Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Isaiah Davenport-built Historic Row House, Near River St, Sleeps 14

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Enjoy this charming southern city in an authentic, historic, three story row house built in 1822 by popular master builder Isaiah Davenport. This unit has a private entrance and four bedrooms on the top two floors of this renovated home. Original stained glass windows and 180-year-old heart of pine flooring give this home remarkable character. With over 3,000 square feet of living space, this home can accommodate large groups. The antique dining room table seats 10 and is ideal for a large family dinner. Enjoy the view of the city from the open air deck at the top level of the house. Relax in one of the two jacuzzi baths.

Walk just 3 blocks to City Market and enjoy the shopping and dining at restaurants like Paula Deen's Lady and Sons. Walk only 5 blocks to experience the sights and sounds of River Street and all the entertainment found there.

Located just off of Telfair Square, near the Telfair and Jepson art museums, you can easily walk anywhere in the historic district and explore it square by square. The city Civic Center is just 2 blocks away, and the home is convenient to Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD).

Street parking is available and free on nights, holidays, and weekends. The city parking garage is just across the street.

This two-level unit is spacious and well-suited to extended family gatherings. The lower level includes a bedroom with double bed, another bedroom with queen bed, a breakfast room with balcony, dining room, kitchen, bath, and laundry. The upper level provides a king bedroom, TV room, twin bedroom (2 beds), landing with trundle daybed (converts to two twin beds or a king size bed), spacious master bath and roof-level deck.

Two twin beds, one twin daybed with trundle, one full, one queen, and one king bed provide the sleeping space for 10 guest. Addiionally, a portable pack-and-play crib, toddler's mattress are available for smaller guests.

For more than 10 guests, an additional 2 bedroom suite with a bath, sitting room and kitchen is provided. This adds an additional king bed and full bed to bring the number of guests in beds to 14.

Keywords: House, 4 bedroom

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2017

About The Owner

We are a professional couple from Atlanta who decided to invest in a historic Savannah home to help in the city's preservation and also enjoy the joy of this wonderful, charming city.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Why The Owner chose Savannah

Our family fell in love with Savannah when we began to visit the charming city in the early 90s. The transformation of the town from that time to now has been astounding. It is so invigorating to walk the streets and soak in the history and architecture. It truly is a jewel of a city.

What makes this house unique

The 1822 Row House is a large, spacious house so close to all downtown activities. We like to think that it offers a unique mixture of a beautiful, authentically historic house (1822) with tasteful, modern updates (1999 renovation).

Guestbook comments from the owner

You have a beautiful home.. very charming. We had a lovely time.
Jun 2008
  • 1 of 5


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

Isaiah Davenport-built Historic Row House, Near River St, Sleeps 14
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 43 reviews

Best of all worlds

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 10 girls stay and it was perfect! Perfect charm. It is in a great location that allows you to be in walking distance of all of downtown Savannah.

Any more than 10 people may be a little hard to sleep. The bedrooms sleep 7. There is a daybed with a trundle and a comfy couch.

Kitchen is well stocked with pans and plates.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I love this place

  • 5 of 5

My friends (10 total) and I stayed at this home in Savannah for a Bachelorette weekend and for almost all of us it was actually our 2nd stay in this same home. It has so much character, I love all the historical bits of it (original floors from 1800's so cool) and the amount of space you get spans over 3 floors. It was perfect for our needs. The location really is amazing, I feel like you can truly walk to everything (river, local hangouts, etc.). We would definitely stay here again and I always talk about how unique and fun it is to stay here after I return from my trips.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing location!

  • 4 of 5

We booked the house for a bachelorette party of 15! We had an absolute blast!! The location to everything was the biggest plus! The kitchen and dining area were our main hangout spots. The bedrooms are great sizes and not crowded at all! The water pressure in the showers when both showers were on were our only concern(trickling). Keep in mind you are in an antique home not the ritz! The house has do much charm and history! Def would stay again!!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing! I was hesitant to believe that it could sleep 14 people, but after arriving it was obvious that it could! The two master bedrooms have more than enough space for two air mattresses and the living room is huge.

While the house is set up differently than most because of its age, this only makes it even more fun to stay in! We loved that the house had its own personality and all of the little things that come with that. The cabinets had some fun surprises in them that made for some great photos to show people when we came back! (Nothing too crazy!)

The rooftop porch was wonderful; my only caveat being that I wish it had furniture on it. It would have been a great place to sit at night! Next time we'll probably bring some outdoor chairs to use up there because the view is wonderful.

It was a quick walk to all of the bars and restaurants on River Street and easy to find when walking back. There parking deck across from it was very affordable, and street parking was also easy to find.

By far the best place for the price and such a beautiful house that gives you an authentic Savannah experience!

I can't wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ladies' Golf Trip

  • 5 of 5

Other than the weather (it snowed!), our group of 8 ladies really enjoyed our stay and particularly this house. We had the top 2 floors + the studio on the main floor and had plenty of room. The house has a lot of character and we especially enjoyed gathering in the kitchen.

The location is ideal - our event was at the Westin resort on the island and we were an easy 10 minute drive from there. It was also an easy walk to River St.

Robert and Kim provided everything we needed to enjoy the house. I definitely recommend this for larger groups.

I would suggest window coverings in the main floor front room so the bed in there could be used comfortably - other than that everything was great!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Greenville, SC

Very Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

As someone who has been so pleased with previous VRBO accommodations, I rely on the reviews when making my decision. I didn't pay close attention when I booked this place and wished I had noticed the dates of the reviews. Although there are 32 reviews, there are only TWO reviews for 2015, which is odd. This place was shabby and worn. Upon arrival, one of the windows in the queen size bedroom didn't have any window covering. Unfortunately the window was next to the bed and looked out to a public parking garage. This caused a big problem not only for privacy, but for security. The owner's response to our text was that he had been notified about the window but didn't have a chance to fix it. Did he add that someone would come by to install a shade or do a temporary fix? No. We had to come up with a solution. Since we didn't have duck tape to hang up a towel, we found a crib mattress and put it up in the window. Pretty tacky, but we needed something to provide privacy.

We were only there for two nights and since the window situation didn't get solved, we didn't want to waste anymore of our vacation time contacting the owner. When I wrote an email the day after getting back home, the owner said she was sorry it did not meet my standards. She's right!!

Just some of the issues we found: a poorly draining sink in one of the bathrooms and no GFI plug. (That's a safety issue.) The downstairs bathroom didn't have any towel racks--no place for wet towels. The rugs in both bathrooms were disgusting and the rug in the kitchen was in shreds. The coat hangers in the rooms were tossed in the armoires and most of them were old wire hangers that were bent out of shape. The window covering in the dining room was falling down and the window covering in the breakfast area was terribly stained. Some of the bed pillows were yellowed and stained.

Also, the lock box where the key is kept is an issue. It needs attention (perhaps WD40). Each time we used it, we found it very difficult to slide the side piece open to get the key. We had to stand in the rain while struggling to open this lock box.

This place has so much potential! It is in a great location and also has the added convenience of a public parking garage across the street. It is a very spacious house and I'm sure previous renters like the Girl Scout troop found this place a lot of fun! But it needs a lot of TLC and isn't up to the quality of the majority of VRBO rentals.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for pointing out specifics that we need to fix. We want all of our guests to have a great experience, and we want to have the house "just right." We have already purchased new rugs, hangers, curtains, and supplies to make the small repairs. It will all be in place within a few days. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Westin Savannah
Nearest Beach
17 Miles


Rates & Availability

Historic District - North House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change. Quoted rates are for non-holiday rentals. Please contact for quotes surrounding holidays, New Year, MLK, St Patrick's Day, Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving & Christmas.

Payments by Paypal or credit card. Deposit of $450 due at time of booking. Remaining balance due 60 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Historic District - North House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Combination jetted tub/shower.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 twin/ single , Twin day bed, with a trundle. The equivalent or 2 twin beds.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1) One toddler mattress, Baby Cribs (1) One portable crib/pack-n-play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) There are two inflatable mattresses (Queen). The top floor stair landing (approximately 8'x12') has a twin daybed with trundle. The trundle may be used with the two beds in stair step, or as a pop-up so that the two twin beds are the size of a king.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties