Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Executive Vacation House Next to Ritz-Carlton

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Executive style, custom contractor built home in a gated community - five bedroom is steps away from the sandy beaches of the Pacific ocean and Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel. The breathtaking two ocean view golf courses, 18 holes each, surround the house. Walk down to the shores for beach activities or just visit Ritz for a drink.



There are five bedrooms and three full baths. Have a reunion celebration or a board meeting at the house. Attend a wedding or a conference at Ritz. Have relaxing and quiet time at the house. Watch movies on the plasma big screen TV or read a book. Kids can play in their huge room or/and watch another plasma big screen TV or play foosball or other games. Ether you can relax at home or you can visit Ritz spa or you can play golf or you can bike everything is ready for your enjoyment.


Kim' review (El Sobrante,Ca) Date of Stay: 09/03/10

Our family stayed at this beautiful home in September in preparation for our daughters wedding which was held at the golf links. We had 12 members of our family staying in the house and it was quite roomy. Within walking distance is the Ritz Carlton, and beach access, along with the golf links for golfing. Its a beautiful home, and I would stay here again.

Susan's review (San Ramon, CA USA) Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We couldn't have been more pleased with this property! Its location and all of the amenities were more than we could ask for. The property owner is extremely gracious and easy to work with. The gated community is immaculate with beautiful paths to walk to the ocean cliffs, down to the beach and around the quiet, well-kept grounds.

Cindy's review (San Diego, Ca ) Date of Stay: June 2006

We had THE most amazing brunch at the Ritz to end our stay!!! Dining at Cafe Gibralter was an absolute feast for the taste buds. We enjoyed Cetrella on Sat., the food and music were delicious and delightful. (Definitely worth it!) We enjoyed shopping in Half Moon Bay and a horseback ride on the beach...picture perfect.

ACTIVITIES (on-site or near by): This coastal house is in the gated community of Ocean Colony, and is a five-minute walk to the Ritz Carlton, beach and walking trails. Near by beaches include Montara, Moss Beach, Half Moon Bay, San Gregorio, and Pescadero.

Enjoy Golf, Biking, Fishing, Shopping, Swimming, Live Music at Ritz, Horseback Riding, Diving, Surfing, Sailing, Walking, Dining at Half Moon Bay or other ocean view restaurants. This is the perfect location to access many California attractions, San Francisco 25 miles, short drives - Santa Cruz, Napa Valley, Great America, Six Flags Marine World, Monterey, Muir Woods, Stinson Beach and Stanford. San Francisco Airport (SFO) is about 25 minute drive.

Nearby (two miles), Princeton Harbor is a working harbor where you can buy your fish fresh or smoked. The protected beaches within the harbor are great for children, and the bluff walks above provide views of the world-famous Mavericks surfing area. A flat paved 14-mile long bicycle trail runs from the Harbor along the beaches past Half Moon Bay and other trails.

The seaside town of Half Moon Bay with its galleries and restaurants are a short five minute drive. Enjoy restaurants, like the Navio at the Ritz-Carlton, or the award-winning Cetrella, or Zagat-rated Cafe Gibraltor, or watch the sunset from the Moss Beach Distillery or go to Duarte's in Pescadero.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017


Half Moon Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 child bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Free Unlimited Broadband Internet Access


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Executive Vacation House Next to Ritz-Carlton
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
San Francisco, CA

Beautiful home and property well-suited for group travel

  • 5 of 5

I visited this home with a small group of colleagues during a conference - we had a wonderful time and a very easy experience working with the owner, and recommend it highly.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Gatos

Magnificent house

  • 5 of 5

We chose this location as it was closely located to Ritz-Carlton where we were attending a wedding. The home was beautifully equipped and just as described on the website. One day we really didn't even want to leave the house to go sightseeing as we just wanted to hang out there! It is just a few minute walk from Rtiz. There is a nice downtown of Half Moon Bay where we found a grocery store (with salad bar, bakery, etc) near the property if you'd like to prepare your own meals. We rented a SUV and it was no problem for us to get it into the gated community which is so beautiful. All in all it was a light, bright, lovely stay. Would definitely recommend this property and would love to stay here again some time!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Menlo Park, CA


  • 4 of 5

Our three night stay in this large, nicely equipped home was very pleasant.

With regard to previous review, we did not encounter any bats, spiders or need for deep cleaning as was asserted. The carpets looked freshly shampooed, the bathrooms and kitchen were very clean as were all the living spaces in the house. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, glasses pots and pans and all necessary housewares for a party of ten, as we were. The small putting green in the back yard was a particular hit with our two grandsons.

The reviews of this house go back as far as 2010 and there may be some wear and tear on the property through the 10 years of rentals. But the house is a very comfortable space for a large group in a beautiful neighborhood with access to all of the attractions of the Half Moon Bay coastal area. We would certainly rent again for another family retreat.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not As Advertised - Dated - Needs Cleaning and Maintenance

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house in July 2016 for a 9 day family vacation. House is in a great location within walking distance to the Ritz (3 blocks - not visible from the house). However, there has been very little upkeep to the property - note positive reviews were from 2011 and 2013 (I didn't). Landscaping is all overgrown. We were greeted by bats in the entry way that left their droppings outside the door. We were disappointed that the outdoor fireplace was not usable due to tree overgrowth. Deep cleaning of the house is required along with an exterminator. Spider webs throughout the house along with substantial amount of dust. Property needs some TLC before being rented again, especially given the amount of money paid for this rental. Missing smoke detectors and dead batteries in the keyless entry and thermostats added to our concern. The property owner was contacted and made aware of the deficiencies, along with pictures. Property owner responded and did offer a cleaning service while we were in residence. We declined due to not wanting to be disturbed during our family vacation. We simply felt the level of cleaning required would take a significant amount of time. Before renting this property, I would suggest that you request updated pictures with time stamp to ensure you are getting what you are paying for.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My husband and I have been renting this house for the past ten years and never had a single negative review. Here is the answers to the first one. As a matter of our policy, in rare events when a renter expresses any concerns with cleaning we offer to make extra cleaning and we did not have any problems with anyone else but Stacey. Stacey expressed some concerns with cleaning and we offered extra cleaning for her. Stacey declined it. Here is a quote from the renter's review "Property owner responded and did offer a cleaning service while we were in residence. We declined ..." Stacey writes "Clearly, this property has not been used in some time" . If anyone would look at our renting calendar then one could see that she moved in the same day when other renters moved out and they did not have any problems. Stacey writes "We were disappointed that the outdoor fireplace was not usable due to tree overgrowth." Our Community does not recommend us to use the outdoor fireplace and it was there for decorative purposes only. Action: The outdoor fireplace is removed. Stacey writes " Landscaping is all overgrown." Action: We changed our gardener to the new one. Stacey writes "We were greeted by bats in the entry way that left their droppings outside the door." Action: We checked for bats and did not find any. We believe that most of remaining statements are untrue due to a scandalous character of the renter.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

First Class

  • 5 of 5

"Sure it's expensive, but:

My wife and I, both 70, have been around the world many times. We have noted that there is one immutable law of human nature: no matter where you are or what you buy, you get what you pay for.

If you want first class memories, go first class.

And this house is just that. First class. The furniture, appliances, beds, TVs, internet---all first class, spotless, maintained.

We absolutely loved our 19 day stay; the scenery, golf, hotel, daily walks on the promenade and the beach, barking back at the seals, lunch at the local beanery, Joe's====unbeatable. From the moment you pass through the guard shack, you will see how beautiful a community can be.

We recommend this house and Anna, the owner, without reservation. Especially Anna---she jumped on the little problems we had, and they were resolved immediately.

What a place!"

© 2014 Microsoft Terms Privacy & cookies Developers English (United States)

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house for about 6 weeks in the summer of 2011 and could not have been happier with our experience. The house has four upstairs bedrooms and a down stair den that has a pull out couch for conversion into a fifth bedroom. The kitchen was absolutly lovely, with all of the appliances one could ask for, and two dining areas, a formal dining room and a breakfast table. The backyard was nicely sized for kids to run around in and it has an excellent fireplace and BBQ that is more than accomodating. However, the best part of this house is the location of this property, in a very well secured gated community and about a 10 minute walk to the Ritz and another 10 minute walk to the beach, but you can drive 2 minutes and be right at the beach. HMB downtown is about a 5 minute drive and there are so many restaurants up and down the coast line, you really can't ask for a better location.

The owners were very accomodating and easy to work with. In fact, we had one of the fire alarms sounding for a new battery late on a Saturday and they owners has their property management team within 2 hours to take care of the matter quickly. We would love to lie and say we would stay here again, but due to our outstanding experience, we purchased a home nearby!

Great place and I really couldn't recommend this home any higher.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Golf Links
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Indoor pool


Rates & Availability

Half Moon Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer months
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 20 2017
6 night minimum stay
Winter holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $250
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until the booking is confirmed.

Please contact the owner for the quote.

OCCUPANCY: Occupancy shall be no more than 12 persons.Owner has worked hard in determining the full capacity of the rental property, and has chosen to ensure your comfort, as well as the protection to the house.
Should Owner become aware that Renter has more people in your rental than are specified, Renter agrees that full Security Deposit is forfeited, and additional renters will be asked to depart. This is strictly enforced.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing

You might like these similar properties