Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Oriole - Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 290 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2

The Oriole cottage is part of historic Bird Center Resort that has been catering to vacationers for 100 years and was fully renovated in 2005. This cozy cottage has all of the amenities for a great getaway that will keep you coming back. The studio space is small, but has everything you need with a kitchenette, queen size bed, and TV with DVD player and cable. Great outdoor Screened in porch and chairs on the deck, outdoor hot tub, and a gas grill. Located just three blocks from all the shops, restaurants, and galleries of downtown Saugatuck, and just 5 minutes to any area beach. Walk to town or take a ride on the two bikes available below the unit.

By renting this cottage you are agreeing to the following rental rules and contract and will also be sent a link to agree to electronically.

CONTRACT:

Rental Rules:

1.) No smoking. All of our rentals are non-smoking. By signing this contract, you are stating that you will not smoke in our vacation rentals.

2.) You and your guests are using our home at your own risk. We nor the owner of the property will be held responsible for any injuries that occur at the vacation rental or for any lost or stolen items.

3.) No boats or trailers are to be parked at our rental properties. Tents of any kind are not allowed.

Arrangements for trailers need to be made. There is parking for two cars in the designated parking lot.

4.) Do not move the furniture.

5.) Each cottage has a maximum number of guests that is listed on this contract you must verify that it is correct. That number is not to be exceeded - this includes children and adults. For fire safety, we are required to limit the number in each home. If additional people are found to be staying at the cottage the entire group will be asked to vacate with no refund. Inflatable mattresses or alternative sleeping other than pack n plays or cribs are not allowed. Tents are also not allowed on the property.

6.) Pets are not permitted. If a pet is on the property then there will be a $150 fee and it will be required that the owner board the pet immediately.

7.) Damages are to be reported during your stay. If we find damage after you vacate, you authorize the charge to your credit card for replacement or repair or provide another credit card number, pay by cash or check. Damages reported upon arrival will not be guests' responsibility.

8.) Cleaners will come to the cottage after you have departed - they will not visit to clean, change linens, or replace towels during your stay. Please contact the office should you need assistance during your stay regarding any cleaning items.

9.) Grills are to be cleaned after each use.

10.) Quiet time is after 11pm nightly.

11.) You are at least 25 years old and will be able to verify with valid identification during your stay if needed.

12.) Weddings and formal events are NOT permitted on our properties, if there is found to be a formal event on the property the entire group will be asked to vacate the property with a no refund. It is acceptable to have a visitors during the day hours but that number can not be more than double the maximum occupancy of the cottage.

Please respect the scheduled check-out time so our cleaning staff has ample time to prepare the cottage for its next guests. Also please follow the departure instructions or extra cleaning fees will apply.

1.) Remove all garbage to outside bin in parking lot by fence. Recyclables can be placed in yellow bag provided under sink and placed directly in bin OR just put with regular trash. Trash is put out by the street on Sunday night for Monday pick up.

2.) Empty the refrigerator and freezer of all items.

3.) Load and run dishwasher or clean all dishes if there is not a dishwasher.

4.) Strip the sheets and pillow cases (not, mattress pad, pillow shams, comforters, or blankets) from all the beds slept in and put at the foot of the bed.

5.) Turn off lights, turn thermostat to 65 degrees in winter and 78 degrees in summer months.

6.) Please double check to make sure you have all your personal items and have not packed anything that belongs to the cottage.

7.) Close and LOCK all outside doors and windows and LOCK door upon departure. Please LOCK door upon departure.

Cancellation Policy:

Reservations canceled before 30 days prior to check-in date will will lose the reservation deposit. If cancellation occurs within 30 days before check-in, full payment for reservation is nonrefundable. There are no refunds for early check-out. If at any point during stay the rental rules agreed to are not adhered to the guests will be removed and all rents forfeited.

More Details

Property Manager
Ethan
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2017

Map

Saugatuck and Douglas are located on the shores of Lake Michigan and the Kalamazoo River. The area offers an abundance of activities including world-class beaches, boating, antiquing, golf, live theater, nightclubs, great restaurants, and a huge variety of art galleries and artists.

Amenities

Saugatuck Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 290 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Includes flat panel television with DVD player and cable
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
50% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
The Oriole - Studio Apartment, Sleeps 2
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
4

Cute, cozy cabin. Very well kept up. Perfect location.

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed staying at the Oriole. It was the perfect size for my husband and I for a weekend getaway. It was very clean and the hot tub work great. We liked how close it was to the shops and restaurants and found the town very enjoyable. The only thing we didn’t like that’s how close the other homes were around it.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming and very clean

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was charming and very clean. We loved the location, close to all the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the screened in patio as well as the hot tub. We would love to come back and try the summer time next time. The only complaint we had, was the bed wasn't very comfortable. Thanks Saugutuck, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize if the mattress was not comfortable for you. It is a pillow top mattress and less than 2 years old.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milan, Mi
5

Very cute

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent our mini moon at the Oriole for 2 nights and we loved it!! It was a short walk to downtown. The hot tub was great to relax in at night. We would highly recommend staying here for a nice getaway!!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, cozy, romantic

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, and loved it! The cottage was clean and cozy, and just a short walk to the romantic downtown Saugatuck. We would definitely recommend the Oriole for any couple looking for a quick and romantic getaway!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oriole cottage

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely LOVED the little Oriole cottage! My husband and I celebrated our 15 year anniversary there and fell in love with it! We will DEFINITELY be back!!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great location, but bed & water pressure not good

  • 3 of 5

The location of this property is hard to beat. Easy to walk to downtown, nice side walks, not close to the road which is nice.The hot tub was a great amenity to have on the property. Unfortunately, we would not come back here because the bed is not a queen (as advertised) and the water pressure was terrible in the shower. Also the grill was not properly cleaned so we didn't use it.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The bed is definitely a queen. We even measured with a tape measure just to be sure we weren't fooling ourselves! The owners will be replacing the mattress and frame this year, though, since we've had a few issues with the frame recently. We also have replaced the shower head - it was simply clogged, as they often get when you have hard water like we do in this area. The grill is a brand new Weber gas grill (purchased in May 2014), and we do ask guests to clean the grill as they use it, so we did not realize the prior guests had not done so. Had we been given the opportunity, we would have gladly addressed these issues during this guest's stay. We always provide our cell phones for every guest to reach us anytime they encounter a problem at one of our rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • From $150 per night