Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 cottages on Whalen lake/ Baldwin MI Sleeps 12. Steps from sandy beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 cottages. Ea has 2 bdrms , kitchens, & sleeps 12 total

Come here to Northern Michigan in the woods and away from the city to TWO COTTAGES linked to each other and to the water's edge. Walk down the sidewalk with a cup of coffee, or a glass of wine and smell the pine and watch the ducks and geese swim.

Red cottage

•Bedrooms have queen-sized, pillow-topped beds

•Sleeping sofa also queen-sized

•Large living room with picture window overlooking lake

•Large dining table, plenty of seating

•Well-equipped kitchen with plenty of room for many chefs

•Updated bath with shower/tub combo

•Covered porch with view of lake

•Deck with steps to beach

•wood-burning stove

Gray Cottage

•Two bedrooms

•bedroom One has queen-sized bed

•bedroom Two has double bed

•Sleeping sofa and daybed provide additional sleeping arrangements

•Updated bath with step-in shower, warm tile floors

•Fully equipped kitchen with antique sink

•Super deck for lounging and outdoor eating

Cottages are on the water

•Sandy beaches

•little/no vegetation, great for swimming

•Dock for fishing or stepping into the provided boats

•Fishing

•Private no-wake lake

Fire pit at water's edge, Sunsets and star gazing from either the picnic tables or on the water in the pontoon paddle boat...

Other amenities include internet access and satellite TV, washer/dryer

Golf course, gambling, wine country, excellent fishing streams and sand dunes near by:

Cottages are just east of Baldwin MI, between Ludington and Reed City on US Highway 10.

5 minutes to Baldwin offers iconic eating establishments, ice cream parlor, fudge and coffee shops.

7 minutes to Pere Marquette trail head, canoe and kayak rentals. Baldwin River fishing, Manistee National Forest

10 minutes to Marquette Trails 18 hole golf course

30 minutes to Ludington for antiquing, Lake Michigan charter fishing, and balloon rides

45 minutes to Silver Lake Sand Dunes

1 hour to Manistee and Little River Casino and Lake Michigan

1 and a half hours to Traverse City shopping and Ole Mission Peninsula Wine Trail

More Details

Property Manager
Peggy Herman
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2018

About Peggy Herman

Born in Kalamazoo MI and raised in Texas has made me a traveler. I bought these cottages in hopes of having myself a lake cottage for retirement. And I will one day! So I treat them as if I was going to be there soon and invite my guests to enjoy them until I can get back to Michigan, which I do every chance I get. I also have this great love of remodeling and decorating and so I have many projects for the cottages. We completed the re-do the living room in the red cottage by tearing out the massive (and leaning) fireplace and opened it up with more windows and higher ceilings and a new wood-buring stove. We built a concrete walkway to connect the buildings (helps keep the cottages clean) and added a new deck on the gray cottage a couple of years ago. We updated the interior of the gray cottage with new flooring, new paint and updated furniture.

Peggy Herman purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Peggy Herman chose Baldwin

Baldwin is where the fishing and hunting and swimming in a clean lake is. It is comfortable and clean cottages. It is summer time in northern Michigan (like the song.) It has a great fall show with all the colors and then, like I can't say enough, there is great water, great fishing, and friendly folks in nearby Baldwin.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottages look out on a wonderful lake that if you will just paddle out to the middle of the lake at night and look up at the milky way (yes, it is still there) and then be prepared to count the falling stars (last time it was 5) you will find yourself at peace, enjoying your family and company. Growing up, we always had one special trip to Lake Michigan with a bunch(!) of cousins and friends, and now when I am at the cottages, I feel like I am doing it all over again, just it is now at Whalen Lake, a lot more intimate and a lot more comfortable when we fall asleep!

Amenities

Baldwin Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Red
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Gray
  • Both cottages have totally remodeled bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Red Master - 1 queen , Pillow top
    Red 2nd - 1 queen , Pillow top
    Gray Master - 1 queen , Pillow top
    Gray 2nd - 1 double , Pillow top
  • The Gray cottage has a pillow-top queen bed, a pillow-top double, a double hide-a-bed and an extra thick double futon. The Red Cottage provides queen pillow-top mattresses in the bedrooms and a queen hide-a-bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Pedal Boat
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • swimming
Notes:
Fire pit is located next to the lake.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
2 cottages on Whalen lake/ Baldwin MI Sleeps 12. Steps from sandy beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
5

Beautiful relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family of 12 rented the two cabins at the end of June, we have went on numerous vacation over the years, cruises, disney, gatlinburg. And we all agree this past vacation was our favorite. The kids loved the boats, swimming, fishing. The adults enjoyed relaxing and fishing and havering adult time at Nite with a drink by the campfire. Owner and caretakers were very friendly and helpful. Cabins were clean and plenty of room for all of us. Would definitely recommend, we plan on returning next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful quaint home In Baldwin Michigan. Incredible Sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Peggy

Thank you for sharing beautiful home with us. The Sunsets were incredible, we couldn't ask for more!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Noisy and in need of upkeep

  • 1 of 5

I am pretty flexible for fishing weekends and this was close to Baldwin and the flies-only section of the PM, but this is one I would not stay in again. There are 2 cottages on this property and the picture shows the "red cottage" which looks cute and was the one we thought we were renting--the lease we received from the owner said "red cottage". As it turns out we had the "grey cottage" being told on arrival that the red cottage was rented though no one ever appeared while we were there.

The grey cottage is an old 2 bedroom cottage so close to US 10 that rumbling traffic on the highway can be heard all night long. The bedroom is not more than 30 feet from the roadway. The lease stated that we were to bring our own linens or be charged $50.00--thankfully we did bring our own since the linens that the cleaning lady presented (she had to be called over since the key was not in the lock box) were ones not suitable for rags.

Things were picked up but floor was dirty and needed to be swept. Plates, pots and pans, and rest of kitchen needs serious upgrade. Beds are old and need replacing. Bathroom is okay, but furniture is a mishmash of items.

2 nights of no sleep.

This cottage is not ready for rental at the price listed. It needs serious outdoor painting, sound protection from roadway, and indoor upgrade.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, as I recall, you inquired and booked the day just before the day you arrived. I am in Texas and was not onsite as you mention “upon arrival” you were told something. Both cottages are well appointed, clean and up-to-date. Our rental site on HomeAway includes pictures of both the interior and exterior of both cottages. So, there should have been no question what each looked like. You requested the cottage with the most beds which was the gray. We discussed your particular needs and that was the gray cottage. The red cottage is perfect for family gathering with a large kitchen/dining/living area with two beds while the gray cottage has 5 beds which was perfect for a fishing party such as yours. Together, the two cottages work enormously well for large groups/families. There is nothing hidden or overlooked in my post, pictures and descriptions of the two cottages. We have done numerous major updates to the cottages. And every year we make more improvements. In the gray cottage, we have completely renovated the bathroom right down to heated floors. The living area just had new flooring installed 2 years ago. The “mish-mash” of furniture includes leather recliners, trundle bed, and hide-a-bed. This works well to accommodate our guests with additional sleeping needs; to augment the two bedrooms. There are no “old” mattresses in the gray cottage. I sleep in the gray cottage every time I stay. If you had no sleep, that was your choice. Giving a rating of ONE because of old pots and pans or not swept is unfair but I agree we need to replace the pots and pans and will do so this spring. We did just add an entire matching set of dishes this year, so not sure what the issue was with plates. Regarding linens: I purchase new linens every year to replace any torn or stained linens. We have 14 sets of bed linens so I doubt that the housekeeper would purposely give you rags. Every spring we inventory our linens and donate those that are worn to the local animal care center for their use. In 2018, linens will be included at no charge. This part of northern Michigan is sparsely populated and little commercial enterprises. We do have a lot of RVs, boats, etc. passing by, but most of those are traveling on the weekend and not at night. You are wrong to say the cottages are 30 ft from the road. We are safely nearly 100 feet from the 2 lane road. No mention of the fire pit/boats? So! You have reminded me of my commitment to happy vacations. THANKS!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for a long weekend for a birthday. It's a beautiful property for a family to be together. Great accommodations and amazingly affordable. Not only will I recommend this place and be back, but you are missing out if you pass this property by.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family fun

  • 4 of 5

This is a great spot for a wonderful family vacation!

We had the time of our lives

The Roses

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Caledonia
5

Very nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5

A very nice place to stay within close distance of Baldwin. Easy drive to river(s) for kayaking,canoeing, fishing, etc. Lake is nice, with a decent bass population. Owner worked with us to meet our needs.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Grand Rapids
Nearest Ferry
33 Miles
Ludington
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Marquette Trails
Nearest Motorway
14.5 Miles
US Highway 131
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Cattails
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Whalen Lake
Car: necessary

Baldwin is 2 miles away. Great local eateries such as Jones Ice Cream parlor (great ice cream!), Debbie's Bar and Grill and Government Lake Lodge Restaurant. Marquette Trails Golf Course (76th St) is a friendly yet challenging course that has reasonable rates.There is even the local bowling alley. Baldwin hosts the Blessing of the Bikes In May each year and the Troutarama Festival is in July. Manistee National Forest and Pere Marquette River are just a few minutes away providing great hiking, biking, hunting and fishing. Lake Michigan and great sunsets are just 30 minutes away. Charter fishing, airplane rides, and balloon rides are available. Crystal Lake and Looking for entertainment for the adults? Manistee hosts casinos and Traverse City and the Leelanau Peninsula are great for delicious food and wine. Even the fabulous Mackinac Island is just a couple of hours away.

Other Activities: snowmobiling

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $79

SUMMER RATE INCLUDES BOTH COTTAGES (EACH COTTAGE HAS 2 BEDROOMS, BATHROOM, FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHENS, LIVING/DINING ROOMS WITH SATELLITE AND INTERNET) DECKS ON EACH COTTAGE, FIRE PIT AND PONTOON/PADDLE BOAT. SLEEPS 12 MAXIMUM.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties