Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Kerry McCracken

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

GET WILD! Oceanview Lodge and Sanctuary

43 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Costa Rica Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Seaview,3bd plus loft,2 baths,pool,abundantwildlife l 1/2 mile to be

CieloMar.. Its Almost Eden!

Wildlife sightings guaranteed around this enchanted lodge overlooking the Caribbean Coast. Swim in our lovely oceanview pool,have a cocktail at the wetbar and watch the toucans play or the monkeys swing by. Delight in your own adventures exploring our private rainforest preserve,with trails through the canyons of and ridges of the endangered lowland rainforest.

Ask about our new economy travel option..rent either the upper half or lower half of the lodge,both have kitchens share the pool.rate 800/week or 150/night

Take a tour here

https://youtu.be/cgBxnc3eNlk

Take a morning stroll down the hill to lovely secluded beaches then get your fresh bread at the gourmet grocery store on your way home. Great food and fun nightlife just down the hill.. You don't even have to go as far as Puerto Viejo. The house is bright and breezy, with handpainted murals, mosaic tilework and reclaimed jungle hardwood touches.

Step inside and you are taken by the beautiful spiral stairs leading to the jungle room. A sleeping and gathering room up in the canopy that has a 360% view of the ocean and jungle and is always blessed by cool breezes. The main floor is living room with an open kitchen , the main bath,with funky art mosaic tilework and a nice tub. A queen bedroom (with a twin if needed), a long and comfortable ocean view covered porch with sleeping cubby. another twin spot. At the far end of the main porch, the staircase down to the master suite drops down to the spacious downstairs master suite with king bed, private covered deck with jungle and ocean vistas, ocean view bathroom with elegant stone surround and glass ocean view shower wall..

A stay at CieloMar is truly enchanting. It will be a once in a lifetime adventure for your family and friends and I consider it my honor to have you share my Almost Eden for a time...!Thanks Kerry

If renting a car in Costa Rica to get here rent a FOUR WHEEL DRIVE. My hill is steep and slick if rainy. The rest of the country is also steep and slick when rainy. It may cost a few extra dollars but will provide you with access to many places(including a lot of the parks) you could not easily get to otherwise.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Kerry McCracken (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Kerry McCracken

Howdy! I am Kerry McCracken.Welcome to Cielomar.

Mi Casa Es Su Casa!!

I hope you find your stay here magical and enchanting and you carry home a memory of a lifetime.

Heres a little about me.

I am a native of Arizona,where I still live and work.

I have been a Real Estate Broker in Arizona for many years, selling primarily ranches and land.

I am now working on building alternative,sustainable ling projects and still occasionally selling property.

I am working on a desert paradise here in Arizona trying to make it 100% solar and completely sustainable.As this project takes much time I am rarely down at Cielomar but am always enthralled when I get to stay there... and am grateful to share the magical experience I find CieloMar and the Lost World Preserve to be with you..

The rents support the preservation of the property

.My real purpose has been to save as much critical habitat there as possible.

Who doesn't like monkeys??Develpoment has crowded out their space and it is imperative that some of us care enough to preserve,as most lands there are private.The stewardship of this rare forest has been an experiment in private conservation for me.

And to all those who have helped build and maintain the preserve my thanks go out to them.!!!

Blessings Kerry

Kerry McCracken purchased this lodge in 2007

Why Kerry McCracken chose Costa Rica

Cielomar is the rarest and most spectacular wildlife watching retreat I have seen over many years in Costa Rica. It is a delight for animal lovers,and birders throughout the world.

We are walking distance to the beaches yet worlds away in our secluded mountaintop lodge..A trip to town is fast and easy, with all local attractions readily available.

Then come home to Cielomar and retreat to complete seclusion above the beach community.Come.gaze at the Caribbean ,birdwatch from the pool and hike through th last ancient primary forests.s..

What makes this lodge unique

Most enchanting ocean view on the Caribe.

cool breezes on our ridge make us five degrees cooler then the beach below!!! Overlooking the canyons of our preserve, you will find our wildlife viewing is as fine as the national parks,without the crowd.

Birdwatch from the upstairs jungle room at the house, see monkeys play by the pool., or venture into the jungle on our cleared paths to see the shyer denizens of the rainforest.

We are l close to the beach and village of Playa Chiquita.(.1/2 mile) and not far from town,yet we are secluded in our own jungle world.

The cool pool could not be prettier or more refreshing and the house is full of artsy splashes and whimsical touches The views of the ocean and the canyons amaze and inspire the imagination.

You will be forever enchanted!

Reviews

4.8
based on 43 traveler reviews

GET WILD! Oceanview Lodge and Sanctuary
average rating of 4.837209 based on 43 reviews
4

The place is amazing the view The house

  • 4 of 5

Two things that could be improved is the Wi-Fi and the telescope very rarely would the Wi-Fi work and the telescope not at all would be better if there was binoculars and an upgrade for the Wi-Fi Other than that it was amazing And would like to come back and stay again thank you very very much

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey I am right with you I just bought a new spotting scope that is top notch But still in the states As far as the wifi improvement is coming As more folks build we can bring in landline At this point I am grateful we have wifi Even if it sometimes slow Thanks for liking cielomar Kerry mccracken
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A gem of a place in unique position

  • 5 of 5

Cielomar is an extraordinary place. I have never been so close to nature and the delight of having toucans, monkeys and parrots in the trees around us in the mornings made every breakfast a special occasion. The 27ha preserve (literally the back garden!) gave us immediate access to primary rainforest with trials taking you deep inside, just wonderful. Mixed in with this you have the relative luxury of the pool area with fantastic views of the sea. Wildlife is all around as you swim in the pool with colourful birds and even large iguanas up trees on a couple of days!

Be prepared to accept the full experience. This house is in the jungle and there are, of course, plenty of insects and we had a resident snake adjacent to the house (wonderful to look out and easily avoided). The track to the house is not a three lane motorway, its a rough track (4wd definitely needed) that takes you to a privileged position in genuine unspoiled rain forest.

Just a joy to stay there and if were not so far from England we'd be back on a regular basis. Jeff, the caretaker, is a lovely guy who knows the area really well and gives very reliable sound advise (and he plays a mean blues guitar!)

If you love nature, adventure and something different go there! if you love "formula" beach resorts disneyland and hotel luxury - don't!

Williams Family

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Tierra de encanto

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at CieloMar for five days. It was a relaxing & laid back vacation. We felt like we escaped into nature. The noises from nearby wildlife bring your imagination to life. Every morning we woke up to howler monkeys and tropical birds as our alarm clock. The 15 minute walk to the beach was an adventure (playa Chiquita was our #1 favorite beach in Puerto Viejo area). There is a grocery store & restaurants within walking distance. The house’s caretaker, Jeff, was very welcoming & helpful with local information. A 4x4 vehicle is necessary because the hill to the house is very steep, rocky & uneven however it’s worth the inconvenience because once you arrive at CeiloMar you won’t want to leave. Pura Vida!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

The perfect funky paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Four of us stayed here over Christmas. We relished the views from all directions, having our own spaces as it is three levels (Swiss Family Robinson-esque!), took turns sleeping in the top story, and loved all the artistic touches such as colorful tile-work, shimmery or vintage fabrics, and the beautiful wood floors, railings and cabinets. And there's a great library! Our favorite spot was the pool area; great views, plants, and huge wood table with bancos for family dinners. We had a gas swimming with the frogs at night, but Jeff keeps the pool immaculate with daily visits. There's a 40 minute hike into the jungle on "the back 70" leads to a shed with yet another incredible view. Of course, the exotic wildlife and beaches (15 minute walk) make Costa Rica so special and Cielomar has it all, right outside your door. You will definitely need a 4WD but we walked up and down the hill many times. While this is a 5 star review, do not expect a 5 star lodge. Some of the fabrics and things are older and worn, but for us, that made it all the more comfortable, hence the word funky. It fit our needs and dreams perfectly, and we will come back someday!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

BEST PLACE EVER!

  • 5 of 5

Cielomar was a dream come true. While staying at this magical place we saw all four species of monkeys that live in Costa Rica just by hanging around the house! Sloths, parrots, toucans are just a few more animals we were so lucky to see. With an amazing viewing room upstairs and private swimming pool its hard to leave this amazing place. Jeff is extremely knowledgeable in all the animals that come by the house, great local beaches, and a good place to grab a yummy meal. I cant believe anyone would have ANYTHING negative to say about this heaven on earth. This is the Costa Rica I dreamed of! Do yourself a favor and stay and this perfect hideaway!

We'll be back! Big thanks to Jeff!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Brookline MA
2

Nice house, but access NOT ASSURED!

