check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort

12 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Berkeley Springs Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists.

Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs-- the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Ideal Getaway Cottage: Situated 4 miles from Berkeley Springs, WV - the nation's first Spa Warm mineral springs were used by Native Americans as healing waters long before white settlers arrived. The springs became America's first Spa when George Washington and his friends formed the town of Bath in 1776. 'Taking the waters' has remained a popular sport in Bath - now Berkeley Springs for more than two centuries. There are now four facilities, including the State Park, which offer professional baths and massage.

Berkeley Springs State Park: Roman Bath, Massage therapy. Art galleries, Antique shops.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Carolyn Snyder, I am the broker owner of Snyder,Bailey and Associates Inc. We have had the real estate business for 25 years in Eastern WV. I'm originally from New York and formally taught at City University and for the State University. Coming to WV I was elected to the State Legislature and then worked for Governor Rockefeller for 8 years running his Eastern Panhandle office and working with economic development.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2008

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

For a time I was involved with Coolfont Resort that developed the Coolfont Mountainside as well as the resort. I found the area not only naturally beautiful but found those involved in the community,interesting with varied backgrounds, primarily professional, caring, kindly souls that loved nature and intellectual pursuits. The town itself is one of the top artists towns in the country and has a fun, mix of creative people and activities.

What makes this cottage unique

Located in the woods, private yet with neighbors somewhat nearby, amenities such as hiking trails, tennis, beautiful pool and hot tub in a wooded setting, close to town, easy access where all factors in my decision to purchase.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time in your lovely home. Thank you very much. It's simply a great place for a family with kids as we are. The house offers enough space and is cozy at the same time. Everything was working perfectly. Located directly in the woods, you just have to open the door and you are already on one of the trails. We enjoyed hiking even in February.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 traveler reviews

Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 14 reviews
5

Wonderful and Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this idyllic venue. The house was clean and well-kept with all the ammenities as described. We went with out little ones and thoroughly enjoyed the area with its well-kept community pool and natural grounds. Would recommend this one to any one looking to get away and enjoy a few days of quiet.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1
3

Pretty house in the woods

  • 3 of 5

The house can easily sleep 10 comfortably. The house was somewhat run down and had a musty smell. It appeared to have been well used. There were a lot of cobwebs on the second floor and the large bookshelf wash very dusty. We enjoyed the deck and the grill was adequate for us. There was a lack of easy communication and so we never received directions but we got there and it never hampered our fun. Berkeley Springs is a nice small town with wonderful bath/ spa facilities.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the communications snafu. We do ask guests to take the written directions provided as a GPS does not work well in the area. I have talked with our cleaning crew. The house is older, but is charming and we get few complaints. I hope you'll come back to stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

New Year vacation

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. Very well maintained and well equipped. Small suggestion - please add a sink dispenser and change some of the coffee mugs. We enjoyed our 4 nights stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice weekend at Treetops, Cacapon State Park and Berkeley Springs

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I, with two other couples, chose Cacapon State Park for our annual hiking weekend destination and we rented Treetops Cottage. The house was comfortable and clean with lots of seating area in the living room and a wonderful wood burning stove, with lots of wood provided. There was a large deck and screened in porch area also. The kitchen was relatively small but well-equipped and totally adequate. We all slept well in comfortable double (or larger) beds. The owner was extremely responsive through the booking process and answered all of my many questions with almost immediate email responses and phone calls. What we most appreciated was that because the house was not booked immediately before and after our stay, the owner gave us great flexibility in check in and check out times, which amounted to our having almost a full extra day to enjoy the area. Very generous! and made the weekend feel much less hurried. There was great hiking in the park (about a 10 minute drive from the house) and several of us went trap shooting for the first time ever at the park (reservations are a good idea). We had never shot before and the instructor, Arnold, was outstanding-- extremely patient, knowledgeable, helpful and good-humored. Enjoyed dinner in Berkeley Springs (also about 10 minutes drive from the house) one night at Cottage Inn/ParkView restaurant and all of us (including the vegetarians) had good meals. The staff there was most accommodating as some in our party wanted to watch a particular football game, so they willingly adjusted the TVs to our preferences. All of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay, recommend the house, and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Indianapolis
5

Perfect family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family weekend with 6 adults and 5 kiddos! The cottage is very well stocked with anything you might need. We walked every morning in the area. The trail nearby was not well traveled, so we walked on the roads safely. The bedrooms were perfect for what we needed. We brought our own Pack and Plays for the two one year olds we had, as well as portable high chairs. The pool, hot tub and baby pool area is fantastic! The hours for the pool were somewhat limited though. The spiral stairway was a challenge to keep the two youngest off of. The walk from car to front door could be difficult for someone not so steady on their feet. Overall we had fantastic time and would go again.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Harleysville, PA
4

Nice resort community

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the location of this property, the pool area and the playground. The personnel at the pool were very helpful. The owner of the property was very helpful with information, etc. We had a few issues with the house. The microwave cut the electricity off about 5 times and we had to keep flipping the circuit breaker. The kitchen drains were clogged the first day we were there and when the dishwasher ran the water backed up in the kitchen sink. We took care of the problem by locating a plunger and using it to open the drain. The dishwasher got the items on the lower shelf clean but I always had to rewash the dishes on the top shelf. Our grandson was delighted to find a 6 inch salamander in the hallway. Our family had a great time being together but I am not sure we would return to this particular property. We did really enjoy the area and the resort community.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Berkeley Springs State Park
"Located in the middle of Berkeley Springs. You can get appointments for excellent massage a..."
Tari's Cafe
"American Fare Food. Consistently good. Casual. Interesting menu that changes regularly. Es..."
Tony's Butcher Block
"Choice meats."
Earthdog Cafe
"It's fun. Music and food. Casual. "
Sheetz
"Gas. Fast food sandwiches; deli like. Clean."
Panorama at the Peak
"Casual fine dining. Watch the sunsets from the scenic overlook. Sunday Brunch 11:30 to 2:0..."
Lot 12 Public House
"Excellent Food. Upscale dining. Pricey. NEED RESERVATIONS."
Food Lion
"Only chain grocery store in the area."
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Dulles Airport, BWI airport, Hagerstown, Md (25mi
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park, Robert Trent Jones Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Amtrak and Marc Commuter Train to DC Martinsburg,
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
70W 68E
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Terri's in Berkeley Spring; Earth Dog, Panorama
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
White Tail
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park Sand Beach
Car: necessary

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists. Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs--the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort

Photos

Rates & Availability

Berkeley Springs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Year Round
Jul 14 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

If more than 8 guests (including children) additonal $25 per night per person. Rates subject to change any time before reservation made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Berkeley Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
This is a comfortable, attractive cottage, in a wonderful private, wooded setting away from it all yet convenient to and with easy access to Berkeley Springs (4 miles) and Cacapon State Park. This is an established award winning community. There are marked hiking trails through out, tennis courts, community pool and hot tub.

Partner Offers