units rented as either 1 or 2 bedroom (additional $10/night per person for use of 2nd bedroom) Master Suite with Full Ocean View, Private Bath, King-size bed, Second Bedroom with Queen bed and bath available, Living Room with Sleeper Sofa (ask), Two full baths with Shower & Bathtub in each, Fully Equipped Kitchen, Oceanfront - 30 feet from the water, Large Lanai with Glass Table & Comfy Chairs, Cable TV & DVD player, Washer & Dryer in each unit, Ceiling Fans in both bedrooms, Dining room and lanai, DaPoke Shack deli (voted #1 by Yelp in US) in the complex, Rental store on site for quality Surf gear, snorkeling & Boogie Boards, etc, On-site, Elevator & Stairs, Close to Town for Restaurants, Beaches, Activities & Tours, Free Covered Parking, Concierge on site for planning activities

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning View ~Direct Oceanfront Condo ~Lrg Private Lanai ~A/C ~WiFi
average rating of 4.5609756 based on 48 reviews
Seattle
5

Gorgeous View & Big Island Paradise Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this comfy condo for a relaxed vacation for ourselves! We are a married couple who love to snorkel, walk, hike, enjoy good local foods out and also cook for ourselves, so a condo that has what we need is what we prefer. The view from this lanai is really lovely, and hard to leave! But fun adventures are also nearby, and the Big Island has lots to do, so this condo is a great home base. We like that it's well-stocked, homey and very well-located, with all you need but without being too fancy or overpriced. We felt very much at home here! The host/owner was also very friendly, and easy to make arrangements with. We will come here again when we return to the Big Island.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I loved having you as guests and very much appreciate your review. When I visit my home away from home I always say to myself "It just does not get better than this". Thanks for booking with me and I look forward to your coming back again. Liane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
5

My stay as lovely this time as in previous visits!

  • 5 of 5

This is my sanctuary where I revitalize -- experiencing the ocean 24/7, sitting on the lanai watching surfers and birds, eating good food cooked in the fully stocked kitchen. The property is cozy with everything I need - it's clean, has a television, dvd music players, ice chest and beach toys, etc. To find an affordable waterfront condo is just amazing. The next few days will be amazing.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Front Row View of Ocean Life

  • 5 of 5

This condo is in a beautiful setting just yards from the sea. There are numerous tide pools to explore which are teeming with life including many sea turtles. The complex is well maintained and we especially appreciated the high quality BBQ grills which the staff cleans thoroughly each morning. The attached restaurant named Da Poke Shack serves the most amazing, ultra-fresh poke we have ever had. I didn't think that I cared for poke until we went to this place. It's ambrosia, not to be missed. The condo itself is spacious and well equipped. The lanai is large and up high enough in the building that it's private. We cooked almost all of our dinners and the kitchen was stocked with all of the pots and pans we needed. Our first night there, we discovered an issue with the electrical outlet the WiFi router was plugged into and the owner, Liane, had an electrician out to fix it the following morning. It was very much appreciated to have the WiFi back up and running right away. This was our second time staying here and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I loved having you back and hope you will come again for a third time! I appreciate your patience with the internet issue and I do respond quickly because it is my job to make sure all is right when you arrive and while you are there. Being so close to the ocean the awesome ocean salty air is often the culprit when there is an electrical issue. I love the ocean but it can be destructive to metal and why I am often replacing items. I have owned this condo for over 15 years and it is my home away from home which I enjoy many times a year. I acutually leave today for the condo so I can make sure all is well. I go quite often so I can check maintenance and resupply, laundry detergent, trash bags, dishwasher detergent and much more I provide guests. Thanks again and will look forward to hearing from you again. Liane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location, Location, Location!

  • 5 of 5

I have made 47 trips to Kona since 1972 and stayed in many different places. This was the best location I have ever had. The fact that it is right in front of the famous "Banyan's" surf spot, you can watch the surfers close up as well the many turtles feeding close to shore. Condo is as advertised and I highly recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a delight to have you as guests. Thanks for letting me know how much you enjoyed my home away from home. I know you said you want to come back, and as I said, I'd love to have you and your family back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB Canada
2

Great Views, BUT.. needs a lot of maintenance and updating

  • 2 of 5

The Good stuff:

o 5 stars for location and views, right on the ocean. Nonstop entertainment with surfers, turtles, longboats, parasailers, kayaks. BBQs on the narrow grassy strip between condo and ocean. 3 miles south of Kona town, 2 miles north of Kona CC golf and shopping. Owner Liane accommodated our late departure, was responsive to emails. Loved the Big Island and Kona in general. Da Poke Shack for fresh Poke right in the building on main floor, a huge asset!

Bad Stuff (loses at least 3 stars for this lot):

o The complex is run by Castle Resorts (nothing to do with this units owner): The pool and hot tub were a no-go zone (not clean). There's no swimming beach, but that was ok for us.

o The Condo: This particular unit needs both maintenance and updating.

Bathrooms disgusting - dirty tile, tubs stained and rusted. Closets so full of beach toys, coolers, chairs, etc, that no room for belongings, and only 12 hangars so we had to buy. Boogie boards under beds, so no storage space there either. Not suitable for 4 adults, as no storage at all. No air conditioning (an old one that was too loud to use, so had to use floor fan). Kitchen poorly outfitted - one saucepan, frypan, cutting board, etc. No BBQ Tools!!??Toaster didn't work, had to replace that too. Kitchen cabinets old, drawer falls out. I'd be embarrassed to own and rent out this unit in this condition. Many others have been renovated in this complex that rent for similar rates, so it suffers in comparison. Enjoyed the Island, the location, but will rent elsewhere next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I have guests returning year after year because of all the good stuff you mentioned. And thank you too for writing the items you noticed needed attention on the maintenance clipboard I provide inside the kitchen cupboard. My maintenance crew, as arranged, had already notified me about those items. I am a bit surprised to hear you had issues with the pool and hot tub area because it was closed for a number of months last year for a complete remodel. Everything was replaced including the decking. I will be sure to take a closer look at that area to make sure it is getting well maintained. The condo is mostly rented to persons like yourself with only 2 guests, so yes, there are items stored in the second bedroom which is seldom occupied. Guests do buy toys they don’t take home that end up there: beach umbrellas, beach chairs, beach mats, boogies boards, pool noodles etc. and a cooler I provide for guest use. Many guests are happy to have these items to use while there. I do put boogie boards under the beds, as it’s very narrow storage for guests. Twice a year I clean out extra items and donate them to a local non-profit that cares for the feral cats by feeding and neutering them. I advertise my unit as a 1 bedroom and book mostly for 2 guests like you did. I tell guests booking for more than 2 guests that the 2nd bedroom has less storage, is on the street side not the water side, and can sometimes be noisy. I only charge $10/night for each guest over 2 which are very often children. I don’t lock off the 2nd bedroom so that it can be used to store guests items like suitcases, OR if 2 friends are traveling together they can also use the guest bed. This complex is an older building and units were not built with central air. I do have a window unit in the master bedroom which because of 3 large sliding doors that open connecting all the rooms, (except the 2nd bedroom) the window A/C does an adequate job when needed. The window A/C does make some noise but my experience is that the noise is drowned out by the surf being so close and so LOUD. Thank you for your input AND for writing the items you noticed needed attention on the maintenance clipboard I provide. It was much appreciated. Mahalo! ~Liane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Selah, WA. USA
5

Beautiful Condo right on the water!

  • 5 of 5

Right on the water, right on the price. This all you'll need for a fantastic Kona getaway. The condo is complete with stunning views of the water below and incredible sunsets. Turtles play in the water and even sit on the rocks just a few steps from the building. Amazing! You have a full kitchen, BBQs by the water, Air Conditioner and a fully appointed room to make you feel right at home. Nice pool, hot tub and even Da Poke Shack! This will be your favorite Hawaiian destination just like it is for us.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Huggo's On The Rocks - Oceanfront Dining/Bar
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Kona Country Club Oceanfront - Senior Discount
Nearest Motorway
Alii Drive
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Condo beach or for swimming Kahalu'u Beach Park
Car: recommended

My Hawaii Vacation Rental is at the Kona Bali Kai Condo complex, 2 1/2 miles south of the quaint town of Kailua-Kona which has numerous shops and restaurants that line the beach. This is unit 308 but I also have an identical oceanfront unit which is VRBO listing #392388 in the same complex. Check that listing number to see if your dates are available, if this unit is booked.

Within walking distance only 1/2 mile north of the condo is Alii Gardens Outdoor Marketplace where you will find local arts and crafts and local farmers produce. Great place for shaved ice!

Right next door to the condo is a well known Banyans surfing beach where local surf, boogie board, long board surf and even do kayak surfing. From sun up to sun down it is fun to watch the surfers from the condo lanai. Two miles south of the condo is Kahaluu Beach Park which is one of the best snorkeling spots on the Big Island. Fed by a fresh water spring, up to 10 million gallons per day. These shallow waters are almost always calm, with colorful corals, rock formations, and 100+ species of fish. Swim with schools of colorful fish & green sea turtles in protected waters; don't forget your underwater camera.

Other Activities: Boogie Boarding, surfing, body surfing, ocean swimming, kayaking or kayak surfing, long board surfing, lava tube exploring, hiking to lava and volcano, helicopter rides over flowing lava, horseback riding, luau with local food and dancers, golfing, sunset sailing or dinner cruises, submarine adventure, deep sea fishing, ocean rafting, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving or snorkeling with manta rays...just to name a few.

Golf: Kona Country Club provides the perfect environment for golf. Situated in scenic Keauhou just 4 miles away from Kona Bali Kai my condo location in Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Kona Country Club features spectacular ocean and mountain views, excellent facilities and friendly service. Beautiful Hualalai Mountain protects us from the strong winds. One can always expect pleasant sunny skies and gentle ocean breezes. We are open to the public and have senior discounts.

Kona Country Club is conveniently located near hotels and condos. We feature a fully stocked pro shop, driving range, locker rooms, putting and chipping greens. Experience dazzling sunsets while dining at the Vista Restaurant serving Hawaiian and American cuisine for breakfast and lunch. The Vista Restaurant is also available for banquets.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee $175
Tax Rate 13.25%

Lounge chairs provided for your use on the beach
No smoking in unit or on lanai by state law
Daily Maid service can be arranged for additional fee
No Pets allowed
You won't want to miss this view and it is spectacular!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties