check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ryan or Barbara

Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english, dutch

5 BR Mountain Cabin WIF Best Resort Value for Ten Years

20 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

McGaheysville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

The Overlook at Massanutten is just around the corner from the Massanutten Ski Lodge, and one of the few homes within walking distance to the slopes. Walking or driving, you can be on the slopes in no time. As one of the closest homes to the ski slopes, you can return for hot chocolate mid-day and place your skis and boots in the screened porch. It is perfect for a family winter ski trip or to enjoy the Four Seasons Resort and Shenandoah Valley area any time of year.

Step onto one of the two balconies to overlook the Massanutten Valley through the trees that separate the house from the ski slopes. The Overlook is a spacious 5 bedroom home with open vaulted ceilings. Upstairs is a full kitchen, fireplace, screened porch, great room with family and dining area with seating for 10, master bedroom with a queen bed, bathroom, and utility room. Additional sleeping arrangements upstairs include a queen-sized sofa couch and a full-sized roll-away bed. All beds are new pillowtops.

A balcony walkway off the family room leads around the house through the screened porch onto a rear balcony, where a barbeque grill awaits evening cookouts. The family and dining rooms boast a vaulted ceiling and numerous large windows provide light and views. Two sliding doors lead outside to the balcony for more beautiful views.

Downstairs are a full bathroom and four bedrooms with: (1) a queen bed; (2) two twin beds; (3) twin bunk beds; and (4) a sleeper queen sofa. The fourth bedroom, which has a private door, can double as a downstairs family room with games and television. The washer and dryer are also located downstairs. The walkout basement leads to the second balcony, providing a great area overlook.

The Overlook is centrally located to numerous year-round amenities, including the outdoor pool, miniature golf course, ski lift chair-ride, go-cart racetrack, Mountain Greens championship golf course, and Fareways Restaurant and Lounge. Use of the pools and hot tubs currently requires a guest pass that may be purchased when accompanied by an owner, which we can arrange. Other amenities, including the new Waterpark and horseback riding at Woodstone Meadows and much more, are also available at the Massanutten Resort.

There is plenty of parking, with four parking spots in the driveway and two off-street parking spots as well. In all cases, please be respectful of the full-time residents who live in Massanutten Four Seasons Resort.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Ryan or Barbara (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english, dutch

About Ryan or Barbara

We are a family of nine, with seven kids age 16 and younger.

Ryan or Barbara purchased this house in 2004

Why Ryan or Barbara chose Shenandoah Valley

While on a weekend ski trip over President’s Day 2004, we fell in love with Massanutten Resort and purchased our first second home, The Retreat at Massanutten. Just a few months later we purchased The Overlook at Massanutten. We have now vacationed at Massanutten for more than ten years and used the resort for many years to get away from the hustle and bustle of Northern Virginia and Washington, DC, for winter skiing and summer outdoor fun. Now we live in Idaho but still return to Massanutten regularly as a favorite vacation spot. No other resort near Washington, DC offers as wide a variety of activities as Massanutten, and at such a great value for the family to get away together. Since 2004, we have added three additional Massanutten homes to our inventory, including The Overlook at Massanutten, and rented to more than 630 families. We hope you will enjoy The Overlook at Massanutten as much as our other guests have.

What makes this house unique

In the summer, we purchase the 'pool pass' that allows our guests to use the owners' outdoor pool. This is a great pool with some privacy that really avoids the mass crowds that can attend some of the other indoor pools.

Guestbook comments from the manager

This was a wonderful place for our extended family. It sleeps 14 but keep in mind that includes two queen size sleepers. Kitchen needs a toaster that works. Great gathering space in living/dining area. We all enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
Dec 2007
  • 1 of 37

Reviews

4.3
based on 20 traveler reviews

5 BR Mountain Cabin WIF Best Resort Value for Ten Years
average rating of 4.25 based on 57 reviews
United States
5

Fine Estabishment

  • 5 of 5

First time to the Massanutten area and we happened to pick the perfect home/location. Awesome place with two decks not just one. Deer running free around the property (but are protected). Fishing is close by in North and South Rivers that form the Shenandoah. Super Great Room for telling the days fishing tales.

Note to future users bring your own paper products.(our bad).

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review of our home. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and the home. We hope that you will return again.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Great house, great time, great weather!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful, relaxing time with eight of us in the house, including 4 teenagers. The house is comfortable and well laid out. At times it showed a bit of age but everything worked well, and it was clean and roomy. We walked a lot, went down to the pool, and the tennis courts which weren't crowded and had a ball. We will definitely keep this property in mind next time we arrange a family get-together. Thank you. D!ank U well, Ryan

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind input. We are glad that you enjoyed the home and your vacation. We strive to provide exceptional service to each rental guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

had a great time

  • 3 of 5

Only complaint is that almost 2 months after our trip we still don't have our $200 deposit back. And we left the place cleaner than we found it.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed the home and had a great time. I am not clear about the security deposit issue as the security deposit was returned within 30 days of checkout, consistent with our policy (usually they are returned much quicker than that). I followed up with the guest who confirmed that she did, in fact, receive the security deposit refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winchester, Virginia
1

Very poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

I have never written a bad review on a home or hotel and have stayed all over the United States and abroad, however this property was disappointing to say the least. I am not going to go into every little detail because it would be a laborious task. Generally, the home is not maintained. Outdoor light bulbs and fixtures are missing, there was no gas in the grill, the front door is filthy, etc. The few (and there were many) cleanliness concerns I will share are as follows: there were hairs in one of the beds on the linens and the worst cleanliness aspect was a sauté pan in the cabinet that had egg residue from previous occupants. Needless to say, we decided not to cook during our stay. Also, the main level (which has 1 bedroom) had 1 wall unit air conditioner and the lower level which has 4 bedrooms had no air conditioning. It was June and almost 90 with humidity. We were disappointed because there were several houses on the street that were very well maintained that were only approximately $50 a night more but were already booked. Thankfully we were only there for 2 nights. Generally, we felt that if you don't care enough about your property to take care of it, neither will anyone else.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on the home. We are disappointed that you had a negative experience as we strive to accommodate each rental guest. I have tried to follow up with this guest several times without success. And none of these issues were raised at the time of the rental, either with myself or my onsite manager. We have a 24/7 onsite manager that can address any issues that do arise at the home as long as we are made aware of them. If the cleaning is not perfect in the guests opinion, we will gladly send a cleaning crew up to finish any problems such as cleaning the front door, replacing lightbulbs that burn out or whatever the issue may be. We have looked into many of these claims and there are no missing light fixtures at the home. Lightbulbs do sometimes burn out at the home and we have a stock of lightbulbs at the home for just that instance. We also have additional bedding at the home in case there are any concerns with the cleanliness. We are very clear with all guests that this home does not have air conditioning but only has a wall unit upstairs. That is normally not an issue 90 per cent of time, especially since Massanutten is usually 10 degrees cooler than the valley, being in the mountains. Downstairs in the home is particularly cool and we have never had a complaint about the heat downstairs. We do have a wall unit upstairs and that will normally resolve any heat issues during the summer. As far as the price, I would invite any future guest to do their research on all homes at Massanutten. We have kept the same low rates at this home for the last 12 years. There is simply no other home on the mountain that can offer as good of a value as we do. I am aware of a few homes that rent for less money, but none of them is as large or can accommodate as many people as this home does.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Overpriced for the condition

  • 3 of 5

Nice house, great location, a few minor repair problems detracted from the stay especially for the price.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed the home and recognized that backing up to the ski slopes, it is in a prime location at the resort. As far as price, we encourage all guests to look at all available options before booking any home. We have kept the same low pricing for this home for more than 12 years and are confident that you will not find a better deal on the mountain. Few homes are even priced below this home, and those that are are far smaller and not in nearly the prime location this home is.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs Work

  • 2 of 5

This property is in dire need of routine maintenance and cosmetic upgrades. Peeling paint on the outside, dirty walls and light fixtures, broken windows, and faucets all show a lack of routine attention. It has potential but it just looks like nobody really cares.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are grateful for your feedback on the home. The Overlook is one of our most popular homes and is rented most of the time and does have a lot of traffic. We try exceptionally hard to keep up with that process and have now done our twice-annual deep cleaning on this home and taken care of any of the issues raised in this review. Guests have been uniformly happy with the home during the fall and winter rental season.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Shenandoah Airport Municipal; Dulles International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Fareways is onsite
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mountain Greens and Woodstone Meadoews are onsite
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-81
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fareways and several others onsite
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Massanutten Resort is onsite
Car: necessary

2 hour drive from Washington, DC; 15 miles from Harrisonburg

Other Activities: The largest indoor-outdoor waterpark on the East coast, plus over 100 activities through the resort, ranging from go-karts to miniature golf

Golf: Massanutten Four Seasons Resort boasts two 18-hole golf courses: Mountain Greens, a championship golf course, and Woodstone Meadows, an executive course. Newly redesigned, these courses offer a variety of golfing options with exceptional mountain views. Weather permitting, the golf courses are open year round so you can often ski and golf in the same day.

Ski: The Overlook is just around the corner from the ski slopes. Massanutten has 14 slopes and five ski lifts that accommodates a range of skiing abilities. There are particularly good children's lessons available through the resort. And there is a large ski tubing park near the ski hill for additional winter fun.

Photos

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Online Payment $30 + Tax
Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

$225 - $250 per night/ $1,400 - $1,500 per week
* Holidays 20% additional (including JMU graduation)
* 50% rental rate due at booking, with remainder due one month prior to check-in
* $200 refundable security deposit (returned within 30 days)
* Primary renter must be 25 years old; parking in driveway or in designated off-street parking spots
* Payment methods are check, money order, cashiers check

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The indoor and outdoor pools and the hot tubs are available through LeClub or through MPOA outdoor pools during the summer. These require guest to be accompanied by a homeowner, and require an additional $5 per person guest charge.

Partner Offers