Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

With fully furnished kitchen, fireplace, central air, Jacuzzi, wrap-around deck

My home is 1/4 off M25 on a bluff in a wooded area overlooking Lake Huron. The pristine shoreline offers opportunity to hike and explore nature. One could walk about a mile along the shore in either direction and not see another person. Deer abound, birds wake you in the morning, and the bald eagle keeps watch over the shore.

Activities and Recreation: Craft shows and water sports abound during the summer months. The Can-Am Watercraft Races and spectacular fireworks displays along the shore are early July activities. Watch the sailboats pop over the horizon and pass on their way to Mackinaw during the Port Huron/Mackinaw races. Like antiquing? The thumb will keep you busy. Boat launches, fishing, and sandy beaches are a few miles away. A variety of public golf courses are within a 30-mile radius. Experience a “blast from the past” at a drive-in theater or the newly refurbished theater in Harbor Beach or experience live music and plays in nearby towns. The pristine shoreline also offers opportunity to hike and explore nature.


Owner
Lois Gantner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

Amenities

Forestville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is off the master bedroom. It includes a double sink and jetted tub for two. Bathroom 2 includes a shower, sink, and commode.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • The two bedrooms on the second floor are part of a large area with the sleeping spaces set off by walls that provide privacy. It includes a TV with VCR and DVD player comfortable chair and table for playing games. Also, there is a new, queen size sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Walkway-to-water is actually a stairway-to-water. The stairs are about 35 feet from the front door and have two landings, one with a bench that is a perfect place to watch the ships on the Great Lake.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
5

Lovely, Peaceful, Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This home is simply lovely! The floor plan is well thought out. The property is serene. The view is amazing. From the living room, we enjoyed watching the sunrise, ships, deer, turkey, fox, birds and rabbits. This is a great location that allowed us to explore the Thumb region. Plenty of kitchen items, towels, and supplies are available. Thank you for having such a wonderful retreat. We hope to return soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm always thrilled to know when others enjoy my home as much as i do. Thank you for letting me know and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Home was wonderful and super-clean.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kimball, MI
5

Very nice place!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, well appointed with great views from several rooms.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for the review. we hope to see you back for another adventure in the thumb.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

impressive

  • 5 of 5

A great place to spend a quiet relaxing vacation. We saw deer, rabbits, ground hogs and foxes right out on the lawn. The foxes kept us entertained almost every day. Everything was just wonderful! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed my home. We too like watching all the wild life and are glad to know they are still around.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Get Away

  • 5 of 5

With all the flowers and scenery it was like a fairy tale. Birds wildlife very clean property fire pit was great and the beach was nice and private. House was beautiful had everything we needed. The view of the lake from the house is amazing. Relaxing private beautiful cant wait to come back. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I really enjoy knowing you had a wonderful experience and appreciate the kind review. I, too, look forward to working with you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner did not follow through

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend renting this property from this owner. Despite written electronic communication verifying the week we requested was available and sending the deposit check within less than 24 hours she proceeded to rent the property to another person. When you make a reservation and are prompt in your payment it is reasonable to expect that the other party holds to their end of the bargain. She made no efforts to correct this and blamed it on her age. My family is very disappointed as a vacation we were actively planning and looking forward to the local day trips in the area has fallen through due to the owner not holding to her end of the bargain. Very disappointed in the lack of ethics

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I travel extensively and enjoy sharing my dream home with others. This situation is very upsetting to me as I never want to disappoint a potential client. I have used Homeaway for 11 years and this is only the second time this has happened. As a result, I clearly state on the rental agreement the reservation will be confirmed upon receipt of the security deposit. I received a security deposit for the week in question and confirmed it a few days before receiving this your. I know this is extremely frustrating for you and your family and I apologize again for the inconvenience and misunderstanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Bad Axe
Car: necessary

This home is located 15 miles north of Port Sanilac on M25. It is 1/4 mile off M25 on a bluff overlooking Lake Huron. There are 500 feet of woods on either side of the home. Lexington, Harbor Beach, Port Austin and Bad Axe are in a 35 mile radius

Other Activities: craft shows

Photos

Rates & Availability

Forestville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 6 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
Fall
Sep 7 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$950
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $250

Weekly rates are usually from Saturday to Saturday.



Cleaning fee is deducted from Damage Deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties