Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Thunder Lodge 2BR/2BA Ski-in/Gondola-Out Luxury near Main Street!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,155 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible Queen Sofa, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4-6

Our Mountain Thunder Lodge home is one of the most luxurious condos in Breckenridge and at the great location. Nestled in pines only 1 ½ blocks from Main Street (known for its restaurants, shopping and night life), the lodge is SKI-IN and Gondola-OUT. The Gondola Ski Back trail is just out the back door and the BreckConnect Gondola is only 200 yards away. The gondola provides fast and easy access from the condo to the heart of the ski area at the bases of Peak 7 and Peak 8 where you will find on-mountain dining, ski schools, rentals, etc, and several other lifts including the Independence SuperChair, the Rocky Mountain SuperChair and the Colorado Superchair.

Stepping into this impeccable mountain lodge you will be welcomed by a grand entry of slate and log. Just beyond the front desk, a large gathering area tempts you to relax by a massive rock fireplace with several inviting overstuffed sofas and chairs. Your private equipment (ski) locker is just around the corner and a hottub, overlooking the Gondola Ski Back, is just out the back door.

Your suite is only a few steps away by elevator and opens into your lodge-like living area with a balcony to enjoy the gorgeous views, beautiful moss rock fireplace and an open gourmet kitchen with its granite counter tops, slate floor and knotty pine cabinets. The master and guest bedrooms, as well as the two large bathrooms, will greet you with this same warm and well appointed look and feel. Our home is also equipped with free high-speed Internet.

The master bedroom boasts a king-size pillow-top bed while the guest bedroom is furnished with a queen pillow-top bed. Both bedrooms are equipped with cable TV, smart TVs, a DVD player and a ceiling fan.

The the living area is the main entertainment area. Above the moss rock fireplace sits a large flat screen TV with a smart BluRay player and surround sound (capable of streaming music via Bluetooth or mini-jack connections.) The room also converts into a third bedroom with its new sofa-sleeper that makes a very comfy second queen bed. A ceiling fan and air-conditioner are installed for maximum comfort.

The east-facing windows and balcony from this second floor condo provide unobstructed and gorgeous views of historic downtown Breckenridge, the Blue River Valley and the Continental Divide just beyond. As a corner unit, you'll have maximum privacy and quietness along with additional inspiring views to the south.

Although the location of this condo makes it easy to just leave your vehicle parked for days (if you even bring one), the free and private underground parking also makes it easy to use your vehicle. For added convenience, a free and private shuttle picks up at the front door to take you around town. Also, the Summit Stage, a free county wide bus system, stops across the street.

Mountain Thunder Lodge also boasts one of the only outdoor heated swimming pools in the area and is open year 'round! The heated changing rooms and adjacent hottubs make the pool a great play area for all ages. The lodge also has it's own small park with picnic tables, BBQ grills and a playscape for young children. As our guests of Mountain Thunder Lodge, the facilities of One Ski Hill Place (including the indoor pools, theater, and bowling alley) and Crystal Peak Lodge (with its billiards room and steam room) are all available for your use, free of charge.

The entire complex is non-smoking and does not allow pets.

Please see our pricing and calendar, below. Also note the comments from our guests not only from North America, but also from Europe and Australia. Our particular condo unit stands above the rest with its surround sound, ceiling fans in every room, and air-conditioning. We take pride in our mountain home.

Your hosts,

David & Diana

Breckenridge Business License #42720

Cancellations will be partially refunded. Please refer to the attached rental agreement for the actual cancellation policy.

Keywords: Condo, Condominium, Breckenridge, Ski, Ski in, Slopes, Gondola

More Details

Owner
David & Diana Studebaker
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About David & Diana Studebaker

Hi,

We are David and Diana living in Arvada, Colorado (a suburb of Denver.) We are working parents who have always loved the mountains as a cool summer get away and as a winter break to ski & snowboard with our two daughters. We hope you enjoy our home away from home as much as we do.

David & Diana Studebaker purchased this condo in 2006

Why David & Diana Studebaker chose Breckenridge

As you know, there are many ski resorts in Colorado. We chose Breckenridge for our second home / condo investment because we just love the town. Unlike the other “man-made” resorts, Breckenridge is a real town with a real (long) history that you can see when walking Main Street. The town's natural beauty is unsurpassed. Also, unlike most other world-class resorts, this town is very relaxed and unpretentious in feel and prices.

Specifically, we chose Mountain Thunder Lodge for many reasons… Number 1 is the ideal location relative to the Ski Back ski trail, the BreckConnect gondola, and Main Street. Please read more in the condo’s description. Secondly, we love its upscale and well-maintained amenities and conveniences. It is certainly one of the nicest, most popular, and most highly rated condominiums in Breckenridge.

What makes this condo unique

The benefits of Mountain Thunder Lodge are too numerous to list here, but a few of the more obvious benefits to visitors include… In the winter, simply jump on the BreckConnect Gondola across the street for direct access to either Peak 7 or Peak 8. Then ski to your back door at the end of the day (or for lunch) instead of taking a bus, etc. In the summer, just hike or bike from the back door of Mountain Thunder Lodge for gorgeous nature adventures. Regardless of the season, Main Street is an EASY 5 minute walk for dining, shopping and entertainment, and when you return to the condo you have amenities such as 3 hot tubs and an outdoor heated swimming pool to relax with, or just snuggle into the well-appointed residence. Some say, “It’s all good”…, at Mountain Thunder Lodge “It’s all great!”

Guestbook comments from the owner

Welcome. We are fortunate to have recently purchased this new, beautiful Breck condo. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. Please look over the information in this website and contact us if interested. We look forward to hosting you in our new home away from home. And PLEASE, leave your comments for us and others.



Cheers,



David & Diana

Arvada, CO
Jan 2006
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Breckenridge Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1155 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Refer to rental agreement for actual cancellation policy.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • The large master bath contains double vanity sinks, a separate shower/toilet room, and a tub/shower combination. The guest bath contains a single vanity and a tub/shower combination. Three people can shower/bathe simultaneously.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) In master suite., Queen size Beds (1) In guest bedroom., Baby Cribs (1) A pack-n-play type crib and a highchair/boosterchair are kept in the condo., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) A queen size sofa sleeper is in the living area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sailboat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This unit includes Hair Dryers, Humidifiers, Fans, Iron with board, Safe, Alarm Clocks, Etc. The Fully Equipped Kitchen includes, a Blender, a Coffee Maker, a crockpot and a Toaster. The property includes a private Playground with picnic tables, a playscape, an Extensive In-house Work-out Facility, Private Ski Lockers, and Bicycle Racks.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(149 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain Thunder Lodge 2BR/2BA Ski-in/Gondola-Out Luxury near Main Street!
average rating of 4.9597316 based on 150 reviews
Golden, Colorado
5

Fantastic get away

  • 5 of 5

My family couldn't have been happier with this property, its proximity to downtown Breck, and (from my son's perspective) the pool! We had great weather and easy hosts in David and Diane. Thanks a lot!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2009
  • Stayed: November 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your nice comments. We hope you enjoyed the condo as much as we do. -David & Diana
Did you find this review helpful?
4 4
5

Location, Location, Location

  • 5 of 5

The Mountain Thunder Lodge is situated in the perfect location. Walk to Gondola, ski in at end of day. The condo also offered a perfect space to relax after a long day on the slopes. On the days we had the energy to move, the town is just a few blocks walk. Our stay was perfection!! Thank you and we can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this condo that was a ski out. Location and amenities all well worth it. Gondola literally 5 min walk across the street. Main Street 5 min walk ! Well kept.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
5

Overall, this place was a great find.

  • 5 of 5

The decor put us in the ski mood before we even hit the slopes!

The living room with the fireplace and the balcony views was very cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed. We prepared breakfast every morning and came back for lunch each afternoon. The ski lockers were very convenient and we loved the underground parking garage. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The beds, pillow and linens were all very comfortable so we slept really well each night. The common areas were in great shape and very inviting and the desk staff was helpful and polite. The building was quiet and peaceful.

Overall, your place was a great find. The walk to the gondola was relatively short and the ski in feature was so fun. The location and amenities are tough to beat. We honestly can't think of anything that was missing except for more snow. We would love to stay there again!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property. Clean, comfortable and great location!

  • 4 of 5

Only complaint is that the main pool and hot tub were filthy could not use.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed the condo so much with its great location. However, your comment about the pool and hot tub disturb us because we take pride in the facilities at Mountain Thunder Lodge and we don’t believe it is accurate. Instead, we believe you simply made an honest mistake. Since your stay, we have spent a lot of time inquiring about and researching the pool and hot tub area, due to your review. Specifically, we asked other guests, the front desk, and Mountain Thunder Lodge management about maintenance and the conditions of the pool and hot tubs, and drove to Breckenridge for in-person inspections. Our findings were: 1. Upon in-person inspection, at first glance, the hot tub water looks a bit cloudy and dirty to us as well, but on closer inspection, the water is actually perfectly clear, with the exception of bubbles against a dark concrete background. The hot tub has a different color concrete used to line the tub just below the surface of the water. We believe the water really looked bad to you, but actually was quite clean. (Another possible, but not likely, explanation is that chlorine tablets are added to each hot tub daily and they tend to create a slight cloudiness and slight foaming until they fully dissolve in about 30 minutes.) 2. The pool is a little similar in that there is blue tile at the water line all around the pool and just below the water the pool surface changes to a concrete that has a greenish tint. It initially looks like it could be algae just below the water, but it is most certainly not. The pool water is beautiful and sparkling, just as in our pictures. 3. The pool and hot tubs are all maintained on a DAILY basis by a trained professional pool/spa technician. He reports that there have been no such problems with dirty or cloudy water the entire year and much longer. 4. When specifically asked, our following guests saw no problems with these facilities. 5. The front desk and management have had NO guest complaints or comments from ANY of the 40+ units regarding anything like this…Only positive feedback on the condition of the pool and tubs. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the pool, but for these reasons, we don't believe there was a true problem with either the hot tub or the pool during your stay (or at anytime). We are sure that during your next visit you will agree that these facilities are really special and quite beautiful. Thank you for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very thorough, from the time we booked the rental, until we got home. The place was perfect for ending the day on the 4 o’clock run. Thank you for having us.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Train
85 Miles
Denver
Nearest Point of Interest
BreckConnect Gondola
Nearest Point of Interest
Summit Stage Bus Terminal
Nearest Point of Interest
Skyway Ski Trail out the Back Door
Nearest Point of Interest
Main Street
Car: not necessary

Breckenridge has it all!

***Unique Winter Activities include Dog Sledding, Outdoor Skating, Ice Fishing,

***Unique Summer Activities include Fly Fishing (Gold Medal!!!), Championship Golf (5 courses), Alpine Slide, Goldmine Tours, gorgeous parks for Volleyball, Horse-shoes, BBQs, etc.

***Year-round Activities include many Restaurants, Dance Clubs, Out-door Concerts, Festivals, Boutique Shopping and an Outlet Mall with about 100 Shops nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee. $126
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 14.28%

• Discounts for long stays (greater than 1 week) or last minute bookings (inside 2 weeks) may be available. Email or call for a specific quote.
• Until confirmed, rates may vary without notice.
• During Early Ski Season, the Gondola Ski-back Trail behind the Lodge may not be open. Our shuttle service and the gondola will be available to return to the condo after skiing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties