Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach house steps to beach, best house in OOB

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms .........4 baths, Sleeps 10-12

Atlantic Ocean, Steps to beach..only one house behind ocean front. This house rents quick so grab your week quick. New kitchen installed on second floor over looking 7 miles of beach...incredible views. Front to back great room. Memories to last a lifetime. Approx. 75 feet to beach.

The layout is as follows: 1st floor: kitchen, Living room, butlers pantry, sun room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, mudroom ,washer and dryer. 2nd floor: open space, new kitchen with granite, Stainless appliances, new master bedroom, 2nd be room w/ queen bed, 2 new bathrooms, new living room, new french doors off the kitchen, hard wood, tile, One living rooms have queen size beds, New french doors off master, Plasma TV, surround sound and gas fireplace.

There are no parties allowed, this is for family entertainment only, we reserve the right to keep deposit and have renters removed immediately! We need a list of all members who are staying in the house upon arriv

Long Term monthly available 2850

More Details

Property Manager
Stephen and Pauline Hodge
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Stephen and Pauline Hodge

Property managers for 13 years. Take care of needs of our customers personally to ensure a wonderful beach living experience.

Stephen and Pauline Hodge purchased this house in 2006

Why Stephen and Pauline Hodge chose Southern Coast of Maine

Steps to the 7 miles of beach. Walk to the center of OLD ORCHARD BEACH. Relax. Private back yard. Listen to crashing surf every night.

What makes this house unique

Steps to the 7 miles of beach.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My family of 4 couldn't have been more delighted! We live in San Diego, first time to the east coast. This house is seriously steps to the beach. It's charming with the first floor keeping its original origin. Rustic with white boards and the original kitchen with farm house sink. This kitchen as owner describes is used mostly as a wet bar. We kept all our beverages and snacks as it was easy to walk off the beach and grab and go. Two beds rooms with two queen beds in each. Bathrooms are original. Second, floor is everything opposite of that... long bar ... beach views everywhere. Ocean breeze. Owners are a text or call away. Owners so down to earth and will meet your needs. We based on that alone will return. Don't over look this gem. The pictures actually do very little to market this property. I'm sending Pauline some as they are. Enter than what she has on this site.
May 2017
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Old Orchard Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No fire on premises. Must get own permit on beach to burn on the beach. VERY STRICK RULES IN OOB
  • No fire in pellet stove in summer season
  • You are responsible for watching your children. Decks, beach, windows. Children should not ever be left alone. You are 100% responsible/ keep them saf
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub
    bathroom 4 - toilet
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
  • 2 bathroom on the first floor, two on the second floor, brand new, Tile showers...bowl sinks, granite counter tops...tile floors, top of the line.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Other - Sectional pull into a queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Absolutely No Smoking, Smoking Results In 100% no refund in security deposit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Beach house steps to beach, best house in OOB
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 15 reviews
5

Beautiful views with excellent accommodations

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful views! Clean, gorgeous home with plenty of space for friends and family. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to EVERYONE!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your family was so wonderful, exactly what we attract to this family home. Thank you for caring for it as you were own. Look forward to seeing you in 2018.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house on a perfect beach!

  • 5 of 5

We had the 3 generations of my family at Pauline's house for a week and I could not be happier that we chose this house. 10 of us fit comfortably with space to spread out for cooking, card games, puzzle working, grilling, and just hanging out. The kitchen was well appointed for the many meals that we had all together. The location is perfect as we had about 30 steps to a very quiet section of the beach. The beach there is amazing with super soft sand and miles of space for walking or running. Walking down to the pier (and the busier part of the beach) was about a mile but perfect for an evening stroll to get the kids ice cream. There is a negative review from June 2017 but I have to say that we had the exact opposite experience with Pauline and this house. We have rented vacation houses for 10 years in this price range and this is one worth going to again.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful family vacation !!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from 7 wonderful fun filled days at this home. The house is literally steps from the beach and the beach front is bar none the nicest, most private and cleanest on the strip. The house was the perfect size for us (3 families -2 adults and 2 kids each) . The open kitchen on the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean was just perfect for breakfast with all the kiddos and the adults spent many a night on the balcony off the kitchen enjoying some drinks and conversation. The owner Pauline is so warm , kind and helpful and only a phone call away. We are from New York and this was our first visit to Maine and I speak for all of us when I say we were impressed by the kind people , wonderful restaurants and beautiful scenery Orchard Beach / Portland has to offer. We will definitely be back and hope to have many more fun times at this perfect vacation home!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a joy to have you. Your children's excitement when you arrived was contagious. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for making our home like your own, so happy it was exactly what you wanted. Warmly, Pauline 🍷
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Nice house and location with some quirks

  • 4 of 5

This is a two story house that has been completely renovated on the second floor where there are two excellent master suites, as well as an open design which is great for groups. Plenty of towels and linens. First floor has two bedrooms and is older. It is one house removed from the beach on short road between the main street in OOB and the beach. There are ocean views.

The house has some quirks that became a bit more annoying as the week went on, and could be addressed with a bit more attention from the owner, who we only briefly saw as we were leaving. Otherwise, it's email and text. First, the upstairs kitchen (there is one downstairs as well) has a huge commercial refrigerator that is very loud. So much so that conversation was affected when the compressor was on. Additionally, there is no freezer in this contraption, so anything frozen required trips back and forth to the other kitchen.

Second, three of the smoke detectors had battery issues during the week, and as the beeping was continuous, and the only contact with the owner was by text, they had to be disconnected to end the sound. Not a comforting matter in a strange house. They came over at some point and fixed two of the three. Next, If you are planning on watching tv at some point, be aware that there are literally dozens of remote controls in the house. An occasional one works, but not completely with the tv it is paired with. There is other a/v stuff as well but again, without working remotes, it's a trial.

Lastly, there was a blackout for a few hours in OOB on one of our nights. We searched for flashlights, found two, batteries dead. Only communication with owner was by text, and no resolution until the next day. Again, attention not paid. In summary, the house is very good, in a very good location. If that's all you want, we would recommend. However, if for the amount charged, you would prefer to avoid the annoyances above while on vacation, then you might want to consider other options.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Eric for your review. It's always good to get feedback, very appreciated. I apologize for not being there your week. It happened to be our vacation week in Toronto. We have a care taker while we are gone and is typically very on the spot. For example flash lights due to a town outage late one evening, he was there the very next morning. Not ideal for a night outage. I can only apologize for that. As for the commercial fridge, it appears to be a 50/ 50 thing. Some love it because of the size. . Some hear it, some don't even notice the compressor. It's 13 years old and may be in its way out so we will definitely keep your review in mind as we pick the next fridge. We have no vacations planned so all future renters get my 100% attention as seen in weeks since you left. As for TVs we are now aware Channel selectors are missing and extra have shown up. No one has said anything these last few weeks so I'll look into it on our turn over day on Saturday. Once again, thank you for your taking the time to review, very appreciated. Warmly Pauline.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about this home, my family and I arrived to sounds of Ocean waves and cool breezes wafting through the house. We had an absolutely wonderful time, the home literally sits steps away from the beach, house was very clean and well appointed. I had a few issues when I arrived (mostly because I'm a guy and don't read the directions which are provided;) Pauline (The owner) was most gracious and handled my questions within minutes. I would highly recommend this house if you are considering renting on OOB...

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect Beach Stay

  • 5 of 5

I rented this place for the week of 4th of July and could not have chosen a better spot. The four rooms worked perfect for us. Each room has their own bathroom and shower if you include the outdoor shower. You are steps from the beach and plenty of on-street parking for guests.

The upstairs kitchen and deck was perfect for hosting/gathering. You have a perfect view of the beach from up there. We saw the fireworks at the Pier, located about a mile away. The distance to the Pier was great: close enough to walk to yet far enough to keep the beach not crowded.

I would stay here again. Highly recommend staying here. The owner was very responsive despite some personal issues she had at the time of our stay. Thanks again Pauline.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Portland Maine
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
1 mile
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Old Port
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Dune Grass
Nearest Train
1 Miles
One mile walk to the Pier and jump on
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
95
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Clam Bake
Car: recommended

Pine Point Old Orchard beach line. Only one house back on the beach...Beautiful approx 2500 sq ft home, sleeps approx 12, plus, Incredible views, nice sandy beach. Keep in mind, this home is walking distance to Old Orchard's famous Pier and amusement parks. Within a half a mile you can enjoy fantastic lobster and Maine clams. Portland is fifteen minutes away, The 'Old Port' where you will never find that many bars and restaurants in a small walking distance; L.L. Bean store is just 30 minutes away in Freeport Maine, Look for Maine festivals..for example, the 'Clam bake' in Yarmouth... so much to do in a short time!

Things To Do & Area Sight Seeing : We will have a packet of fun things to do to make the most of your week or two here in Old orchard beach

Our seven-mile long stretch of wide sandy beach is understandably the major attraction. The plasma TV with surround sound..for a quiet night with the kids after a crazy day of sun and fun!

Other Activities: Relax, beach by day, Old Orchard Pier by night, or Movie night right at home

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Additional Guest Fee $100 per person per night
Pet Fee $500
Damage Insurance $99

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties