check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

360 Degree Ocean and Mountain Views from This Stunning Home.

20 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Hāna House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom or 2 Bedroom, (Sleeps 2-4)

Discover paradise in Heavenly Hana, Maui, and surround yourself with the most breathtaking views in all of Hana.

Ekena means Eden in Hawaiian. This tropical paradise is perched high on a hill on nine acres of private property with 360 degree views of ocean, sky, coast and the lush, green hills of Hana, Maui. Enjoy all the natural beauty that Hana has to offer from the comfort of a beautiful home that is impeccably maintained.

The views are vast and ever-changing. You can watch whales in season, rain showers blowing by leaving brilliant rainbows in their wake, and listen to the songs of rare birds that enjoy our fruit trees. The grounds are a tropical delight of exotic flowers and delicious papaya, banana, avocado, guava, and macadamia nut trees. We invite you to our beautiful paradise!

Ekena offers two spacious accommodations, Jasmine and Sea Breeze. These comfortable suites have the flexibility of accommodating from one to six guests. To maintain the privacy and peacefulness of Ekena, we rent to only one party at a time.

These beautiful and comfortable suites have everything you need for a delightful and refreshing vacation. All rooms in this home take advantage of the awesome ocean and coastal views. The spacious living rooms are surrounded by sliding glass doors that open onto private decks. There are two bedrooms with king or twin beds and each has its own full bath. The kitchen is large and fully-equipped.

Keywords: House(s)

Permit # STHA T20130009

Hawaii State Tax # W00057390-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for the opportunity to have had a little piece of heaven here on earth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back, God willing.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 15

Reviews

5
based on 20 traveler reviews

360 Degree Ocean and Mountain Views from This Stunning Home.
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
Athens, GA, USA
5

Marvelous!!!

  • 5 of 5

Ekena will absolutely blow you away. We have stayed in Hana before, so we know the area quite well, but we did not know about Ekena, I am so glad that we found it! The views, the setting, the gardens, the peacefulness, the song of the birds and, to top it all off, the absolutely superb property. Great architecture and immaculately maintained, with everything that you need for a great stay. Robin and Gaylord are most graceful, friendly and helpful hosts. We were only able to stay for five days this time - WAAYY too short. We will be back soon for a longer stay!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks, Alberto, for your great review of your stay at Ekena. Since it is clear that you love Hana so much, I hope we will have the pleasure of many return visits over the years. It was a pleasure to meet you. Mahalo! Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN
5

A lush paradise with an unparalleled view

  • 5 of 5

It rained, if not poured, every day of our 5-day stay in Hana at Ekena, and it was still perfect. You walk into the house and right away the 180 degree view takes your breath away. Watching thunderstorms, countless rainbows, and the occasional sunrise and sunset from the main room was such a pleasure. And Hana itself, which is so close to Ekena, is a tranquil little town with some beautiful sights and hikes nearby. If you really want to take a few days to feel like you've disappeared from the real world and are floating in a tropical bubble, then you've got to stay at Ekena. The bedrooms are comfortable, the kitchen well-stocked, the manager so friendly. I really look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alpha Pier, and mahalo for writing us such a wonderful review, in spite of the wet weather you experienced while you were in Hana. I am thankful that you embraced it, rather than let it keep you from enjoying this beautiful part of Maui. Our rain is rarely very cold, so with a light rain jacket you can still get out and enjoy all there is to see and do. Because the house has so many floor to ceiling glass doors and windows, it does provide a great place to watch the weather for miles in all directions. It was a pleasure to have you and Francesca here and please do come back and see us again. mahalo, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
5

The Ultimate Retreat

  • 5 of 5

The mountain and ocean views are excellent. If you're looking for a quiet retreat, this is the place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. Being so close to Hana's attraction is worth the price of the stay. One could sit on the spacious deck for hours without a care in the world. This is the place to unplug from the typical tourist resort type of stay. Load up your snacks and groceries in a cooler for the multi hour drive to Hana because you can't buy the simplest of items in Hana. The food trucks in Hana are wonderful. Braddah Hutts BBQ has great plate lunches. Ae's thai kitchen is simply amazing. The Barefoot Cafe has good and affordable breakfasts. There main restaurant in Hana across from the green colored Hasegawa general store has very good food but it's overpriced. Robin was out of town when I stayed but I really enjoyed the hospitality which Gaylord extended, he's a super nice man! The black sand beach is a 5 min drive away and the famed red sand beach is about a 10-15 min drive from Ekena. Great property, great staff, Mahola for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha John and mahalo for your informative and very positive review of Ekena and your time in Hana. I know that other guests will appreciate your suggestions while they are here. Gaylord and I both hope that you can return someday for more time on the deck, enjoying this magnificent view of ocean, coastline, and jungle. aloha, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A little piece of heaven--absolutely wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I were on a girls' getaway and spent 4 nights in the Jasmine suite. The house is very clean and well-stocked with kitchen items. We enjoyed using the provided beach chairs, boogie boards, and beach towels. The washer & dryer was nice to have too, and laundry soap was provided.

The views from Ekena are amazing. It was tempting to sit on the porch all day long! However, we decided to enjoy exploring Hana: Oheo Gulch (take the 4 mile hike along the Pipiwai Trail!), Red Sand Beach, Black Sand Beach, Koki Beach, Hana Farms stand (banana bread is the best around--we recommend the pineapple banana bread!), Coconut Glen's (great ice-cream, strange service), Troy's plate lunch (near Koki Beach), etc. So much to see, do, and eat! :) If you want fresh chicken or fish, be sure to get it on your way to Hana. The local markets in Hana only had fresh beef. We were able to purchase fish from a local fisherman during our stay and it was delicious.

Back to Ekena, Jasmine suite: There are two rooms: one had a king bed, and one had 2 twin beds (that can be made into a king if you desire). All the beds were comfortable. There's no a/c, but there are fans all around the house & plenty of windows and slider doors to keep things at a comfortable temperature. The Wi-Fi worked really well, but there's no cell phone reception. We didn't mind a bit! If you do stay at Ekena, be sure to wake up to watch the sunrise at least once while you're there. It's beautiful.

The location is great: about 2 minute drive to the town of Hana and about a 35-40 minute drive to Oheo Gulch. So nice to be able to get to the gulch earlier than all the day-trippers!

We loved our stay at Ekena and highly recommend it. Robin was incredibly helpful with our questions and so pleasant to talk to. It was a pleasure meeting her and Gaylord. Mahalo for everything! :)

-Melanie, Sharon & Christine

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Melanie, Sharon, and Christine, Thank you so much for taking the time to write up such a positive and thorough review of Ekena and the magnificent Hana area. We are so happy to know you had such a great stay here and we thoroughly enjoyed having you around and sharing our favorite sites, hikes, activities, and food with you. You were great explorers and it was fun to see Hana through your eyes, too. I do hope you will be able to return someday and enjoy more time with us. We would be happy to have you back any time. mahalo, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Hana attraction unto itself

  • 5 of 5

While Hana is typically known for its multicolored beaches, its twisty road and jungle scenery, Ekena is just as much an attraction as any of these things. It is a gem of a house set high on a hill just outside of Hana, and its main features include a huge deck with unsurpassed views of the Hana jungle and ocean beyond, unbelievable grounds with endless tropical plants and trees (including a particularly beautiful patch of Rainbow Eucalyptus trees), and two large bedroom suites on opposite ends of the house for total privacy between groups or couples. I found every moment in Ekena to be immensely peaceful and relaxing, and the ever-changing weather - including spontaneous torrential rainfall - just added to the charm. One of the highlights was sipping a glass of wine on a crystal clear night out on the patio while watching the moon rise behind a group of the trees to the east. It was a magical moment in a magical place.

While staying in Hana we visited Hamoa Beach (a beautiful jungle beach), Luana Spa (great massages in a traditional Hale on a cliff) and 'Ohe'o Gulch (a tourist trap, but a must-see nonetheless), kayaked and snorkeled in a coral reef in Hana Bay, and had numerous wonderful home cooked meals thanks to Ekena's full kitchen and dining area. I didn't get the chance to meet Gaylord, but I talked with his wife Robyn several times and she was great to chat with about the house, their history and Hana in general. You get the distinct feeling at Ekena, and in Hana in general, that life is much simpler, slower, and in many ways more fulfilling than it is in the congested big cities and suburbs where most of us come from.

There were only a couple VERY minor negatives, and I want to stress that these did not detract from our experience at all, but I thought they would be helpful to note for future guests. Because you're high on a hill, sound travels farther than you might think, and some nights we heard several dogs barking rather energetically from down below. It really wasn't a big deal but it did jolt us out of our "Ekena trance" from time to time. Also, be prepared for possible insects like cockroaches and spiders in the rooms. This is to be expected in a jungle habitat so we were prepared heading in, but that didn't stop our teenage daughter from having a mini heart attack when she saw a giant (but harmless) cane spider in her room one night. Again, nothing worth truly worrying about.

Ekena is a truly incredible place and highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Steve and thank you for such a glowing review of your time at Ekena and in Hana. You provided lots of good suggestions for others that will follow and I am happy that the house worked so well for your family. Ekena is in such a blissfully quiet part of Hana that you do, indeed, hear sounds that you might nor be able to hear in most other places on the planet. This does include the occasional howling dog, but also includes the sounds of the wind and rain blowing thru the forest that borders us, as well as the delightful sounds of a variety of birds that live around here. We are sorry that your daughter saw a large, but totally harmless, cane spider. It is a rare occurrence as they prefer to be outdoors and they are terrified of humans. We do try hard to keep them and all other bugs outdoors, but they do sometimes find there way in. There are bug traps in out-of-the-way places and we are very diligent about trying to control them. Hana is the tropical, rainforest part of Maui and bugs are a part of that environment. Rest assured that we do all that we can to keep Ekena as free of bugs as possible. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your time here so much. I enjoyed meeting your family and friend. aloha, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Leander, Tx
5

Heaven in Hana

  • 5 of 5

Our first three night on Maui we spent here and we could not have been happier. This is a beautiful little spot in the perfect location in Hana. Robin was the perfect host who greeted us when we pulled in the driveway after a nerve racking drive to Han at night in the rain. The accommodations were wonderful. The views were wonderful to wake up to. More room than we knew what to do with. I should note that beach chairs, boogie boards and ponchos are available with the room. We grilled some steaks one night on the grill since dining is limited in Hana. If headed to Hana again, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Steve, and many thanks for the 5 star review and for taking the time to share your thoughts about Ekena and Hana with others. We love Hana so much that it pleases us greatly when guests enjoy themselves so much while they are here. I do hope you can return someday and enjoy more of this beautiful and authentic part of Maui. Mahalo, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Kahului Maui
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Hotel Travaasa
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Hana Ranch Restaurant
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Waianapanapa
Car: necessary

Close to the famous 7 Pools, Part of Haleakala National Park, We have 5 beautiful beaches in Hana, Fresh water pools and gorgeous waterfalls, the best hiking on Maui

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hāna House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low season
Sep 12 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
High season
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

The Jasmine suite rents for $275/night, plus tax, for 2 people and $350/night, plus tax, for 4 people. Our larger grander Sea Breeze suite rents for $375/night plus tax for 2 people or $450/night plus tax for 4 people.

We accept MC, Visa, or personal checks. 50% deposit at time of booking and balance is due in full a month in advance of your stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hāna House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king bed or 2 extra-long twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers