Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Stunning Oceanfront ~ Turtles Swimming Right in the Backyard

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1 full bath, sleeps 2

Tucked away on the most beautiful side of the Island, our spacious, 700 square ft., and comfortable country hideaway is located 45 minutes from Honolulu/Waikiki. Surrounded by the ocean and the mountains, you will experience the timeless beauty unique to this place in the islands. Whether it be enjoying the ocean sunrise from your living-room, taking a coffee break out on the deck, or drifting away from the real world amidst the dancing waves, you'll find yourself relaxed and feeling like you are truly in Paradise. Sea turtles can be seen swimming right in front of your eyes in the backyard.

We welcome you to experience our simple island living in this spaciously comfortable haven. Words are just not enough to describe what a wholesome Hawaiian experience is. Other than the natural beauty of the islands, the 'spirit of Aloha' is what truly made Hawaii so unique. As your hosts, we are committed to introduce you to this special spirit of Aloha so that your Hawaiian vacation will bring memories for a lifetime.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

Amenities

Hauula Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Air-conditioned bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Stunning Oceanfront ~ Turtles Swimming Right in the Backyard
average rating of 4.78 based on 50 reviews
Dillingham, AK
5

Awesome Romantic Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

We are visiting from Dillingham, Alaska and Springfield, Missouri. We found this place online and fell in love with it. I knew it the moment I saw it. The weather was gorgeous & typical for the area. Tish the owner was fantastic & helpful with all our needs (& fabulous!!!). We were looking for a place that was romantic & would create an environment to fall in love and Oh, how well it delivered!!! This place was everything I dreamed of. We focused more on enjoying each other & the environment & this place made that easy. Our every dream of what we hoped for became reality. Thank you so much for the memories that will last a life time.

Justin & Kim

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
21 6
5

Amazing Honeymoon Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Wow! We had such an amazing time in Hawaii at this spot! Tish outdid herself with her hospitality. We were in Hawaii for two weeks & loved every minute of it!! This was the best spot to stay at!! Not to far from North Shore which was one of our favorite spots!! We loved coming back to enjoy all the peace quiet! Every time we came back to the home we spotted sea turtles, an octopus, & a whole bunch of colorful fish! Definitely worth the price & worth the stay! We pretty much did it all while we were in Oahu. From swimming with sharks in Haleiwa, snorkeled in Hanauma Bay, drove up to Waikiki for a catamaran boat ride, Germaine's luau, Turtle Bay, Lanai Kai, Sharks Cove, Dole Plantation, Pearl Harbor. We had a blast! Thanks so much to Lance & Tish for everything!! Highly recommend this rental. Tish was there for us anytime that we needed her and we listened to all the spots she told us to go! We can't wait to go back!!

Love,

Pilar & Fred Newberry

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pilar & Fred, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. I hope you can come back to visit the island with your family next time. I appreciate your kind words. Wish you all a Happy New Year! Aloha from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Port St Lucie, FL
4

Little Cottage on the Water

  • 4 of 5

We arrived on Thanksgiving Day for my brother's wedding that weekend. We were so excited about our trip - first time to Hawaii - and Tish was great to work with! She share our enthusiasm and offered helpful information. Both Tish and Lance were very accommodating, making us feel welcomed. The home is right on the water and I enjoyed watching the sunrise very day. The home was clean and equipped with all the essentials. The bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for us. We travelled all around the island and enjoyed many of the sights while we were there. The sliding door is difficult to move at times so we bought some WD-40 and that did the trick! It is not the owners fault; the seawater splashes up on really windy days. There was a family of four that came later in the week and stayed at the other upstairs apartment and we all shared the yard. I only mention this because I was not aware there was an apartment on the property that would be rented out. I thought we would have the home to ourselves. They were nice and it didn't bother us because we didn't spend time outside too much since it rained most of the time. Overall I would recommend this home. The location is great. It is clean and comfortable. Owners are wonderful to work with.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cynthia, Thank you for having stayed with us. We are right on the ocean, all renters have access to the ocean via the garden area. I appreciate your understanding. Wish you a Happy New Year! Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Garnett, KS and B.C. Canada
4

Lovely back yard, lovely view.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a week in this rental. This unit was quite large. The best thing about this property is the back yard. Right on the water. Wonderful views. There is no beach, but you don't need one. We were glad there was no beach as it added privacy. There is a nice little beach a block down the road if you need one.

The free internet was great. Strong and fast in the apartment but there was no reception when you walked out the door into the back yard. Not a big deal.

The floors need a good cleaning. They were filthy. Sweeping is not enough. The couches had lots of sand in them. There were also a few maintenance issues. The screen door would not close completely and bugs got in at night and bit us up quite badly. After that my husband found a broom handle that he propped in the screen door. We had trouble locking the patio door as it was so old and worn. The outdoor shower did not work. One of the loungers in the back yard only had one arm. Minor things but it would be nice to have them fixed.

When it rains water comes in thru the front patio terribly. This just can't be helped. It rained several times a day, every day we were there. The weather here is not like Waikiki.

Be aware that this is a shared property. There is a 3 bedroom apartment upstairs and behind this unit that you have to share the back yard with. This is not mentioned anywhere in the write up for the rental. For the first 4 days we had complete quiet and privacy. Then the family of 7 arrived in the apartment behind us. They were pretty nice people but there was no more peace, privacy or quiet. 7 people in that small back yard with us, with kids running around screaming is not what we were looking for. At night the kids walking/jumping on the floor above us was loud and disturbing.

We only had to use the air conditioning in the bedroom one night to get away from the bugs. There is really good air flow that air conditioning is really not needed,

The snorkeling in front of the rental wasn't very good. However, there were lots of huge sea turtles which we loved to watch.

There was a Foodland, McDonalds and Dominos right up the road. The polynesian cultural center is also close by. If you want wine or any kind of alcohol you have to go way out of town. Nothing in that area sells alcohol because of the Mormon influence.

Tish and Lance were very nice and welcoming. They even let us check in early.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda, Thank you so much for having stayed with us and we also appreciate your input. We have improved some things that were mentioned. We had friends that came to visit us while you were here, I apologize for the inconvenience. Much aloha from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego
2

Pretty place, nice area, property not as described

  • 2 of 5

The area and the location are very good, on the water, and good view. There are green turtles to be seen from the front.

However, please be aware of the following issues:

1. Air conditioning ONLY in the bedroom, and somewhat noisy

2. Only fans in living room, and if it rains, as it did quite often when we stayed, we were asked to close the sliding door to the front, as water gets in. This made the living room into a sauna, even with fans.

3. There is no beach. One of the pictures showing a small area of beach in the front of the property is probably very old. The beach is totally gone. A small beach is within walking distance.

4. The towels supplied were very few - 4 of each type, so we had to do laundry every day. Thankfully this property has washer/dryer

Also, we had to ask for paper towels, there were none supplied.

5. The tub was very slippery, so we had to purchase a rubber mat, which the owner reimbursed for 3 weeks later. The owner scolded us for not asking her for it, but in our way, she should have been aware of it, as it is a safety issue, and we should not have to ask for it.

6. There is very little room in the bathroom to place any toiletries and cosmetics. The small medicine cabinet was installed with a forward tilt - or ended up that way - so most things placed there fall when you open the doors.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review - we were happy to accommodate you during your stay in Hawaii and hope you enjoyed it! Unfortunately, the beach can come and go depending on the tides of the ocean. Luckily, there are beaches within a short walk like you mentioned, and world class beaches within a short drive. We are concerned for our guests' safety and are sorry you found the shower slippery. We would have gladly supplied a rubber mat upon request as we had one available. Any hopes for reimbursement should first be authorized by us as we would need to keep this under control. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely, Peaceful and Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed 8 days and loved every minute of it! The skies day and night were beautiful. Weather was great, even when it was a bit overcast and rained, it was over in no time and still gorgeous. The air conditioner in the bedroom was great on the warmer nights. Loved to listen to the ocean all day and night. Tish was great and was there if we needed her. House was cleaned and stocked with main staples, all we needed was food. Loved the location and the quiet. Felt like home. Would love to come back! Thank you Tish!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim & Kim, great to know that you enjoyed your stay and the island visit as well. Hope to see you come back again soon. Mahalo from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

We are located 45 minutes from the airport in the rural town of Hauula. Houses here were designed as beach homes for city folks who would enjoy spending time in the country to unwind their busy lives. Today, Hauula is still a popular getaway place for local people to come and relax themselves on the beaches all along this side of the island.

The Polynesian Cultural Center, the Mormon Temple and grocery stores are 6 minutes away. Kualoa Ranch to the south and Turtle Bay Resort to the north are 15 minutes from us. Sunset Beach, Waimea Beach, and Pipeline to the north and Valley of the Temples to the south are 25 minutes drive respectively.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hauula Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.96%

Rate is based on 2 guests. $25.00 per night for each additional guest.

Accept Visa, Mastercard, & personal checks. 4% processing fee.
30% is required to confirm a booking. Balance is due 60 days prior to arrival.
Cancellation policy is stated on the rental agreement which will be sent to guest when guest is ready to confirm booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties