check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Listen to crashing waves in oceanfront property

14 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Marine Terrace House Rental Photos and Description

House - 3 Bedrooms - 2.5 Baths - (Sleeps 6)

Breath-taking ocean views from all windows! The ocean is your backyard!

Open floor plan with the living and dining areas, fully-equipped Kitchen and half-bathroom on the ground level .

Upstairs has a large, king-bedded, master suite with 2 walk-in closets, a jacuzzi-tub and separate shower, Also upstairs is 2nd and 3rd bedrooms with queen-beds, another full bathroom, and alcove with a washer and dryer.

Hear the crash of the waves, feel the ocean spray, and smell the salty sea.

At sunset watch the sun sink into the sea. Share wine from local the winery, barbecue dinner and eat ocean side at the patio table.

Make your own awesome memories here at Water's Edge!


$350 a night for up to 2 guests


$50 per extra guest per night



For stays January 8 through March 19:

$235 a night for up to 2 guests

$35 per extra guest per night

Activities: Just a Few Steps to Beach Access with Tidepools, Swimming, Surfing, Windsurfing, Diving, Boating, Shelling, Kayaking, Hiking, Fishing, Variety of Birds and Wildlife, Just a Few blocks to Fascolini Ranch with a boardwalk trail for walking, jogging or biking on the bluff above the ocean with magnificent views of the coastline, Cambria is a Unique Coastal Town home to Artists and Craftspeople with Art Galleries, Quaint Shops and Boutiques with unusual and artistic Souvenirs, and Excellent Gourmet and Ethnic Restaurants, Few miles North to Hearst Castle, Zebras on Hearst Ranch, Piedras Blancas Seal Sanctuary with a large population of Elephant Seals, and the Piedras Blancas Lighthouse, Easy driving distance East to a variety of Central Coast Wineries in Paso Robles or South to Cayucos, Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo.

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Manager

About The Owner

Sheila and David both grew up outside Washington, DC and went to schools in the east coast. In 1974, we moved to Southern California and have lived there ever since.

Why?...the weather!!!

'Water's Edge', our house in Cambria, is a wonderful place to escape to for R&R!

The Owner purchased this house in 1993

Why The Owner chose Cambria

At the time we purchased the land and built our house in Cambria, it was one of the few affordable oceanfront properties in California. It was an investment for our future.


based on 14 traveler reviews

Listen to crashing waves in oceanfront property
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews

Stunning views

  • 3 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful house, stunning views and sunsets. Our manager Diane was very helpful. My only criticism is that I am having trouble getting my refundable deposit returned to me. No response to my inquiries.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Yes, the views are stunning. We are bit stumped on the comment about the deposit refund: You may have missed the email sent on July 11 by the site's payment processor, notifying you that the refund transaction had been submitted. And you did later confirm with us that it was properly posted. Your one inquiry on July 19 (written after the review)was responded to within 5 minutes. We received no other prior communication from you, so we don't understand the reference of unresponsiveness. Security deposits are held by the payment processor, not the owners, and we have it set to automatically refund within 7 days of departure (as yours did). Possibly, any unanswered inquiries went to them, not to us. We take all comments very seriously, and we know the value of a good review (and bad). This hopefully does not reflect poorly on us, as we pride ourselves on all aspects of our guests' experience. The comments just don't represent the actual facts, and should not represent how we truly deliver.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Laguna Niguel

What more could you ask for!

  • 5 of 5

The entire experience was amazing. Hearing the waves at night crashing out side of our window, seeing the Pelicans glide over the waves, enjoying an amazing view of the ocean and so much more with friends. It was the best!!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Views - Warm House - Quiet Location - Great Hiking!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I had such a great visit at this property that we will be returning soon! The house was BEAUTIFUL, clean and quiet. It's right on the water with whole back of the house in windows. So, you have amazing views and ocean wave sounds 24/7. So relaxing! And the house is a 3 minute walk to a nature preserve/ranch with great hiking trails and ocean views. Loved it!

Sincerely, Debbie

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Spent a few days here to celebrate our 49th anniversary. Ideal location, beautifully maintained, and the view is beyond anything expected. We come to Cambria a couple of times a year, but this is the first time we have stayed here. Sitting outside, relaxing to the sights and sounds of the surf in such close proximity was really centering.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing get-away in Cambria

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a marvelous 4 days in this wonderful seaside home. El Nino gave us a storm with lightning and thunder, and kept us indoors to witness nature's power on the ocean - a "show" we couldn't keep our eyes off of! Our hostess who lives just a few doors away was MOST attentive, and gave us suggestions of where to eat, and find trails to explore when the sun came out. She also brought us extra flashlights in case the power went out - but it never did!

We always spend the first week in January together at some coastal spot, to celebrate my son's birthday as well as the holidays, and everyone said this was the best one YET!

Everything was beautiful, clean, and just as described. We all hope this home will still be available for our next-year's January vacation. We will be back!!

Thanks to the owner, and her local hostess for a fabulous vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Cindy! Your entire family was such a joy! I'm so glad your son had a great birthday too. We look forward to next time! Sheila and Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

More beautiful than expected

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful place. The location is outstanding; the home is clean, bright, and well maintained. The colors are bright and the the back of the house is a wall of windows on both stories. The entire back of the house is unobstructed "ocean view". There is no peaking over rooftops, beyond telephone lines, or through moving traffic to see a speck of water. We grilled dinner at night while seals entertained us in the surf. We saw a few boats and there were some folks walking their dogs along the beach. It was just so private. The house is in a quiet residential area that has irs own herd of deer.

With these vacation rentals, you never exactly know the condition of the house until you step inside. Beach homes are a challenge because of the sun and salt water. This house was extremely well maintained. There was fresh paint; no sticky window; no warped boards.

We enjoyed a couple trips to the Passo Robles wine area. We drove up to Big Sur and took so many pictures along the way. We drove down to Morro Bay and had lunch by the ocean. The best thing about each day of our vacation was was beginning and ending it at Waters Edge. As I begin the last day of my vacation, I sit at the kitchen table watching the tide roll out, and write this review. It will be so hard to leave tomorrow. I would love to come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience at Waters Edge! We make every effort to maintain the house at our high standards. We are able to accomplish that through our excellent management team and the professionals we hire. We hope you are able to return to the house soon for another pleasurable stay. Thank you for sharing your positive review!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Car: recommended

gorgeous bluff walk just a few minutes from the house


Rates & Availability

Marine Terrace House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $155 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

* MasterCard or Visa, Cashiers Check are accepted.

* Deposit due at time of booking

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Marine Terrace House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2050 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Large Master Bath with Double Vanity and Both Shower Stall and Jetted Tub, Second Full Bathroom Between Guest Bedrooms, Half Bathroom on Living Level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • King-Sized Bed in Very Large Master Bedroom with Sitting Area and 2 Walk-in Closets, ,2 Guest Bedrooms Each with Queen Bed
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Overstuffed Couches and Chairs with Very Large Cushions, Two Cable TVs with Expanded Service, Wireless High-Speed Internet, DVD, VCR, Fireplace with Gas Log, Stereo, CD Player, Phones, Dining for Six, Full Kitchen with Microwave, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Ice Maker, Cold Water Dispenser, Garbage Disposal, Cooking Utensils, Dishes, Glassware, Coffee Maker, Blender, Toaster, Mixer, Pots/Pans, Linens, Towels, Soap, Toilet Paper and Paper Towels Provided, Hairdryer, Alarm Clock, Washer, Dryer, Garage, Covered Carport, Charcoal BBQ, Outside Light on Timer to Shine on Ocean, No Smoking, No Pets. Due to oceanfront cliff, Please ask us for advice regarding children.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties