Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Plantation Home Downtown Charleston

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath With full kitchen and Living Room

This home is the Historic Gate House of the William Rett Plantation in Annsonboro. We are located just off Meeting Street. There are many excellent restaurants less than one block from the house. The Gate House is located in a beautiful garden which is often on the Charleston Garden Tours. You are shaded by ancient live oak trees with Spanish moss.You can walk to anywhere downtown.

History: The Gate House is part of the William Rett Plantation. The main house is considered by many to be the oldest house in Charleston. The market area is two blocks away. Carriage tours pass the house throughout the day.

Home Tours: This is the perfect location for the spring and fall Charleston Tours of Historic Homes. We are often on the tour. The garden outside the gate house surrounding a pond with water lilies, Koi fish and our fountain is one of the few gardens in Charleston visible from the street.


More Details


Ansonborough House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries


Good! 3.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
Historic Plantation Home Downtown Charleston
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 9 reviews
San Antonio, TX

Perfect choice for walkers....

  • 5 of 5

We returned today from two days at the Gatehouse and things went extremely well. There was a little difficulty communicating our needs since our plane was late and we did not have the phone number of the owner's assistant since the owner preferred being called directly, but she was on site and let us into the home. The house is three buildings away from Meeting Street and has a lovely garden with off-street parking so we could leave the car and walk anywhere we wanted to go. Hyman's, the highest-rated seafood restaurant in the south, is two blocks away and the open market is about three blocks in the opposite direction. The accommodations were comfortable and the artwork was local. An effort seemed to have been made to make the home comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Greer, SC, USA

Conveniently located

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay in the Carriage House. Conveniently located within walking distance of Downtown Charleston and very reasonably priced. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Northwood NH

Gate House

  • 2 of 5

It was in a good location but a bit rundown for the price. Parking was difficult. Tv did not work for weeks at a time. Stairs to bedroom steep and no toilet downstairs. Kitchen stove looked awful. Like from goodwill. No drawers for silverware. Heat hard to adjust. I would never go back.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had unusual weather for Charleston during Jan and Feb of 2014 with freezing pipes. Also, because of the weather Comcast was in and out .Sorry I do not understand much of the rest.. It does not sound like our place. I am sure their experience would have been quite different had the weather been more like normal for Charleston.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Rock Hill SC 29730

Great Location to see the sights

  • 4 of 5

We spent a month in the Gatehouse and it had all the comforts of home. The owners were very nice and we didn't know they were even there unless we had to ask them something. We were able to walk one block to the center of town and sight see and shop. And we could walk one block the other way and be at a grocery store. We didn't have to get our cars out very often to go anywhere unless we wanted to leave the area.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very charming, historic carriage house

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed here several times for extended periods and it's my "go to" place in Charleston. The house is centrally located in the very heart of the historic area and it's only two or three blocks from many of the best restaurants and sites. The grounds are beautiful and the historic gardens and fountain are shaded by massive live oaks. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The authentic Charleston experience!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your visit
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Run down, dirty, over grown

  • 1 of 5

These owners don't deserve this place. Their lack of respect for a potentially great environment is appalling. Great location doesn't mean anything when the windows are so dirty you can't see out of them. I am not a neat freak but this was crazy. All the electrical is run with extension cords all over the rooms. The dorm sized refrigerator is askew on a box and rocks like it is about to fall over when you open the door. The towels are nicer at a hostile. The grounds unkempt. The hostess is crass and inhospitable. It's a real shame.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: During this period the construction of a new boutique hotel one block away was in the stage of driving pilings. This is very noisy. We had no control over the construction schedule and offered to refund all payment. They decided to stay but were clearly unhappy. This rental is over 200 years old. Our goal is for our guests to experience the feel of "Historic Charleston". Our favorite saying is "Gut Fish not Historic Homes".If they want modern there are three luxury hotels at twice the price within two blocks. The grounds are completely covered by multiple live oak trees,hundreds of years old, which constantly shed leaves. The weekly garden service can only do so much.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 2


Phyllis Wakat
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018


Car: not necessary

Comfortable, great location in city center. No lease.Variable stays.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50
Tax Rate 14.0%

Monthly rate is $2500 to $4000 depending upon season, we are doing monthly rentals only

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties