Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hot tub with views $160 per night, 3 night minimum"""

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10) Outdoor hot tub

Enjoy our spacious mountain home surrounded by 20,000 acres of Pisgah National Forest yet only 20 minutes west of downtown Asheville, NC and only 10 minutes to grocery, coffee shop, restaurants! Enjoy the outdoor hot tub with mountain views on this 50-acre sunny and secluded property.

This home, built in 1980, offers 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, equipped kitchen and addt'l kitchenette, open living and dining space with beautiful fireplace (wood provided at no extra cost) and family room. View the stars from our outdoor hot tub! Outdoor firepit with wood provided at no extra cost.

The house will be open, heat/ac and lights on and music to greet you. We have a greenhouse where we produce flowers and organically-grown vegetables pollinated by our own honeybees. While here don't hesitate to call for directions, suggestions, rides to and from the airport or just to borrow a cup of sugar. Relax in the hammock, read a book in the gazebo, sit by the pond, or hike around our 50 acre property. This house is very private with owners living nearby. We are sensitive to our guests' need for quiet mornings and evenings and require our staff to respect your privacy. While no 4 wheel drive is needed we do have 2 short steep parts to our driveway.

Keywords: House, private, multiple houses on one property,wedding,family reunion, retreat

More Details

Rob Denton & Holly Berry
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Rob Denton & Holly Berry

When hosts Holly Berry and Rob Denton first saw this secluded cove they realized they had finally found the perfect natural setting to host a myriad of gatherings and memorable moments. They worked to add comforts and amenities that are in harmony with the countryside surroundings, that create a haven for people seeking solace and tranquility. Come laugh and mingle under the stars and dance alongside the sparks of a crackling camp fire at Brahma Ridge.

Rob Denton & Holly Berry purchased this house in 2005

Why Rob Denton & Holly Berry chose Candler

Only twenty minutes from all the downtown Asheville happenings yet this property feels so secluded.

What makes this house unique

The house received its name, Earthberm House, due to its construction - built into the side of the mountain. The all-on-one level is very comfortable for wheelchair guests.

Four-person hot tub outdoors under the stars!

A whole house filter on the well purifies all water coming into the home.


Candler House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is in the hall and is shared with double bdrm.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private bath off suite bdrm w/kitchenette.
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In the family room. Doors close for privacy.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has own kitchenette and bathroom.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sliding glass door opens to patio.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
VERY QUIET...Private, secluded, 50 acres bordering National Forest, hiking, pond w/deck, seperate bath house w/showers, organic gardens & greenhouse, original artwork by well known Philadelphia artist, beautiful hardwood floors, kitchen fully stocked w/party platters - spices & paper products, iron and ironing board provided. Another rental house close by for additional guests.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Hot tub with views bordering National Forest, 20 min to Asheville
average rating of 4.818182 based on 44 reviews

Beautiful house with a beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

Owners were very nice, living right down the hill from rental, and the house was perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely and spacious house, friendly hosts, fantastic views...

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted with the privacy, natural setting and feeling of being away from it all while still being in close proximity to Asheville's things to do. A great value.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing time. Perfect amount of room. And very nice setup. I’ve been so many places where you pay a high cleaning fee then have to clean every sheet and towel in house! It was so nice to wake up and not have to stress about deep cleaning a houw before check out!

A group of us come every year to Asheville and this has unanimously been our favorite spot yet. Thanks for letting us stay in this beautiful home

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

9 friends and I stayed at Rob's house over the weekend and loved it. The view was amazing and the sleeping accommodations were very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fireplace and the hot tub even though it was 30 degrees outside. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A lovely mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time over New Year's at this property. We are a group of seven women, and this house was able to meet our needs in terms of space and amenities.

*Hot Tub - the hot tub is awesome! Sits four comfortably

*Fireplace - the fireplace is really amazing and it was a huge relief to have firewood taken care of.

*Pet-friendly - we were able to have our four-legged friends with us, which is a MUST for any property we rent.

*Well-stocked, spacious kitchen - lots of goodies here, so you may want to ask before hauling stuff up the mountain. For example, they have a crockpot!

*Easy access to groceries, dining, and hiking

Also, Rob & Holly were very accommodating after the winter weather and let us have a late check out for the ice to burn off the driveway.

Our only complaint was the quality of the mattresses - it definitely seemed as though they'd seen better days.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words and feedback. Rob and I were worried about you during the ice storm and were glad you stayed in touch via text to let us know when you were home at night and then when you left and made it down the driveway. It gave us peace of mind. I'm surprised about the beds. I love the master bed that is a Vera Wang. I admit I don't sleep on the other beds. Future guests please help me decide what beds need replacing. We put a questionaire in the house will you please rank the beds for me. We will replace them if you say it's needed. BTW Aug 19th review says the beds are SO comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing place for groups and get-togethers

  • 5 of 5

Wow!! We were blown away by our stay at the Earthberm home. It is not very often that the pictures fall short of the home and this is one of those places. Our hosts were extremely informative and welcoming but completely respectful and let us enjoy our privacy the entire weekend. The views are unbeatable, the hot tub was clean functional and a great size for the group we had! Rob and Holly had a Christmas tree all lit up when we got to the house, and had plenty of wood for the fire ready to go. The living room space is very open and exactly what we were looking for as we love playing games with our family/friends and being together. The house was clean, pest-free and absolutely somewhere we would love to visit again. Thank you for an incredible stay at your home, Rob and Holly! You are remarkable hosts.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So SWEET! Reviews like this make being a VRBO home owner worth it. We simply treat our guests the way we want to be treated. Come back and see us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Crowne Plaza
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Artisan Cafe
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Charleston SC

In close proximity to Brahma Ridge Event Center for business meetings, weddings, family reunions, and private parties.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $50

Valentine's and President's Day weekends are considered holidays and free nights may not be available. Holidays, such as Fourth of July, may require additional nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties