check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Lois Gantner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home

19 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

With fully furnished kitchen, fireplace, central air, Jacuzzi, wrap-around deck

My home is 1/4 off M25 on a bluff in a wooded area overlooking Lake Huron. The pristine shoreline offers opportunity to hike and explore nature. One could walk about a mile along the shore in either direction and not see another person. Deer abound, birds wake you in the morning, and the bald eagle keeps watch over the shore.

Activities and Recreation: Craft shows and water sports abound during the summer months. The Can-Am Watercraft Races and spectacular fireworks displays along the shore are early July activities. Watch the sailboats pop over the horizon and pass on their way to Mackinaw during the Port Huron/Mackinaw races. Like antiquing? The thumb will keep you busy. Boat launches, fishing, and sandy beaches are a few miles away. A variety of public golf courses are within a 30-mile radius. Experience a “blast from the past” at a drive-in theater or the newly refurbished theater in Harbor Beach or experience live music and plays in nearby towns. The pristine shoreline also offers opportunity to hike and explore nature.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lois Gantner (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.6
based on 19 traveler reviews

Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
average rating of 4.631579 based on 19 reviews
5

impressive

  • 5 of 5

A great place to spend a quiet relaxing vacation. We saw deer, rabbits, ground hogs and foxes right out on the lawn. The foxes kept us entertained almost every day. Everything was just wonderful! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed my home. We too like watching all the wild life and are glad to know they are still around.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Get Away

  • 5 of 5

With all the flowers and scenery it was like a fairy tale. Birds wildlife very clean property fire pit was great and the beach was nice and private. House was beautiful had everything we needed. The view of the lake from the house is amazing. Relaxing private beautiful cant wait to come back. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I really enjoy knowing you had a wonderful experience and appreciate the kind review. I, too, look forward to working with you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner did not follow through

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend renting this property from this owner. Despite written electronic communication verifying the week we requested was available and sending the deposit check within less than 24 hours she proceeded to rent the property to another person. When you make a reservation and are prompt in your payment it is reasonable to expect that the other party holds to their end of the bargain. She made no efforts to correct this and blamed it on her age. My family is very disappointed as a vacation we were actively planning and looking forward to the local day trips in the area has fallen through due to the owner not holding to her end of the bargain. Very disappointed in the lack of ethics

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I travel extensively and enjoy sharing my dream home with others. This situation is very upsetting to me as I never want to disappoint a potential client. I have used Homeaway for 11 years and this is only the second time this has happened. As a result, I clearly state on the rental agreement the reservation will be confirmed upon receipt of the security deposit. I received a security deposit for the week in question and confirmed it a few days before receiving this your. I know this is extremely frustrating for you and your family and I apologize again for the inconvenience and misunderstanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

ABSOLUTLEY BEAUTIFUL. SO RELAXING.

  • 5 of 5

This home is the most relaxing and beautiful get away you could ever want. The house is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. It's beautiful. Such a nice opened concept which was great when cooking..we were all together. The yard is amazingly cared for. The wild life is wonderful. We saw deer several times a day, just walk past the deck. The lake freighters were beautiful and the birds just sang and sang. On a rainy afternoon, we got a kick out of watching the ground hogs play. We just can't say enough about this place. Clean, well stocked, modern, warm, inviting, amazing. Can't wait to return next year (or this year in the fall)

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your kind review. i'm very pleased to know others enjoy my home as much as i do and look forward to working with you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
New Hudson, Michigan, USA
5

Absolutely beautiful scenery and wildlife.

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home with everything you could ask for. The kitchen is well stocked and huge. The master bedroom is beautiful with heated tile and a rain shower. The upstairs had its own balcony so the kids could watch the boats. The stairs down to the lake are steep. There are three flights, it is quite the workout. At the bottom there is a beach to lay out and build sandcastles. Getting to the water was muddy, but Lois has a boat you can use and it was smooth sailing. It was so quiet and peaceful. Just what we needed. When you stay there, there is a brochure for the biggest ice cream scoops in the thumb. Go there!! It was well worth the drive!! We will be back!! Thanks again Lil & Lois!! The Hatton's

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house & grounds were beautiful. Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation. The wildlife & frieghters gave us plenty to see. We enjoyed the farmer's market in Harbor Beach. We ate at William's Inn, Al's & the Anchorage for carry out. The rest of the time we used the BarBQ grill at the house. The family were welcomed at a campground beach near by & went to Lexington for the 4th of July fireworks. The house was clean & well maintained. You had everything we needed and more. A good time was had by all.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Bad Axe
Car: necessary

This home is located 15 miles north of Port Sanilac on M25. It is 1/4 mile off M25 on a bluff overlooking Lake Huron. There are 500 feet of woods on either side of the home. Lexington, Harbor Beach, Port Austin and Bad Axe are in a 35 mile radius

Other Activities: craft shows

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Sanilac House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $25

Weekly rates are usually from Saturday to Saturday.



Cleaning fee is deducted from Damage Deposit.

Reservation is not confirmed until Refundable Damage Deposit (Security Deposit) is received. The cleaning fee and pet fee, if applicable, will be deducted from the Damage Deposit.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is off the master bedroom. It includes a double sink and jetted tub for two. Bathroom 2 includes a shower, sink, and commode.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • The two bedrooms on the second floor are part of a large area with the sleeping spaces set off by walls that provide privacy. It includes a TV with VCR and DVD player comfortable chair and table for playing games. Also, there is a new, queen size sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Walkway-to-water is actually a stairway-to-water. The stairs are about 35 feet from the front door and have two landings, one with a bench that is a perfect place to watch the ships on the Great Lake.

Partner Offers