Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront! 2BR 2Bath, Comfort and Great Ocean View! Amenities! Relaxation!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo

Overview

About the property

2 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6. Solar heated pool.

Komo mai (welcome) to Maalaea Kai! Our guests love it here! We invite you to experience the Aloha spirit in our upscale oceanfront condo where you can pamper yourself and rejuvenate your spirit. Island style quality furnishings, central air conditioning, and quality bed linens are comfortable and inviting. Each bedroom has a private bath. Custom finishes and paintings by local artists enhance the island motif. There is a generous DVD collection and two flat-screen TVs for movie aficionados. Soak in the panoramic view from the lanai; watch the humpback whales breach during whale season. Stretch out on the putting-green lawn next to the shore. For adventuring, you are a few steps to the pool and beach. A short walk to the east takes you to the three-mile-long Sugar Beach and wetland sanctuary; a five minute walk to the west takes you to Maalaea Harbor Village teeming with shops and restaurants, and the Maalaea Harbor Marina for snorkeling, fishing, and diving excursions. Two blocks away, there is a world class aquarium Maui Ocean Center (The Hawaiian Aquarium and Hawaii's Top Rated Family Attraction). For close casual dining, we recommend Beach Bums at Maalaea Harbor Village. Of course, for those home cooked meals, the kitchen comes fully equipped, with espresso machine, coffee grinder, blender, and more! Aloha!

(Check out the festival's weekly Wednesday film series at the spectacular MACC...Maui Arts and Cultural Center...located nearby in Kahului.) There are also books and table games for your use.

For those on a working vacation, we have free high speed wireless internet for your use.

As owners and manager, we are delighted that you are considering our condo for your vacation. We enjoy the many amenities and activities in the surrounding area. Maui is listed as the number 1 island in the United States according to Condé Naste TRAVELER. Aloha! We look forward to hearing from you and to helping you book your next vacation at Maalaea Kai.

GET # W46841391

Carl and Michele, and Virginia

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Carl Gann
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

All directions were very clear and helpful, from-- getting to the condo from the airport; finding the parking space; gaining entrance (combo and suggestion of having a flashlight in hand for late arrivers); notes on wall as to keys for laundry room and swimming pool access; and notebook in drawer with directions for appliance usage or troubleshooting. The unit was clean and had many dishes, pots and pans, beach towels and chairs; small cooler; reading material; and the list goes on. It was really nice to have some spices in the cupboard. The manager was very responsive to my concerns regarding a very slow bathtub drain and a plumber was there to fix it the next day. The community barbecues and tables outdoors were very convenient and easily shared with many residents. Whales and turtles were fun to view from the condo and grassy ocean front.

Elsie K
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 19

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 947 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sleeper sofa is oceanfront!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Unlimited Local Phone Calls, Two Phones and Answering Machine, Unlimited High Speed Wireless Internet access for laptops, Full Kitchen (including juicer, espresso/cappuccino maker, coffee grinder, coffee maker, blender, toaster, grill, accessories) with oven/stove, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, refrigerator, ice maker and water filter, cooking utensils provided, blow dryer(2), curling iron, linens provided, iron/ironing board, laundry facility, pool (shared), oceanfront gas grills (shared BBQs), beach equipment (chairs, umbrella, mats, towels, cooler, games), Reserved Free Parking Space, No Smoking.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront! 2BR 2Bath, Comfort and Great Ocean View! Amenities! Relaxation!
average rating of 4.7586207 based on 77 reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
5

Wonderful base for a great holiday

  • 5 of 5

This condo is beautifully appointed and in a great location. There are a wide range of modern appliances, (including an espresso coffee machines, DVD player with a library of DVDs, and more TVs than we have at home) but mostly for us it was just a restful place to be after activities like diving and biking down the mountain.

We felt we were treated like friends, and highly recommend this lovely place. It is a long way from New Zealand, but it was well worth the voyage.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 1
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat. If there were any negative at all it was the narrow parking spaces. Next time we would rent a small car.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location and a very nice property.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The unit accommodated 4 adults comfortably. the location is great and the view spectacular.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very clean and a great place to stay. I would recommend to any one. Great views of the ocean.

  • 4 of 5

We come to Maui every year with our family and love it. We needed a place to stay for a night because we came in a day early and that was perfect for us!!😀😀

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Watch Active Turtles and Enjoy the View!

  • 4 of 5

Honestly, when we arrived in the parking lot, we were sort of worried. The outside of the building was not attractive. However, the moment my family walked into the unit, our jaws dropped. Nice size, large kitchen, and the views from the living room and master were unforgettable. We stayed in December and the winds never ceased to stop, but that added to the ocean waves crashing. Also, there is a slight issue with bugs in the kitchen; however, do as we did by cleaning well after cooking/eating and you will be fine.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

PLEASE rent a different condo…NO Aloha (coming from someone who lives here)

  • 1 of 5

I live & work in the travel industry in Lahaina so was lucky to have a 3 day weekend over the July 4th holiday. I planned a special getaway with my daughter to relax & enjoy, unfortunately there was a severe bush fire which prevented me from getting to the condo on July 2nd. I contacted the property manager, Virginia, to explain that the road was closed from both directions & Ma’alaea harbor had been evacuated so I could not get there, she understood & even shared that the owner should be flexible on some kind of compensation for the lost night. She texted a message he had for me that I should not be scared & if I take the first exit, I can avoid the fire which is burning 2 miles above the highway. Carl is not even here on the island so his condescending advice given was not accurate. Believe me after sitting for 3 hours on the highway only to be turned around by the Police, I made every attempt to start my vacation as planned. The road was closed until 1am on July 3rd, many people had to sleep in shelters. There was NO WAY to get to his condo on July 2nd!

http://mauiwatch.com/2016/07/maalaea-fire-4700-acres-burned-officials-revise-estimates-downward/

I never heard from anyone on July 3rd so I called Virginia to see if it was ok to check in. She had no information, later the owner Carl called me & was very condescending telling me about how everything SHOULD be fine, I don’t know what all your fuss is about! He explained that he didn't have concrete confirmation that it’s ok, as he could not reach any neighbors to see if they had evacuated? Basically I was on my own to decide if it was safe to go there as there seems to be no local property managers anywhere near the condo.

When we finally got there it was disappointing, I felt like a child having all the rules taped to everything, don’t touch this...I think if I play a game I don’t need to be told to return all the pieces to the correct box! Plus the A/C DOES NOT WORK! I live on Maui so am used to the heat but it was 84 degrees according to the thermostat, the air never kicked in even when set to 60! !!! I spent my July 2nd ‘vacation’ afternoon back helping at the office to refund thousands of dollars to our guests that could not get through to our boats, because as 1 of the top 5 Trip Advisor tour operators in the U.S., we understand ALOHA! I assumed that Carl would be in touch to see I checked in ok on July 3 & discuss some compensation for July 2nd but I never heard from him again! Aloha!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The fire on the island was bad and heavy smoke was blowing across the major roads. The authorities close the roads and shut down the traffic due to the fire and smoke. I checked with the authorities and was eventually told the roads were reopened and then later learned that they had closed them again. It was impossible to predict and out of my control. Thousands of people were affected. Even if I was at the condo I would not have gone out driving around to see if the roads were opened because I would have just been adding to the congestion or would simply be blocked. Our on-site manager was called but he was unable to respond immediately as he was fielding many other calls and concerns. He did report to me as soon as the roads were opened and that is when I reported it as being opened. I took calls from travelers wanting to book my condo until 1:30 AM that evening due to the road closures but, of course, it was already booked. When I learned that the air-conditioning didn't work I had it fixed within five hours. I am sorry that this was a bad day and experience for all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High
Dec 19 2016 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Shoulder
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Regular
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$170
 
 
2017 November
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Winter 2017-2018
Dec 16 2017 - Dec 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
2018 Winter
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
1 night minimum stay
$270
 
 
2018 March
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
1 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
2018 April
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
2018 May thru Sept
May 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
$170
 
 
2018 October
Oct 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
1 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
2018 Nov- Mid-Dec
Nov 1 2018 - Dec 14 2018
1 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
2018 Mid-Dec thru End March 20
Dec 15 2018 - Mar 31 2019
1 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$195
$1,365
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $130 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Check Last MInute specials!
Regular Season ... May-Oct ................ $170 per night. (5 night minimum)
Shoulder Season ...November through December 18 and April $195 per night. (5 night minimum)
High Season - December 19 through March $250/night (5 night minimum)
Hawaiian Taxes 13.42%, Cleaning charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Haycraft Park and Sugar Beach

Central Maui, 15 min from Airport. Aquarium 0.25 miles away. The Maalaea Ocean Center and Aquarium is a complex of restaurants and shops about a 5-7 minute walk from the condo.

Photos

Partner Offers