check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ski Slope view, Spacious home, backs to National Forest, foosball, games, WIFI

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
18
Bedrooms
7
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 18)

Reserve your family ski vacation now in the mountains. The snow has been great with all of the cold weather and the fresh snowfall.

Reserve your time now at The Retreat at Massanutten, an upgraded seven bedroom, three bath home, with over 3,300 square feet of living space. Tastefully decorated, The Retreat provides ample room for the family to gather, with an open kitchen and a large kitchen table upstairs, and a separate family room with full-size stand-up Nintendo video arcade with 11 different games, foosball, dart board, board games, kids games and toys, bookcase stocked with novels and books to read, two (65 and 55 inch) HDTV large screen television, and couch and loveseat downstairs. There is also plenty of parking with a two-car garage and additional room for up to six cars in the driveway.

The Retreat at Massanutten is nestled in the rolling hills of the Shenandoah Valley, an area rich in Virginia history and easily accessible by Interstate I-81 or I-64. Guests may ski, fish, canoe, tube, bike, hike, hunt, or just relax and unwind to the soothing murmur of the Shenandoah River and cool mountain breezes. Other popular pastimes within easy driving distance include Civil War battlefields and museums, national parks, caverns, wineries, golf, tennis, horse back riding, and the many specialty and antique shops. Located within the Massanutten Four Seasons Resort, and with great views of the ski mountain from the front deck, The Retreat is a rewarding base for those who come to enjoy the many pleasures of Virginia's Valley of the Shenandoah.

The Retreat backs to the National Forest, with hiking paths and hunting within easy walking distance, and great views of the Massanutten Mountain and the Shenandoah Valley.

The seven bedrooms and three bathrooms are configured as follows: Master bedroom: Upstairs with king bed, attached master bathroom (sleeps two); Bedroom two: Upstairs with queen bed (sleeps two); Bedroom three: Upstairs with two twin bunk beds (sleeps four); Bedroom four: upstairs with twin bed (sleeps one); Bedroom five: Downstairs with queen bed (sleeps two); Bedroom six: Downstairs with queen bed (sleeps two); Bedroom seven: Downstairs with queen bed (sleeps two); dual recliner couch in the basement and full and queen air mattresses available for additional sleeping arrangements (sleeps three). Port-a-crib available. Total sleeping capacity is 18, with additional space available.

Upstairs also includes a separate bathroom, laundry facilities, a large open kitchen and family room (perfect for family gatherings), and an enclosed sunroom with porch and gas barbecue grill. Downstairs also has a separate bathroom, family room with 55 inch large-screen flat panel mounted HDTV color television, walk-out basement, and a two-car garage. In all cases, please be respectful of the full-time residents that live at Massanutten Resort.

More Details

Property Manager
Ryan or Barbara
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, dutch
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Ryan or Barbara

We are a family of nine, with seven young kids age 15 and younger.

Ryan or Barbara purchased this house in 2004

Why Ryan or Barbara chose Shenandoah Valley

While on a weekend ski trip over President’s Day 2004, we fell in love with Massanutten Resort and purchased our first second home, The Retreat at Massanutten. We have now vacationed at Massanutten for more than ten years and used the resort for many years to get away from the hustle and bustle of Northern Virginia and Washington, DC, for winter skiing and summer outdoor fun. We now live in Idaho but return often to The Retreat and Massanutten as one of our favorite vacation destinations. No other resort near Washington, DC offers as wide a variety of activities as Massanutten, and at such a great value for the family to get away together. Since 2004, we have added three additional Massanutten homes to our inventory and rented to more than 700 families. We hope you will enjoy The Retreat at Massanutten as much as our family and our guests have.

What makes this house unique

During the summer, we purchase the 'pool pass' that allows our guests to use the private outdoor pool. This is much more private and avoids the hustle and bustle of the crowded indoor pools.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a wonderful stay at your Masanutten/Shennandoah property. All of us enjoyed the couple nights. We will come back again.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 86

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Ski Slope view, Spacious home, backs to National Forest, foosball, games, WIFI
average rating of 4.0540543 based on 123 reviews
Herndon, VA, USA
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at the Retreat for a weekend in October. 12 adults had plenty of room to spread out. Guys loved the game room. Nicely stocked kitchen and very clean overall. Owner was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants/sites as well and very responsive in answering any questions. A little wear and tear around the edges, but overall great place and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
36 2
4

It really was a Merry Christmas!

  • 4 of 5

We had no trouble finding the home and it was clean, well stocked with kitchen supplies and towels. The space was great and everyone had enough space in their bedrooms. We had four bedrooms upstairs and three in the basement. The review never showed the exterior of the house and, as I suspected (since we were in the mountains) their was stairs to the front door. We had two people with us who have trouble with lots of stairs, but because of the many bedrooms on the main floor, they only needed to use them to come and go, so it worked out well. The kitchen was great to work in and several cooks could work together without a problem. We had lots of space for games and eating. The location was good and we had enough places to park.

The property manager was very nice to deal with. We had to call him with a few questions and he was vey helpful.

We would consider renting this house again. One note though, if you are looking for an updated modern house, this one is not for you. It is well loved, but very functional. We were really comfortable in it because we did not have to be so worried about touching stuff. It was very homey.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mount Laurel
4

Very Good for large groups

  • 4 of 5

We were a large group and it rained all through our stay so we had to stay in most of the time and this house is pretty comfortable for such large group with enough space for entertainment, all handy kitchen stuff, enough bedrooms & bathrooms, hot water and nice showers :) Only issue I faced is the gas stove flame for whatever reason is extremely low on all burners, taking forever to cook something. Gas grill was under covered porch so you can actually use it even if it rains but the day we went we saw two possums eating off the grill so we weren't keen on cleaning it and using it (meshed door to porch broken). That aside, very friendly owner who gave us a free extra day and the local contact person also very helpful and patience with all our questions. My security deposit was refunded by end of same month. The views were spectacular and its a very pleasant sight seeing deer grazing around the house, like I said we spent lot of time in the house :)

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not worth the cost.

  • 1 of 5

This property was listed at one price, but actually cost more. A security deposit was required and it took me over 40 days to get it back after many phone calls to the rental manager and filing a complaint. The property listed a hot tub as an enmity, but there was no hot tub. (When I asked the rental manager about the hot tub, he said that he had told the owner to take the hot tub off the list of amenities, but he had not done it.) The property was also in need of repairs and updating. The handle on the freezer door was broken, a shelf in the pantry had two brackets missing and there was no icemaker or ice cube trays-- therefore no ice. One of our group also found a hair on her sheets indicating that the sheets may not have been changed. It was overall not a very good experience and we would not recommend anyone renting this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, great location, needs some attention

  • 3 of 5

The Retreat house was definitely in a great location, not too far up the mountain. Plenty of room, however I give the house only three stars because we had a few issues. Unfortunately, one of the showers began leaking and dripped through the ceiling into the garage so we tried not to use that bathroom. Other little things such as board loose on steps leading up to house, screen torn on back porch and a few other petty things i am sure the owner is working on fixing. We wish there was lighting over the dinner table, and couldn't find the remote for the main TV to turn on CC for my dad. The kitchen lacked platters and large bowls for feeding a group of 14. The dishwasher seemed to be malfunctioning and didn't release the detergent. BedRooms lacked ceiling fans which does help move the air around when its warm and humid. Extra den downstairs was great for the teens to hangout, the arcade games as advertised were not there, instead there was a pool table set up on sawhorses. Pillows should be replaced on some of the beds and the decor could use a little spiffing up. (table lamp on a stool in one room). One benefit of this house was that they offered the linens, bath towels and the sheets already on the beds which is nice not to have to pack all of these items. All in all our family had a great time as we do when all of us are together, we were just a little disappointed with the upkeep of the house compared to some places we have stayed in the area.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to provide a review of our home. We are glad that you enjoyed the home. We appreciate the feedback and have addressed the issues that you have raised. We are constantly updating the bedding in the home and have replaced the pillows again in light of your concerns. We do have cookware for 18 people to eat, and we have a number of cooking bowls and pans. We can't promise that we have everything any guest may want for cooking purposes, but we do keep the kitchen well stocked as far as cookware. We do have a pool table downstairs in place of the arcade game, which proved to be too difficult to keep maintained for all of the guest use. We have a number of games at the home as well. The water overflow issue in this case was caused by the guest, whose daughter unfortunately overflowed the tub and it leaked into the ceiling and over the garage. The showers and the appliances work exceptionally well and we have recently installed new appliances in the kitchen.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Good

  • 3 of 5

We spent a week with our 3 daughters and their families ( 15 people). Our first impressions were not good since some of the rooms seemed dirty and not up to par. We discussed this issue with the owner and he assured us he will address this issue and offered to send a cleaning crew which we decided not to do. The place is wonderful - large living room - dining room combination where we could all gather. The large TV screen in living room was also great since it was during the summer olympics. There was plenty to do from hiking the trails, horseback riding, golf, go cart, putt-putt, bungie jumping, swimming pool and a great water park very close by. There was plenty of sleeping for all 15. The Master bedroom was nice an large with it's own bathroom. We loved the area and the beauty of the mountains. We spoke to the owner about our concerns with upkeep and he said he would address them

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for providing your feedback from your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the home and appreciated the location and good amenities available at the home and through the resort. We do have an onsite manager that is available 24/7 to address any issues that arise during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Shenandoah Regional Airport; Dules International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Fareways and others onsite
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mountain Greens and Woodstone Meadows onsite
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-81 and R-33
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fareways and others onsite
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Nassanutten Resort onsite
Car: necessary

2 hours from Washington, DC; 15 miles from Harrisonburg, VA

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, snowboarding, snow mobiling, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, horseshoes, shuffleboard, onsite move theater and 100 other activities offered through the resort

Golf: There are two separate golf courses at Massanutten. The Retreat at Massanutten overlooks Mountain Greens, the 18-hole Championship Golf Course. There is also an 18-hole Executive Course. And there are numerous local golf courses to keep you busy for any vacation. If you are so inclined, you can even golf and ski during the same day.

Ski: Massanutten Four Seasons Ski Resort offers the greatest number of ski slopes for any ski resort in Virginia. There are five ski lifts aned 14 ski runs for skiers of all abilities. Best of all, the kids will never get lost and you may have a fun ski vacation for the entire family. There is also a spacious snow tubing park closeby so no one in the family will lack for winter activities

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Online Payment $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

$350 - $495 per night or $2,600 - $2,900 per week
$350 - $495 per night or $2,400 - $2,900 per week.
Holidays 20% additional (including JMU graduation) and 3-night minimum;
50% of rental rate due at booking, with remainder due one month prior to check-in;
$200 refundable security deposit (returned within 30 days); primary renter must be 25 years old;
Payment methods are check or paypal (with fee)

Cancelation policy: full refund if cancelation is more than 60 days prior to checkin and 50 percent refund for refunds more than 30 days prior to checkin. There are no refunds for cancelations within 30 days of checkin.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
  • 1 King, 4 Queen, 1 twin, 2 bunks, 2 convertibles, 1 crib.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The hot tub and pools are available for use through the LeClub facility or MPOA outdoor pools in the summer and arrangement can be made to get access with homeowner for an additional $5 guest fee.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties