check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ron Castagnera

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Exotic Jungle Get Away - Jungle Yoga Retreat- Macaw Bank Lodge

15 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cayo Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Lodge, 6 Bedrooms all detached, and private, 7 Baths, (Sleeps 20)

a jungle adventure without sacrificing comfort! We offer private comfortable cabanas and cabins with private deck or veranda. We are a self sustainable eco lodge built mainly from renewable, reclaimable resources.

Situated in the fertile Macal River Valley and set on the beautiful Macal River. We offer a 50 acre private nature reserve as well as gardens and well groomed nature trails. There is an abundance of flora and fauna affording some especially rewarding bird watching.

We have a full service restaurant and bar on the property as well as a gift shop.

The lodge is built in typical Mayan style architecture,and is the perfect get away for someone wanting an authentic complete escape from modernity to rejuvenate themselves in a peaceful, tranquil, jungle retreat, while enjoying the adventure of a lifetime.

Our 6 separate cabanas are furnished with kerosene lamps for lighting, adding to the ambiance, as well as electricity, private hot water baths, private deck with screened verandas, and screened windows.The rates are based on double occupancy and is per cabin per night. Our cabins are designed to fit two to four persons comfortably and are perfect for family reunions, honeymoons, friends getaways and yoga retreats.

Attention Yoga Instructors!!!

Ask about our Yoga Retreat Specials. We have recently added a 18X18 yoga platform under the shade of an ancient Guanacaste Tree facing east. Minimum six persons and three nights stay.

Beautiful prime central location for touring many sites of particular interest and natural beauty. You will not be disappointed should you choose this unique, small, owner operated lodge !We are geared toward the more independent travelers, but are more than happy to assist with tours such as the magnificent ATM cave, Green Hill Butterfly farm, Caracol, ziplining,and is also the ideal spot for all the active Ornithologists out there.

Keywords: Cabana Cabin, Yoga Retreat

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Ron Castagnera (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Ron Castagnera

An environmentalist at heart. This is a pristine environment which we envisioned and created from raw jungle. As a lover of wildlife and nature I fell in love with Belize. The low population density as well as the cultural diversity were also a big draw for me.

Ron Castagnera purchased this lodge in 1993

Why Ron Castagnera chose Belize

This riverfront environment is breathtakingly beautiful. Romantic park with private setting. Great for honeymooners, families, or friends get away. The location is perfect for exploring many interesting, historical, ancient archaeological sites, caves, rivers,and locations of particular natural beauty. There is an abundance of wildlife which can be sighted regularly on the property.

What makes this lodge unique

Flora and Fauna abound in the area. Ancient Maya temples, river activities.Close to town,market, and shopping. Peaceful and quiet. Family bonding. Communing with nature.A complete escape from the hustle and bustle of western culture. A unique , unforgettable life experience, you will totally renew yourself, relax, rejuvenate, renew here at beautiful Macaw Bank, in Belize.

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Exotic Jungle Get Away - Jungle Yoga Retreat- Macaw Bank Lodge
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

Loved it...

  • 5 of 5

Excellent experience, love the food, Ron and Al treated us like family and not just guests, the staff was very friendly and helpful, we will be back next year... Much love to you Ron.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beyond what we expected!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 wanted an authentic Jungle Experience while in Belize & The Exotic Jungle Lodge was just that & SO MUCH MORE! We booked 10 days at the lodge & I have to tell you after a long day of traveling & finally arriving at the Jungle Lodge we wondered if we had lost our minds & could really stay for the full 10 days. I can tell you after a great nights rest, despite no a/c, with fans blowing & night temperatures lower our cabana was a comfortable temperature & we slept well. We decided to give it a shot.

The grounds & atmosphere were amazing & very well kept. Each cabana was neatly tucked in it's own private area with well groomed, natural foliage all around. The walking paths were great & made getting around so easy. Ron & his staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable & had an amazing experience. We ate breakfast & dinner at the Lodge. WOW! The food was amazing & freshly prepared. We never ate anything twice the full 10 days we were there! Ron & his staff did a great job providing us delicious meals that combined local foods with things we were also familiar with too! My kids are picky eaters & they were great at altering things to make sure everyone loved their food! They didn't just make a simple little meal. For breakfast they made fresh fruit juice along with a plate of local fruits. For dinner every meal started off with an appetizer & ended with a dessert.

Ron was so great at telling us everywhere to go as we toured Belize. He helped us everyday & we saw a lot of Belize while we were there. If it wasn't for Ron & his help & suggestions we would have missed some great things! All within a short driving distance (2 hours or less) we saw several Mayan ruins, Big Rock Falls, Blue Hole, cave tubing, cave kayaking, Belize Zoo, "The Showers", Rio on Pools, & the San Ignacio weekly open market. We also wanted to see the beach so we took a day trip to Placencia which was about 3 hours away. Oh & the Lodge is right on the Macaw River so everyday we would walk down the path & the kids would swim in the river to cool off before dinner. We loved coming back to the Lodge after a long day touring & sitting down & talking with Ron all about it!

They would clean our room everyday while we were gone & replace towels & bed linens about every 2 days. Ron's customer service & friendship started before we ever got there. We look forward to going back! If you want to experience the Belize Jungle, this is the place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Eco Lodge

  • 5 of 5

Macaw was great. Ron is fantastic and runs a fantastic lodge that is on the smaller side compared to its competitors in the area. Ron provided a comfortable room with hot water and a nice bathroom for me and three friends. The room had fans, but no AC unfortunately. The atmosphere was very comfortable and laid back. Macaw has a beautiful property, a great little bar area, and unbelievable staff. Rueben provided excellent service the entire trip and made our trip even better. You are sure to enjoy this lodge if you are looking for a smaller, more laid-back feel.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge

  • 4 of 5

Perfect spot to explore Mayan ruins, butterfly farm, birds and jungle experience. Hosts provide superb meals and drinks in their delightful outdoor dining room.

Pleasantly small with uptown amenities, flowers and hummingbirds everywhere.

Can't go wrong with this lovely spot.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful jungle adventure

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place for people looking for outdoor adventure! We were a group of 5 adults and thought it was a lot like an upscale summer camp. The cabins are well furnished in cheerful colors and very clean. The food was excellent and everyone was very helpful in accommodating the diabetic in our group. We looked forward to each meal and the interesting variety of dishes. It was particularly enjoyable to have a drink in the comfortable dining/bar area before dinner and talk to Ron and Al about our day.

The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pictures do not do the property justice. The trails were also great and had enough easy sections that even our least athletic member could enjoy jungle walks. There were more challenging sections for those of us that wanted to wander a bit farther and get a true feeling of being alone in the jungle. Two of our group are birders and everyone at the lodge was helpful in telling them the best places to spot the huge variety of species. The rest of us enjoyed the pretty hummingbirds that came to the feeders all around the dining area and listening to the many bird calls in the trees.

The river is also beautiful but it was unusually cold while we were there so we didn't get the opportunity to try out tubing. Maybe next time!

It is a great location to explore the Mayan sites which was one of our main objectives. Ron and Al were fantastic at helping us plan our visits and assisting with tour reservations when we needed them. The roads to some of the sites almost qualify as off road adventure and make the trips very exciting (do rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle!).

It would be a great place to take kids and let them explore the jungle environment. Things like the huge iguana that posed for photos in the middle of the road are a great experience for all ages.

This is a trip where you know for sure you're in a different world!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
5

An excellent getaway

  • 5 of 5

I'm glad I found and booked this loge after looking at numerous other resorts and lodges across Belize. I wanted to experience a holiday that I have never experienced before and I had it. The location is awesome, nestled in between the mountains and along side the river. During the mornings the breeze helped keep me cool, I went from -6 Celsius where I live to plus 30 in the jungle. At night the temperature was warm and very comforting along with the sounds of nature. During the mornings and late afternoon all sorts of birds were easily observed. The property had well marked trails which looped back to the main trail, allowing maximized habitat for animals and provided good shade. Ron and Al were very knowledgeable and informative about tours and surrounding activities, they helped me book a few tours. If it wasn't for them I would have missed out on a few of my most memorable highlights during my entire stay in Belize. After a tour I looked forward to returning to the lodge and tell them about my adventure. Most of my meals were breakfast and dinner at the lodge, the food was very authentic and well presented. Every day I had something different due to a good selection of dishes. I would put Macaw on anyone's list who is going to belize, it truly is a hidden gem. Thank-you Ron and Al for making my stay a rewarding and memorable one. I'm looking forward to seeing you guys in the near future.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Belize Zipline Rainforest Canopy Tour
Tikal National Park
Actun Tunichil Muknal
"The most exciting, and popular site. "
Caracol
Nearest Airport
78 Miles
Phillip Goldson International
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
to Xunantunich Mayan site
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Western Highway
Car: recommended

volley ball, croquet, tubing on river, bad mitton, close proximity to many Mayan sites,nature trails, excellent bird watching,hiking , gardens, caves, butterfly farm, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, and many other activities

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cayo Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low season
Jun 13 2016 - Nov 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$110
$700
$2,700
 
 
High Season
Nov 16 2016 - Apr 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,015
$4,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$110
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Children under 12 years staying in the same unit stay for free. The rates are based on double occupancy per cabin per night plus 9%hotel tax and $15 USD for extra persons in rooms.We also offer multiple rental discounts if 3 or more cabins are booked together.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cayo Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , outdoor shower , The Cotton Tree has an open air private outdoor shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , outdoor bathroom for restaurant and bar
  • Each bathroom has its own hot and cold bath, toiletries are supplied, daily housekeeping.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , It contains one set of bunk beds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , It contains one set of bunk beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Additional bed can be placed if requested.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , It contains one set of bunk beds
  • Each Cabanas consists of a Queen size bed and some may have a set of bunk beds and others such as a roll out bed and youth bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
If you would like a jungle adventure and be comfortable at the same time, this is the place for you ! We are geared to more independent travelers. river front property ,in valley surrounded by mountains, private secluded cabanas in exotic jungle setting,many activities within close proximity, Mayan ruins, tubing on river. bird watching,caving, butterfly farm, botanical gardens,pine ridge, nature trails, restaurant, bar gift shop, gardens in the jungle with a park like setting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties