check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful big house steps to Beach. Private Heated Pool. Super kid friendly!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Holmes Beach House Rental Photos and Description

4+ Bedrooms, ground level, owner managed, all beach gear and towels provided

This isn't a typical cookie cutter rental, but the actual second home of a best-selling author and chef and her architectural designer husband. "It's like staying at a good friend's beach house," is the phrase we hear again and again.

Our large yet comfy single-level home is situated ideally close to the beach in a quiet neighborhood in Holmes Beach. Four bedrooms with optional fifth offers plenty of space for extended families, two families sharing or friends retreat. We're set up for infants & kids, well equipped kitchen, big deck with brand new gas BBQ, plus a gorgeous 12 feet x 24 feet heated pool with a real rock grotto waterfall surrounded by lush palms and exotic flowers. The house has been tastefully decorated and carefully updated for a comfortable, yet casual beach feel. On beds, we've got two kings, a queen, a full and a daybed with pop-up trundle that can be two twins or a king plus a folding crib and toddler cot.

This is really our home, so you'll find spices and herbs in the cupboards, quality linens and lots of small personal touches.

Please note: Because this is our home and not just a rental, we're a bit particular who we rent to. As a result, we require a minimum age for rental (25) and the individual booking our home must be on site. No exceptions, sorry.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q. How close is the beach?

A. We are at 71st Street and Palm Drive, about a four-minute stroll to the beach. We have a beach buggy to roll stuff back and forth, plus umbrellas, beach chairs and loads o' beach toys.

Q. How many does it sleep? How many beds?

A. The house comfortably sleeps eight adults and older children. Children under age three are not counted in occupancy.

There are five beds: 2 kings, 1 queen, 1 double, plus a daybed twin with twin trundle which can be made into a king or used as two twins. The full/double is in the smallest room (Hemingway) and is best suited to a single adult/teen or two children. We also have a folding crib and a toddler's cot plus kids linens and We baby monitoring system.

Q. How big is the pool?

A. Our pool was installed in 2014 and it's included in the portfolio as a showcase pool by our designer. It is a custom 12x24 feet (4x6 meters) lagoon kidney shape with real rock coping and rock grotto waterfall. We keep it at 87 degrees or warmer year-round. We have it serviced twice a week for optimal cleanliness. We have seating for ten adults around the pool, plus a kids table with two chairs.

Q. Is it in a quiet neighborhood?

A. Yes! We are in a sought-after residential neighborhood just minutes directly between businesses of Holmes Beach and Anna Maria. There is only one rental home next to us. For this reason, we do ask that you sign a "Quiet Hours" agreement to observe quiet hours and be respectful to the neighbors. (We are not the right property for a group of college-age spring breakers. Sorry.)

Q. How do we get the keys?

A. No keys! to pick up or misplace! We use high-tech coded locks with a unique code for each guest. You will be sent a code for your week.

Q. Is it near the free trolley?

A. Yes, a Northbound stop is right at the corner of our street!

Q. Are linens included?

A. Yes, lots of beach towels, indoor towels and hotel-quality sheets. Each bed has an option of new summer-weight quilts or heavier down/down alternative duvets for each bed. All of our sheets are 400+ thread count. We replace our towels and sheets annually.

BEDROOM DETAILS

*The Captain's Quarters (King bed) is the largest bedroom

* Waterfall (California King) is located next to the waterfall grotto

* Starfish (Queen bed) is the quietest room

* Hemingway (Full bed) is located in its own corner of the house.

* Lido can be used as an optional fifth bedroom. It has doors that open directly onto the pool and a new set of custom set of sliding doors that convert it into a small bedroom for privacy. Located off the kitchen/living area, we use this as an additional hangout area if not needed for a bedroom at night. It features a carved palm wood daybed with pop-up trundle that converts into a king-sized bed or two twins at night.

It's a nice setup for two or three couples or two families sharing as you'll each have your own defined space as the rooms are quite separate from one another.

Q. What infant/kid gear do you have available?

A. We have a full-size high chair, two (2) deluxe Grayco folding cribs, a toddler cot, baby blankets, a toddler-sized pillow, a baby monitor system, a big stroller to take to the beach and a set of kids dining stuff (plates, bowls, cups and utensils). The doors in the Lido Room and the Waterfall bedroom have alarms that can be switched on to emit a piercing sound when opened.

Don't bother to bring toys or books -- we have plenty, including sandcastle gear, indoor toys and pool toys including an inflatable baby float and usually have "swimmies" armband inflatables for younger children. All bedrooms have a teddy bear.

**We Want You To Feel Like You've Got Friends with a Beach House**

The house is managed by our 'mom.' She lives just five blocks away. A second manager lives next door, and you call either if you need anything. A state-certified babysitter neighbor and teacher can watch your kids and a professional masseuse lives across the street. Book her for poolside massages! We've also compiled a 20-page guide to the house and island that includes how stuff works, where to find things (e.g. what's the best place to buy wine or seafood?), restaurant recommendations and beyond.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Mike and Kathleen
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, A little French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2016
Call Owner

About Mike and Kathleen

Mike and Kathleen have made this their second home for more than a decade while they lived in London and Paris. They now split our time between the island and their home in Seattle so they can spend plenty of time with Kathleen's mom who has lived in her home for 35 years just five blocks away.

We decided to try the house out as a weekly rental since it's such a large place and it's just us here most of the time.

Mike and Kathleen purchased this house in 2002

Why Mike and Kathleen chose Anna Maria Island

This is a home first, not a typical rental. You'll deal directly with us, our mom and Lida, our neighbor and manager. Even though we've only been renting for one year, we have many guests who are already returning to stay again and vow to make it an annual retreat. We want you to enjoy your stay so much that you'll come back again year after year and become a part of our extended family.

What makes this house unique

An evening swim is often the cap of a great day, and sometimes after returning from walking the beach at sunset, there is nothing more perfect. Try floating up just under the waterfall of the new pool, beverage in hand, and lean back looking up at the night sky. The moon drifting over tall palms while warm water cascades over your shoulders from the rock waterfall will float you away from it all.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Beautiful big house steps to Beach. Private Heated Pool. Super kid friendly!
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
niles,IL
5

At Home on Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay. The house is a home that we didn't want to leave. The kids ages 3 and 6 could have stayed in the pool all day. Our trips to the beach were wonderful. Everything you need was included at the house. The short walk allowed us to go down in the morning and the evening when the temps were cooler. The sunsets alone were worth the trip. Although the home is listed as 4 bedroom, we used it as 5. The room with the trundle beds was perfect for the kids and their parents had the room that was joined. They had their own bathroom with shower. We had an issue with the dish washer and it was fixed promptly. A load of our laundry was left in the dryer and it was sent back to us! Nothing to worry about on this vacation. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This home was perfect for two families. There was plenty of space and it was very comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

The walk to the beach was about 10 minutes away. There were chairs and an umbrella available which was very helpful. They had coolers too. There were plenty of beach towels too. When we did have an issue with the washer not working, the owner took care of it immediately. The trolley is at the end of the block which was really convenient. Overall, the island was beautiful and the house suited us perfectly. We would visit again for sure.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Matt! We appreciate the great care you showed our home. We look forward to seeing your lovely group again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Home away from home!

  • 4 of 5

We had a blast! This house was more than accommodating. 4-5 minutes from beach, beautiful pool and week with family, what more could you ask for? We felt so at home we grilled out twice! Owners were awesome to deal with. We will be back. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing vacation! The house was very cozy and inviting. There was plenty of room for all of us - 8 adults and one child, with room to spare! Everyone felt right at home as the set up was perfect and the decor was awesome! Everything we needed was right at our fingertips. Lots of bathroom and beach towels, extra comfortable beds, amazing pool and outside space, short walk to a beautiful beach, and on and on.... We would highly recommend this property to anyone!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon City, Oregon
5

A little piece of paradise.

  • 5 of 5

This house had everything we needed to stay with our adult children and grandchildren. The accommodations were perfect for a family that loves to cook. As we celebrated Dad's 90th Birthday we found this home was a great place to find balance with family members from all over the country. We had terrific BBQ's in the yard while the kids enjoyed the beautiful swimming pool. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect location for our family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I visited Mike and Kathleen's with my husband, our 3 young sons, my parents and my sister. We all agreed that the house was ideal. It was spacious and comfortable and stocked with everything we needed. My sons had coughs while we were there and, due to the layout of the house, their coughing did not wake my parents or sister whose rooms were on the opposite end of the house. This makes the house a great choice for 2 families who want to vacation together! My sons loved the pool.

We experienced a couple very minor issues while we were there (broken lamp, code didn't work) and these were addressed immediately.

The beach was a short walk away and it was so beautiful! We enjoyed many of the recommendations made by Mike and Kathleen such as The Donut Experiment, Rod and Reel and The Sandbar.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Sarasota-Bradenton Airport (SRQ)
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Island Tiki or Duffy's
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Key Royale Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
US 41
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Duffy's
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Pure white sand AMI beach
Car: recommended

Anna Maria Island is an undiscovered Florida favorite getaway of private homes, pure white sugar-sand beaches, sea turtles, and slow island life. Here you forget your problems, slow down, and enjoy the truly tropical Gulf shore climate of sun, sand, and sea. Busy shopping centers, outlet malls, fast food, and business districts are just a few miles across the causeway or down long boat key in Sarasota, but this island is an oasis of 'old Florida' local shops dotted sparingly through the residential homes, pure white beaches, and ample docks and water access.

The warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico are just a short walk (300 yards/meters) to the west while the watery playground of the inland waterway is just 100 yards/meters to the East. You're in the center of it all. We provide beach toys, towels, blankets and chairs. Just bring your bathing suit and come on down.

We're about about and hour from Tampa theme parks (Busch Gardens) and two hours from all the Orlando theme parks (Disney, Universal, Legoland, etc) -- close, but not too close.

Here you are surrounded by other homes, not condos or hotels, in a quiet residential part of paradise right in the center of lovely Anna Maria Island.

Twin Palms Grotto features five bedrooms, two bathrooms and a stunning private resort-style pool.

The large dining room features a rich solid wood dining table and chairs, double French doors open to a sun-drenched deck surrounded by tall coconut palms. The large 18' x 12' platform deck is complete with outdoor table, large umbrella, chairs, and a quality Weber kettle BBQ.

Slip into the island life - slow and sweet. Enjoy sunset walks on the beach, deep sea fishing offshore, sailing on a catamaran to Egmont key or a tropical drink on the sandy beach at one of the many local - no chains allowed - establishments.

Book rental bikes, poolside massages and even babysitting is something we can handle for you. We want you to feel like you're staying at your good friend's island house, never at a generic rental.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holmes Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late autumn 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,395
$3,500
 
 
Christmas & New Year's 2017
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$490
$3,250
 
 
January 2017
Jan 9 2017 - Jan 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 28 2017 - Mar 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,590
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 18 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,150
 
 
Late spring 2017
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
$7,000
 
 
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
$7,800
 
 
Late summer
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,185
$6,000
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Autumn 2017
Sep 10 2017 - Nov 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
$5,500
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
Late Nov/December 2017
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
$4,000
 
 
Christmas/New Year's 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $159
Pet Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.5%

We are happy to offer 100% refund for cancellations with a minimum of 30 days' notice, minus the Homeaway booking fee and a 2% credit card charge. Our manager will greet you shortly after you arrive to orient you to the house, answer questions, etc. We offer discounts for stays of two weeks or longer, so please enquire!

When booking, here are a few clauses that you're agreeing to in addition to those laid out in the general Homeaway/VRBO rental agreement:

- Minimum renter age is 25. The individual who makes the reservation must be with the party on site.

- We accept one (1) well-behaved house-trained dog up to 25 pounds with a non-refundable pet fee of $85. Due to a serious owner allergy, we regret that we cannot accommodate cats.

- Local laws require guest making the reservation will need to sign a Quiet Hours Agreement to show they know that the local noise ordinance prohibits loud noise, music and pool horseplay between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m.

- We can accept groups of (8) eight adults or less; the house can accommodate up to 10 with children aged three and younger. We know other holiday homes nearby, so if you have a large group, please inquire.

If the group who shows up is different or larger than the one described, or a noise violation requires police involvement, we reserve the right to ask your group to vacate the property without a refund. This includes any "just a night or two" guests who join your group during the week which exceeds the eight adult limit.

- Our sleepy little island has an extremely low crime rate. If you feel compelled to bring a firearm on your vacation, it must be left locked in your vehicle as we do not allow any firearms to be brought into our home at any time. This applies even if you have a concealed weapons permit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Holmes Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Paris Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Serves Captain's Quarters, Starfish and Hemingway in front
    River Rock Bathroom - toilet , shower , Has reflexology rocks on floor of large shower, double basin
  • A luxurious River Rock bathroom is located with the poolside rooms, Cabana and Waterfall. The Paris-themed bathroom with tub serves the Captain's Quarters and Starfish. Guests in Hemingway can use either but tend to use the Paris bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Waterfall Room - 1 king , California king bed, next to pool in rear of house
    Captain's Quarters - 1 king , US King-sized bed in Largest bedroom
    Hemingway - 1 double , Euro-style full bed, custom barn door entry, writing desk
    Beach/Starfish - 1 queen , Queen bed, ceiling fan
  • All king and queen beds are newer Sealy Postpedics. A fifth room - the Cabana/Lido Room, has a daybed with trundle and new Sealy mattresses so it can be used as fifth bedroom as a king bed or two twins. Please note guests in the Waterfall Room access the kitchen and main living area through the Cabana Room but can also use the French doors directly off the pool to get into the main house. Hemingway is best suited for a single adult or teen, or two children.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • DVR
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Each guest receives a unique code for our keyless entry lock on the main door valid for the length of their stay. Our new central AC/heating is controlled automatically by a high-tech Nest thermostat. We can arrange for poolside massages during your stay (a serious treat!). We can also arrange babysitting by a neighbor who is a certified child-care worker; we have known her for a decade and can verify that she's great with kids. Our house is located near an Island Trolley stop.

Partner Offers