  • 2 of 5

CieloMar is a rustic house open to the environment (it has ants and we had a "resident" bat in and out of the master bedroom and hall). It has two rooms (the advertised third bedroom is actually a bed on the roof deck with no walls) and beautiful but distant ocean views from the third floor and pool area (the pool edge is rough concrete, so kids have to be especially careful). Unfortunately, one's ability to access the house is NOT assured even with a 4-wheel drive. Because the road was profoundly gutted by heavy rains (common in the rainforest), we were forced to park for 5 days at the bottom of the very steep, slippery, inhospitable hill, which negatively impacted our mobility, preventing us from doing what we wanted when we wanted (we were told while there that this has also happened to other guests). The house itself was clean and comfortable. The TV works only for DVDs. The owner doesn’t recommend drinking the tap water and, instead, provides a hand operated filtered water system, which you have to fill regularly. This works okay for drinking, but makes washing dishes challenging. The property manager is very nice, however, the owner was disappointingly dismissive of the severe access problems and inconvenience we experienced.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the long term caretaker for this property I feel I must add some perspective to this review. We tell all of our clients at Cielomar that they need a 4 WD vehicle to reach the house. This woman’s husband rented a 4WD station wagon, but upon arriving after a heavy downpour somehow managed to bottom the car out on his first attempt to get up the hill - mostly due to an apparent lack of driving skill. The tailpipe was bent upward, causing it to rattle. A neighbor helped straighten it out… and drove it up the hill a couple of times in the process . He says he was paid $40. This man immediately started hinting that the owner of the house should be responsible for him damaging his car on the PUBLIC road. (It should be noted that the car was NOT parked at the bottom of the hill for 5 days. It was parked at the house for a couple of days, having been driven up to the house successfully while he was here…. but he was so intimidated by what had happened that he was afraid to drive it…) Upon returning to the states, he started sending demand letters to the owner threatening her with a bad review if she didn’t pay him $400! She was not intimidated , and refused to pay his ransom… so they went out of their way to send in this mean-spirited review full of inaccuracies and misconceptions denigrating the property. Let me refute some of her inaccurate claims. -For the record, the only time another guest has had to park at the bottom of the hill was when they came with a 2 WD car.. In 6 years of hosting guests here, this is the ONLY time someone was unable to reach the house with a 4 WD -As the reviews reflect, the house IS semi - open, as are many places here in the tropics. This is not a problem for 99% of our guests. The ad also clearly states that there is not cable or satellite TV here, only a DVD player. -It is NOT necessary to used filtered drinking water to wash dishes here. Our water is rainwater captured from the roof and lightly chlorinated in the storage tanks. I tell our guests it is not NECESSARILY potable . - These peoples’ children used the pool a LOT while here, and had a great time, I was told… they sure weren’t complaining about the pool when they were here! I myself went out of my way to help these people, using my own vehicle several times to take them places. At Cielomar, we do everything in our power to make sure our guests have a good experience here… but we can’t be responsible for the weather, or for our client’s driving!
Did you find this review helpful?
17 3

Map

Punta Uva
Nearest Airport
140 Miles
San Jose
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
1 kilometer
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Playa Chiquita
Car: recommended

Out the back door is our Lost World Preserve Explore deep canyons with maintained jungle trails winding along quiet creeks through the jungle canopy. One of the rare places in the area you can actually walk under and see the magical tropical canopy unfold around you.

Our upstairs viewing room has a scope and an incredible 360 view of the surrounding rainforest.

The pool is a great place to watch toucans,sloths monkeys and agoutis pass through the yard .

Our lodge is located on a breezy hill about half mile above Playa Chiquita, a small secluded walk in beach favored by locals. and an easy stroll to world famous Punta Uva Beach. which has great surf breaks along the coast line and in clear weather a great reef to snorkel right off the shore.

Take a dolphin tour and see rare species,go fishing

with a local captain.

There is a great wildlife rehabilitation center down the road.

Several fantastic cocao tours are available within a couple of miles.

There is a zipline down the beach.

Bicycling is big,with rentals available all along the beach road..or rnt a golf cart.

Some of Costa Ricas finest White Water Rafting (Pacuare and Reventazon Rivers) is nearby and trips are easily available including transportation from Puerto Viejo.

Th nightlife in Puerto Viejo, the town nearest us( about five miles) is huge fun and always entertaining.

Great food..good music..lots of dancing..a cultural melt

that will bring a smile. The raggae and calypso shouldn't be missed.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Limon Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
low
May 2 2016 - Jun 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$3,200
 
 
summertime
Jun 16 2016 - Oct 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$210
$1,350
$3,800
 
 
fall
Oct 16 2016 - Nov 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
$3,200
 
 
thanksgiving
Nov 16 2016 - Nov 20 2016
4 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
late fall
Nov 21 2016 - Dec 21 2016
1 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
$3,500
 
 
holiday
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
1 night minimum stay
$250
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

BASIC RATES ARE FOR UP TO 4 PEOPLE. ADDITIONAL GUESTS
(UP TO 9) ADD $25/ nt or $150/wk.
CHILDREN UNDER 10 STAY FREE
HOLIDAY RATES: (CHRISTMAS/SEMANA SANTA):
Dec. 22 - Jan 2: $300/nt. $2000/wk
March 29 - April 4 2015: $300/nt $2000/wk

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Costa Rica Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 full baths downstairs master suite bath has stone tub and jungle and ocean view from shower main floor bath has huge tub american style hot water
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
perfect location,easy walk to beach,overlooking ocean 78 acre preserve to play in,spectacular pool,wildlife galore

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote