Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Absolutely Beautiful Vermont Getaway - 10 BR/4.5 BA - 5 Fireplaces

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 10
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 10 Bedrooms + (pack n play if needed), 4 full baths & 2 half baths

The Killington Black Diamond Lodge is a 5,000 square foot home that has been designed to capture the beauty of the Vermont country landscape from almost every room. With over 45 windows in the home each guest can truly appreciate the stunning views from the warm, welcoming decor inside. Whether it be a passing moose or bear, the lush greenery of summer, the vibrant colors of fall foliage or the peaceful snow covered tree tops, our home capitalizes on bringing the "outside" in. The House is conveniently located off the Killington road, so the home is close to all the shops, restaurants/nightlife and of course the Slopes! Killington Resort is located at the top of the Killington Road and we are about 2 miles from the slopes. Pico Resort is located less than a mile from the home. It has 10 nicely appointed bedrooms, 4 full baths and 2 - 1/2 bathrooms, 2 living rooms, Bar, Huge commercial kitchen for your gourmet of the group, Dining has seating for 20, 60 inch stainless steel oven, outdoor stainless steel grill, ski locker, Hot Tub, Sauna, 5 Fireplaces, several Flat Screen TVs, Xbox, DVD, Pool Table, Foose Ball Table Washer/Dryer and Wireless Internet, computer access if needed. Due to the size of the home, it actually very cost effective especially for this caliber of home.

Very nice house with all the amenities you could wish for on your Vermont Getaway. The street the house is located on is on the shuttle route. The house has three levels that is built down into the mountain. The house is mostly glass so there are great views out every window.

Keywords: Killington Ski House

More Details

Owner
Yvonne
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About Yvonne

We love Vermont! It is truly a 4 season destination. My husband has put his heart and soul into making the house very nice for our family. We occasionally rent to those that respect and appreciate the effort.

Yvonne purchased this house in 1996

Why Yvonne chose Killington Area

I spent many years renting different condos and houses in Vermont. This house is great because it offers so many different areas to relax and entertain. I love having my family and friends up to ski in the winter or to explore in the summer. Each summer we explore a different swimming hole that the kids love! This property has the places for the kids to play and explore outside whether its sledding, biking or just exploring the woods.

What makes this house unique

The windows in our house give you the feeling that you are outside enjoying natures beauty while sitting in front of fire with a nice glass of wine or hot cocoa. You can soak in the beauty of the Vermont landscape while you are relaxing on the coach or entertaining in the commercial kitchen. It allows your family & friends to gather in the different entertainment areas of the house and have that feeling of togetherness as a group but privacy when you need it. I think that is unique to renting a larger home as opposed to a hotel where you lose some of that in a common lobby or lounge area of a hotel. Thats why this house is perfect for family reunions and the like.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Yvonne:

Well we're home in NJ. Want to tell you what a wonderful time we had. We always enjoy going away as a family each year, but everyone loved your home. Hope everything was in order when we left. Sorry about the Martini glass. I'm glad I got to meet you. My husband enjoyed talking to your husband. Who knew we had something in common. :) Hope you got home safe! I'm sure we'll be in touch. Drop me a line anytime!

Love Dawn
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Killington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Bath - Deep Soaking Tub. Steam Shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 2nd Floor half bath
    Bathroom 4 - combination tub/shower , tub , 2nd Floor Full
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3rd Floor Full
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Bar Bathroom - main floor half bath
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd Floor Full
  • All the bathrooms are nice and clean.
Bedrooms:
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 2 twin/ single , side by side
    Bedroom 8 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 9 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 10 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • All Bedrooms are nicely decorated. Clean with decorative bedding. King size beds (2) King Bedrooms, Queen size Beds (5) Four Queen Bedrooms., (2) Bedrooms with 2 Twins in each side by side and (1) Bedroom with 1 Queen and 1 twin.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The house is perfect for a large group to come together and enjoy the beauty of Vermont. There is also a nice fire pit perfect for roasting smores and relaxing in the summer evenings.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Absolutely Beautiful Vermont Getaway - 10 BR/4.5 BA - 5 Fireplaces
average rating of 4.625 based on 25 reviews
1

Nice house, terrible management

  • 1 of 5

Example of my back and forth after a couple issues with the home. After her response I followed up multiple times with no resolution. Disappointing.

Hi Yvonne-

Hope all is well. We enjoyed our stay in Killington with a couple of exceptions:

1.) The carbon monoxide alarm kept being triggered at the front door. The alarm would go off until someone reset the system. I didn't see anything in the welcome letter on this front and it seriously inconvenienced our stay.

2.) The hot tub was drained by a service technician on the 2nd day. He refilled the tub but it obviously wasn't warm enough for people to use. This was a major part of the reason that we booked the home- it was stormy the 2nd day and we would have preferred to use the hot tub that we paid for.

Given 1.) and 2.) I'd like to request a refund for day 2. Please let me know if you will be able to accommodate.

Thanks,

Josh

**** Reply ***

Hi Josh:

How do you expect someone to correct any issues you are having when you say nothing? We easily could have called the alarm company or property management to address these issues so they could have been correctly immediately. Our property management company is excellent. For example, alarm company can do a reset remotely - takes five minutes. Second, the hot-tub servicer could have filled with hot water if you have any issue.

We can't read minds and all you had to do was text, email or call, but you didn't. I don't think its fair you are asking for a refund. I will call the property management and review the report of how the home was left and I will follow up with you. I really wish you would have said something......we heard nothing and could only assume everything was fine.

Best regards, Yvonne

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Josh Your disappointment is rooted in the fact you wanted a refund & free trip. You feel you should get a refund when you said "nothing" and stayed the entire time and your complaint is for two minor issues. It's unwarranted. Good luck in all your future endeavors.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5

We held our family reunion at the house, so there was a total of 18 people, from babies to great grandmother. It was a summer visit so we took advantage of the nearby Killington Adventure Center which was a lot of fun. The house is rustic, but comfortably furnishe and clean. It was warm and we had all of the windows open so it cooled down pretty well at night. The house is three levels, and the stairs are bit circular in nature, so a little steep and narrow, and therefore a bit difficult for the elderly to manage. The beds were all comfortable, there was plenty of seating in the living areas, and a huge picnic table where we could all sit to eat together (which became the favorite spot in the house). The kitchen has almost every size and kind of pot or pan you could want, and enough dishes for a group this size. The owner was very responsive to all of our questions and needs. We had an absolute fabulous time, with tons of laughter and joy, the house will always hold fond memories for us.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Huge house, off access road. Wood fireplace, hot tub, pool table. Gourmet kitchen.

  • 5 of 5

Slept a group of 16 comfortably. House has everything. Great stay and would definitely do it again.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Remember we give repeat guests priority. Thanks again Yvonne.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had 4 families there for World Cup weekend and we could not have stayed in a more perfect ski house. Very clean, comfy beds, quiet when you want to go to bed. Great kitchen!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious home in ski country!

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family of 10 decided to spend 4 days in Vermont. We were delighted to find a beautiful home in Killington that could accommodate all of us. Everyone had their own bedroom, and a living room on each floor to allow everyone to gather for board games or TV time. The pool table, hot tub and sauna were the icing on the cake. A magnificent kitchen became the main gathering place to share the day's adventures, as we took advantage of all the area has to offer. Many thanks to Yvonne for being accessible during the weeks leading up to, and during our stay. We will hope to make this our annual destination, fall, winter spring or summer.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great house with plenty of room

  • 4 of 5

My group and I (all young families) stayed at this property over the long Labor Day weekend. We had a blast and amazing weather! The owners were amazing in answering all my questions and were very accommodating to all of our requests. The welcome letter they send is full of tips and places to check out during your stay. They did all my activity planning for me! We had one minor problem during the stay and it was taken care of within the hour. I think it would have been even faster if he didn't have to run to the store :)

The kitchen is amazing and I think we all now have stove envy. The six burners, cook top and pizza oven were all utilized since we cooked breakfast and dinner every day at the house. There is also every type of pot, pan and cooking utensil you could ever need.

When we arrived everything was clean. The furnishings are all top notch and so comfortable! Its a very pleasant place to sit, relax and just hang out. The hot tub and sauna were just an added bonus. There is also a fire pit outside that we took advantage of. The yard is great and big enough for outdoor games.

The location is amazing! We were close to everything and there was so much to do. I imagine that there is even more during ski season :)

We had slight issues with two things. The first is that there are ten bedrooms but one of the twin rooms is more life a hallway. You have to walk through it to get to two of the queen rooms and one of the bathrooms is also in this odd area so you have to walk through the twin room to use the bathroom. I think it should be more of a sitting room then a bedroom. We were afraid to put kids in it just in case the people staying in the adjoining rooms woke them up on either a bathroom trip or just going to their bedrooms. The kids ended up just sleeping with us instead. The other, is that the water has a slight odor to it. This just might be a Killington, VT issue as oppose to anything the homeowners could have done. Neither of these issues impacted our vacation!

Thank you again Yvonne and we will definitely be in touch for next year!

Kate

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Rutland Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Foundry, Pickel Barrel
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Lake Champlain
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Killington or Green Mountain
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 4 or 100
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Back Country Cafe, Foundry
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Killington Resort - Snowshed Base Lodge o Ramshead
Nearest Beach
20 Miles
Plymouth Beach

We are approximately 1.5 miles from the slopes both Alpine and Cross Country. The house is on the shuttle route if you do not want to use your car. All the restaurants, shopping and bars are located on one road (Killington Road - also called the Access Road), our street is located just off the main road. Our's is perfect for a large group or reunion or 2 or 3 families to share. The house is mostly windows so there are great outdoor views to be had in the Autumn, Winter, and Summer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Killington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring - Summer
May 1 2017 - Nov 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$595
$3,000
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 23 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$725
$4,000
 
 
Xmas-NYE
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,550
$7,000
 
 
Winter 1
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 12 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,300
$6,000
 
 
MLK
Jan 13 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,650
$7,500
 
 
Winter 2
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,300
$6,500
 
 
Presidents
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,650
$7,000
 
 
Winter 3
Feb 20 2018 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
$6,500
 
 
Off-Season
Apr 1 2018 - Nov 21 2018
3 night minimum stay
$600
$2,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$595
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $300
Linen and Towel Service $150
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cleaning Fee $300. OPTIONAL SERVICES: Linen & Towel Service $250; In House Chef Service - pricing is menu dependent; In House Babysitting Service; Extra Mid-week Maid or Garbage service; Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable