Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Local Owner Created Great Getaway Fall Spec 4TH Night $150 Some exclusions Apply

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 4 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Villano Cottage - Luxury Oceanview five bedroom - 4 1/2 bath home with shared pool, New linens, paint , carpet, beds ,furnishings, direct beach access, multiple decks and porches with spectacular ocean view. It's just five minutes to historic downtown St. Augustine. Perfect for family reunions or other special events: Beach, Sun, Surf, Golf, and America's oldest city nearby. A short drive to Daytona, two airports and World Golf Village. FIND LINK TO TOUR UNDER FURTHER DETAILS


Owner
Brian Sullivan, Mgr/Coastal Wave Properties
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

Map

Car: recommended

Ideal vacation spot. Oceanview home with pool and direct beach access. Spectacular Ocean Views. Only 5 minutes to historic downtown St. Augustine, America's oldest city. A short drive to Daytona, two airports and World Golf Village.

Amenities

Saint Augustine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Sit Down shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 2 child bed , trundles
  • Each bedroom is equipped with TV and DVD player
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dining, pub table and kitchen bar to seat 8 - 12

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
22% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Local Owner Created Great Getaway Fall Spec 4TH Night $150 Some exclusions Apply
average rating of 4.354839 based on 31 reviews
Belfast, Northern Ireland
5

Beautiful house beside beach

  • 5 of 5

We had looked forward so much to our week in St. Augustine and the villa did not disappoint. We were 2 families visiting Florida from Ireland and Scotland with teenagers and an 8 year old and had several definite requirements. The house was spotlessly clean and spacoius with lots of separate areas to sit and relax including the balconies on both upper floors - perfect to sit out and watch the sea in the evening. Beds were comfortable and 4 had an ensuite with a cloakroom downstairs. The kitchen was well equipped and had all the essentials. We wanted a pool which just across the path and the size of the pool was ideal for both kids and adults. The beach was literally at the end of the garden and along a short access boardwalk - and we were delighted with the warm Atlantic ocean, never before experienced by us on the Irish coastline.

The Publix supermarket across the road was ideal to nip in and out for groceries. We wanted a house that allowed us to walk to local restaurants and we found 3 in the vacinity of the marina - a 5 minute walk away - Beaches, Benedettos and the cream of the crop Vilano 180 - excellent food and service. An uber will only cost $5 to allow easy access to St Augustine where you have your pick of really good places to eat and drink. Another plus is that the property is just situated at the bridge so accessing the main roads was quick and easy. Would highly recommend the property - Laura the owner was there when we checked in to make sure everything was in order - and the management company contacted us on our return for our feedback. Great holiday in the perfect location.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Cliona, for your very kind review. We are so pleased you were delighted with the house and the area in general. I enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and very much hope you are all able to come again soon! Take care, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, OH
4

The house was very nice, very pretty.

  • 4 of 5

Overall we enjoyed our stay. We did think the pool could have been cared for a little better. Quite a bit if debris from the wind (leaves) and bugs. There was not a way for residents to clean it out ourselves. The pool gets used a lot when there is a storm off coast and it becomes too dangerous to swim in the ocean. A dirty pool is a downer.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. So glad you enjoyed the house but not so happy the pool was not as clean as it should have been. Here in North Florida this summer we have experienced many short, afternoon storms, bringing wind and rain for about 30/40 minutes. The rain has been wonderful for the lawns but not so great for all the hardscapes, as the brief wind dislodges dead leaves and debris from trees and shrubs near the pool. I also apologize there was no pool equipment for you to use to clean the pool. Anything not under lock and key seems to " disappear" and so we must rely on our pool service to keep the area tidy. Again, our apologies and thank you for visiting.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful comfortable & easy access to everything. We will stay here again. Thank you so very much

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful views from the top decks. Can be on the beach in 3 minutes. Public and yummy restaurants are in walking distance. Perfect place.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you were pleased with everything! Hope to see you again next year! Thanks, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

beautiful home

  • 3 of 5

Owner obsessed with instructions re deck furniture ggames, etc. Gas grill was filthy. she doesn,t care.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John, I have just seen the negative review you have left on homeaway regarding me and my home. The response to your review, by the way, was written by my agent as I have been out of the country for several weeks. I am at a loss as to why you would write what you did, as I personally cleaned the house ( instead of letting my housekeeper do it--- I do a more thorough job) because I wanted special folks from New York, a place I love, to feel comfortable and pleased with the condition of the home. If I remember correctly, the oceanfront home had guests with many, many cars the day you checked in. I wanted to make sure you and your guests knew which parking spots belonged to my house so that oceanfront guests werent overflowing into your spaces. Does this sound like someone who " doesnt care" ? In the past, very often guests move furniture....once, a family moved EVERYTHING, including the grill, off the beachside deck and placed it down a flight of steps and under the house. I have no earthly idea why they did so. Of course they didnt bother to put it all back and my cleaning ladies were forced to spend valuable cleaning time doing this. Truthfully, I dont have a problem with guests moving furniture, as long as they put things back. Regarding the games, before I made the little signs, every time I would come to the house I needed to spend several hours straightening the games on the shelf, closing boxes properly, and putting pieces back into boxes where they belonged. I have been advised to remove all the games but I refuse because having all those games is one of the things that makes my house special. People can be very inconsiderate. Many have the attitude, " Hey, I'm paying a cleaning fee....let them worry about that." Regarding the grill, it's the same basic scenario....we hadnt had that new grill 2 weeks before a guest barbequed ribs and practically destroyed it by leaving food particles stuck all over and drippings all down inside. After the second time this happened, I decided that if guests wanted to use the grill, it was up to them to clean it. We figured that was preferable to not having a gas grill at all, as opposed to only having a charcoal grill. Again, the cleaning ladies do not have the time to clean an outdoor grill after inconsiderate people leave their mess behind. And by the way, in the bottom cabinet by the fridge there are/were disposable aluminum grill toppers. Anyway, these are my thoughts. Thank you Laura Smiley
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Loved the house and area, did not enjoy the owner

  • 3 of 5

TLDR: House is incredible, but owner surprised us by trying to withhold the damage deposit.

Our group: 8 mid-30s adults (3 couples, 2 friends), 4 children

First the positives: The house is beautiful, relatively-new construction, very close to the beach, and has plenty of amenities (nice TV/stereo, large bedrooms, plenty of board games). There is a Publix (grocery store) shopping center across the street, with a few restaurants and a liquor store. Being able to walk over and get lunch or snacks was wonderful. The community pool is next to the house and was nice. I can’t tell you how relaxed we felt staying there, with amenities nearby and beautiful weather.

And the negatives: Perhaps the most-surprising was that for the first 2 days we were not allowed on the beach near the house because of efforts to combat erosion-- construction crews were moving large pipes to pump sand onto the beach, and we had to walk ~5-10 minutes further down (which doesn't sound like much, but when the normal walk from the house is <1 min., it felt like an inconvenience). None of this activity was communicated during the booking process, so it was quite a surprise, and when we eventually told the owner via email, she replied with, "Do you really think if I had told you about the pipes/ pumping you would have elected not to come?"

Which brings us to the main negative: upon checking out, I received an email from the owner stating how disappointed she was, and that her cleaning crew of 2 people needed an extra 2 days to clean (over the normal 12 man-hours). She told us that we would lose a portion of the damage deposit and listed a number of dirty areas and a lack of fully attending to the to-do list that was provided at check-in (things such as laundry, etc.). In the end, she refunded our deposit, but the whole situation felt a little crazy since we had cleaned the night prior to checking out, and again at check-out (e.g. took the trash to the dumpster, swept the inside/outside, and did most of the laundry).

Lastly, and these are minor issues: The dishwasher didn't work well despite not loading it very heavily. There is a propane grill on the porch, but we had to go buy our own propane tank and grilling utensils. The pool had only a few not-very-nice chairs.

OVERALL: I would recommend this house to anyone, just understand that the owner seems new to having a vacation rental.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for pointing out the many attractive qualities of our house (new, steps from beach, all the amenities, near Publix and restaurants, and of course the pool). I am glad the weather was beautiful, you had a relaxing stay, and that you recommend it to others. I am sorry that the beach was not as easily accessible as it usually is. We had no control over the timing and the efforts to replenish the sand lost by Hurricane Mathew, but that project is now completed and the beach is as beautiful as ever. Our house isn’t for everyone, but our many guests who want all the comforts of a home rather than a sterile rental, and treat it accordingly, are very pleased.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Was a great place to stay at. We will be back for sure.

  • 5 of 5

I give a 10 out of 10. It fulfill all our need.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great to have you and the gang here again for the TPC...hope to see you again next year too!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $279
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.5%

Save with a check 3.5% for credit card premiums may apply for holidays , Ga/Fl Game Easter and spring break
500 refundable deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.