check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Brooke Gibson

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Wrap-Around Porch, Highest Views, Gated, Pool, Crib, Wifi

86 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Tennessee Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, Sleeps up to 8

PLEASE NOTE: I keep my calendar and rent rates updated at all times!

Welcome to The Rusty Nail! We have a pet-free, 2 bedroom, 2 bath log cabin located in the gated community of Bear Creek Crossing. Named after our wonderful grandmother, 'Rusty,' the purpose of The Rusty Nail is to help you get away from it all while maintaining all of the comforts of home.

We have 3 TV's that have over 150 channels via DirectTV so that you can have your choice of sports, movies, or whatever you find relaxing. You will also enjoy a private outdoor hot tub with a fantastic mountain view, 8 rocking chairs, gas grill, free Wifi, foosball table, pool table and a stereo with CD player.

The community has an indoor/outdoor pool that is fun for everyone and kid-friendly. There is also a clubhouse that can be rented for events. The cabin is decorated with a patriotic theme and for all of you with children, we have provided a crib, high chair and booster seat. We hope that you feel right at home.

The Rusty Nail is located just 3 miles from all the shopping, restaurants and activities that you could ever want. And, Dollywood is only a 10-minute drive away! TRN is privately owned and managed. There is a local property manager on call 24 hours a day in case you need anything. Our goal is to help you feel comfortable and worry-free. Welcome to The Rusty Nail! We are glad that you are here!

**Please note that we offer payment via eCheck (free) and credit card ($15 fee).

'We had a WONDERFUL time at your cabin. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Everything was perfect. For the past 3 years, we've stayed in Brother's Cove. But, we all agree that we want to go back to The Rusty Nail from now on. We go to Gatlinburg every Spring for my husband's birthday. Hopefully, it will be available next year when we go. The kids loved the game room. Honestly, I never knew that foosball was so fun! Again, thank you. I'll be in touch next Spring.' Kim Long

'We had a great time at the cabin. My boys loved it! Thank you so much. My kids said when we go back that it 'better be in that cabin'! They are 4 and 8... big talkers! Thanks again.' Felina Freiburger

'Great cabin. We loved the place, especially the loft area. The cabin was spotless and had everything we could have possibly needed. The kids loved the pool, too.'

Anthony 'Bud' Jackson

'We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at The Rusty Nail. It was an awesome experience . Staying in a log cabin really makes vacationing in the mountains of Tennessee a great experience. The girls loved sleeping in the loft and they played pool frequently and listened to the stereo. My husband and his father also enjoyed the pool table. We enjoyed the location. It really was not far from the parkway. We will definitely love to stay at the Rusty Nail again in the future.' Amy Lyle

'I can't begin to tell you folks what a beautiful and wonderful vacation we all had. The cabin was absolutely beautiful, breath taking, awesome, and most of all it felt like a home, not a hotel. Our trips around towns, into the mountains and the things we did with the kids, was priceless... We went horseback riding, saw so much snow up the Great Smokey Mountains, took the kids to the petting zoo and so much more. This trip they we never forget, neither will we. Lucky was very attentive and right there when we needed him, thank you Lucky !!! As a person that comes into so much contact with the public, friends, family and etc., trust me, my positive word of mouth will get out there. May God bless you all, and hope to see you again this year. Thank you again for allowing us to stay in your beautiful cabin. Everything was perfect, especially the cold weather.' Norma

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Brooke Gibson (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Brooke Gibson

Hi! My name is Brooke and I have owned The Rusty Nail since 2007. I named the cabin after my awesome grandmother, Rusty, and try to take her there as often as I can. She's 97 now and still going strong!

I typically go to The Rusty Nail with my family, who lives in Kentucky, because it's right, smack in the middle! My two young nephews tend to spend their time either racing around the deck, climbing the hill across the street, or playing each other at foosball! Me...I prefer a glass of red wine in the hot tub!

I would love to have you stay and have a wonderfully relaxing vacation!

Brooke Gibson purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Brooke Gibson chose Tennessee

I chose to buy The Rusty Nail because not only is it in a gated (safe!) community with a community pool, but it's about as close to the Tanger Outlet Mall as you can get (5 minutes). I'm no stranger to the outlet mall! Banana Republic will never go out of business as long as I own the cabin! (My poor credit cards...)

What makes this cabin unique

I personally know the owner of the cabin two doors down from mine. His is also a 2-bedroom, so if you ever have a big group, just let me know and we'll get you set up next door to each other!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time and enjoyed every minute at “The Rusty Nail!” I am very thankful to you for the opportunity to stay at your beautiful cabin…I hope we can go back again soon. Also, thank you for your trust and allowing us to bring our puppy…aka…”baby” along to enjoy the trip with us. She was very well behaved and we enjoyed having her with us.



Thank you again for sharing your beautiful cabin “The Rusty Nail” with us!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 18

Reviews

4.6
based on 86 traveler reviews

Wrap-Around Porch, Highest Views, Gated, Pool, Crib, Wifi
average rating of 4.616279 based on 104 reviews
5

Would Return Again and Again!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived on Saturday 6/2 and immediately were overwhelmed at how nice the home was, our family of four (kids 10 and 12) uses Home Away quite often when we travel and this was one of our favorites by far that we've ever stayed in.

I know the pictures are great online but this cabin is actually nicer than the pictures display and the views are even better as well. The first level mountain views in the back are somewhat obstructed by trees but there are peeks- the 2nd level views are GORGEOUS- exactly what we came for. We felt like we were on top of the world! Yes, the cabins are close together and if you have noisy neighbors it's a bummer (we only had loud people one night) But in the summer the windows are shut and it's not too much of a problem. The decor is beautiful Americana (perfect for our 4th of July vacation!!!). FYI when picking bedrooms, the master has the better shower pressure but the 2nd better has the more comfortable bed ;).

Kitchen was very well equipped compared to other cabins we've stayed in, plenty of dishes, glasses, silver wear, pots/pans. However, I would recommend adding a dish brush to clean the dishes with as well as something to clean the counters with (409, windex, etc). Cabin came with enough paper towel, detergent, hand soap and toilet paper to get through a day or so but you'll need to bring/buy more if you are staying longer. There was plenty of dishwasher detergent and dish soap though.

While we were there we visited Cades Cover (saw three bears!), Grotto Falls hike, and did white water rafting with Rafting in the Smokies- all great experiences. We cooked most dinners at home which was great (although the gas grill did not work). Check out a map and figure out the "back" entrance to get to the "parkway," we saved a lot of time by figuring out back roads and entrances to things but expect lots of traffic, it's just the norm in such a popular place.

The kids LOVED the hot tub and the pool, we did the putt putt which was fun and played pool and foosball several times a day. The cabin has direct tv which did go out during t-storms and high winds and the wifi only worked the first two days- not sure what happened there but not a big deal- we weren't there to be on the internet! ;)

It was really hard to leave- one of our favorite vacations for sure, felt so at home at the Rusty Nail. I would recommend this to ANYONE looking to enjoy the beauty and activities that the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It is always great to hear. Thank you also for your suggestions and we'll definitely look into them ASAP! Please come again soon, Brooke
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Rusty Nail was just perfect for my family. We enjoyed our entire week there.

The location was great. The cabin had everything we needed. We will recommend this place to friends.

Thank you so much for sharing.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The log cabin was very nice and well kept.

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is in a great location. Easy drives to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. The only issue we encountered was the nightly buzzing of the wood-boring bumblebees in the log cabin walls. Our family had a great stay and the kids are ready for a return trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful. Clean. Great view.

  • 5 of 5

We were thankful for the baby bed and high chair. The big kids loved playing pool and Foosball and we all enjoyed the front porch. Beautiful property and convenient location for shopping and food.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Top of the hill view

  • 4 of 5

We had a first ever family reunion and rented 4 cabins. The cabin was exactly are advertised. Clean, spacious, with ammenities like a hot tub, jacuzzi, pool table, wrap around porch with (6) rocking chairs. The Bear Creek Resort location was ideal for us because it is in a wooded scenic area but only 10-15 minutes from anything you need. In the area, we saw a mother bear with cub, and an elk. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jeffersonville, Kentucky
3

Needs a thorough cleaning!

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is a nice one but needs a thorough cleaning. There are cobwebs everywhere, dirt behind doors, toothpaste splatter on walls and mirrors of bathrooms, the pool table was very dirty, light fixtures are dusty, and tons of light bulbs are blown. One light fixture that holds 7 bulbs only had 2 working. We had to buy batteries for the remotes because they weren't working. We needed to use both pull out beds but only had sheets for one. The sheets provided for the one was full of holes. I'm not sure why we had to pay a cleaning fee when the cabin was dirty, we had to strip the sheets from the beds, do dishes, take out garbage, and start a load of towels before we left. A good cleaning person could make this a much nicer place to stay.

There is no view from this cabin and no privacy. The cabin is on winding roads a few miles from town. Would I stay here again? No. I was unimpressed.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thank you so much for your comments. I am very sorry that you didn't encounter a wonderful experience during your stay at The Rusty Nail. I do always appreciate guest feedback and appreciate you letting me know of some issues that need to be addressed. I am curious, however, about some of the suggestions as I know them to be untrue. Regardless, thank you again for staying and I wish you a great summer. Brooke
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Car: necessary

Pigeon Forge is full of every kind of activity. There is an abundance of shopping, restaurants, theater, Dollywood, and all kinds of outdoor sports. Golf courses are abundant, as well as fishing and hiking. Pigeon Forge is ideal for families, couples, and retirees.

Other Activities: Dollywood

Golf: Many nearby golf courses. This is addressed more fully in the 'Things to Do' book at the cabin.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pigeon Forge Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jun 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,365
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
$950
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$800
Flat fee
 
 
NYE 2016
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$875
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

$80 cleaning fee and 12.75% tax added to the rent total
$100 refundable damage deposit ($85 will be refunded if payment made with credit card)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tennessee Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The master bedroom has both a full bath and a jetted tub in the room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 king
    Second Bedroom - 1 king
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull Out Couch
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull Out Couch
    Baby Crib - 1 baby crib , Stored under the Master bed
  • Both bedrooms have king beds and full bathrooms. Both the living room and the loft/game room have queen-sized pull out couches. There is also a crib stored under the bed. The crib is adjustable, yet does not come with linens.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There is a TV in each bedroom and one in the living room. All have over 150 channels via DirecTV. We also have free Wifi for your use.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...