Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Breathtaking views & easy access at 4,000ft.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 1-6)

***** There is a 1-week minimum rental with an in-season (May - October) Saturday change-over. Children under 18 and pets are not allowed. There is an up-charge for more than 2 guests ($20/person/night), to a maximum of 6 guests. *****

This spectacular, 3,000 square foot, custom-built home with breathtaking views of the Smoky Mountains, is 30 miles southwest of Asheville, North Carolina at an elevation of 4000 feet, in a secluded but easily accessible area with nearby streams and hiking trails. You will enjoy fabulous mountain views from every room, as well as when you are relaxing in the spacious hot tub, barbecuing and dining on the deck or sipping a cold drink while watching the colorful hummingbirds and songbirds.

You will be located only minutes away from many popular attractions such as the palatial Biltmore House and Gardens, Maggie Valley, Cherokee Indian Reservation & Casino, Blue Ridge Parkway, numerous championship golf courses, horseback riding, exciting white water rafting, llama trekking, snow skiing on Cataloochee Mountain, Great Smoky Mountain National Park and Railroad, gem mining and delightful craft and antique shopping and dining in Asheville, Waynesville and Dillsboro.

Both the gourmet and novice cook will appreciate the inviting kitchen with abundant wood cabinets, beautiful granite counters, convection oven, side by side refrigerator, gas stove, microwave, cookbooks and spice collection. Besides relaxing in the large, comfortable living room with a 100+ channel HD TV w/premium channels, wood burning fireplace, VCR and CD player, you may retreat to the loft to enjoy a good book from our lending library or write a letter or send a fax from the office. For folks that are Internet junkies, there is even high speed Internet access via cable modem for your laptop computer.

If you are especially fortunate to reside in the master suite, you will love the stone fireplace, flat-screen TV, panoramic mountain scenery, walk-in closet and easy access to the deck and hot tub adjoining the bedroom. The huge master bathroom boasts heated marble flooring, a large Jacuzzi bath, two sinks, separate shower and vanity area. Linens, drapes and wallpapers throughout the home are coordinated in the latest Laura Ashley and Waverly designer prints.

ACCESSIBILITY: Even though the house is three levels, you drive up to the house on the main level and there are no steps, you simply get out of your car, which is on a cement drive with a covered carport and walk into the house. The main level has the living area, kitchen, master bedroom and access to all the decking.

QUOTATIONS & BOOKINGS: In order for the owner to provide an accurate quotation, the following information is needed from the renter. The arrival and departure dates; the number of people in your party, including any guests, children or infants; the approximate age of all guests; if you would like to use the outdoor hot tub; an indication that you have reviewed our rental agreement and agree to its terms; a description of what you plan to do while you are in the area; if you qualify for any of our "specials".

Once the renter has provided the necessary information, the owner has provided a quotation and the renter has expressed an interest in renting, the owner will send a rental agreement via email. The renter will print and complete the agreement and send it to the owner, along with the appropriate deposit or payment, in the form of a check. See the section titled DEPOSITS & PAYMENTS. The renter has two days to confirm their intentions via email. If the renter indicates they will be sending the required payment, the reservation is held for seven days, allowing enough time for the rental agreement and deposit to be sent by mail. If the rental agreement and deposit are not received within the allotted seven days, the reservation is subject to cancellation.

SPECIALS:

-$100 discount on a one-week rental, to any returning guest as a way of saying thank you for coming back.

-$100 discount for reservations longer than one week

-$100 referral bonus to any former guest who refers a new guest. The new guest must say who referred them at the initial inquiry and the referral bonus is paid to the referring guest when the deposit is refunded to the new guest.

DEPOSITS & PAYMENTS: A $500 security/damage deposit is required to make a (one week) booking and will be returned within thirty days of departure, provided the home is left in its original excellent condition. Please note that for bookings longer than one week, a 50% deposit is required. The remaining balance, including all extra charges, the security deposit, taxes and fees is required one month prior to arrival. If a booking is made within the 45 days prior to arrival, the entire amount, including the deposit is due.

CANCELLATION POLICY - If a cancellation occurs during the time the owner has received the deposit, but prior to receiving the rental payment, the deposit will be forfeited, unless a new booking is secured and a successful rental is obtained. If a cancellation occurs after the owner has received the deposit and the rental payment, the entire rental amount is forfeited, unless a new booking is secured and a successful rental is obtained; however, the deposit will be refunded regardless.

INSURANCE:

The renter is encouraged to avail themselves of the various types of insurance that are offered through VRBO. See the section titled “Get protected now”.

More Details

Owner
John McLellan
Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About John McLellan

We purchased the land in the mid 70's and decided to build in 1998 and use it for vacationing and possible retirement. It was a labor of love and now we are enjoying it as much as we can.

John McLellan purchased this house in 1998

Why John McLellan chose Waynesville

We have several good friends who come to the area regularly and some who live here full time now.

What makes this house unique

It's easy to say, but not so easy to find; great view and easy access. Only 1.5 miles off the main road and paved all the way. You drive into a covered area and in three steps you ate standing at the door. Most people marvel at the quality of construction and attention to detail. Please visit the owner's website for lot's more information and photos.

Amenities

Walker-In-the-Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , On lower level
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , On the main level
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , On the lower level
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In the loft
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , On the lower level
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Hot Tub or Jacuzzi, Gas BBQ Primary Renter Minimum age of 30

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Breathtaking views & easy access at 4,000ft.
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
Sarasota, FL
5

A Mountain Jewel

  • 5 of 5

Hummingbird Heights is even better than portrayed by the photographs. We have stayed here exclusively for every vacation for 10 years in a row! That just says it all. If you want all of the luxury that you desire, this is the place. We could go on and on about all that the property has to offer. There are no cramped rooms like a hotel. Every room has a great view and is very spacious. The kitchen really does have everything you will need for any kind of meals. There are so many things to do in the local area along with all your favorite stores. I'm sure we will vacation somewhere else in the future, but Hummingbird Heights will always be our first and top choice.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

INSULTED RENTERS

  • 3 of 5

10/8/16 This was a return visit. The first time my husband and I stayed for a few days. Arrival 5 pm. Brenda, cleaning and house manager, was not finished so we left for 2 hours. On our return she was just finishing up but master bedding was still in dryer. No problem, I can make the bed. It is now after 7pm and we would like to get settled. The house is immaculate, view is beautiful. When we left, I had time to get towels done, and sheets in the washer. Brenda, loved us and we were given a good report to the owner John.

Second visit, we shared the home with our grown adult children which included daughter in law and her mother. Six of us, so we used the downstairs. There is nothing stating an extra cleaning charge for use of the downstairs or extra people. In which I think it might be a good idea to do that in hindsight of how things were handle with us.

We were gone most of the time, Zipline, Whitewater Rafting, Train Ride Dinner, and Asheville. Each of those activities were all day, including meals. We cooked one dinner at the house and maybe 2 breakfast's. When we left Saturday morning (driving back to Florida) I stripped all the beds, put all the towels and sheets in laundry room, started a load of sheets. I notified John we were out of the house a 9 a.m. I received an email from him that Brenda, cleaning/manager was overwhelmed with the mess. I could not believe it, the house was in no worse condition than the first time we stayed, other than the down stairs being used!!! We were hardly at the home other that sleeping and watching TV. We went back and forth with John, he said something about the trash was going to cause her 2 trips, and spills not wiped up. My daughter in-law's mother was up every morning early and wiping down the counters! When I challenged him on insulting my integrity on the truth in how we treated his home, then it was Brenda found syrup on the table and some drips on the floor!!

The purpose of this review is I am

highly insulted over spilled syrup?

This house is advertised for up to 6 people. But Brenda prefers on couples, less cleaning for the cleaning fee John gives her. John, also mentioned a gratuity, but his house is not like a hotel or B&B? For Brenda to get paid extra, she had to make a complaint; he had to refer the complaint to us, and insult us! So he could deduct $50. out of our deposit money. If Brenda, should be paid more it shouldn't handled this way. We didn't deserve it!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is certainly not consistent with every other review we received over a span of 15 years of renting. However, if you rent to enough people, something like this is bound to happen. It appears there was a misunderstanding about the fees. So in my defense, I’d like to quote directly from my page on VRBO, which is also consistent with our rental agreement, which can be found on the VRBO website. First the rental fee; “Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest”. There were a total of six guests. At the time I sent the invoice, Dorothy indicated there would be only four guests. The fee for the additional two guests was taken out of the security deposit. Apparently this came as a surprise. With regard to the cleaning fee, again from the VRBO website and the rental agreement; “Our cleaning fee is based on the actual charge from the cleaning service. This is done to encourage renters to leave the house as clean as possible and to have the charge reflect the actual work required. The minimum cleaning fee is $100. Any additional charge will be reflected in the deposit refund.” She was charged an extra $50. I think what upset Dorothy more than anything else, was when I explained the amount of work required, over and above a normal two guest cleaning. I don’t know if it was the additional cost or if she was embarrassed (insulted) by my having to explain how most guests leave the house. She pressed me for details so I explained one issue relayed by my housekeeper (the syrup). Regardless of the number of people or the number of meals they prepare, I expect if someone spills a sticky substance like syrup, on the dining table and on the floor, they wipe it up and not track it around the house. Who is so unaware that they don’t realize they are tracking syrup around on a hardwood floor? There were other examples that I did not divulge, but apparently this was enough for her to take offence. I also explained that some guests like to leave our housekeeper a gratuity, especially when there is so much work to be done. It is certainly not required or expected, but this is how many of my guests express their gratitude, especially if they plan to return. I do expect guests to treat my home as if they were staying at a friend’s home while they were away. Where you clean up spills, wipe countertops and sinks and go out of your way to minimize the amount of work required to put the home back to its original condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Wonderful Anniversary Week

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at "Hummingbirds Nest" for our anniversary. This well equipped home is everything as described and probably more. This modern, spacious and beautiful home has a wonderful view that stretches for miles. Each day had a different sunrise and sunset depending on the clouds. The home is centrally located so one could easily visit Asheville, Grandfather Mountain, Blowing Rock Highlands, Bryson City, Linville Gorge and Caverns or travel the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is also designed to stay in and relax reading on the large deck with just the sounds of nature and the activities of the hummingbirds. The owner was very active making sure all was in order. He responded in a timely manner regarding questions we had about the property. We would return without any hesitation. There was some nice restaurants just minutes away in Waynesville. I would encourage anyone who wishes to spend time in the mountains to consider "Hummingbird Heights" as a great destination.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PERFECT and BEAUTIFUL

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I only had a chance to stay for a few days because that was all that was open at the time we were in the area. I can't say enough for this home. The views are breathtaking, the home is clean to a T and all you needs are met. You just can't ask for more. John, thanks for our stay and we hope to get back soon and stay longer. Dorothy and George

PS My husband loved video taping the hummingbirds feeding.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Hummingbird

  • 5 of 5

Our visit was great! The house is beautiful and well-equipped. The views are magnificent. For someone with mobility issues the house worked really well.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rome, GA
5

Restful Bliss

  • 5 of 5

Hummingbird Heights (HH) was the perfect location to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were looking for a home with a beautiful view where we could spend time together on the deck soaking in its beauty and reading good books. We especially enjoyed the entertaining hummingbirds, and marveled how close they would come to us. We were also looking for a home that would work for someone who uses a manual wheelchair, and HH level entry and open floor plan on the main level worked well. Also the master bedroom had lots of room around the bed making transferring from the chair to the bed easy. Getting into the master bathroom was a bit tricky, but my husband was able to jockey my wheelchair around to get in without hitting the door frame. Also, John went out of his way to make our stay easy and comfortable; in the master bathroom he installed a handheld shower head and bought a shower bench and a removable grab bar. I would recommend this property to people with disabilities who can also walk with assistance because there isn't enough room to get a wheelchair into the separate room where the commode is located, and the shower has a slightly raised door ledge that you will need to step over (it isn't a wheel-in shower). We are thrilled we have discovered a wonderful home that will meet my special needs, and we hope to return to its restful bliss again very soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Laurel Ridge
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
19/23
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Walker-In-the-Hills House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Year-round
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 1 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Wood-burning fireplace $50 + Tax
Hot Tub fee / week $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee (minimum) $100
Tax Rate 12.0%

RENTAL PERIODS:
During our high season (late May - early November), our rentals have a one week minimum and run on a Saturday to Saturday schedule. The weeks of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years also have a one week minimum, but we are flexible on when the week begins. However, if you see that the time you are interested in is only a few days away and is currently available, we may make an exception.

CLEANING POLICY:
Our cleaning fee is based on the actual charge from the cleaning service. This is done to encourage renters to leave the house as clean as possible and to have the charge reflect the actual work required. The minimum cleaning fee is $100. Any additional charge will be reflected in the deposit refund. If the downstairs is used, there will always be an additional charge over the $100 minimum.

OUTDOOR SPA:
The outdoor spa is not operational from December through April, due to potential extreme weather conditions and the possibility of freezing. We learned that lesson the hard way, to the tune of over $3,000!

WOOD-BURNING FIREPLACE:

The wood-burning fireplace is only available from October - March. There is an additional fee of $50, which reflects the cost of firewood and cleaning of the fireplace.

Please note that for bookings longer than one week, a 50% deposit is required. The remaining balance, including all extra charges, the security deposit, taxes and fees is required one month prior to arrival. If a booking is made within the 45 days prior to arrival, the entire amount, including the deposit is due. Renters are encouraged to purchase cancellation insurance, which can be found in the Vacation Protection section.

The owner's rental agreement will override any other written or implied terms.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties