Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

American Dream ~ Stunning Mountain Home, 4 acres of privacy, Big Views

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 full baths, Sleeps 10 -12

American Dream is nestled on 4 private wooded acres in a residential subdivision with gorgeous views of Snowshoe Resort and the 'Western Territory'. Comfortably elegant decor with distinctive decorator furnishings. Relax by the gas log fireplace in the Living Room and watch your favorite DVD movies on the Plasma TV with satellite reception and Wireless Internet. Beautiful inside and out ~ An outdoor lover's paradise with massive decks, large gourmet grill and a soothing hot tub to unwind and admire the view or to warm up for a romantic evening. The covered porch with Amish gliders is perfect for snuggling or sipping your favorite beverage. Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, pamper yourself and have it all ~ Privacy, mountain views and abundant wildlife. Gather your family together and live the 'American Dream'.

For rates, see 'detail' section of rental rates.

More Details

Frank and Kathy
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Frank and Kathy

We built our lovely home in Snowshoe in 2007. It is a perfect "get away from it all" location. We wanted our mountain retreat to feel like home for our guests and friends.

Frank and Kathy purchased this house in 2007

Why Frank and Kathy chose Slatyfork Farm

We live most of the time in a big city ~ needed to be able to reconnect and de-stress.

What makes this house unique

Very private, yet close to the resort for activities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lots of privacy ~ just what we needed to get away! Enjoyed the slopes and some of the night life of the mountain, but it was nice to get back "home" to peace and quiet. Sitting in the hot tub with snow coming down through the trees was fantastic. The home is beautifully decorated and had everything we would want. You do need 4WD
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2


Slatyfork Farm House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Flows (no pun intended), with the rest of the home ~ beautiful and functional.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , TV w/ DVD
  • All bedrooms are beautifully appointed. Master and Bedroom 2 (2 twin beds w/ a sleeper sofa chair) are on the top floor. The Master has an elegant King Size Panel Bed. Both rooms upstairs have satellite TVs. The 'Americana' room is bedroom 3. It is located on the main floor near the kitchen & living room. It has a lovely Queen Poster Bed. Bedroom 4 is located on the lower floor near the hot tub and den~ It has a Queen size bed. We call it the 'Wild Life' room. The 5th bedroom is set up as a den 'Frosty's Fort' ~ cozy & fun, decorated in a Snowman motif. This room has a full size sleeper sofa and a twin sleeper sofa/chair. The den also has a satellite TV with a DVD player ~ Perfect for the kids or the young at heart. Exit the french door of the den to the relaxing Hot Tub and deck. Both of these rooms have nice views too!
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Pour your favorite beverage and let the romance and snuggling begin!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
American Dream ~ Stunning Mountain Home, 4 acres of privacy, Big Views
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 11 reviews

Lots of space , well stocked , close to mountain ,

  • 4 of 5

Overall a great stay for a large group . Great hot tub , decently stocked kitchen , lots of blankets and pillows. Driveway is tricky with any weather at all .

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house for a group ski weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 12 had a wonderful time at the American Dream. The hot tub and large dining room table for all to sit around was perfect. Definitely need four wheel drive cars to get up to the house as its on windy unpaved roads in the development.

The only slight issue were the lady bugs. It was a true infestation in the upstairs bathroom.

Otherwise it was a great time and perfect place for our group weekend!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time and found our home to be perfect for your group! Lady bugs are an issue for all of the Snowshoe area. I will call our pest control company to see if there is anything additional they can do to help with them entering the upstairs bathroom. Thank you for staying in our home! Frank and Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Finding the right house was a challenge with no good address or sign but the place is very nice.

  • 4 of 5

The lower level beds could stand some improvement. Overall was good

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Due to a bad storm and a fallen tree, our home sign was knocked down and damaged. A new sign is currently being made. We are assuming you are referring to the sleeper sofa (1 Full Size; 1 Twin Size) in the Snowman Den on the lower level. We will definitely check them out! Compared to traditional beds, sofa beds are not as comfortable. We wanted to have a Den that could offer additional living space (especially for children) and also serve as a sleeping area if needed. Thank you for staying with us...I am happy that you found our place to be very nice! We strive for excellence. Frank and Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, Comfortable, Spacious, An excellent getaway!

  • 5 of 5

As a whole, my group of 11 had a great time at the American Dream residence. Perfect bed configuration, huge luxurious hot tub, and plenty of space for all to lounge around the TV and gas fireplace after a long day on the slopes.

The house is beautifully furnished, with american accents throughout the home, great theme!

I will stress this, if you don't have 4WD (we all did, but those with all-season tires still got stuck), please do not risk the final 1 mile drive up to the cabin.

No service was a blessing and a curse as we soon found out that contacting each other was nearly impossible if we got separated. Wifi was not blazing fast, but it got the job done.

We had a complication with the refrigerator but Kathy was quick to remedy the situation and make everything right again!

Thank you, we hope to stay again soon!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a great time! Thank you for being so patient with the refrigerator - all is well now with a brand new French Door refrigerator! We love our returning guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Just as Described!

  • 5 of 5

Everything described about the property was spot-on! The mountain house was tucked away in a beautiful neighborhood about 15 minutes from Snowshoe Resort. Although we spent most of our time on the slopes we wanted a place that was a little more secluded with some privacy and the American Dream didn't disappoint. All the amenities were in great shape and worked well. We only had a party of eight but this property could comfortably accommodate up to 12. We would recommend this place for anytime of year!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you were happy with our home! We hope that you will return again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent home for winter vacations

  • 5 of 5

We plan an annual trip with a group of close friends to Snowshoe every year. This year was our best experience because the home and location were excellent. The homeowners were very friendly, helpful, and flexible. Definitely need 4WD to get to the house if it snows. Looking forward for next year's trip!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a great time ~ we love our return guests and look forward to you coming back to visit! Thank you ~ Frank and Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Snowshoe is a fabulous Four Season Resort with special activities planned year round. The area highlights golf, mountain biking, hiking, fly fishing , beautiful scenic views and of course the best snow skiing in the Southeast! With an average of 180 inches of natural snow a year, Snowshoe's 57 slopes and trails blow away the competition. You will find quaint shops and several unique restaurants on the mountain and in town. For the train buff's, Cass Railroad is only a few miles away.

American Dream is in an established neighborhood 'Slatyfork Farms', 2 miles from the entrance to the resort. 4-Wheel drive needed in Ski Season.

Ski: Best Skiing in the Southeast!!! 1,500 foot vertical drop and an annual snow fall of 180 inches! Over 57 slopes and trails ~ and West Virginia hospitality!!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

4 WD needed in winter months. Our home is in a private residential subdivision ~ you must be 25 or older to rent our home. Key pick-up and necessary information are provided in the contract at booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties