- 3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bath game/guest room sleeps 9-11
About Kathy Brown
My husband and I have always loved Maggie Valley/Waynesville and said if we were ever fortunate enough to build a home there we would. So, we actually have built 2 and renovated 1 (which my husband did himself). I grew up in FL and we still live in FL. My husband, Stan, would live in NC full time, but, we have 4 children and 5 grandchildren all within 10 miles of us, so, this Grandma is not leaving FL.
Kathy Brown purchased this House in 2011
Why Kathy Brown chose Waynesville
This property just spoke to us, as being close to town, yet gives you the secluded feeling. It is also 3600 feet up the mountain and off a paved 2 lane road. We love our location and love the adventures of building something we want. That is why everything we need, as we get older, is on the main floor. So, we do not have to go upstairs or downstairs, if we do not need to.
What makes this House unique
We love having our meals on the main deck enjoying the views and the beautiful weather. We built the home knowing we have 5 grandchildren who can come and visit and not feel cramped. They love the ability to go downstairs and enjoy the game room and have their own space while the grown-ups are upstairs enjoying catching up.
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:30 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
This was a great property. Very homey. Skiing at Cataloochie on MLK weekend was crowded but we still had fun. Coming back to the house when if was 15 degrees and hopping in the hot tub after skiing was great! Great places to eat in Waynesville. Wish we could have stayed longer because it was snowing this morning! The house was comfortable,cozy, and clean but don’t forget to bring your own TP! 🤣�
Glad you enjoyed.
We try to have everything for the guests, but, I also make sure when making your reservation you are aware of what to bring before final payment, during final payment and in your welcome package to not be caught off guard. I would rather have someone bring more than they need, then get up the mountain and it not be at the home. There is usually provisions there, but, again I want to be sure you have it with you, just in case.
This is in our listing for everyone's convenience: Included in the total rate is the housekeeping fee, hot tub fee, linens and firewood (for winter, fireplace only). You only need to bring your paper products, i.e., toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, garbage bags, etc., (soaps, laundry, dishwashing, shower) and food.
Very private and quiet setting
Was disappointed could not park vehicle in garage. We did have to get in vehicle when it was raining. Bath tub did have a slow drain. Overall a roomy nice place to stay.
Sorry about the garage, but, the ping pong table and owners cabinets are in the garage. I do not advertise that it is available for use. There is space for a couple of motorcycles, but, in your welcome package it stated to park in the back as that is where the lockbox is located. Also, I cannot fix something that I do not know is wrong, if you had told me about the slow drain in the bath tub, I would have had maintenance take care of during your stay. It will be taken care of now. Thank you.
The home was perfect for a family of 10.
We so enjoyed our stay here with the porch view of the mountains, sound of the creek, and the wildlife. The gameroom was a hit for my teens I had to make them come out and join the family. My 10 year old niece loved the evenings in the hot tub. I enjoyed the swing on the porch while she played in hot tub. At nights it got pretty wild with the board games. It was so nice We were not ready to home. We will return in the future.
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Wonderful family mountain home
It was everything we wanted for a family of 6. The sound of the creek was better than expected. We didn’t want to leave!
Thank you so much! We hope you visit again in the future.
Quiet, Pretty surroundings
The house had plenty of room, beautiful surroundings. Beautiful porches with awesome swings outside . Owners are pleasant and easy to contact. It was not as close to the ski resort as we thought, although it says about a mile you must go down the mountain and back up. My fault I did not google the drive. I just saw the distance. The house need a good deep cleaning with the exception of the basement. Layers of dust on the knick nacks, unswept floors and dust in the corners of the all crevasses . The linens were tired and the decor a bit dated but could depend on the eye of the beholder. The carpets had wrinkles and closet door off it’s hinges. Coffee pot had not been cleaned in quite a while and so neared through our stay without coffee ( kind of essential for vacation rental) . The hot tub was nice, clean and a nice retreat in the winter. A con was having to remove your trash and drive it about a mile down the road. Which is closed on Sundays and holidays. At the end of our stay we were charged for a broken chair we did not damage. Likely a previous tenant, and in my opinion could have been normal wear and tear, anyways. The owners were reasonable and removed the charge once we discussed it. So I appreciated them doing the right thing. Overall could be 5 stars with a deep clean and a few fixes. Minor but effects your overall experience.
Thank you for your comments. I depend on our 5 star ratings as you will see over 12 years of them with only a couple of 4 stars. I try to make sure that everything is the way it should be for guests to arrive and enjoy their stay.
First, a lot of this I feel is unfair as a homeowner I was never contacted after arrival until I stated a portion of your deposit would be held, due to a broken chair (has been replaced). As I stated, I depend on housekeeping to let me know when something is broken, as well as guests. This is posted on Refrigerator and in your welcome package, of which I never heard from you during your stay:
"Report damage immediately upon check-in. Our home is inspected for cleanliness and damage before you arrival. Upon check in, please thoroughly check home for anything out of the ordinary or damage; contact us immediately. Guests will be responsible for any unreported damage not noted by housekeeping prior to check-in. Maintenance requests for non-faulty equipment will incur a charge to the guests."
We came up right after you left and the closet door (off the track) has been fixed, I had replaced linens (of which there were brand
new towels in the master bath, Biltmore from Belk's and they were there during your stay), pillows, etc.
No where does it say a mile to the ski resort. We are 15 minutes away. When you are 3600 feet up the mountain it takes you more than a minute to get down the mountain.
I am sorry you feel my décor is dated, but, I update all the time and in the mountains you go with a theme, mine is sunflowers and bears.
Unfortunately, there is not garbage pick-up in the mountains like in neighborhoods and taking your trash is also in your welcome package. It is only a couple miles away.
The property was clean upon arrival and everything worked as advertised. The game room is great for kids and the hot tub is a real plus. The owner was helpful and responsive. The only negative was their their inflexible return policy for items left behind.
Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our home. Again, sorry about the return, as I discussed with you, there were many, many items, left and I understand you only wanted one returned. But, housekeeping has to use, their time, gas, monies to return items to guests and $30 is standard for returns. If I had been there, I would have been happy to return, but, I depend on my housekeeping to manage the returns and I honor their policy for that. Thank you again.
Golf: There are many Golf and Country Clubs in Maggie Valley and Waynesville, NC.
Ski: Come in the winter and enjoy Ski Cataloochee. You can ski during the day or night and then relax by the warm fireplace or unwind in the hot tub overlooking the mountain. Doesn't get any better than this.