Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Ski and Summer Vacation House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Hot Tub

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom / 2 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Three story family vacation home, with views of the valley, to be enjoyed whether on the deck or soaking in the hot tub under the stars!

The house affords wonderful living space, as the main floor is an open concept with a fireplace. The upper level has the master bedroom, bath, and second bedroom. The lower level consists of the third bedroom, family room (with additional sleeping capacity), and bath. Mudroom permits easy storage of skis or other gear!

With close proximity to Sugarbush – Mt. Ellen, less than a quarter of a mile, skiing is just outside the front door. Mad River Glen is also close as well! Enjoy golfing on the Robert Trent Jones course or play tennis at Sugarbush Resort. The charming villages of Warren and Waitsfield are minutes away-great restaurants and shopping abound.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Liz Baird
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
May 6, 2017

Amenities

Waitsfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Stall showers in both bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Family Ski and Summer Vacation House
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Medfield, ma
5

Great Vermont Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We have rented the house twice and each time we left we knew we would be back. The location is good, close to the mountains at the end of a private road just off the access road to Sugarbush North, perfect for walking the dogs. Each time we rented the house was clean and well equipped with no surprises. For our family with dogs and older kids, it was just what we needed, including a very nice hot tub, a good size living room for all to socialize in, and a room downstairs for kids to get away by themselves. The owner was very responsive and helpful when we called with questions.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, MA
5

Lovely winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house was everything that we needed for a much needed winter getaway, and what a great location, with the ski mountain almost in your backyard. The sleeping accommodations were very comfortable, and there was plenty of room for everyone to hang out and socialize around the wood fire in the evenings. The kitchen is well equipped. The house was very clean and the hot tub was great. I can't say enough about how wonderful the owner is. She made sure everything was ready for our arrival and there were clean linens and the beds were freshly made and there was even hand soap in the bathrooms and trash bags in all of the necessary places. I would recommend this house to anyone that wants to go skiing in Vermont.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mystic, CT
5

Tranquility Unequaled in Mountains of Vermont

  • 5 of 5

With snow falling as we approached the yard, pride of ownership was apparent: the driveway was properly plowed, and attention had been given to details of the exterior of the home. Once inside, we found the furnishings to be functional, yet attractive. An open floor plan and a roaring fire added to the relaxed atmosphere. We headed to Sugar Bush, which was less than a mile away. After a long and rewarding day of skiing, we pulled off our gear in the well-designed mud room, and jumped into the large, high quality hot tub under the stars. We felt that wonderful mix of fresh air in our lungs, and warm water about our bodies. There is nothing like it. We highly recommend this home if you are interested in tranquility unequaled in the mountains of Vermont.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
East Lyme, CT
5

Cozy, Comfy Chalet-like house, with All of the Comforts of Home

  • 5 of 5

From the moment I spoke to the homeowner, I knew this vacation was going to be warm and wonderful as she was when we first spoke on the telephone. Liz went above and beyond to ensure all of our needs were met, including clean and fresh towels, wood for the fireplace, extra blankets and additional information about the surrounding area. The open floor plan is one in which the chef can be included in the conversations throughout the main living area. The furniture is exquisite, and the fire place was warm and romantic. This home would be one for families, couples or girls' weekends. The location is great and the neighborhood quiet. We really want to thank Liz for her outstanding service and attention to detail in both her beautiful home and in her hospitality. We will definitely go back. We recommend this cozy, comfy chalet-like house, which has all of the comforts of home and more.!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charleston, SC
1

Owner isn't ashamed to take your money

  • 1 of 5

Let me preempt this by saying I've stayed with VRBO many times before, and I've never had any issues whatsoever. All homeowners have been wonderful. Unfortunately, I can't make that case any more. As nice as Vermont is, the owner of this property thoroughly ruined my group's experience and memories. Not only did she fail to provide us with the early check-in that had been guaranteed, but she also failed to supply some of the most basic items. Make sure you bring your own hand soap, dish soap, toilet paper, trash bags, and paper towels. Also, make sure you take her lease with a grain of salt. Despite one area of the lease specifically stating "You are not required to refill the hot tub," and another area in bold stating "Do not refill the hot tub," she still saw it fit to deduct $250 from our security deposit. Why? To refill the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is grossly inaccurate. The house is fully stocked with all necessary items! The issue was that the renters left the house in a filthy mess and the hot tub had to be drained, as they had polluted the water. Extra charges for cleaning were incurred. In the spring a collection of liquor bottles were found on the ground that had been tossed from the deck. The cost to drain and re-fill is a minimum of $250.00. Need I say more! This is the only renter who has abused the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Map

Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Sugarbush
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waitsfield House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,000
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 22 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,000
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$400
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $150

Personal check due 2 weeks prior to arrival date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Owner Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties