check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Oceanfront! 2BR 2Bath, Comfort and Great Ocean View! Amenities! Relaxation!

54 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Maalaea Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6. Solar heated pool.

Komo mai (welcome) to Maalaea Kai! Our guests love it here! We invite you to experience the Aloha spirit in our upscale oceanfront condo where you can pamper yourself and rejuvenate your spirit. Island style quality furnishings, central air conditioning, and quality bed linens are comfortable and inviting. Each bedroom has a private bath. Custom finishes and paintings by local artists enhance the island motif. There is a generous DVD collection and two flat-screen TVs for movie aficionados. Soak in the panoramic view from the lanai; watch the humpback whales breach during whale season. Stretch out on the putting-green lawn next to the shore. For adventuring, you are a few steps to the pool and beach. A short walk to the east takes you to the three-mile-long Sugar Beach and wetland sanctuary; a five minute walk to the west takes you to Maalaea Harbor Village teeming with shops and restaurants, and the Maalaea Harbor Marina for snorkeling, fishing, and diving excursions. Two blocks away, there is a world class aquarium Maui Ocean Center (The Hawaiian Aquarium and Hawaii's Top Rated Family Attraction). For close casual dining, we recommend Beach Bums at Maalaea Harbor Village. Of course, for those home cooked meals, the kitchen comes fully equipped, with espresso machine, coffee grinder, blender, and more! Aloha!

(Check out the festival's weekly Wednesday film series at the spectacular MACC...Maui Arts and Cultural Center...located nearby in Kahului.) There are also books and table games for your use.

For those on a working vacation, we have free high speed wireless internet for your use.

As owners and manager, we are delighted that you are considering our condo for your vacation. We enjoy the many amenities and activities in the surrounding area. Maui is listed as the number 1 island in the United States according to Condé Naste TRAVELER. Aloha! We look forward to hearing from you and to helping you book your next vacation at Maalaea Kai.

GET # W46841391

Carl and Michele, and Virginia

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Carl Gann
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

All directions were very clear and helpful, from-- getting to the condo from the airport; finding the parking space; gaining entrance (combo and suggestion of having a flashlight in hand for late arrivers); notes on wall as to keys for laundry room and swimming pool access; and notebook in drawer with directions for appliance usage or troubleshooting. The unit was clean and had many dishes, pots and pans, beach towels and chairs; small cooler; reading material; and the list goes on. It was really nice to have some spices in the cupboard. The manager was very responsive to my concerns regarding a very slow bathtub drain and a plumber was there to fix it the next day. The community barbecues and tables outdoors were very convenient and easily shared with many residents. Whales and turtles were fun to view from the condo and grassy ocean front.

Elsie K
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 19


based on 54 traveler reviews

Oceanfront! 2BR 2Bath, Comfort and Great Ocean View! Amenities! Relaxation!
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 73 reviews
Wellington, New Zealand

Wonderful base for a great holiday

  • 5 of 5

This condo is beautifully appointed and in a great location. There are a wide range of modern appliances, (including an espresso coffee machines, DVD player with a library of DVDs, and more TVs than we have at home) but mostly for us it was just a restful place to be after activities like diving and biking down the mountain.

We felt we were treated like friends, and highly recommend this lovely place. It is a long way from New Zealand, but it was well worth the voyage.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
15 1

PLEASE rent a different condo…NO Aloha (coming from someone who lives here)

  • 1 of 5

I live & work in the travel industry in Lahaina so was lucky to have a 3 day weekend over the July 4th holiday. I planned a special getaway with my daughter to relax & enjoy, unfortunately there was a severe bush fire which prevented me from getting to the condo on July 2nd. I contacted the property manager, Virginia, to explain that the road was closed from both directions & Ma’alaea harbor had been evacuated so I could not get there, she understood & even shared that the owner should be flexible on some kind of compensation for the lost night. She texted a message he had for me that I should not be scared & if I take the first exit, I can avoid the fire which is burning 2 miles above the highway. Carl is not even here on the island so his condescending advice given was not accurate. Believe me after sitting for 3 hours on the highway only to be turned around by the Police, I made every attempt to start my vacation as planned. The road was closed until 1am on July 3rd, many people had to sleep in shelters. There was NO WAY to get to his condo on July 2nd!

I never heard from anyone on July 3rd so I called Virginia to see if it was ok to check in. She had no information, later the owner Carl called me & was very condescending telling me about how everything SHOULD be fine, I don’t know what all your fuss is about! He explained that he didn't have concrete confirmation that it’s ok, as he could not reach any neighbors to see if they had evacuated? Basically I was on my own to decide if it was safe to go there as there seems to be no local property managers anywhere near the condo.

When we finally got there it was disappointing, I felt like a child having all the rules taped to everything, don’t touch this...I think if I play a game I don’t need to be told to return all the pieces to the correct box! Plus the A/C DOES NOT WORK! I live on Maui so am used to the heat but it was 84 degrees according to the thermostat, the air never kicked in even when set to 60! !!! I spent my July 2nd ‘vacation’ afternoon back helping at the office to refund thousands of dollars to our guests that could not get through to our boats, because as 1 of the top 5 Trip Advisor tour operators in the U.S., we understand ALOHA! I assumed that Carl would be in touch to see I checked in ok on July 3 & discuss some compensation for July 2nd but I never heard from him again! Aloha!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The fire on the island was bad and heavy smoke was blowing across the major roads. The authorities close the roads and shut down the traffic due to the fire and smoke. I checked with the authorities and was eventually told the roads were reopened and then later learned that they had closed them again. It was impossible to predict and out of my control. Thousands of people were affected. Even if I was at the condo I would not have gone out driving around to see if the roads were opened because I would have just been adding to the congestion or would simply be blocked. Our on-site manager was called but he was unable to respond immediately as he was fielding many other calls and concerns. He did report to me as soon as the roads were opened and that is when I reported it as being opened. I took calls from travelers wanting to book my condo until 1:30 AM that evening due to the road closures but, of course, it was already booked. When I learned that the air-conditioning didn't work I had it fixed within five hours. I am sorry that this was a bad day and experience for all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 5 of 5

I cannot imagine a place that would have been as enjoyable as this property. They go far beyond offering the basics for an enjoyable stay. On top of the usual linen and kitchen supplies, you will find a pack-and-play, chairs, beach toys and supplies, sun screen, games, videos, and many other things to help make your stay memorable. The view is breath-taking, and the property is quiet and peaceful. Loved it!!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We (two parents and a toddler) stayed in this wonderful condo for our week long stay on Maui. We were drawn to it by the affordable price, the view and the second bedroom. The view was wonderful to wake up to and finding a condo with a second bedroom was the best decision we could have made with the toddler. It was so nice to have him be able to take naps and go to bed early while we still used the common areas.

The condo was perfectly clean. The beds were comfortable. The decor wasn't the most modern, but it is well cared for. The kitchen was huge and fully equipped. We loved the espresso maker as there weren't any decent coffee options in the area.

At first, we were disappointed in the location as there are no beaches that are really great for swimming, snorkeling or boogie boarding within walking distance and its not the most beautiful area surrounding the condo. But within a couple of days, we loved being able to drive a reasonably short distance to both Kihei and Wailea to the south, or west to Lahaina and Ka'anapali area. We could hit all those in one day if we wanted. We had friends staying at the same time in Napili, and while their condo was on the beach, it was much smaller and they were really limited to the west and Lahaina, unless they wanted to drive an hour or more. We were also able to make it over to Paia for an hour or two, as it was only about a twenty minute drive and a fun town to explore.

The best part of the location for us was that it was walking distance to the aquarium. It's expensive to get in, but we bought week passes for not much more than a day pass. This was the highlight of my son's trip. We went three times and it never got old for him.

It is a pretty windy area and it was extra windy the week we were there, but it keeps the condo cool without having to use the A/C. The grounds and pool were very clean as well.

This was the perfect condo for our family for this trip and really met all our needs. It felt like home after only one or two nights. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great for 2 couples

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful location, convenient to both Kihei, Wailea and points north, like Lahaina as well as the road to Hana. Being able to watch the sun rise over Haleakala was inspiring and being close to Maalaea Harbor made it easy to get to both the Pacific Whale excursions and snorkeling trips to Molokini. We saw many turtles right outside the condo and loved the relative quiet of the location. The property is in excellent condition with many amenities (like an expresso machine) that made our stay very enjoyable. The only drawback for us was the lack of laundry facilities in the unit itself though it was on the same floor. We highly recommend this place and would go back the next time we go to Maui.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful condo to stay in!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was absolutely perfect! The floor plan layout was exactly how it was described, with an amazing view of the water. We were able to watch whales jumping in the water every morning from our balcony. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean and roomy too. The kitchen had all the necessities for cooking and eating at the condo. We really appreciated having beach towels and a small cooler there for taking lunch/drinks to the beach with us. This was definitely a wonderful experience for us all and would love to rent this one again on our next trip!! The condo complex itself was very quiet too, something that was surprising given the bedrooms were both facing outside, one on the main walkway and one overlooking the pool area. Two couples stayed here and were very comfortable and felt at home. The only downside, and it was a very minor one, was the interaction with one of the people who lives in a nearby condo. He stated we were too loud in talking when we were out on the balcony. We figured it was due to the air conditioning unit that we were talking over, but it wasn't even 9 o'clock in the evening yet so we didn't give him much credit for us being too noisy. We figured it was a condo owner who didn't like renters staying there. Other than that, everyone we ran into in the condo area was very pleasant and welcoming. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Beach Bums

Central Maui, 15 min from Airport. Aquarium 0.25 miles away. The Maalaea Ocean Center and Aquarium is a complex of restaurants and shops about a 5-7 minute walk from the condo.


Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 23 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
Dec 19 2016 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Check Last MInute specials!
Regular Season ... May-Oct ................ $170 per night. (5 night minimum)
Shoulder Season ...November through December 18 and April $195 per night. (5 night minimum)
High Season - December 19 through March $250/night (5 night minimum)
Hawaiian Taxes 13.42%, Cleaning charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 947 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sleeper sofa is oceanfront!
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Unlimited Local Phone Calls, Two Phones and Answering Machine, Unlimited High Speed Wireless Internet access for laptops, Full Kitchen (including juicer, espresso/cappuccino maker, coffee grinder, coffee maker, blender, toaster, grill, accessories) with oven/stove, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, refrigerator, ice maker and water filter, cooking utensils provided, blow dryer(2), curling iron, linens provided, iron/ironing board, laundry facility, pool (shared), oceanfront gas grills (shared BBQs), beach equipment (chairs, umbrella, mats, towels, cooler, games), Reserved Free Parking Space, No Smoking.

Partner Offers