Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Oriole - Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 290 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2

The Oriole cottage is part of historic Bird Center Resort that has been catering to vacationers for 100 years and was fully renovated in 2005. This cozy cottage has all of the amenities for a great getaway that will keep you coming back. The studio space is small, but has everything you need with a kitchenette, queen size bed, and TV with DVD player and cable. Great outdoor Screened in porch and chairs on the deck, outdoor hot tub, and a gas grill. Located just three blocks from all the shops, restaurants, and galleries of downtown Saugatuck, and just 5 minutes to any area beach.

More Details

Property Manager
Ethan
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

Map

Saugatuck and Douglas are located on the shores of Lake Michigan and the Kalamazoo River. The area offers an abundance of activities including world-class beaches, boating, antiquing, golf, live theater, nightclubs, great restaurants, and a huge variety of art galleries and artists.

Amenities

Saugatuck Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 290 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Includes flat panel television with DVD player and cable
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
The Oriole - Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2
average rating of 4.1 based on 10 reviews
Milan, Mi
5

Very cute

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent our mini moon at the Oriole for 2 nights and we loved it!! It was a short walk to downtown. The hot tub was great to relax in at night. We would highly recommend staying here for a nice getaway!!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, cozy, romantic

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, and loved it! The cottage was clean and cozy, and just a short walk to the romantic downtown Saugatuck. We would definitely recommend the Oriole for any couple looking for a quick and romantic getaway!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oriole cottage

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely LOVED the little Oriole cottage! My husband and I celebrated our 15 year anniversary there and fell in love with it! We will DEFINITELY be back!!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great location, but bed & water pressure not good

  • 3 of 5

The location of this property is hard to beat. Easy to walk to downtown, nice side walks, not close to the road which is nice.The hot tub was a great amenity to have on the property. Unfortunately, we would not come back here because the bed is not a queen (as advertised) and the water pressure was terrible in the shower. Also the grill was not properly cleaned so we didn't use it.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The bed is definitely a queen. We even measured with a tape measure just to be sure we weren't fooling ourselves! The owners will be replacing the mattress and frame this year, though, since we've had a few issues with the frame recently. We also have replaced the shower head - it was simply clogged, as they often get when you have hard water like we do in this area. The grill is a brand new Weber gas grill (purchased in May 2014), and we do ask guests to clean the grill as they use it, so we did not realize the prior guests had not done so. Had we been given the opportunity, we would have gladly addressed these issues during this guest's stay. We always provide our cell phones for every guest to reach us anytime they encounter a problem at one of our rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
2

Oriole Review in Saugatuck

  • 2 of 5

Very cute concept as the place was small but perfect for our needs. Close location to downtown. I decided to write this review because I believe the owners need to make a couple small adjustments to make it perfect. First off, being the mattress. The mattress was in bad shape and had a very big dip in the middle of the bed (I would say at least a 5 inch dip in the middle which caused us both to roll into each other). We ended up putting 2 full size pillows under the mattress and that helped. Second, the outside deck was very cute but had 2 broken chairs that could NOT be used. Lastly I don't think the hot tub has been used in a while and when we opened it the strongest smell of must came out. We didn't dare go in it. Other than that we loved the location, the size was perfect for what we needed and it was nice to be secluded from other vacationers. Would we return? Only if they updated the mattress and put some usable chairs on the deck so we didn't have to sit on the stairs.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we were just informed by our cleaner that the middle support in the bed is broken, resulting in the dip in the bed. We were unaware of the issue until after this guest had left, so we were unable to repair it prior to their arrival, but immediately addressed the problem. The hot tub is cleaned every week, but the cover has taken in water and has a musty smell to it. We are looking for a replacement at the moment. The renters in the cottage for the previous several weekends didn't indicate there were any issues with the hot tub, and it has been used consistently all winter. In addition to the chairs near the hot tub, there are a table and chairs on the deck for use to sit or eat, and we will check the condition of those as well, but there are multiple chairs to choose from - sitting on the stairs is not necessary. Upon check-in, guests in all our cottages are given the cell phone numbers of both the owner and the property manager with a request to call if there are any problems or questions, and neither of us were given the opportunity to address and remedy the issues during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Wonderfull!!

  • 4 of 5

At the beginning we were a little bit skeptic about the place. You may find it a little bit small but I assure you, it is just perfect for two people. It is perfectly located for maiking trips to the beautiful city of Saugatuck. Literally few walk to marina, shops, bars and restaurants. There is a gas grill so do not forget to bring steaks for Oriole dinner :)

Having outside hot tub is a big plus for the place. We gladly used it and ejoyed a lot! Suffice to say the place is great and we will be coming back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • From $150 per night