Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Sunset Beach 4 Bedroom / 4 Bath Vacation Home with Pool

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bed, 4 bath, with additional kids sleeping loft!

This spectacular 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom home is located directly above Sunset Beach. Offering spectacular views of some of the best surf spots and whale viewing around. This home was built with multi-family use in mind. With great outdoor lanais, open floor and private getaways for relaxing. On site caretakers, who live in separate house.

It is designed to accommodate 6 children and six adults in beds with additional sleeping if requested in loft. This home features vaulted ceilings, mahogany doors/windows, and exotic hand crafted woodwork throughout.

There is a full kitchen with a Great Room including a large cooking island, concrete counters, copper sinks, walk in pantry, a 13' hand crafted dinning table and an 18' ocean view bar. The home's indoor/outdoor use includes floor to ceiling walls of doors that slide out of sight, shady lanais, secluded garden getaways, a pool & hot tub and spectacular views at every turn. Located on a private cul-de-sac w/ automatic gate.

Bedrooms (4):

Bunk room: The kids will find refuge in a ship style 'Bunk Room' with six individual bunks including their own authentic ships' portholes, reading lights and privacy curtains, individual storage lockers, TV, outdoor pool access, all of which is located a safe (sound proof) distance from the main living area.

Revie's Room: with it's king size bed and private bath, offers its own private deck with direct views of the serene sunsets over Kaena Point.

The Pool Studio (Master Suite): is a secluded getaway. Tucked away from the main house, this room offers everything needed to complete your stay: pool-side with ocean views, travertine shower, copper sink and Balinese vanity, kitchenette and small desk with wireless access.

The Mauka Room, with a queen bed, is located off the main kitchen with its own private bathroom, hillside view and access to the backyard.

All bedrooms come with high thread count sheets, ceiling fans and private bath. There are additional fans (floor fans) available by request.

House style: Interesting details abound in this house. The decks have unique copper panels with artistic Hawaiian breadfruit silhouettes and salvaged old growth redwood ship railings. The use of salvaged bronze portholes throughout adds a subtle nautical flavor to the Hawaiian setting. Ohia posts add a special Island feel to the fantastic ocean backdrop. The bathrooms are appointed with custom tile or redwood showers, Bali style vanities with copper sinks and all showers have either a porthole window, corner window or skylight. All bathrooms come stocked with towels, shampoo, conditioner and soap as well as beach towels. There is an outdoor shower, tiled with imported travertine, surrounded by tropical landscaping. For your convenience the laundry room is equipped with gas washer/dryer.

The 12' deep pool with waterfall and 8 person hot tub offer views of migrating whales or giant surf. The pool offers safe refuge from the frequently unsafe swimming conditions on the North Shore.

Please note Pool is not heated.

The Area: From the bedrooms, deck, lanai, pool/hot tub, or great-room you can surf check such famous breaks as Rocky Point, Monster Mush, Kammies, Sunset, Backyards, V-Land, Phantoms, and Revelations. Also located close by are the Banzai Pipeline, Backdoor and Waimea Bay. You are only a short walk to Sunset beach, and you can easily walk to Ted's Bakery for breakfast, lunch, or a fresh-baked island treat. The bike path follows the shoreline and takes you from Sunset Point all the way to Waimea Bay and waterfall. Foodland is only a few minutes away where you will find groceries and a Starbucks which opens at 5:30 in the morning for the early risers. The town of Haleiwa is a 10 minute drive away and has shopping, dinning, deep sea fishing, jet ski rentals, shark diving, etc.

The North Shore offers so much, but you will find it difficult to leave the peaceful pool lanai with it's cool tradewinds and relaxing atmosphere.

Note: Our home is not outfitted with air conditioning. As noted there are ceiling fans and because of our location the house stays comfortable.

More Details

Owner
A. Papandreou
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, german, greek
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About A. Papandreou

We love the North Shore.

We hope you will enjoy our house as much as we do!

A. Papandreou purchased this house in 2016

Why A. Papandreou chose North Shore Oahu

People love the North Shore of Oahu because of it's country like setting: no hotels in sight. The people are very friendly, healthy and fun. The area is full of outdoor activities, if you so choose, or it can be extremely quiet and relaxing. Although it is in 'the country,' it is only a short 3 miles to Turtle Bay where one can play tennis, golf, bike, ride horses, visit the spa or have a wonderful fine dining experience. It's 6 miles into Haliewa town to visit lots of cute shops, dine or rent water equipment.

What makes this house unique

Views, Views and more Views! Amenities all over the place. Cooking is a dream here, you won't want to leave.

STRICTLY NO PARTIES OR EVENTS

THANK YOU

Guestbook comments from the owner

Katie & Einar, I just want to tell you that we had the most wonderful trip to Oahu and your house is absolutely fabulous! Words cannot even describe the view, the house and the awesome time we had. We got there at approximately 1 am on Sunday the 24^th . Of course, we could not see much but the house was all lit up, as you said it would be, and we finally settled down and went to bed, although most of us were up at 5 taking pictures and already planning a trip in 2 years. As the week went on, we were more impressed with everything. The house is more than we ever expected (even better than the pictures on the internet). We loved the fact that we were able to have all that space and not confined to a hotel room. We were close enough to the beach and the North Shore is the best place to be even thought we had to make quite a drive to do the “touristy” things. We opened the house up, as you said we could do, and did not close it at all.Ginger and Ralph were the best! They were so friendly and helpful with any and all questions we had. We thoroughly enjoyed them. You could not have anyone better to oversee your house.We would like to book a week in June of 2009, either the 2^nd or 3^rd week. Let me know what we need to do.We hated to leave your paradise. It was not fun for us to get on that plane to come home.Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to stay in your beautiful home on Oahu. We will definitely be back!Aloha and Mahalo,Sandy
May 2008
  • 1 of 2

Map

Car: necessary

This house is 1 block up and 1 block over from Sunset Beach life guard tower, on a quiet, private, dead end road allowing for its incredible and expansive views. Sunset Beach is the heart of the Seven Mile Miracle of the North Shore surf scene. The consistent North Pacific swells and prevailing off-shore trade winds create some of the best surfing conditions in the world. The North Shore is the 'country ' of the Hawaiian experience. The winter season offers the energy and pulse of the North Shore surfing action. The summertime offers a classic country, beach setting with great diving, wind sports, and beach activities. Nearby you can find jungle hiking, golf, tennis, waterfalls, shopping, fine dining and The Polynesian Cultural Center which offers a wonderful island learning experience featuring live dancing, shows and luau.

Other Activities: amazing whale watching and surfing from the house and pool deck.

Golf: Golfing can be found just 5 minutes away at The Turtle Bay Resort. The resort also features tennis and has two fine dining restaurants, one over looking the golf course, the other is on the beach.

A community course is also located 25 minutes eastward in Laie. The oceanfront course offers great views and an affordable alternative to the famous Turtle Bay course.

Free tennis and basketball courts can be found at the Elementary School located directly across from Pipeline parking lot, just 2 minutes from the house.

Amenities

Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Quiet hours/Noise levels: Out of respect to our neighbors (that are very close by), as well as our on site managers, please observe the quiet hours
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Studio bath - toilet , shower
    Bunk Room bath - toilet , shower
    outdoor shower - outdoor shower
    Full bath 1 - toilet , shower
    Full bath 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Studio - 1 queen
    Bunk Room - 6 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , ship style bunks
    sleeping loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , made for kids
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The Bunk Room has six built in bunks with privacy curtains as well as a queen sleeper sofa. It is the one room in the house that is bright, whimsical and especially fun for kids (although adults love it too). The bathroom includes a double shower and sink as well as a private toilet room featuring a ships wheel sink.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 bicycles
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Although we welcome children, due to the pool location (directly in front of living room/kitchen)as well as multiple concrete stairs throughout, we feel this can be hazardous to toddler age children. Please take note, thank you!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Sunset Beach 4 Bedroom / 4 Bath Vacation Home with Pool
average rating of 4.888889 based on 20 reviews
5

Best Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Sunset Beach house for my parents 50th anniversary, since they've never been to Hawaii. There were 11 of us (adults); 1st, 2nd and 3rd generation who came for family vacation. We were more interested in being away from Tourist crowd, but had great access to rest of island. Location of this house kept us around North shore which is where we spent most of our time.

House is perfect for big family, and everyone has their own space. Initially, we booked for 13 but 2 weren't able to make it. Living room, dining room and outdoor space were all open to each other which made for even more elbow room. Pool was a major hit, despite getting to the beach almost daily. Kitchen was spacious enough to accommodate 7 adults cooking and prepping at the same time. We particularly enjoyed cabana style bedroom suites, that gave us retreat while still surrounded by family.

In addition, caretakers on site were most helpful to give us tips on local scenery. We are indebted to Ralph and Ginger for all their help, advice and attention to us. They are two of the nicest people and a welcoming "gem" to our stay.

Last, I have to thank Algy for all of his accommodation. We felt welcomed, informed and appreciate the fact that you met all of our needs, requests, and additional discounts. My parents had the time of their lives and there's no doubt in my mind that our stay on Sunset Beach was the anchor to their experience. We WILL definitely stay at this property again, and highly recommend it to others.

Mahalo,

JM

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York
5

Sunset Beach House: 6 Stars [BETTER THAN 5]

  • 5 of 5

We had our entire family including grandparents (2), grandchildren (2), adult children and spouses (5) and 2 friends there for 15 nights. I must say that Sunset Beach House is very special with a separate wing right off the pool for my wife and I, both in our 70s, for perfect privacy and space galore for all, including a giant dining table that was comfortable for all and could have held more. The grandchildren had their own specail room with portholes for windows and bunkbeds for sleep and fun.

Sunset Beach House is every bit as spectacular as the pictures but being there every night for sunset, viewing from the very deep pool,the large hot tub or virtually anywhere else on the beautiful property, was "to die for." I understand that there will be some redecoration (it doesn't need a thing) but the new owners want their own footprint, so when we go back I expect that it will be even more luxurious.

It had all the amenities you could want both in the house and for outdoors, for the and pool, including toys and bikes for all ages, a full-size ping pong table, etc, etc. We could not have been more happy or made to feel more comfortable. We highly recommend Sunset Beach House to all.

My 13 year old grandson and his friend both became certified scuba divers with Hawaii Eco Divers and I did some fabuolus wreck diving, among 9 other great dive sites, also with Eco Divers. Highly recommended.

Also, hats off to Ralph and Ginger, the "guardians" of the property, with their own home, who were absolutely wonderful and as important, unobtrsuive.

All the best,

Rich Rubin and Family

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Vacation Rental for Family and Friends!

  • 5 of 5

We are very surprised at the review posted on May 6th. We (adults and children) recently returned from our third time staying here and have always had a very positive experience! The house is beautifully laid out with lots of space and amenities; the views are spectacular and the pool and nearby beaches are enjoyed by all! The common sense rules about noise levels after 10:00 PM are appropriate when considering the quiet, semi-rural nature of the neighborhood. The caretakers, Ralph and Ginger have been very gracious and hospitable and have always made sure that everything was working properly and that we had what we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Never once did we feel they were intrusive. Overall we love staying here and highly recommend this as the perfect place to stay with family and friends.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Durango, CO
4

Beautiful Property but intrusive and rude caretakers

  • 4 of 5

Probably one of the coolest properties we have ever stayed at and overall we had a great time. BUT, the property comes with onsite caretakers who think it is ok to drop in anytime and are extremely rude. And please do not make any noise! Children laughing, talking and enjoying their vacation are truly frowned upon. Adults engrossed in conversation, laughing, enjoying their friends and family after 10:00pm may cost part of your deposit. If you want to spend your vacation being supervised by rude onsite caretakers and in silent meditation, this is your place!!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When a renter has a legitimate complaint, we always take it to heart and try our very best to remedy the situation. We welcome feedback and even appreciate constructive criticism, as it helps us improve and makes sure everyone has a great experience. One of the reasons we have renters sign a contract, clearly stating all house rules (with several written and verbal reminders), is to make sure everyone enjoys their Hawaiian experience, including those living in the neighborhood. We are very sorry that this renter had such a terrible experience with our caretakers. However, we believe the root of their ‘bad’ experience stems from their blatant disregard of our rental contract and its rules. Initially, after returning home, the renters sent us the following complimentary email (see below). Hi Katie, I just wanted to let you know that we had a wonder vacation in your beautiful home. I was so impressed with the house! It was absolutely perfect for our family as well as the other family that stayed with us. I don't think my 11 year old was out of the pool/hot tub more than a few hours the whole duration of our visit! I also so appreciated the kitchen and how well it was stocked with the basics; pans, bowls, serving platers etc! We cooked in every night but 1! I plan to write a very positive review. :) Please send the deposit to: Colorado It wasn’t until after we kept a portion of their deposit, that they posted the disparaging review. Having hundreds of people vacationing in our home over the past seven years, we have never received as many neighbor complaints and never from more than two houses away. This is a beautiful home, our personal vacation/retirement home, located in a wonderful neighborhood, where families and friends can gather, relax and enjoy spending time together. It’s very simple to enjoy your stay at our home, just follow the rules and everyone is Happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
19 2
5

Incredable House

  • 5 of 5

We rented a house and got a HOME!! This house has the Hawaiin Spirit and Soul. It is well built, very well cared for, it is in the best location in the North Shore. Its definitely cozy, comfortable and very charming. The pool and the spa are special. The perfct view of Sunste Beach. We had an amazing family and friends vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

October Birthday Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had 8 adults, 4 kids with us for an October Birthday retreat, where we would be celebrating about 6 birthdays!

The location sits up in the lower hills of Sunset Beach, looking down on the beach area. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to Ted's Bakery, about 5 minutes to Sunset Beach itself. So a really great location for the North Shore. The street is super quiet at all times of the day (House being built next door should be done soon) and night.

The property is super well furnished including plenty of kitchen utensils, shampoo/conditioner in every bathroom, towels (Beach and property), beach chairs, bikes, bodyboards, snorkeling gear, hairdryers, etc. Really have thought of it all.

The pool and hot tub were clean, and in constant use our whole time there.

Parking was very sufficient for our whole group. We had three cars and never had issues getting spots on property. Room for more if needed!

We ate on the property pretty much every night, which i guess is testimony to how comfortable we were on the property.

We were able to open up all the windows and doors to the house from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. When the winds blew, it really was nice! Beware, you back up to the jungle, and critters become a part of it. Not uncommon to see lizards all over the walls in this environment. The kids loved it! So did the adults.

We received great information on activities from the owners prior to our arrival, and definitely utilized that packet a bunch on the trip. The caretakers on property were wonderful and super helpful. Loved Ralph and Ginger.

The kids really enjoyed the bunk situation in their room. The theme was awesome!

Definitely would recommend this property for groups of all sizes.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

departure cleaning fee $500
Refundable damage deposit $2,000
Tax Rate 13.0%

Cancelations are accepted no less than 60 days in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties