check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Family Fun at the Double JJ Back Forty

7 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rothbury Lodge Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms with private deluxe Master jacuzzi suite, 2 full baths. Sleeps 6.

Looking for a last minute family get away? Leave everyday city/suburban life behind you at this fantastic upgraded 1550-square-foot log home located inside the Double JJ Ranch and Golf Resort. It's the absolute ultimate in first class family fun year-round! You'll have all the modern conveniences of home amidst a wild western atmosphere with plenty of entertainment and seasonal events. This charming log home has a completely furnished kitchen (stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, refrigerator, cooking utensils) and central air/heating, ceiling fans, TV's, DVD's. Baths are complete with shower, sink, toilet, hairdryer. Adults will appreciate the private upstairs master suite with balcony overlooking the scenic woods! All linens are provided. Resort laundry facility, picnic tables. Highlights: Indoor/outdoor year-round water park, horseback riding, golf. Beautiful Lake Michigan beaches nearby, lots of towns to explore. Hart-Montague bike trail, nature hikes, shopping!

Reservations MUST be made directly through the owner; NOT Double JJ Resort. You'll love our place!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Karen (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Why Karen chose Western Michigan

We came up to visit Double JJ and stayed in the Back Forty. Our 5 kids had the time of their lives and we couldn't think of a better get away for us as a family. We exclusively used our Double JJ log home for the first few years ,and as kids schedules got busier and things took us in different directions we decided it was a perfect time to share this special spot with other families. Double JJ has tons to do, but the surrounding area is so scenic and beautiful and wonderful to explore. Our family Kite boards and enjoys the proximity to Lake Michigan. Dunes to climb, beaches, to enjoy the water and sun by day and a campfire by night as well as rivers for kayaking make this part of Michigan a favorite for us.

What makes this lodge unique

Our home has the amenities of the resort, but also near to the beaches, dunes and Michigan's Adventure park.

Reviews

4.7
based on 7 traveler reviews

Family Fun at the Double JJ Back Forty
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
5

great atmosphere, comfortable

  • 5 of 5

convenient, everything you have at home, great price.

enjoyed the dog sled ride.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2006
  • Stayed: Oct 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
4

Girls golf get away at the Cabin in the woods

  • 4 of 5

Easy access into the home. The owner Karen, notified me of what to expect upon my arrival. All the accommodations necessary including grill and fire pit. Coffee fixings and spices for home away from home cooking. Bedding very comfortable. Would consider another stay in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was beautiful, super clean and very comfortable for our family vacation. Karen gave us great information on where to find groceries etc.

There is a lot to do in the area - from horseback riding at the Double JJ to kayaking or heading to the beach with beautiful dunes.

I would recommend cooking most of your food here - or dining off site.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Indiana
5

Most Relaxing Vaction Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

We just came home from staying at this cabin and it was honestly the most relaxing vacation we have ever been on. We knew from the second we walked in the front door that we had rented the perfect cabin.

This cabin is so clean, so well stocked with dishes, paper towles, trash bags, even sugar and creamer, The cabin is so cozy and feels so much like home away from home that we are considering building a cabin similar to this one as our home in a couple of years.

I was a little worried about having the master bedroom upstairs with 3 kids 6 and under but the way it is set up and so open it was no problem at all.

We really hope to go again sometime!!!

PS If you talk to the locals in the area you can find some cool places to eat and things to do.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Chicago, IL
5

A wonderful cabin

  • 5 of 5

We can only say good things about this cabin and the JJ Double resort. We traveled there with our 3 young children (5, 3 and 2) and had a wonderful time.

The cabin is amazing. It's tastefully decorated, super clean and very comfortable. It is set up in a very quiet environment but still close to all amenities (horse rides, pool, stores ...).

I would recommend this place to any family looking for spending a week of fun outdoor and coming home to a very relaxing place.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Elkton, MI
4

Nice for family

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this house for 3 nights and really enjoyed having the space for all 6 of us. We have 4 daughters from age 1 to age 15, so it was nice to let all of them have some space. If we would have been squeezed into a hotel room we wouldn't have enjoyed our vacation. We used the waterpark and also went to some local attractions, like a petting zoo, Michigan's Adventure and toured around many local towns. It was nice to be able to cook your own meals at the house if you wanted to. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Private airstrip on site, or Muskegon Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Double JJ Resort
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Muskegon
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Thoroughbred Golf Course at the Double JJ Resort
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US-31
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Double JJ Resort
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Stony Lake Beach at Lake Michigan
Car: recommended

Double JJ Resort is just 3 hours from Detroit or Chicago, and 20 miles north of Muskegon. Go north on US-31 and take Winston Rd./Rothbury exit east to Water Rd, then turn left. The 'Back Forty' where the log home is located is less than a mile on the right. Just follow the signs and drive from the parking lot through the woods. Door-to-door shuttle service to all resort activities. Inside the resort are several restaurants, a brand new 77,000 sq. ft. indoor water park! , golf, horseback riding, many activities and play areas for kids, and year-round special events: hay rides, trail rides, cattle drives, pig roasts, theatre, old west stunt shows, dancing, shopping. Winter activities:sleigh rides, snow tubing, dogsleds, sledding, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobile trails....

Other Activities: Meinert or Claybanks parks nearby with beautiful public beaches.

Ski: Lots of snowmobile trails throughout the Double JJ. Cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and snowtubing.

Closest downhill skiing is at Cannonsburg in Grand Rapids, one hour away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rothbury Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall w/ cash disc./PayPal
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $200

Rates quoted reflect cash discount is available for those paying by check or PayPal "Send Money to a friend". Add $10/night for CC. Rates and availability are subject to change until confirmed. Reservations are confirmed upon completion of rental agreement and deposit/payment. Weekend departures or arrivals on Saturdays will be charged 2 nights at weekend rate. Charges will be adjusted accordingly if the remainder of the weekend is rented by another party. 3 night minimum for Memorial Day, Fourth of July and Labor Day weekends.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rothbury Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Hairdryers, and all linens and towels are included.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , private, deluxe jacuzzi suite with fireplace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King Log Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , two twin beds
  • Private Master suite with jacuzzi is on upper level, with private bath, TV/DVD and fireplace with a king log bed. The main level features two additional bedrooms, One with a king sized Log bed and another with 2 twin beds. Each bedroom is equipped with cable TV. The family room has a TV & DVD player for those very rare days when you'll want to relax inside, instead of exploring the Double JJ or local recreational facilities! Air conditioning throughout, and ceiling fans in family room and Master Suite.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
You will save with unbundled accommodations and activities, and pay only for the services and activities you use! Enjoy the indoor/outdoor water park, pay á la carte and $ave: Back Forty Day Passes ( until 4 pm) are available for $18/adults, $12/children 4-12 at the town hall. The pass includes admission to the Back Forty amenities and activities including, Outdoor Pools and Waterslide, Pony Rides, Dog Sledding/Carting, Petting Zoo, Craft Barn, and admission to the Western & Stunt shows at the Back Forty. Horseback Riding is located just a quick walk from our log home near the Back Forty town hall. Prices are $25/hr for trail rides and coral lessons. Successful completion of a coral lesson is required for riders under 10 to participate

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties